I Am a Parent/Student


As a student or as a parent of a student in the publicly funded education system in Ontario, you may be interested in: learning about the roles of the individuals and groups responsible for publicly funded elementary and secondary education in Ontario (Who's responsible for your child's education?); contacting the Ontario College of Teachers, the professional body for teachers in Ontario; understanding how the Teacher Performance Appraisal System works; visiting the Education Quality and Accountability Office (EQAO) website; or locating a specific School or School Board.

The Ontario College of Teachers was founded to serve and protect the public interest through certifying, governing and enforcing standards of practice of the teaching profession. The College's functions include setting out clear standards of practice, providing for the ongoing education of teachers, investigating complaints involving members, conducting hearings into allegations of professional misconduct and taking appropriate disciplinary action and accrediting teacher education programs.

The Ministry of Education has implemented a Teacher Performance Appraisal System that sets clear province-wide standards for measuring teachers' skills and knowledge in the classroom. The Ministry has published the Teacher Performance Appraisal Manual and Approved Forms and Guidelines, which clearly define the respective roles of parents and students in the performance appraisal of teachers.

The Education Quality and Accountability Office (EQAO) develops and administers tests to elementary and secondary school students in Ontario, and provides the public with information on student achievement.

You can search the Ministry web site to find a school or school board in Ontario.


For You

Je suis éslève/père/mère

À titre d'élève ou de parent d'élève fréquentant une école du système d'éducation financé par les fonds publics en Ontario, vous pourriez juger utile de vous renseigner sur les rôles des personnes et des groupes responsables de l'éducation élémentaire et secondaire financée par les deniers publics en Ontario (Qui est responsable de l'éducation de votre enfant?), de communiquer avec l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario – l'organisme professionnel du personnel enseignant en Ontario –, de comprendre comment fonctionne le Système d'évaluation du rendement du personnel enseignant, de vous rendre sur le site Web de l'Office de la qualité et de la responsabilité en éducation (OQRE) ou de rechercher une école ou un conseil scolaire en particulier.

L'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario a été fondé pour servir et protéger l'intérêt du public en certifiant, en régissant et en faisant appliquer les normes d'exercice de la profession du personnel enseignant. Le mandat de l'Ordre consiste à établir des normes d'exercice claires, à fournir aux enseignants des occasions de formation continue, à enquêter sur les plaintes visant des membres, à tenir des audiences en cas d'allégations de faute professionnelle et à prendre les mesures disciplinaires qui s'imposent, et à donner l'agrément des programmes de formation des enseignants.

Le ministère de l'Éducation a mis en œuvre le Système d'évaluation du rendement du personnel enseignant, qui établit des normes provinciales claires permettant de mesurer les compétences et les connaissances des enseignants dans les salles de classe. Le ministre a publié le Guide d'évaluation du rendement du personnel enseignant comprenant les formulaires et lignes directrices approuvés, qui définit clairement les rôles respectifs des parents et des élèves dans l'évaluation du rendement des enseignants.

L'Office de la qualité et de la responsabilité en éducation (OQRE) conçoit et administre des tests à l'intention des élèves de l'élémentaire et du secondaire en Ontario et fournit au public des renseignements sur le rendement des élèves.

Vous pouvez consulter le site Web du ministère pour chercher une école ou un conseil scolaire en Ontario.


Informations pouvant vous intéresser