Teacher Performance Appraisal System


High quality teaching is essential to improving student outcomes and reducing gaps in student achievement. The Teacher Performance Appraisal System provides teachers with meaningful appraisals that encourage professional learning and growth. The process is designed to foster teacher development and identify opportunities for additional support where required. By helping teachers achieve their full potential, the performance appraisal process represents one element of Ontario's vision of achieving high levels of student performance.

Ontario's TPA system has two components: one for “new teachers” and the other for “experienced” teachers.

New teachers are defined in the legislation as all teachers certified by the Ontario College of Teachers (including teachers trained out-of-province) who have been hired into permanent positions – full-time or part-time – by a school board, school authority, or provincial school (“board”) to begin teaching for the first time in Ontario. Teachers are considered “new” until they successfully complete the New Teacher Induction Program (NTIP) or until 24 months have elapsed since the date on which they first begin to teach for a board.

All teachers who have completed the NTIP, or who held permanent positions in Ontario's publicly funded schools prior to the NTIP's implementation in September 2006, as well as temporary teachers (those teaching on a Letter of Permission), are appraised as “experienced” teachers.

The legislation and regulations and manual set out the timelines, processes and steps to be followed of the appraisal process.

Forms and Templates

Boards may choose to use the sample templates if they consider them to be useful. Boards modifying any sample template assume responsibility for ensuring that the modified form complies with all relevant legal and policy requirements. The Ministry of Education assumes no responsibility for templates modified by boards. Boards must not attribute any modified templates to the Ministry of Education or the Government of Ontario.

Mandatory Provincial Forms

Sample Templates for Required Processes

Sample Templates for Optional Processes

Système d'évaluation du rendement du personnel enseignant

Un enseignement de premier ordre est indispensable pour améliorer les résultats des élèves et réduire les écarts de rendement. Le système d'évaluation du rendement du personnel enseignant fournit aux enseignants et enseignantes des évaluations utiles qui encouragent l'apprentissage et le développement professionnels. Le processus a été conçu pour promouvoir le perfectionnement professionnel des enseignantes et enseignants et déterminer les domaines pour lesquels ils ont besoin de soutien supplémentaire. En aidant les enseignantes et enseignants à atteindre leur plein potentiel, le système d'évaluation du rendement représente un élément de la vision de l'Ontario, qui vise un rendement scolaire élevé.

Le système d'évaluation du personnel enseignant de l'Ontario comprend deux éléments : le premier concerne le personnel enseignant « nouveau »et le second le personnel enseignant « chevronné ».

Au sens de la Loi, le nouveau personnel enseignant comprend les enseignantes et enseignants membres de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario (y compris ceux qui ont été formés à l'extérieur de l'Ontario) et qui ont été engagés par un conseil scolaire ou une école provinciale (« conseil ») pour occuper un poste permanent, à plein temps ou à temps partiel, pour une première fois en Ontario. Une enseignante ou un enseignant est considéré « nouvelle » ou « nouveau » jusqu'à ce qu'elle ou il réussisse le Programme d'insertion professionnelle du nouveau personnel enseignment (le Programme) ou que sa nouvelle période d'enseignement de 24 mois soit terminée.

Les enseignantes et enseignants qui ont terminé le Programme et ceux qui occupaient un poste permanent dans les écoles financées par les fonds publics de l'Ontario avant la mise en œuvre du Programme en septembre 2006 ainsi que les enseignantes et enseignants temporaires (titulaires d'une permission intérimaire) sont considérés comme des enseignantes et enseignants chevronnés.

Les lois et règlements et le guide définissent les échéanciers, les démarches et les étapes à suivre.

Formulaires et modèles

Les conseils scolaires peuvent utiliser les modèles s'ils le jugent utile. Les conseils qui modifient un modèle doivent s'assurer que le modèle modifié est conforme à toutes les exigences juridiques et politiques pertinentes. Le ministère de l'Éducation n'assume aucune responsabilité quant aux modèles ainsi modifiés. Les conseils ne doivent attribuer ni au ministère de l'Éducation ni au gouvernement de l'Ontario la responsabilité des modifications.

Formulaires provinciaux obligatoires

Exemple de modèles pour les procédures requises

Exemple de modèles pour les procédures facultatives