Gorick Ng:

Ontario’s such a diverse province with so many people coming from all these different backgrounds with so many perspectives to share. And once you put them into a room for half an hour and get them discussing, you realize that we as students have a lot more commonalities that we really didn’t realize before.

Soyinka Reid:

Solutions that work for my school in Brampton can help and benefit my friend who goes to school in Ottawa.

Stephen Hepburn:

The schools do have a lot of leaders within them. And these leaders just need something to spark an initiative and they will take over and do great things in Ontario’s schools.

Kathleen Wynne, Minister of Education:

The students on my Minister’s Advisory Council are here to have the opportunity to share ideas about their own schools, their own student initiatives, to further appreciate the diversity in their group, to develop their own leadership skills. And to get some ideas to take back to their own schools. If we’re going to make good policy decisions at the Ministry of Education, it’s really vital that we have an idea of what students are thinking, what they are experiencing and that we hear their voice.

Olivia Di Giammarino:

It’s so important for students to voice their opinions because we suddenly become more than just a student number. And we become more than just a photo in a yearbook or a face in a hallway. We become a student with a voice and a leader. And we become the change that we want to see in our own communities.

Soyinka Reid:

We’re coming at it from our first-hand experience because it’s things that we deal with every day. And that’s going to be a different opinion than you hear from a parent council or a group of professionals who haven’t been to school in a long time.

Alison Vicrobeck:

And I think that this is the best way to understand future generations who will have the same experiences. And we want to make sure that if we didn’t like something, that they won’t have to experience the same thing.

Kathleen Wynne, Minister of Education:

What’s happening here is we’ve got a whole bunch of adults who have put energy and time into planning an opportunity for kids to take part, and they are. And it’s flourishing.

Soyinka Reid:

It’s empowering to know that my opinion counts.

Patrick Harrison:

Adults really have an interest in what we, as students, are saying. And we are really able to make a difference. We are able to make things change.

Gorick Ng:

If you walk down a typical high school hallway and you take a student, a lot of them would tell you that they don’t have a voice or they’re not involved in the decision-making process. But after being here on MSAC for a couple of days, you realize that students do have much more of a voice than you’d originally imagined.

Kathleen Wynne, Minister of Education:

Kids have ideas, they want to be heard. And if we provide the right environment for them, they will talk to us. And so that’s what’s being reinforced for me today.

Emmett Bisbee:

We had 600 ideas from before and now we have 9 big ones.

Soyinka Reid:

I enjoyed everything about being in the council.

Clarisse Schneider:

I really think that this is going to make a difference.

Olivia Di Giammarino:

We are all just – we all want change to come and that it’s happening.

Gorick Ng :

L’Ontario est une province tellement diverse où les gens ont des origines très différentes et tout un éventail de perspectives à partager. Quand on réunit dans une même salle tous ces élèves et qu’on leur permet d’engager une discussion, on voit qu’on a beaucoup de points en commun et qu’on ne s’en rendait pas compte avant.

Soyinka Reid :

Les solutions qui donnent de bons résultats dans mon école à Brampton peuvent aider mon ami qui fréquente une école à Ottawa.

Stephen Hepburn :

Les écoles comptent de nombreux leaders. Et ces leaders ont besoin que d’une petite étincelle pour lancer des initiatives fantastiques qui feront boule de neige et se propageront dans toutes les écoles ontariennes.

Kathleen Wynne, ministre de l’Éducation :

Les élèves qui sont membres du Conseil consultatif ministériel des élèves sont ici parce qu’ils souhaitent avoir l’occasion d’exprimer leurs idées au sujet de leur propre école et des initiatives des élèves de leur école, de prendre davantage conscience de la diversité au sein de leur groupe et de développer leurs propres aptitudes au leadership. Ils souhaitent aussi pouvoir faire profiter leur école des idées d’autres élèves. Si le ministère de l’Éducation veut prendre de bonnes décisions, il faut absolument que nous sachions ce que pensent les élèves et ce qu’ils vivent comme expériences et que nous entendions leur voix.

Olivia Di Giammarino :

Il est important pour les élèves d’exprimer leurs opinions, parce que soudain on est plus qu’un numéro d’étudiant. On est aussi plus qu’une photo dans l’annuaire de l’école ou un visage qu’on croise dans les couloirs. On devient des élèves qui ont une voix et on devient des leaders. On devient le changement qu’on aimerait voir dans nos propres communautés.

Soyinka Reid :

On sait de quoi on parle parce qu’on vit cette expérience concrète tous les jours. Et notre opinion sera différente de celle d’un conseil de parents ou d’un groupe de professionnels, parce que, eux, ils ont quitté l’école depuis longtemps.

Alison Vicrobeck:

Et je pense qu’on peut mieux comprendre les autres générations qui vont vivre la même expérience et on peut s’assurer que ce que nous on n’a pas aimé ne soit pas quelque chose que les autres doivent vivre.

Kathleen Wynne, ministre de l’Éducation :

Ce qu’on voit ici c’est que de nombreux adultes ont consacré du temps et de l’énergie à concevoir une initiative qui encourage la participation des élèves. Et les élèves ont répondu à l’appel. Cette initiative prend de plus en plus d’ampleur.

Soyinka Reid :

Je me sens vraiment plus forte de savoir que mon opinion compte.

Patrick Harrison:

Les adultes ont vraiment un intérêt dans ce que nous autres les élèves ont à dire, et que vraiment on peut faire une différence, on peut faire un changement.

Gorick Ng :

Si vous demandez l’opinion des élèves du secondaire, un grand nombre d’entre eux vont vous dire que les élèves n’ont pas de voix ou qu’ils ne participent pas au processus de prise de décisions. Mais quand un élève passe quelques jours ici au Conseil, il se rend compte que les élèves ont vraiment voix au chapitre, et beaucoup que ce qu’il pensait.

Kathleen Wynne, ministre de l’Éducation :

Les élèves ont des idées et ils veulent pouvoir les exprimer. Si nous créons les conditions propices, ils nous parleront. C’est ce que j’ai pu constater aujourd’hui.

Emmett Bisbee :

Nous avions 600 idées au départ et nous en avons maintenant neuf importantes.

Soyinka Reid :

J’ai aimé toutes les activités qu’on a fait Conseil.

Clarisse Schneider:

Je crois vraiment qu’on va changer les choses.

Olivia Di Giammarino :

On dit tous... – On veut tous que les choses bougent et c’est en train de se produire.