Speak Up

Student Voice


2017-18 SpeakUp Project Goals and Focus Areas

As you decide what to do for your SpeakUp Project, it helps to think about your goals and what area to focus on. These questions are meant to help you do this.

Please review these goals and focus areas carefully. They may inspire a project idea, or they could be part of what you are already planning!

Goals

Please think about how your SpeakUp Project will achieve one or more of the following goals. You will need to select at least one.

  • Achieving Excellence: Contribute to academic achievement, teach valuable skills and foster good citizenship through student engagement.
  • Ensuring Equity: Support the development of a learning environment that is safe, inclusive and responsive to the learning needs of all students.
  • Promoting Well-Being: Promote the cognitive, emotional, social, and/or physical well-being of students by fostering a positive sense of self and belonging and teaching the skills to make positive choices.
  • Enhancing Public Confidence: Establish or improve practices (what happens) or processes (how things happen) in the classroom, school or community so that students and their families continue to have confidence in publicly funded education.

Focus Areas

You need to select one focus area that fits your project idea best. Your project idea will be evaluated on how well it supports your chosen focus area and the goals you selected.

Here are the focus areas:

1. Create Opportunities for Experiential Learning

Our project will involve collaboration, on-line or face-to-face, with one or more community partner(s) to provide experiential learning opportunities for students. Our community partner(s) may have a local, national or global connection outside the school. Our project will pursue an area of interest to our team that is also beneficial to our community partner. We will work with our community partner to plan and implement our experiential learning project. As part of our project, we will reflect on what we have learned about ourselves and our opportunities through the experience and how it has informed our decisions and future plans.

2. Embrace and Promote Healthy, Equal Relationships and/or Gender Equality

Our project will foster positive school environments for all students by examining gender equality in school and/or promoting healthy, respectful peer and personal relationships. Our project could be connected to Ontario's Action Plan to Stop Sexual Violence and Harassment (2015) and/or Women's Economic Empowerment – A Call to Action for Ontario (2017).

3. Promote Healthy Schools

Our project will help promote student well-being by focusing on one or more health-related topics in the Foundations for a Healthy School (2014) resource.

4. Create Partnerships to Customize a Learning Experience

Our project will aim to increase student engagement, learning and/or achievement. We will achieve this by finding an opportunity for us to partner with one or more teachers to customize an educational experience in the classroom, school or community so that it addresses our particular interests, strengths and/or learning needs.

5. Improve Student Engagement and/or Achievement in Math

Our project will help students partner with teachers and/or parents/guardians to increase achievement and engagement in math.

6. Promote the Development of Global Competencies

Through our project we will learn about important global competencies (e.g. transferrable skills) such as communication, critical thinking and problem solving, creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship, collaboration and self-directed learning. Our project supports real-world learning partnerships, experiential learning and innovative learning spaces. The development of competencies can be enhanced through the use of digital tools like blogs, wikis, social media, multimedia and mobile technology at a local, regional or global level. We also model digital citizenship to address: online safety, security, privacy and responsible and respectful communications in a world of diversity.

7. Promote French-Language Perspectives

Our project aims to promote inclusion, equity and diversity by helping French-language schools and students connect with the French-language community. Our project aims to empower French-language students, newcomer students and Indigenous students to get involved and be engaged with the French-language. Students may participate in French-language events, or could promote existing events and/or organize their own.

8. Promote Indigenous Perspectives

Our project will focus on affirming Indigenous cultural identity. Students will have a leadership role in identifying and organizing activities that enrich Indigenous cultural and social awareness within the community. Activities could include, but would not be limited to: the development of peer-to-peer mentoring, assemblies, research projects, clubs, and/or work engaging the arts, including music, movement, drama or graphic design.

9. Ensure Equity

Our project aims to help ensure that every student should have the opportunity to succeed personally and academically, regardless of background, identity or personal circumstances. Through our project, we will examine and develop responses to structures, policies, programs, and practices that may unintentionally disadvantage certain student populations, including but not limited to students experiencing poverty, newcomers to Canada, students who identify as LGBTQ or Two-Spirited, children and youth in care, religious minorities, French language minorities, students with disabilities, and students with special education needs. Students may participate in events that support equity and inclusive education, or could promote existing events and/or organize their own. Our project could be connected to Ontario's Education Equity Action Plan (2017).

10. Promote Anti-Racism

Our project will focus on taking proactive steps to fight racial inequality. Through our project, students will acknowledge that systemic racism exists and will work to actively confront the unequal power dynamic between groups and the structures that sustain it. We will critically assess structures, policies, programs and practices and develop responses (activities, clubs, events, etc.) to ensure that they are fair and equitable for everyone, including but not limited to racialized and Indigenous students. Our project could be connected to A Better Way Forward: Ontario's 3-Year Anti-Racism Strategic Plan (2017).

11. Promote Well-Being

Our project aims to help students build the knowledge and skills associated with well-being and supports students in being healthy, active and engaged citizens. Through our project, we will promote the cognitive, emotional, social, and/or physical well-being of students in our school, recognizing that these elements are critical to our development, with self/spirit at the centre. Students may lead and/or participate in new or existing projects or events that support or promote well-being. Our project could be connected to the findings of What We Heard: Well-Being in Our Schools, Strength in Our Society (2017).

12. Promote Financial Literacy

Our project aims to help students develop the knowledge and skills to make responsible economic and financial decisions with confidence. Through our project, we will support students to: carefully consider their financial choices; understand basic money management; develop their own perspectives on financial matters; stay financially stable and healthy throughout life; and understand the impact of economic choices on the world they live in.

13. Promote the Arts

Our project aims to motivate students to engage more fully in cultural life and other educational opportunities through participation in the arts. Through our project, we will support students to: develop their creativity, learn about their own identity, and develop self-awareness, self-confidence, and a sense of well-being. Students may lead and/or participate in new or existing projects or events that support or promote the arts.

14. Other

If you select this option, you will need to tell us about it on the online application.

Next Step: Review the SpeakUp Project scoring tips so you can think about how to develop and describe your project idea, and understand how your answers will be scored before you apply.

Apply online by December 7, 2017 at midnight, EST.

Exprime-toi

La voix des élèves

Objectifs et domaine d’action du projet Exprime‑toi 2017‑2018

Pour choisir le projet que toi et ton équipe comptez proposer, commencez par penser à ses objectifs et à son domaine d’action. Les éléments suivants devraient vous aider.

Lisez attentivement les objectifs et les domaines d’action suivants. Ils pourraient vous aider à trouver une idée de projet, ou vous guider, si vous avez déjà une idée.

Objectifs

Comment votre projet Exprime-toi atteindra-t-il un ou plusieurs des objectifs suivants? Vous devrez en choisir au moins un.

  • Atteindre l’excellence : Contribuer à améliorer le rendement scolaire, promouvoir l’acquisition de compétences et favoriser le civisme grâce à la participation des élèves;
  • Assurer l’équité : Appuyer le développement d’un milieu d’apprentissage sécuritaire, inclusif et adapté aux besoins en apprentissage de tous les élèves;
  • Promouvoir le bien-être : Promouvoir le bien-être cognitif, émotionnel, social et physique des élèves en favorisant une image positive de soi et un sentiment d’appartenance et en promouvant l’acquisition de compétences permettant de faire des choix positifs;
  • Rehausser la confiance du public : Élaborer ou améliorer les pratiques (ce qui se passe) ou les processus (la façon dont les choses se passent) en place dans la salle de classe, dans l’école ou au sein de la communauté afin que les élèves et leurs familles continuent d’avoir confiance dans le système d’éducation financé par les fonds publics.

Domaines d’action

Veuillez sélectionnez un seul domaine d’action, soit celui qui correspond le mieux à votre projet. Votre proposition de projet sera évaluée en fonction de la mesure dans laquelle elle est liée aux objectifs et au domaine d’action sélectionnés.

Voici les différents choix.

1. Créer des possibilités d’apprentissage par l’expérience

Notre projet donnera aux élèves la possibilité de collaborer avec un ou plusieurs partenaires communautaires aux échelons local, régional ou international. Cette collaboration se fera en personne ou en ligne. Notre projet touche un sujet qui nous intéresse et notre partenaire communautaire pourra aussi en bénéficier. Nous travaillerons avec notre partenaire communautaire pour planifier et mettre en œuvre notre projet d’apprentissage par l’expérience. Nous réfléchirons sur ce que nous aurons appris sur nous-mêmes et sur les possibilités qui s’offriront à nous grâce à ce projet, et sur la façon dont cette expérience pourra influencer nos décisions et notre avenir.

2. Favoriser des relations saines fondées sur l’égalité, et notamment l’égalité entre les sexes

Notre projet favorisera la création d’un environnement scolaire positif pour tous les élèves. Nous nous pencherons sur la question de l’égalité entre les sexes à l’école et encouragerons des relations saines et fondées sur le respect, qu’il s’agisse de relations personnelles ou entre pairs. Le projet pourrait être relié au Plan d’action pour mettre un terme à la violence et au harcèlement sexuels de l’Ontario (2015) ou au document Renforcement de l’autonomie économique des femmes – un appel à l’action pour l’Ontario (2017).

3. Favoriser la santé à l’école

Notre projet vise à favoriser le bien-être des élèves et nous nous concentrerons sur un ou plusieurs sujets liés à la santé, qui sont indiqués dans la ressource Fondements d’une école saine (2014).

4. Établir des partenariats qui favoriseront la personnalisation des expériences d’apprentissage

Notre projet favorisera l’engagement et l’apprentissage des élèves, ainsi que leur rendement. Nous chercherons à former des partenariats avec une enseignante ou un enseignant, ou avec plusieurs d’entre eux, pour personnaliser notre expérience d’apprentissage dans la salle de classe, dans notre école ou dans notre communauté en tenant compte de nos intérêts, de nos forces ou de nos besoins d’apprentissage.

5. Améliorer le rendement des élèves en mathématiques et accroître leur engagement dans cette matière

Notre projet favorisera la collaboration des élèves avec un membre du personnel enseignant ou avec plusieurs d’entre eux ou avec des parents ou des tuteurs/tutrices en vue d’améliorer le rendement en mathématiques des élèves et d’accroître leur engagement dans cette matière.

6. Promouvoir l’acquisition de compétences globales

Dans le cadre de notre projet, nous acquerrons des compétences globales importantes (par exemple, des compétences transférables) telles que la communication, la pensée critique et la résolution de problèmes, la créativité, l’innovation et l’entrepreneuriat, la collaboration et l’apprentissage autonome. Notre projet soutient des partenariats d’apprentissage concrets, l’apprentissage par l’expérience et des espaces d’apprentissage innovants. Le développement des compétences peut être amélioré par l’utilisation d’outils numériques tels que les blogues, les wikis, les médias sociaux, le multimédia et la technologie mobile aux échelons local, régional ou international. Nous modélisons également la citoyenneté numérique pour aborder les thèmes suivants : la sécurité en ligne, la sécurité, la confidentialité et l’échange de communications responsables et respectueuses dans notre monde diversifié.

7. Promouvoir les perspectives de langue française

Notre projet a pour but de favoriser l’inclusion, l’équité et la diversité en aidant les écoles de langue française et leurs élèves à établir des rapports avec leurs communautés de langue française. Nous voulons inciter les élèves francophones, les élèves nouveaux arrivants et les élèves autochtones, à s’intéresser à la langue française et à sa culture. Les élèves pourraient participer à des activités qui se déroulent en français, promouvoir des activités existantes ou organiser les leurs.

8. Promouvoir les perspectives des Autochtones

Notre projet a pour but de mettre en valeur l’identité culturelle des Autochtones. Les élèves seront responsables d’élaborer et d’organiser des activités qui viseront à accroître au sein de la collectivité la sensibilisation culturelle et sociale à la réalité des Autochtones. Ces activités pourraient comprendre du mentorat par les pairs, des assemblées, des projets de recherche, des clubs ou des activités artistiques, notamment en musique, en mouvement, en théâtre ou en conception graphique.

9. Favoriser l’équité

Notre projet a pour but de s’assurer que chaque élève a la possibilité de réussir autant dans sa vie personnelle que dans ses études, sans égard à ses origines, à son identité ou à sa situation personnelle. Dans le cadre de notre projet, nous examinerons et élaborerons des réponses à des structures, des politiques, des programmes et des pratiques susceptibles de désavantager involontairement certains groupes d’élèves, notamment les élèves vivant dans la pauvreté, les nouveaux arrivants au Canada, les élèves LGBTQ ou deux esprits, les enfants et les jeunes pris en charge, les minorités religieuses, les minorités de langue française, les élèves handicapés et les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers. Les élèves peuvent participer à des événements qui soutiennent l’équité et l’éducation inclusive, promouvoir des événements existants ou organiser les leurs. Notre projet pourrait être relié au Plan d’action ontarien pour l’équité en matière d’éducation (2017).

10. Promouvoir l’antiracisme

Notre projet se concentrera sur la prise de mesures proactives pour lutter contre l’inégalité raciale. Dans le cadre de notre projet, les élèves reconnaîtront qu’il existe un racisme systémique et ils s’efforceront de lutter activement contre les relations de pouvoir inégales entre les groupes et les structures qui les soutiennent. Nous examinerons de façon critique les structures, les politiques, les programmes et les pratiques et nous élaborerons des solutions (activités, clubs, événements, etc.) afin de nous assurer qu’ils sont justes et équitables pour tous, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, les élèves racialisés et les élèves autochtones. Notre projet pourrait être lié à Une meilleure façon d’avancer : Plan stratégique triennal de l’Ontario contre le racisme (2017).

11. Promouvoir le bien-être

Notre projet a pour but d’aider les élèves à développer des connaissances et des compétences en matière de bien-être et de les soutenir pour qu’ils deviennent des citoyens en santé, actifs et engagés. Dans le cadre de notre projet, nous favoriserons le bien-être cognitif, émotionnel, social et physique des élèves de notre école, tout en établissant que ces éléments sont essentiels à notre développement, et qu’il est primordial d’assurer avant tout le bien-être personnel et celui de l’esprit. Les élèves peuvent diriger ou participer à des projets ou des événements nouveaux ou existants qui soutiennent ou favorisent le bien-être. Notre projet pourrait être relié aux conclusions de Ce que nous avons entendu : Le bien-être dans nos écoles fait la force de notre société (2017).

12. Promouvoir la littératie financière

Notre projet a pour but d’aider les élèves à développer les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour prendre des décisions économiques et financières responsables en toute confiance. Dans le cadre de notre projet, nous aiderons les élèves à examiner attentivement leurs choix financiers; à comprendre les bases de la gestion de l’argent; à développer leurs propres perspectives sur les questions financières; à rester stable et en bonne santé financière leur vie durant et à comprendre l’incidence des choix économiques sur le monde dans lequel ils vivent.

13. Promouvoir les arts

Notre projet a pour but de motiver les élèves à s’engager plus activement dans la vie culturelle et dans d’autres occasions d’apprentissage en participant aux arts. Dans le cadre de notre projet, nous aiderons les élèves à développer leur créativité, à apprendre à se connaître, à prendre conscience de leur être et à développer leur confiance en eux-mêmes et leur bien-être. Les élèves peuvent diriger ou participer à des projets ou des événements nouveaux ou existants qui soutiennent ou favorisent les arts.

14. Autre

Si vous choisissez cette option, vous devrez définir le domaine d’action de votre projet dans votre demande.

Prochaine étape : Avant de commencer à remplir votre demande, consultez les conseils relatifs à l’attribution des points dans la demande de subvention pour les projets Exprime-toi. Cela vous permettra de connaître la meilleure façon d’élaborer votre idée de projet et de la décrire, et de comprendre comment les points sont attribués.