Frequently Asked Questions for Students



Which legislation governs elementary and secondary education?

In Canada, education is a provincial responsibility. Elementary and secondary education in Ontario is governed by the Education Act and any amendments made to that Act. Ontario Statutes and Regulations are now available online. You can also obtain the Education Act on paper or CD-ROM from Publications Ontario, the Government of Ontario book store. In addition, provincial legislation may be accessed at all depository libraries, at many public libraries, and in the reference sections of those university libraries that are open to the public.

Back to Top

What are the roles of the ministers, school boards, and teachers? And what about parents and students?

See Who's Responsible for Your Child's Education? for a description of the responsibilities of the various participants in Ontario's elementary and secondary school system.

Back to Top

Can a student from outside Canada attend school in Ontario?

Yes, but in order to study here, an international student requires a valid student visa. Contact the Canadian embassy, consulate, or high commission in your country to apply for one. You will also need a letter from the school in Ontario, stating that a space is available. To find out which schools have openings for foreign students, you should contact district school boards and school authorities (for publicly funded schools) or the School Authorities (for publicly funded schools) or the private schools that interest you.

Back to Top

Who determines the school curriculum?

The Ministry of Education sets curriculum policy and defines what teachers are required to teach and students are expected to learn in each grade and subject. A consistent, province-wide curriculum is thereby ensured. However, teaching and assessment strategies are left to the professional judgement of teachers, enabling them to address individual student needs and deliver the curriculum in a context that is locally meaningful.

Back to Top

As an adult, how can I complete the requirements for the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD)?

There are several ways to complete your secondary school diploma. For example, secondary school courses leading to diploma credits are offered by correspondence through the Ministry of Education's Independent Learning Centre. More information on this program is provided in the ILC Course Guide. If you would prefer to take courses in a classroom with other adults, contact your local school board to discuss adult credit programs. Evening classes, as well as English as a Second Language courses for those who would like to improve their English skills, are also available through most Ontario school boards.

Back to Top

Can I take my General Educational Development (GED) test in Ontario?

The General Educational Development test is an international secondary school equivalency examination program for adults. The GED tests cover what secondary school graduates are expected to know in mathematics, writing, science, literature, and the arts. Candidates who successfully complete the tests can earn the Ontario High School Equivalency Certificate. The GED tests are offered in English and French, and testing sites are located in Toronto, Mississauga, Sudbury, Ottawa, Thunder Bay, and Windsor. For detailed information, visit the General Educational Development page of the Independent Learning Centre.

Back to Top

How do I get an official transcript from the secondary school I attended?

If you left a publicly funded school within the past five years, you will most likely be able to obtain your secondary school transcript (the Ontario Student Transcript) from the last school you attended. However, some school boards maintain records in a central office, so you may be referred to the board to obtain your transcript. If you left a publicly funded school more than five years ago, or if the school you attended is no longer in operation, you should contact the school board, rather than the school.

Contact information for publicly funded schools can be found through the School Information Finder. Refer to the School Board Finder to find the contact information of your local school board or school authority. If you are looking for the contact information of a private school refer to the directory.

If a private secondary school you attended is no longer in operation, you should contact:

Ontario Ministry of Education
Education Research and Evaluation Strategy Branch
900 Bay Street
Toronto, Ontario M7A 1L2
Telephone: (416) 325-2492

Back to Top

How do I get an evaluation of elementary or secondary education documents from outside Ontario?

In Ontario, individual elementary and secondary schools evaluate the academic records of all new students. If you or your children are new to Ontario, please take your education documents (translated into English or French) directly to the school you or your children will be attending. The records will be used by the school to determine grade-level placement and the number of graduation credits still required.

Back to Top

If you still require additional information or need other personal assistance, please continue to the comment or inquiry form to submit an e-mail message. Note that the ministry's objective is to answer all e-mail inquiries within 15 business days. Most inquiries, however, are answered in less time.

Back to Top

Foire aux questions pour élèves


Quelles mesures législatives régissent l'éducation élémentaire et secondaire?

Au Canada, l'éducation est de compétence provinciale. L'éducation élémentaire et secondaire en Ontario est régie par la Loi sur l'éducation et par toutes modifications qui y sont apportées. Les Lois et règlements de l'Ontario sont maintenant disponibles sur Internet. Vous pouvez obtenir une copie de la Loi sur l'éducation sur papier ou sur CD-ROM auprès de Publications Ontario, la librairie du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Vous pouvez également avoir accès aux autres mesures législatives provinciales dans toutes les bibliothèques de dépôt, dans de nombreuses bibliothèques publiques et dans la section référence des bibliothèques universitaires ouvertes au public.

Haut de page

Quel est le rôle du ministre de l'Éducation, des conseils scolaires, du personnel enseignant, des parents et des élèves?

Consultez la section Qui est responsable de l'éducation de votre enfant pour obtenir une description des responsabilités des divers participants au système d'éducation élémentaire et secondaire de l'Ontario.

Haut de page

Est-il possible pour une ou un élève de l'extérieur du Canada de poursuivre ses études dans une école en Ontario?

Oui, mais afin de poursuivre ses études en Ontario, l'élève étranger a besoin d'un visa d'étudiant valide. Vous pouvez en faire la demande auprès d'une ambassade, d'un consulat ou d'un haut-commissariat du Canada dans votre pays. Il faut une lettre de l'école en Ontario qui doit préciser qu'une place attend l'élève à cette école. Pour savoir quelles écoles reçoivent des élèves étrangers, communiquez avec les conseils scolaires de district et les administrations scolaires (pour les écoles financées par les fonds publics) ou avec les écoles privées qui vous intéressent.

Haut de page

Qui détermine le programme d'enseignement?

Le ministère de l'Éducation établit la politique en ce qui concerne les programmes, définit ce que les enseignants doivent enseigner et ce que les élèves doivent apprendre à tous les niveaux et dans chaque matière. On dispose ainsi d'un programme d'enseignement cohérent, valable à l'échelle de la province. Cependant, les stratégies d'enseignement et d'évaluation sont laissées à la discrétion du personnel enseignant, ce qui permet à ce dernier de répondre aux besoins particuliers des élèves et de présenter un programme qui tient compte du milieu où il est dispensé.

Haut de page

En tant qu'adulte, comment puis-je répondre aux conditions d'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario (DESO)?

Il existe plusieurs façons d'obtenir le diplôme d'études secondaires. Par exemple, le Centre d'études indépendantes du ministère de l'Éducation offre par correspondance des cours du palier secondaire. Ces cours donnent droit à des crédits en vue de l'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires. L'Annuaire du CEI donne plus de détails à ce sujet. Si vous préférez prendre des cours dans une classe en compagnie d'autres adultes, communiquez avec le conseil scolaire de votre région pour discuter des programmes pour adultes menant à des crédits. Des cours du soir, comme les cours de français langue seconde à l'intention des personnes qui veulent améliorer leurs compétences en français, sont également offerts par certains conseils scolaires en Ontario.

Haut de page

Puis-je faire le test d'évaluation en éducation générale (GED) en Ontario?

Le test d'évaluation en éducation générale est un programme international d'examens visant à accorder aux adultes une équivalence des études secondaires. Le test GED couvre ce que les diplômés des écoles secondaires doivent savoir en mathématiques, en lecture, en sciences, en littérature et en arts. Les personnes qui réussissent le test obtiennent l'équivalent d'un diplôme d'études secondaires. Les tests sont offerts en français et en anglais dans plusieurs villes de l'Ontario, notamment Toronto, Mississauga, Sudbury, Ottawa, Thunder Bay et Windsor. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez la page Test GED du Centre d'études indépendantes.

Haut de page

Comment puis-je obtenir un relevé de notes officiel de l'école secondaire que j'ai fréquentée?

Si vous avez quitté une école financée par les fonds publics au cours des cinq dernières années, vous devriez être en mesure d'obtenir votre relevé de notes d'études secondaires (Relevé de notes de l'Ontario) auprès de la dernière école que vous avez fréquentée. Toutefois, comme certains conseils scolaires conservent leurs dossiers dans un bureau central; il se peut qu'on vous demande de communiquer avec le conseil scolaire en question. Si vous avez quitté une école financée par les fonds publics il y a plus de cinq ans ou si l'école que vous avez fréquentée a fermé ses portes, vous devez communiquer directement avec le conseil scolaire plutôt qu'avec l'école.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les écoles publiques, utilisez l'outil de recherche. Pour trouver les coordonnées d'un conseil scolaire ou d'une administration scolaire, consultez la page Rechercher un conseil scolaire. Si vous cherchez les coordonnées d'une école privée, consultez la liste des Écoles privées élémentaires et secondaires.

Si l'école secondaire privée que vous avez fréquentée n'existe plus, communiquez avec :

Ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario
Direction de la stratégie de recherche et d'évaluation en éducation
900, rue Bay
Toronto (Ontario)  M7A 1L2 
student.records@ontario.ca

Haut de page

Comment puis-je obtenir une évaluation de documents d'éducation élémentaire et secondaire de l'extérieur de l'Ontario?

En Ontario, chaque école élémentaire ou secondaire évalue les dossiers scolaires de ses nouveaux élèves. Si vous ou votre enfant venez d'arriver en Ontario, apportez ces documents (traduits en français ou en anglais) directement à l'école que vous ou que votre enfant allez fréquenter. L'école se servira de ces documents pour déterminer votre année d'études ou celle de votre enfant ainsi que le nombre de crédits qui manquent en vue de l'obtention du diplôme.

S'il vous faut des renseignements supplémentaires ou si vous avez besoin d'aide, envoyez-nous un message électronique au moyen du formulaire de commentaires ou de demande de renseignements. Le Ministère a pour objectif de répondre aux messages dans les 15 jours ouvrables. La plupart des réponses sont fournies dans un délai plus court.

Haut de page