Spotlight Archive


50,000 Kids Benefited from Full-Day Kindergarten

Transcript <a href="/eng/spotlight/june18-12.html#transcript" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/spotlight/june18-12.html#transcript" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcript

Children (singing): We're leaving kindergarten. We're going to Grade one. We're really gonna miss it. We had a lot of fun.

Janet Yao, parent: The full-day kindergarten program gives Grace an early start. The fact that she is in full-day kindergarten all day, where she gets to learn in a structured environment, that is very beneficial to her.

And also, as a full-time working mom, the full-day kindergarten hours works for me. And not to mention the financial benefit to the cost savings in child care.

Her math and reading skills definitely have improved a lot. And she is more aware of social-environmental issues. Like she is recycling at home and she loves to protect animals and is reading all kinds of books.

They get more socialized time. They get more class time and they make friends. And it is also good for them to learn good behavior in a very early stage so you know they are heading in the right direction.

En vedette – archives

50 000 enfants ont bénéficié de la maternelle et du jardin d'enfants à temps plein

Transcript <a href="/fre/spotlight/june18-12.html#transcript" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/spotlight/june18-12.html#transcript" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Mobile

Transcription

Enfants (qui chantent): Nous quittons la maternelle. Nous allons en première année. Ça va bien nous manquer. Mais on s'est bien amusés.

Janet Yao, Mère: Le programme de maternelle à temps plein a donné à Grace un très bon départ. Le fait qu'elle est à la maternelle à temps plein, où elle apprend dans un environnement structuré, ça a été très bénéfique pour elle.

Et puis, comme je suis une mère de famille qui travaille à temps plein, les heures de la maternelle à temps plein me conviennent bien, sans mentionner les avantages financiers – les économies réalisées sur le coût des services de garderie.

Elle a vraiment fait des progrès en maths et en lecture et elle est plus au courant des questions sociales liées à l'environnement. Elle fait du recyclage à la maison. Elle aime protéger les animaux. Elle lit toute sorte de livres.

Ils ont plus de temps pour socialiser. Ils ont plus de temps pour la classe et ils se font des amis. C'est également une excellente façon pour eux d'apprendre à bien se comporter dès leur plus jeune âge. Alors, on peut dire qu'ils vont dans la bonne direction.