Spotlight Archive


Transitioning into full-day kindergarten

Lindsay, Ontario

Transcript <a href="/eng/spotlight/feb15-11.html#transcript " title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/spotlight/feb15-11.html#transcript" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcript

Deborah White, parent: We were hesitant about the full-day program for Alex because we didn't think he would do well with coming to school every day, that he would be extremely tired. The full-day kindergarten has been phenomenal. The team environment, with the combination of the teacher and ECE has been great, combined with the play learning, seems really to have worked.

Greg Piggott, kindergarten teacher: At the beginning of this school year there were a lot of parents that were concerned that the day was going to be too long. By mid to late November, sitting down with the parents and having interviews with the parents, their minds had totally changed.

Michelle Davidson, early childhood educator: Our kids, most of them are reading now and the parents can feel the success that's happening in the classroom. They know that the kids are doing really well and that makes them happy.

Deborah White, parent: What's your favourite thing to do in kindergarten?

Child: Work!

Deborah White, parent: Work! He likes to work. He has just grown by leaps and bounds in terms of socialization with his peers and singing songs and knowing his numbers and his addition. I couldn't have asked for a better program. It works for us, it works for Alex. We're really happy with it.

En vedette – archives

La transition vers la maternelle et le jardin d'enfants à temps plein

Lindsay (Ontario)

Transcript <a href="/fre/spotlight/feb15-11.html#transcript" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/spotlight/feb15-11.html#transcript" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Appareil mobile

Transcription

Deborah White, parent : Nous hésitions à inscrire Alex au programme à temps plein parce que nous pensions que ce serait difficile pour lui d'aller à l'école tous les jours, qu'il serait extrêmement fatigué. L'environnement de travail en équipe, avec la combinaison enseignant-éducateur de la petite enfance, c'est super. En plus, l'apprentissage par le jeu semble vraiment fonctionner.

Greg Piggott, enseignant à la maternelle : Au début de cette année scolaire, beaucoup de parents craignaient que la journée ne soit trop longue. Dans la deuxième moitié de novembre, au cours des entretiens avec les parents, j'ai constaté qu'ils avaient totalement changé d'avis.

Michelle Davidson, éducatrice de la petite enfance : La plupart de nos élèves peuvent lire maintenant, et les parents peuvent voir que leurs enfants réussissent. Ils savent que leurs enfants suivent bien et ils sont très contents.

Deborah White, parent : Qu'est-ce que tu aimes faire le plus à la maternelle?

Enfant : Travailler!

Deborah White, parent : Travailler! Il aime travailler. Il a grandi tellement vie sur le plan de la socialisation avec ses camarades, et aussi il a appris à chanter des chansons et à compter et à faire des additions. Je n'aurais pas pu demander un meilleur programme. Ça fonctionne pour nous et ça fonctionne pour Alex. Nous en sommes vraiment contents.