School Information Finder


Frequently Asked Questions

Why did the Ministry of Education develop the School Information Finder?

This tool was developed to give parents a reliable source of information about Ontario's publicly funded schools. Information about student achievement, the student population and the school itself provides a richer profile of each school and helps provide overall context.

The School Information Finder increases the transparency and accountability of Ontario's publicly funded school system. It provides information to encourage a more informed dialogue about schools and school communities. This information enables all members of the school community to be informed participants in the school improvement process.

Why isn't there more information on the school profile?

The current version of the School Information Finder is a first step. Future enhancements to the site are being considered. If you'd like to make suggestions for additional information to be added, please complete the School Information Finder survey.

Currently, the school profiles contain some information that is gathered by the Ministry of Education and some information that is publicly available from other sources.

We encourage you to visit the school's website and contact the school or school board directly for more information about a school.

Can I choose which school to send my children to?

School boards may have their own policy about how students are assigned to schools or whether families can choose which school to attend. You should visit the school board website or contact the school or school board staff for more information about school boundary policies in your area. Each school profile in the School Information Finder includes contact information.

How current is the information in the School Information Finder?

The information in the School Information Finder is the most current available to the Ministry of Education at this time, as reported by schools, school boards, EQAO and Statistics Canada.

Most of the information currently on the site, including student achievement information, is from the 2011-12 school year.

Some of the student population information is calculated using data from Statistics Canada's 2006 census and 2010-11 postal code data from schools.

The information is updated as frequently as possible.

Why do school profiles include student population information?

Providing both the achievement results and the demographic data allows all members of the school community – including parents – to engage in informed discussions about school improvement.

It allows people to have information about a school that goes beyond provincial assessment scores and provides more context around the school. Comparisons among schools are inevitable. This context enables comparison on an “apples-to-apples” basis.

The information on each profile supports school communities learning from one another, and in particular from “like schools.” It allows for greater transparency and a more informed dialogue with the school and the school community about the school and its achievement levels, as well as the programs and services it provides to its students.

I looked at the schools in my area, and I don't think the student population data makes any sense. Could it be wrong?

The student population data on the School Information Finder is dependent on information from the school boards and Statistics Canada.

Some information—students receiving special education or gifted services, students whose first language was not English or French and students who are new to Canada—is reported by students to their school and reported to the Ministry. The information is presented as a percentage of the total school population.

The information about lower-income households and parental education is gathered by Statistics Canada according to certain geographic areas, not by individual families. This data is cross-referenced against student postal codes that school boards report to the Ministry of Education. Each school's percentage for these categories is calculated based on the number of students in the school from each postal code within a geographic area.

I think there's wrong information posted about my school. What should I do?

Talk to your school staff to make sure they have reported the information to their board or to the Ministry of Education. If they have and the information is still out-of-date or not available, please e-mail info@edu.gov.on.ca with the specifics.

My town's not listed in the menu, but it's in the school's address. Is that a mistake?

In the past 15 years, many smaller towns and cities have been amalgamated into larger municipalities. In general, the town/city search menu includes all official municipalities in Ontario.

However, some schools have submitted their address information to the Ministry of Education using their former town or city name. For example, if you search for schools in Toronto, some of the schools will have addresses in Etobicoke or Scarborough.

If you are having difficulty finding schools in a particular city you may also try using the postal code search function.

Rechercher une école élémentaire


Foire aux questions

Pourquoi le ministère de l'Éducation a-t-il élaboré l'Outil de recherche d'information sur les écoles?

Cet outil a été élaboré pour fournir aux parents une source d'information fiable au sujet des écoles financées par les fonds publics de l'Ontario. L'information sur le rendement des élèves, les effectifs des élèves et l'école elle-même présente un profil plus riche de chaque école dans un contexte général.

L'Outil de recherche accroît ainsi la transparence et la responsabilité du système d'éducation public de l'Ontario. Il offre des renseignements qui favorisent un dialogue plus éclairé au sujet des écoles et des communautés scolaires et qui permettent à tous les membres de ces communautés d'être des participants avertis au processus d'amélioration des écoles.

Pourquoi le profil de l'école ne contient-il pas plus de renseignements?

La version actuelle de l'Outil de recherche est un point de départ. On envisage des améliorations à apporter au site à l'avenir. Si vous désirez faire des suggestions quant aux renseignements qu'il faudrait y ajouter, veuillez remplir le questionnaire sur l'Outil de recherche d'information sur les écoles.

À l'heure actuelle, le profil des écoles renferme des renseignements recueillis par le ministère de l'Éducation et des renseignements publiés par d'autres organismes.

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires sur une école donnée, nous vous encourageons à visiter son site Web et à communiquer directement avec elle ou son conseil scolaire.

Puis-je choisir l'école que mon enfant fréquentera?

Les conseils scolaires peuvent avoir leur propre politique sur la façon dont les élèves sont affectés aux écoles ou sur le choix des écoles par les familles. Visitez le site Web du conseil scolaire ou communiquez avec le personnel de l'école ou du conseil scolaire pour de plus amples renseignements sur les politiques concernant les zones scolaires dans votre région. Le profil de chaque école figurant à l'Outil de recherche indique ses coordonnées.

Les renseignements dans l'Outil de recherche sont-ils à jour?

Les renseignements figurant dans l'Outil de recherche sont les plus récents dont dispose le ministère de l'Éducation à l'heure actuelle, tels qu'ils ont été publiés par les écoles, les conseils scolaires, l'OQRE et Statistique Canada.

La plupart des renseignements affichés sur le site pour le moment, y compris l'information sur le rendement des élèves, se rapportent à l'année scolaire 2011-2012.

Certaines données concernant les élèves sont calculées à l'aide des informations du Recensement de 2006 de Statistique Canada ainsi que des codes postaux des écoles de 2010-2011.

Les renseignements sont mis à jour aussi souvent que possible.

Pourquoi le profil des écoles renferme-t-il des renseignements sur les élèves?

Tant les renseignements sur le rendement que les données démographiques permettent à tous les membres de la communauté scolaire – notamment les parents – de participer à des discussions éclairées sur l'amélioration de l'école.

Ainsi, en plus des résultats aux évaluations provinciales, l'Outil de recherche indique d'autres informations sur l'école qui servent à fournir un plus grand contexte. Les comparaisons entre écoles étant inévitables, ce contexte permet de faire des comparaisons plus justes.

L'information figurant dans chaque profil encourage les communautés scolaires à mettre à contribution leurs expériences respectives, et, en particulier, à profiter de l'expérience « d'écoles similaires ». Cela favorise une plus grande transparence et un dialogue plus éclairé avec l'école et la communauté scolaire au sujet de l'école et de son rendement ainsi que des programmes et services qu'elle offre à ses élèves.

J'ai jeté un coup d'œil aux écoles de ma région, et je ne crois pas que les données sur l'effectif des élèves soient exactes. Ces données pourraient-elles être erronées?

Les données sur l'effectif des élèves dans l'Outil de recherche proviennent des renseignements obtenus des conseils scolaires et de Statistique Canada.

Certaines informations, notamment les données sur les élèves qui reçoivent des services à l'enfance en difficulté ou les élèves identifiés comme étant doués, les élèves dont la langue maternelle n'est ni l'anglais ni le français et les élèves nouvellement arrivés au Canada, sont transmises par les élèves à leur école puis communiquées au ministère. Cette information est présentée sous forme de pourcentage du nombre total d'élèves dans l'école.

Les renseignements sur les ménages dont le revenu est au-dessous du seuil de faible revenu ainsi que sur les études des parents sont recueillis par Statistique Canada en fonction des régions géographiques, et non de chaque famille. Nous avons établi une correspondance entre ces renseignements et les codes postaux des élèves, que les conseils scolaires communiquent au ministère de l'Éducation. Pour chaque école, le pourcentage indiqué dans ces catégories est calculé en fonction du nombre d'élèves de l'école habitant dans une zone définie par un code postal au sein d'une région géographique.

Je crois que certains renseignements sur mon école sont erronés. Que dois-je faire?

Parlez au personnel de votre école pour vous assurer que les renseignements exacts ont été communiqués au conseil scolaire ou au ministère de l'Éducation. Si c'est le cas et que l'information n'est pas à jour sur le site ou qu'elle n'est pas disponible, veuillez envoyer un courriel à cet effet à info@edu.gov.on.ca.

Ma ville ne figure pas dans la liste du menu, mais elle figure à l'adresse de mon école. Est-ce une erreur?

Au cours des 15 dernières années, de nombreuses petites villes ont été fusionnées pour former des municipalités plus grandes. En général, le menu de recherche par ville affiche toutes les municipalités officielles de l'Ontario.

Cependant, certaines écoles ont soumis leurs coordonnées au ministère de l'Éducation en indiquant l'ancienne ville dans leur adresse. Par exemple, si vous cherchez des écoles à Toronto, l'adresse de certaines d'entre elles indiquera Etobicoke ou Scarborough.

Si vous avez de la difficulté à trouver des écoles dans une ville donnée, vous pouvez essayer de faire une recherche par code postal.