Safe Schools: What are schools doing?

What are schools doing?

Safe Schools Teams
Every public school in Ontario is required to have a safe schools team. The team is made up of parent representatives, students, the school principal teachers, non-teaching staff and a community partner. The team must review the results of the school's School Climate Survey.

Staff Training
Teachers and principals have received training on bullying prevention and, most recently, on Keeping Our Kids Safe At School Act to understand responding and reporting requirements.

Code of Conduct
Ontario's provincial code of conduct sets clear standards of behaviour for individual school boards to follow, so they can develop their own codes of conduct. Each board must follow the Ontario code of conduct. Each school must have a code of conduct and a bullying prevention and intervention plan and procedures in place as part of their School Improvement Plan.

Promoting Positive School Climate
Promoting a Positive School Climate is a resource that provides examples of practices and activities that will help schools improve the overall school climate. Many of the suggestions offered may be familiar and may already be happening in schools. This resource has been designed to help schools and safe schools teams identify practices that could work for schools or be adapted to suit their needs.

Écoles sécuritaires : Que font les écoles?



Que font les écoles?

Équipes pour la sécurité dans les écoles
Toutes les écoles publiques de l'Ontario doivent avoir une équipe pour la sécurité, constituée de parents, d'élèves, de la direction d'école, de membres du personnel enseignant et non enseignant et d'un partenaire communautaire. L'équipe doit examiner les résultats du sondage sur le climat scolaire de l'école.

Formation du personnel
Le personnel enseignant et les directions d'école ont reçu une formation sur la prévention de l'intimidation et, récemment, sur la Loi de 2009 modifiant la Loi sur l'éducation (sécurité de nos enfants à l'école), afin de mieux comprendre les exigences liées aux rapports et aux réactions en cas d'incident.

Code de conduite
Le Code de conduite de l'Ontario énonce des normes de comportement claires à l'intention des conseils scolaires, pour que ceux-ci puissent établir leur propre code. Chaque conseil scolaire doit respecter le Code de conduite de l'Ontario. Chaque école doit mettre en place un code de conduite et un plan et des procédures de prévention de l'intimation et d'intervention dans le cadre de son plan d'amélioration.

Promotion d'un climat scolaire positif
La ressource Promotion d'un climat scolaire positif fournit des exemples de pratiques et d'activités permettant aux écoles d'améliorer le climat scolaire global. Certaines des suggestions peuvent déjà être mises en œuvre dans les écoles. Cette ressource a été conçue pour aider les écoles et les équipes pour la sécurité dans les écoles à cerner les pratiques qui pourraient fonctionner telles quelles ou être adaptées aux besoins.