Safe Schools: What is the ministry doing?

What is the ministry doing?

We are committed to providing a safe learning and teaching environment. That's why Ontario has a safe schools strategy in place and specific policies to help prevent bullying in schools.

Safe Schools Strategy

This strategy requires that all schools have a bullying prevention and intervention plan and procedures in place, as well as a safe schools team. Schools have been provided with resources and training for teachers and principals. Our partnership with Kids Help Phone helps them provide confidential counselling services for children and youth.

Ontario's new approach to discipline

This strategy is based on a new approach to discipline. “Progressive discipline” involves the whole school and promotes a positive school climate. It enables the principal to choose the appropriate consequences to address inappropriate student behaviour and offers students multiple supports to promote positive behaviour.

Code of Conduct

Ontario's Code of Conduct sets clear standards of behaviour by outlining the roles and responsibilities for everyone in the school community, including students, parents, school staff and community partners.

Bill 212 – Progressive Discipline and School Safety

Whether it happens in person or online, students who engage in bullying, including cyberbullying, can get suspended from school. These rules apply to both elementary and secondary students.

Policy/Program Memorandum 144

This memorandum defines bullying and outlines expectations for school boards on bullying prevention and intervention.

Registry of Resources

This registry provides information about resources to help prevent bullying and promote safe and inclusive schools. The resources may be suitable for purchase and use in elementary and secondary schools.

Keeping Our Kids Safe at School Act

This legislation came into effect February 1, 2010 and builds on Ontario's safe schools strategy. It deals with how staff must report serious incidents, including bullying, and respond to inappropriate behaviours that take place at school.

Sample School Climate Surveys

These sample surveys can help schools assess perceptions of safety. This information must be used to help schools and safe and accepting schools teams make planning decisions about how to help prevent all forms of bullying and harassment, and promote safe, inclusive and accepting schools.

Ontario Equity and Inclusive Strategy

The Ontario Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy was launched in April, 2010. This new strategy outlines how the ministry, school boards and schools are supporting stronger equity and inclusive education. Read the strategy, as well as the new policy and program memoranda and guidelines.

Character Development

The goal of the Character Development initiative is to develop school environments where all people – students, teachers, administrators and support staff – treat each other with care and respect. This initiative supports academic achievement by developing well-rounded citizens who will help build respectful, safe, caring and inclusive school environments.

Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week

Ontario's Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week will be recognized the third week of every November, starting with November 13-19, 2011. Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week focuses the school community on promoting a safer learning environment for all students, which is essential to their success. It is also a valuable opportunity to raise awareness of bullying-related issues with parents and the local community.

Écoles sécuritaires : Que fait le Ministère?



Que fait le Ministère?

Nous nous sommes engagés à créer un milieu d'apprentissage et d'enseignement sécuritaire. C'est pourquoi l'Ontario a mis en place une stratégie pour la sécurité dans les écoles ainsi que des politiques précises pour prévenir l'intimidation dans les écoles.

Stratégie pour la sécurité dans les écoles

Cette stratégie exige que toutes les écoles mettent en œuvre un plan et des procédures de prévention de l'intimidation et d'intervention, et mettent sur pied une équipe pour la sécurité. Le personnel enseignant et les directions des écoles ont reçu de la formation ainsi que plusieurs ressources. Notre partenariat avec Jeunesse, J'écoute leur permet d'offrir des services de consultation confidentiels aux enfants et aux adolescents.

Nouvelle approche de l'Ontario en matière de discipline

La Stratégie est fondée sur une nouvelle approche de la discipline. La « discipline progressive » mobilise l'ensemble de l'école et favorise un climat scolaire positif. Elle permet à la direction d'école de choisir les conséquences appropriées en réponse aux comportements inappropriés des élèves et prévoit plusieurs soutiens pour encourager un comportement positif chez les élèves.

Code de conduite

Le Code de conduite de l'Ontario énonce des normes de comportement claires, car il décrit les rôles et responsabilités de tous les membres de la communauté scolaire, y compris les élèves, les parents, le personnel scolaire et les partenaires communautaires.

Loi de 2007 modifiant la Loi sur l'éducation (discipline progressive et sécurité dans les écoles)

Que ce soit en personne ou en ligne, l'élève qui commet des actes d'intimidation peut se voir suspendu de l'école. Ces règles s'appliquent aux élèves des écoles élémentaires comme secondaires.

Note Politique/Programmes n° 144

Cette note définit l'intimidation et décrit les attentes en matière de prévention et d'intervention pour les conseils scolaires.

Répertoire des ressources

Ce répertoire fournit des renseignements sur les ressources visant la prévention de l'intimidation et la promotion d'écoles sécuritaires et inclusives. On peut faire l'achat de ces ressources et s'en servir dans les écoles élémentaires et secondaires.

Loi de 2009 modifiant la Loi sur l'éducation (sécurité de nos enfants à l'école)

Cette loi est entrée en vigueur le 1er février 2010 et fait fond sur la Stratégie pour la sécurité dans les écoles de l'Ontario. Elle précise pour le personnel la marche à suivre en signalant les incidents graves, dont les actes d'intimidation, et en réagissant aux comportements inappropriés à l'école.

Exemples de sondage sur le climat scolaire

Ces exemples de sondage peuvent aider les écoles à évaluer la façon dont la sécurité est perçue. Ces renseignements aideront les écoles et les équipes pour la sécurité et la tolérance dans les écoles à prendre des décisions quant à la planification de la prévention de toutes les formes d'intimidation et de harcèlement, et de la promotion d'écoles sécuritaires, inclusives et tolérantes.

Stratégie ontarienne d'équité et d'éducation inclusive

Lancée en avril 2010, cette nouvelle stratégie décrit la façon dont le Ministère, les conseils scolaires et les écoles favorisent une plus grande équité et l'éducation inclusive. Veuillez lire la Stratégie ainsi que la nouvelle note Politique/Programmes et les directives pertinentes.

Développement du caractère

L'Initiative de développement du caractère vise à créer des milieux scolaires où toutes les personnes – élèves, personnel enseignant, personnel de direction et personnel de soutien – se traitent les unes les autres avec bienveillance et respect. Elle encourage la réussite scolaire en formant des citoyens bien équilibrés qui contribueront à l'établissement de milieux scolaires respectueux, sûrs, bienveillants et inclusifs.

Semaine de la sensibilisation à l'intimidation et de la prévention

La troisième semaine de novembre de chaque année est désignée Semaine de la sensibilisation à l'intimidation et de la prévention en Ontario, à commencer par celle du 13 au 19 novembre 2011.

La Semaine de la sensibilisation à l'intimidation et de la prévention mobilise la communauté scolaire pour promouvoir un milieu d'apprentissage plus sécuritaire pour tous les élèves, lequel est essentiel à leur réussite. Elle offre aussi l'occasion de sensibiliser les parents et la collectivité locale aux questions liées à l'intimidation.