Safe Schools: Code of Conduct

Parents' Guide to the Ontario Code of Conduct

This document is available as an Adobe Acrobat file (114 KB).

Introduction

A positive school climate and a safe learning and teaching environment are essential if students are to succeed in school. A positive school climate means everyone feels they are welcome and respected.

All students, parents, teachers and staff have the right to be safe, and feel safe, in their school community. With this right comes the responsibility for everyone to be accountable for their actions and contribute to a positive school climate.

Why is there a provincial code of conduct?

Ontario's provincial code of conduct sets clear standards of behaviour for individual school boards to follow, so that they can develop their own codes of conduct. The standards of behaviour in school board codes of conduct must be consistent with the requirements outlined in the provincial code of conduct.

Who is included in the code and where does it apply?

The code of conduct applies not only to students, but to everyone involved in the publicly funded school system, including parents or guardians, volunteers, teachers and other staff members. The code applies whether on school property, on school buses, at school-authorized events or activities, or in other circumstances that could have an impact on the school climate.

Fundamental beliefs

  • Everyone has a responsibility to promote a safe environment.
  • Everyone should be aware of their rights, as active and engaged citizens. More importantly, everyone should also accept responsibility for protecting their rights and the rights of others. Responsible citizenship involves taking part in the civic life of the school.
  • All members of the school community are to be treated with respect and dignity, especially those in positions of authority.
  • Everyone has a responsibility to resolve conflicts in a way that is civil and respectful. Insults, hurtful acts and a lack of respect for others disrupt learning and teaching in a school community.
  • Everyone is expected to resolve conflicts without using violence. Physical aggression is not a responsible way to deal with other people. No one should use an object to injure another person, or even threaten to use an object to injure another person. This is unacceptable and puts everyone's safety at risk.

This document is derived largely from Policy/Program Memorandum Number 128: The Provincial Code of Conduct and School Board Codes of Conduct, available on the Ministry's website. Please note that the wording in this document is not identical to the wording in the Memorandum and this brochure is not intended to replace it.

Écoles sécuritaires : Le Code de conduite

Le Code de conduite de l'Ontario – Guide des parents

Le rapport est disponible en format Adobe Acrobat (PDF, 118 Ko)

Introduction

Pour assurer la réussite des élèves, un climat positif à l'école et un milieu d'apprentissage et d'enseignement sécuritaires sont des conditions essentielles. Dans une école où le climat est positif, tout le monde se sent bienvenu et respecté.

Les élèves, les parents, les enseignants et les membres du personnel ont tous le droit d'être et de se sentir en sécurité dans leur communauté scolaire. Ce droit s'accompagne de la responsabilité de devoir rendre compte de ses actions et de contribuer au maintien d'un climat scolaire positif.

Pourquoi existe-t-il un code de conduite provincial?

Le Code de conduite de l'Ontario énonce des normes de comportement claires à l'intention des conseils scolaires, pour que ceux-ci puissent à leur tour établir leur propre code. Les normes de comportement fixées par ceux-ci doivent concorder avec les exigences du code provincial.

Qui est assujetti au Code et où celui-ci s'applique-t-il?

Le Code de conduite s'applique non seulement aux élèves, mais aussi à toutes les personnes impliquées dans le système scolaire financé par les deniers publics, c'est-à-dire les parents, les bénévoles, le personnel enseignant et les autres membres du personnel, que ces personnes se trouvent sur les terrains de l'école, à bord d'un autobus scolaire ou participent à une activité parascolaire, ou dans d'autres cas qui pourraient avoir des répercussions sur le climat scolaire.

Valeurs fondamentales

  • Tout le monde a la responsabilité de promouvoir un environnement sécuritaire.
  • En tant que citoyen actif et engagé, tout le monde doit connaître ses droits; et, chose plus importante encore, tout le monde doit assumer la responsabilité de protéger ses droits et ceux des autres. Le civisme implique une participation appropriée à la vie civique de la communauté scolaire.
  • Tous les membres de la communauté scolaire, en particulier les personnes en situation d'autorité, doivent être traités avec respect et dignité.
  • Tout le monde a la responsabilité de régler les conflits dans le respect et la civilité. Les insultes, les gestes blessants et le manque de respect envers autrui perturbent l'apprentissage et l'enseignement dans la communauté scolaire.
  • Toute la communauté scolaire doit employer des moyens pacifiques pour résoudre les conflits. L'agression physique n'est pas une façon responsable de se comporter avec les autres. Personne ne doit se servir d'un objet pour blesser quelqu'un, ni même menacer de s'en servir. C'est inacceptable et porte atteinte à la sécurité de tous.

Le présent document s'inspire en grande partie de la note Politique/Programmes no 128, intitulée Code de conduite provincial et codes de conduite des conseils scolaires (PDF, 78 Ko), qu'on peut trouver sur le site Web du Ministère. Il est à noter que le texte de ce document n'est pas identique à celui de la note précitée et qu'il n'est pas dans notre intention de la remplacer.