Premier's Safe Schools Awards

2010/11 Premier's Safe Schools Awards recipients

Orangeville District Secondary School, Orangeville
Upper Grand District School Board

Exceptional Engagement

Orangeville District Secondary School faced challenges with students feeling they were not being heard on important issues, so staff implemented a range of activities to better engage students and parents. Here are just a few of the approaches they used:

  • Focus groups where students provided their input about what was happening at their school
  • Specialized programming developed to meet the needs of all students
  • Thank you cards and awards to recognize positive behaviours
  • A "wall of fame" to highlight student achievement, past and present.

Parents continue to be actively engaged through ongoing information sessions and increased parent-teacher communication. The school has also developed community partnerships that help deliver programs, such as an anti-violence workshop and a Young Parents Program. As a result of these initiatives, suspensions have declined substantially, student interaction is more positive and both parents and the community are more connected to the school.


St. Philomena Catholic Elementary School, Fort Erie
Niagara Catholic District School Board

Community Connections

St. Philomena Catholic Elementary School has positively changed its school climate through teamwork and collaboration among students, staff, parents, the school board and its community agencies. The school recognized that to meet the needs of families it needed to become a "community hub" where local support services are available for families.� Community hub partnerships provide:

  • Help for children with mental health issues
  • Coaching on bullying prevention behaviours
  • Programming to prevent gangs from forming
  • Girls' and boys' self-esteem programs.

Student-led activities at the school include:

  • Peer Buddy Program with JK and SK students and Grade 8s
  • Pay it Forward �featuring activities and "kindness coupons"
  • Training for junior students to organize activities for primary students during recess.

Parents are involved with the school by sharing information about their careers with students in the classroom.

St. Philomena has seen positive results: discipline issues have been reduced while parents are providing more help with behavioural issues and helping to improve the school climate.


Dunrankin Drive Public School, Mississauga
Peel District School Board

Parent Power

This school had challenges with the socio-economic factors in their community that put students at risk and has been working hard to address these issues. Their work is paying off: the past two years have seen positive changes in the school climate. A focus on community, character education and parent involvement has contributed to a significant reduction in both suspensions and behavioural issues.

Programs for students include:

  • Good character awards
  • Girls' friendship club
  • Pen pal programs with students from other schools
  • A play that involves each student enrolled at the school. �

Parents are now taking a more active role in the life of the school with the help of outreach opportunities organized by the school. These include:

  • Workshops for parents that offer practical ideas on discipline and suggestions on how they can help their children with homework
  • A Family Education Symposium that provides information to newcomers about navigating the Ontario education system
  • An Open-Door Policy which means that principals and vice principals are available to parents so they can talk about issues or concerns
  • "Readiness Centres" designed to prepare preschool students for kindergarten that parents can attend with their children.

As a result, Dunrankin Drive Public School has seen a significant improvement in parent engagement. Increased parent participation in the school has led to a considerable drop in suspensions and other discipline-related activities.


Eastdale Secondary School, Welland
District School Board of Niagara

Bullying Prevention

Through a student-initiated survey, the safe schools team identified the need for training to define, handle and report bullying incidents at school. Eastdale took a "whole team" approach to address bullying by encouraging more student initiatives, greater parent involvement and increased participation by staff and community groups.

The school's efforts are making a difference. An online incident reporting form on the school website encourages students to report bullying.� As a result, more incidents are being reported and dealt with by staff.� Other student-led initiatives include:

  • Love is Louder campaign that encourages students to offer support to other struggling students
  • Day of Silence to demonstrate how victims of bullying feel silenced, as well as Pink Shirt Days and Purple Shirt Days.

Community groups are also involved with the school to provide advice on safe schools, bullying, peer mediation training, positive mentor relationships as well as ideas on reducing victimization and anti-social behaviour. These measures are making the school environment more positive, respectful and inclusive.


Saint Paul Catholic High School, Niagara Falls
Niagara Catholic District School

Social Climate Change

This school has seen many positive changes thanks to the success of the Social Climate Committee which has worked to change the perception of bullying and create a welcoming, inclusive environment. The committee is made up of parents, students, teachers, a police liaison and administrative staff.� Some of the committee's initiatives include:

  • Social climate surveys to identify improvements and find solutions to issues
  • Music classes where students write and professionally record songs to promote safe schools
  • A video called "It Gets Better" that offers students a message of hope
  • "Random Act of Kindness Day", a day organized by students
  • Bullying prevention presentations by students for students and
  • Bullying prevention information packages for parents.�

The school has been so successful with their efforts that other schools in the Niagara region have approached school staff for advice about creating their own Social Climate Committees.


Fletcher's Meadow Secondary School, Brampton
Peel District School Board

Diversity Matters

The population in the community around Fletcher's Meadow has increased rapidly, creating challenges for the school environment. Staff, students and parents identified issues relating to student behaviour and bullying as key areas for focus.

The safe schools team addressed these concerns by:

  • Establishing an extra-curricular program
  • Creating opportunities for Student Voice with more student-led clubs and teams
  • Offering staff training in equity, progressive discipline/restorative practices and bullying prevention and intervention
  • Encouraging stronger parent involvement
  • Developing and strengthening community partnerships.

Some specific activities included:

  • A principal's breakfast where students met with the principal to discuss issues and ask questions
  • Inter-faith symposiums that provided opportunities to learn about diverse cultural traditions
  • "Student of the Month"spotlight that celebrated academic achievement and positive behaviour
  • Workshops for Grade 9 students to help them handle peer pressure
  • Establishment of over 70 student-led clubs and teams including a Cultural Club, Black History Club, Pride Club and a prayer group for Muslim students.

Through these and other positive activities, Fletcher's Meadow has seen reduced suspensions, improved attendance and increased academic achievement.


Grimsby Secondary School, Grimsby
District School Board of Niagara

Students move school "Beyond the Hurt"

Grimsby Secondary School realized that bullying was not well understood in all of its forms so it mounted a student-led campaign to address the issue. A student group called the Power Rangers initiated "Beyond the Hurt", a bullying and harassment prevention campaign which involved classroom visits, an assembly and an elementary road show. The Power Rangers also recruited staff to help, asking teachers to follow these three steps when they encounter bullying:

  • Stop the behaviour
  • Name the behaviour as bullying and
  • Ask for change.�

Teachers have responded by volunteering to be part of a "Go-To Teachers" group who offer students help with bullying or harassment.� As a result of these efforts the number of students receiving discipline for bullying and harassment has declined and there is a high level of student participation in school teams, clubs and charity events. As a symbol of their inclusive environment, the school has welcome signs in multiple languages and bullying prevention posters proclaiming, "Bullying is not OK here".


Errol Road Public School, Sarnia
Lambton Kent District School Board

Supporting Positive Behaviour

Errol Road Public School started the Positive Behaviour Support program as a pilot project but it has been so successful that it has become the basis for interactions at the school and helped to create a positive school climate.� The program sets out the behaviour expectations at the school: Respect, Attentive Listening, Appreciation and Participation.

These expectations have helped to spark a range of student activities such as student-led monthly character development assemblies. Another example is junior and intermediate students who act as the program "Captains" in the school. As Captains of Attentive Listening, Respect, Appreciation and Participation, these students recognize and support positive behaviour in all students. Positive behaviour is reinforced daily with tickets and weekly draws for prizes, and acknowledged and celebrated monthly with ribbon ceremonies. To ensure the school is inclusive, the school has reading buddies, bowling buddies, track and field buddies as well as peer buddy programs. �

Implementing the program has resulted in declining office referrals and suspensions along with an increase in parent engagement and community partnerships. In the words of a staff member, "Positive Behaviour Support is no longer a pilot program, it is a way of being together that is understood by staff and students and is often commented on by visitors to the school." �


Edenbrook Hill Public School, Brampton
Peel District School Board

Connecting families with school life

Edenbrook Hill Public School is a large and diverse school. By successfully connecting students and their families to school life, the school has created a safe and inviting school community. Students take an active role in their education by setting their own learning goals with parents and teachers and leading student conferences. Grade 5 students participate in a leadership program and are trained in mediation and conflict resolution skills so they can act as peer mediators on the playground.

The school ensures ongoing communications with parents and caregivers through student agendas, "Good News" notes and phone calls, home-school folders, school and class newsletters and parent meetings. Parents are also involved as volunteers at the school and their contributions are acknowledged at appreciation celebrations.�

Through these activities and programs, the school has achieved a high level of student attendance and involvement in extra-curricular activities, reduced office referrals for behaviour issues and decreased rate of suspensions.

Check out this video and see Edenbrook Hill students in action


Dr. G.W. Williams Secondary School, Aurora
York Region District School Board

From Research to Results

This school started its safe schools planning by learning more about safe schools programs and understanding its own school climate by using student questionnaires. This research led the school to encourage more student-led activities, parent engagement and community partnerships. This resulted in:

  • Increased student participation in activities such as Pink Shirt Day
  • Improved results on the 2010 Student School Climate Survey
  • Better communication with parents, with almost 90% of parents getting connected to the school through email.

Students are more involved in the school by leading activities such as:

  • A Peer Mentors team-building assembly for grade 9 students
  • The Buddy Program to support full inclusion of all students
  • Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week.

Parents are engaged through regular communication such as:

  • Parent Tell, a weekly newsletter to parents
  • The Parent Handbook.

The school also works with community partners who provide support with substance abuse issues, and help promoting diversity and physical activity.

The climate at this school has benefited from all of these activities. As the School Resource Officer commented, "The social-emotional environment of the school is one that creates a safe and caring environment for all".�

Écoles sécuritaires : Lauréats 2010-2011

Lauréats 2010-2011 du Prix du premier ministre pour la sécurité dans les écoles


Orangeville District Secondary School, Orangeville
Upper Grand District School Board

Engagement exceptionnel

L'Orangeville District Secondary School était confrontée à des défis : les élèves avaient le sentiment qu'on ne les écoutait pas au sujet d'enjeux importants. Le personnel a donc mis en œuvre un éventail d'activités afin de mieux impliquer les élèves et les parents. Voici quelques-unes des approches utilisées :

  • Mise sur pied de groupes de discussion pour permettre aux élèves de donner leur avis sur ce qui se passe dans leur école.
  • Mise au point de programmes spécialisés pour répondre aux besoins de tous les élèves.
  • Distribution de cartes de remerciements et de prix pour distinguer les comportements positifs.
  • Création d'un « mur de la renommée » pour mettre en vedette les réussites des élèves, passées et actuelles.

Les parents continuent de s'impliquer activement grâce à des séances d'information régulières et à une communication parent-enseignant accrue. L'école a également établi des partenariats communautaires qui lui permettent d'offrir certains programmes tels qu'un atelier de lutte contre la violence et un programme destiné aux jeunes parents. Grâce à ces initiatives, le nombre de suspensions a considérablement diminué, l'interaction des élèves est plus positive et aussi bien les parents que la collectivité se sentent davantage liés à l'école.


St. Philomena Catholic Elementary School, Fort Erie
Niagara Catholic District School Board

Connexions communautaires

La St. Philomena Catholic Elementary School a amélioré son climat scolaire grâce au travail d'équipe et à la collaboration entre les élèves, le personnel, les parents, le conseil scolaire et ses organismes communautaires. L'école a reconnu que pour répondre aux besoins des familles, elle devait devenir un « carrefour communautaire » offrant aux familles des services de soutien locaux. Les partenariats établis dans le cadre de ce carrefour communautaire fournissent :

  • Une aide aux enfants ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.
  • Une formation sur la prévention de l'intimidation.
  • Des programmes pour prévenir la formation de gangs.
  • Des programmes favorisant l'estime de soi chez les filles et les garçons.

Les activités menées par des élèves à l'école comprennent les suivantes :

  • Le programme Peer Buddy, qui associe des élèves de maternelle et de jardin d'enfants à des élèves de 8e année.
  • L'initiative Pay it Forward, qui prévoit des actions désintéressées et des « coupons de gentillesse ».
  • Une formation destinée aux élèves du cycle moyen leur permettant d'organiser des activités pour les élèves du primaire pendant la récréation.

Les parents participent à la vie de l'école en faisant des présentations au sujet de leur carrière en classe.

L'école St. Philomena a constaté des résultats positifs : le nombre de problèmes de discipline a diminué, les parents aident davantage l'école à gérer les problèmes de comportement et à améliorer le climat scolaire.


Dunrankin Drive Public School, Mississauga
Peel District School Board

Le pouvoir des parents

Cette école a été confrontée à des difficultés tenant aux facteurs socioéconomiques de la communauté qui plaçaient les élèves dans des situations à risque; elle a travaillé d'arrache-pied pour faire face à ces problèmes. Ce travail produit des résultats : ces deux dernières années, le climat scolaire s'est amélioré. En mettant l'accent sur la communauté, le développement du caractère et la participation des parents, l'école a réussi à réduire de façon significative le nombre de suspensions et de problèmes de comportement.

Exemples de programmes pour les élèves :

  • Prix récompensant le bon comportement.
  • Club d'amitié des filles.
  • Programmes de correspondance avec des élèves d'autres écoles.
  • Pièce de théâtre faisant participer tous les élèves inscrits à l'école.

Les parents assument désormais un rôle plus actif dans la vie de l'école grâce aux activités de conscientisation organisées par celle-ci. Exemples d'activités :

  • Ateliers pour les parents proposant des idées pratiques sur la discipline, ainsi que des suggestions sur la façon dont ils peuvent aider leurs enfants à faire leurs devoirs.
  • Un colloque de sensibilisation des familles qui offre aux nouveaux arrivants des renseignements, conseils et instructions sur le système d'éducation ontarien.
  • Adoption d'une politique de portes ouvertes rendant la direction d'école et la direction adjointe disponibles pour discuter avec les parents de toute question ou préoccupation.
  • Établissement de centres de préparation des élèves à la maternelle, auxquels les parents peuvent assister avec leurs enfants.

Grâce à ces initiatives, la Dunrankin Drive Public School a constaté une amélioration significative de la participation des parents, laquelle s'est traduite par une diminution considérable du nombre de suspensions et d'autres activités liées à la discipline.


Eastdale Secondary School, Welland
District School Board of Niagara

Prévention de l'intimidation

Grâce à un sondage à l'initiative des élèves, l'équipe pour la sécurité dans les écoles a trouvé qu'il y avait un besoin de formation pour définir, gérer et signaler les incidents d'intimidation à l'école. Eastdale a employé une approche globale pour traiter le problème de l'intimidation en favorisant les initiatives des élèves, en encourageant une plus grande mobilisation des parents et en incitant une participation accrue de la part du personnel et des groupes communautaires.

Les efforts déployés par l'école font une différence. Un formulaire en ligne disponible sur le site Web de l'école encourage les élèves à signaler tout incident d'intimidation. Désormais, davantage d'incidents sont signalés et traités par le personnel. Autres exemples d'initiatives menées par des élèves :

  • La campagne Love is Louder qui encourage les élèves à apporter un soutien à leurs camarades qui éprouvent des problèmes.
  • L'initiative Day of Silence pour montrer comment les victimes d'intimidation se sentent réduites au silence, ainsi que des journées du chandail rose et du chandail mauve.

Des groupes communautaires se joignent également à l'action de l'école pour offrir des conseils sur la sécurité dans les écoles, l'intimidation, la formation à la médiation par les pairs, les relations de mentorat positives et la réduction de la victimisation et des comportements antisociaux. Ces mesures rendent l'environnement scolaire plus positif, plus respectueux et plus inclusif.


Saint Paul Catholic High School, Niagara Falls
Niagara Catholic District School

Modification du climat social

Cette école a enregistré de nombreux changements positifs grâce au succès de son comité du climat social, lequel a œuvré pour modifier la perception de l'intimidation et créer un environnement accueillant et inclusif. Le comité est composé de parents, d'élèves, d'enseignants, de personnel de liaison avec la police et de personnel administratif. Exemples d'initiatives du comité :

  • Sondages sur le climat social visant à identifier les améliorations et à trouver des solutions aux problèmes.
  • Cours de musique où les élèves composent des chansons et les enregistrent pour promouvoir la sécurité dans les écoles.
  • Vidéo intitulée It Gets Better qui délivre aux élèves un message d'espoir.
  • Journée de service rendu à l'improviste organisée par les élèves.
  • Présentations effectuées par les élèves pour les élèves sur le thème de la prévention de l'intimidation.
  • Trousses d'information sur la prévention de l'intimidation pour les parents.

Les efforts de l'école ont connu un succès tel que d'autres écoles de la région de Niagara ont communiqué avec son personnel pour obtenir des conseils sur la façon de créer leurs propres comités du climat social.


Fletcher's Meadow Secondary School, Brampton
Peel District School Board

La diversité compte

La population de la collectivité entourant Fletcher's Meadow augmente rapidement, ce qui est source de défis pour l'environnement scolaire. Le personnel, les élèves et les parents ont estimé qu'il convenait de se concentrer sur les problèmes liés au comportement des élèves et à l'intimidation.

L'équipe pour la sécurité dans les écoles a fait face à ces difficultés grâce aux initiatives suivantes :

  • Établissement d'un programme d'activités parascolaires.
  • Création de possibilités de participer à La voix des élèves grâce à davantage de clubs et d'équipes menés par des élèves.
  • Formation du personnel aux questions d'équité, à la discipline progressive, aux pratiques réparatrices, à la prévention de l'intimidation et à l'intervention.
  • Mesures encourageant une plus grande participation des parents.
  • Développement et renforcement de partenariats communautaires.

Exemples d'activités spécifiques :

  • Petit-déjeuner avec la direction de l'école permettant aux élèves de discuter des problèmes et de poser des questions.
  • Colloques interconfessionnels sur les diverses traditions culturelles.
  • Distinction Élève du mois qui récompense de bons résultats scolaires et un comportement positif.
  • Ateliers destinés aux élèves de 9e année pour les aider à gérer la pression des pairs.
  • Création de plus de 70 clubs et équipes menés par des élèves, notamment un club culturel, un club sur l'histoire des Noirs, un club de la fierté et un groupe de prière pour les élèves musulmans.

Grâce à ces activités et à d'autres initiatives positives, Fletcher's Meadow a enregistré une baisse du nombre des suspensions, une amélioration de l'assiduité et une hausse des résultats scolaires.


Grimsby Secondary School, Grimsby
District School Board of Niagara

Les élèves permettent à l'école d�aller « au-delà de la souffrance »

La Grimsby Secondary School s'est rendu compte que l'intimidation n'était pas bien comprise dans toutes ses formes. Alors elle a mis sur pied une campagne menée par des élèves pour traiter le problème. Un groupe d'élèves appelé les Power Rangers a lancé Beyond the Hurt, une campagne de prévention de l'intimidation et du harcèlement consistant en des visites de salles de classe, une assemblée et un spectacle itinérant pour les élèves de l'élémentaire. Les Power Rangers ont également fait du recrutement auprès du personnel scolaire, en demandant aux enseignants qui rencontrent des cas d'intimidation de suivre ces trois étapes :

  • Mettre fin au comportement.
  • Dire clairement que le comportement constitue une forme d'intimidation.
  • Demander un changement de comportement.

Les enseignants ont répondu en se portant volontaires pour faire partie d'un groupe-ressource qui aide les élèves aux prises avec l'intimidation ou le harcèlement. Grâce à ces efforts, le nombre d'élèves sanctionnés pour des actes d'intimidation et de harcèlement a diminué et le niveau de participation des élèves au sein des équipes scolaires, des clubs et des événements de bienfaisance a augmenté. Pour promouvoir son environnement inclusif, l'école a installé des panneaux en plusieurs langues, et des affiches pour la prévention de l'intimidation déclarant que « Nous n'acceptons PAS l'intimidation ici ».


Errol Road Public School, Sarnia
Lambton Kent District School Board

Soutien au comportement positif

L'Errol Road Public School a lancé un programme de soutien au comportement positif en tant que projet pilote. Mais ce programme a connu un tel succès qu'il est devenu une base pour les interactions à l'école et a contribué à créer un climat scolaire positif. Le programme énonce les attentes de l'école en matière de comportement : respect, écoute attentive, appréciation et participation.

Ces attentes ont favorisé la mise en place d'un éventail d'activités d'élèves comme les assemblées sur le développement du caractère organisées chaque mois par les élèves. Autre exemple : les élèves des cycles moyen et intermédiaire qui jouent le rôle de « capitaine » du programme dans l'école. En tant que capitaines de l'écoute attentive, du respect, de l'appréciation et de la participation, ces élèves reconnaissent et encouragent les comportements positifs chez l'ensemble des élèves. Le comportement positif est encouragé au quotidien au moyen de remise de billets. Chaque semaine, il y a un tirage au sort pour des prix, et chaque mois, il y a une cérémonie de remise de rubans. Pour assurer l'inclusion, l'école met en place des programmes de partenaires de lecture, de jeu de quilles, d'athlétisme ainsi que des programmes de soutien par les pairs.

Toutes ces activités ont mené à une baisse des renvois au bureau de la direction et des suspensions ainsi qu'à une augmentation de la participation des parents et du nombre de partenariats communautaires. Pour citer un membre du personnel : « Le soutien au comportement positif n'est plus désormais un projet pilote, mais une façon d'être ensemble qui est comprise par le personnel et les élèves et qui suscite souvent des commentaires positifs par les visiteurs à l'école. »


Edenbrook Hill Public School, Brampton
Peel District School Board

Établir des liens entre les familles et la vie scolaire

L'Edenbrook Hill Public School est une école diversifiée et de grande taille. En réussissant à établir des liens entre les élèves et leur famille et la vie scolaire, l'école a créé une communauté scolaire sécuritaire et accueillante. Les élèves jouent un rôle actif dans leur éducation en fixant leurs propres objectifs d'apprentissage avec les parents et les enseignants et en animant des conférences d'élèves. Les élèves de 5e année participent à un programme de leadership et sont formés aux compétences en médiation et résolution de conflits pour pouvoir intervenir auprès de leurs pairs sur les terrains de jeux.

L'école assure une communication permanente avec les parents et les gardiens au moyen des agendas des élèves, d'appels téléphoniques et de notes de « bonnes nouvelles », de classeurs maison-école, de bulletins de l'école et de la classe et de réunions avec les parents. Les parents font également du bénévolat à l'école et leurs contributions sont reconnues lors de cérémonies d'appréciation.

Grâce à ces activités et à ces programmes, l'école a réussi à atteindre un bon taux d'assiduité et une participation élevée aux activités parascolaires, à réduire les renvois au bureau de la direction pour problèmes de comportement et à faire baisser le nombre de suspensions.

Regardez cette vidéo qui montre les élèves d'Edenbrook Hill en pleine action.


Dr. G.W. Williams Secondary School, Aurora
York Region District School Board

De la recherche aux résultats

Cette école a lancé sa planification pour la sécurité en se renseignant sur les programmes en la matière et en comprenant son propre climat à l'aide de questionnaires remplis par les élèves. Ces études ont amené l'école à encourager davantage les activités menées par les élèves, la participation des parents et les partenariats communautaires. Cela s'est traduit par ce qui suit :

  • Une participation accrue des élèves à des activités telles que la journée du chandail rose.
  • De meilleurs résultats au sondage sur le climat scolaire de 2010.
  • Une meilleure communication avec les parents, dont près de 90 % sont reliés à l'école par courriel.

Les élèves sont davantage impliqués dans la vie de l'école lorsqu'ils organisent des activités comme :

  • Une réunion de promotion de l'esprit d'équipe dans le domaine du mentorat par les pairs pour les élèves de 9e année.
  • Un programme de partenaires pour une inclusion complète de tous les élèves.
  • La Semaine de la sensibilisation à l'intimidation et de la prévention.

Les parents participent à la vie scolaire par le biais d'une communication régulière :

  • Parent Tell, un bulletin hebdomadaire envoyé aux parents.
  • un manuel conçu pour les parents.

L'école collabore également avec des partenaires communautaires qui fournissent un soutien en matière de toxicomanie et qui contribuent à promouvoir la diversité et l'activité physique.

Le climat de cette école a bénéficié de toutes ces activités. Aux dires de l'agent-ressource de l'école, son environnement socio-émotionnel crée un milieu sécuritaire et bienveillant pour tous.