Research in Education


What Did You Do in School Today?

Mobile

Transcript of video

PENNY MILTON: What Did You Do In School Today is a national coordinated research and development initiative that is core to our focus on adolescent learners. The name: What Did You Do In School Today, immediately conveys to people what this is all about. That a) it is about the students. And secondly, we all know that many adolescent young people, when you ask them that question say: ‘not much' – or ‘nothing'.

ANITA SIMPSON: Secondary school students are not as engaged as we would have hoped and that poses a huge challenge for us as educators and begs the question: if they're not engaged then what are we going to do to ensure that that engagement goes up. Because we know in a world that we live in like today, they have to want to learn in order to be successful, both personally and professionally.

PENNY: Mobilizing people around this idea that kids should actually say: guess what I did in school today, that they should be excited about their learning is kind of inspirational to people.

NARRATION: The research partners are…
Canadian Education Association, the Canadian Council on Learning, Galileo Education Network, The Learning Bar and 15 school districts across Canada. The Canadian Education Association, Canadian Council on Learning and the participating school districts each provided one third of the funding.

These organizations worked together to embed research collaboration within schools, among school districts and across national networks.

ANITA: When you use research to help teachers understand their practice, they're much more likely to be engaged by the process, to find it valid, to find it credible. And it's incredibly motivating to get real data back about your school, your students and your community. Hearing from students directly about what it is that they find important to them has shifted our mindset and really inspired us to do more learning about those factors.

PENNY: The Edmonton Conference “engaged teachers, engaged learners”. Took us down the path of examining the relationship between teaching and learning. I mean if we are after engaged students then surely we need engaged teachers. And what does that look like?

STUDENT CLIP: It may take student initiative to say, “Could I try and do it this way? Could I try and do a project to demonstrate characterization in this novel because I have a really good idea.” And I think if the student feels they can approach their teacher and say those kinds of things, and hopefully then the teacher will kind of open up and say, “Hey, that is pretty cool. Why don't we try this as a class,” or something.

STUDENT CLIP: This whole process challenged me to step outside my comfort zone and actually ask a lot of questions relevant to the topic.

STUDENT CLIP: and challenging yourself reminds you, because…you'll always do some sort of challenge in your life…you'll be like, “Oh, I can run faster than you”. You'll always remember those kinds of times, and I think challenging yourself is really important to learn.

NARRATION: Some significant challenges have been experienced in the implementation of What did you do in school today? so far.

  1. Mediating the different interests of the research partners.
  2. Overcoming the barriers created by district personnel changes
  3. The challenge of orienting newcomers into the initiative.

PENNY: A partnership has to be about something that you can't do yourself. So it means that you have to bring together a variety of different interests. One of the early challenges was actually in developing the conceptual framework for the initiative. Part of our strategy is to bring the participating districts and schools together occasionally, to keep them in the network, such that those that may be less energetic actually see what others are doing.

ANITA: When teachers also realized that they and their school could develop a couple of questions that were particular to their site and some of the initiatives that their school community was working on, that really heightened the engagement factor.

PENNY: The Winnipeg Conference was the second annual district conference we've done. These are conferences restricted to a team of people from participating districts and they help us define the agenda. And this year's agenda at their request was a deeper focus on instructional development, instructional change.

STUDENT CLIP: So, our school has around twelve hundred people, so only 600 people are engaged, and the other half are not.

STUDENT CLIP: That's only half of the school that's intellectually engaged in their classes.

STUDENT CLIP: There's only 51%, so we have to get that number higher.

NARRATION: Collaboration occurs at many levels.

First, within schools, the Student Survey provides an opportunity for students to regularly share their experiences of engagement in schools and classrooms. This creates ongoing opportunities for staff (and students) to interpret and act upon the data and build new knowledge about student engagement in the context of their day-to-day practices.

Second, collaboration among schools within a district is possible. The initiative is driven by a clear set of ideas and objectives, but does not prescribe how districts participate.

Third, through a National Network, CEA has facilitated many opportunities to ensure that all levels of leadership are included in shaping and reflecting on the initiative.

ANITA: I believe this partnership worked so well because CEA was very, very collaborative, very supportive and allowed all of the participants some room to reflect who they are as part of the project.

PENNY: It really helps a school focus on the things that matter for their kids. So we've seen schools, for example, where suspension rates, where referrals to the office have dropped dramatically in a single year of focus on engaging the kids, in talking about what helps them learn and what needs to be different.

ANITA: My advice to others who are thinking about participating in collaborative research is to just do it. When minds come together to work on a common problem or a common inquiry question or a common pursuit, the learning that happens collaboratively is quite amazing.

PENNY: If you're interested in changing education, it's actually working with the people whose job it is to educate our young people that will get us where we want to go.

Recherche en éducation

Initiative « Qu'as-tu fait à l'école aujourd'hui? »

Transcription<a href="/fre/research/what.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/research/what.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Mobile

Transcription

PENNY MILTON : Qu'as-tu fait à l'école aujourd'hui? est une initiative de recherche et développement coordonnée à l'échelle nationale qui est au centre de notre concentration sur l'apprentissage des adolescents. Son nom véhicule tout de suite de quoi il s'agit : des élèves. Et aussi du fait que nous savons très bien ce que bien des adolescentes et adolescents ont tendance à répondre à cette question  par un « pas grand-chose » ou encore « rien ».

ANITA SIMPSON : L'engagement des élèves du secondaire n'est souvent pas celui que nous souhaitons. Cela représente un défi énorme et soulève la question de savoir ce qu'il faut faire pour stimuler leur engagement. Car nous savons que de nos jours, il faut qu'ils veuillent apprendre pour réussir tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel.

PENNY : La mobilisation autour de l'idée que les enfants devraient plutôt dire « devine ce que j'ai fait à l'école aujourd'hui » et qu'ils devraient exprimer de l'enthousiasme par rapport à leur apprentissage a le don d'inspirer les gens.

NARRATION :
Les partenaires de recherche sont : l'Association canadienne d'éducation (ACE), le Conseil canadien sur l'apprentissage (CCA), l'organisation The Learning Bar et 15 districts scolaires de partout au Canada. L'ACE, le CCA et les conseils scolaires participants ont chacun contribué le tiers des fonds.

Ces organismes travaillent ensemble à enchâsser la recherche collaborative dans les écoles, les conseils scolaires et les réseaux nationaux.

ANITA : Lorsqu'on utilise la recherche pour aider les enseignantes et enseignants à comprendre leurs pratiques, ils sont plus enclins à s'engager dans la démarche, à en voir la valeur, à y croire. Et c'est extrêmement motivant d'obtenir des données relatives à notre propre école, à nos élèves et à notre communauté. Le fait d'apprendre directement des élèves ce qu'ils trouvent important a modifié notre façon de penser et nous a poussés à mieux connaître ces facteurs.

PENNY : La Conférence d'Edmonton « a engagé la participation des enseignants, et des apprenants », et nous a acheminés sur la voie de l'examen du lien entre l'enseignement et l'apprentissage. Je veux dire que si nous voulons des élèves engagés, il faut sûrement des enseignants engagés. Et à quoi cela ressemble-t-il?

Vidéo d'un élève : Il faudra peut-être que les élèves prennent l'initiative de se demander : « Est-ce que je devrais entreprendre un projet pour présenter les personnages de ce roman parce que j'ai une vraie bonne idée? » Et j'espère qu'ils pourront en parler à leurs enseignantes et enseignants, que ces derniers seront ouverts à l'idée et qu'ils diront : « Quelle bonne idée! Toute la classe pourrait peut-être l'essayer » ou autre chose du genre.

Vidéo d'un élève : Tout le processus m'a mis au défi de sortir de ma zone de confort et de poser un tas de questions pertinentes sur le sujet.

Vidéo d'un élève : et se mettre au défi veut dire qu'on s'en souviendra et qu'on relèvera des défis toute sa vie… qu'on se dira : « Oh, je peux courir plus vite que toi ». On se souviendra toujours de ces moments-là, et je crois que c'est important de s'imposer des défis pour apprendre.

NARRATION :
Jusqu'à maintenant, il a fallu relever de grands défis pour mettre en œuvre Qu'as-tu fait à l'école aujourd'hui?

  1. Concilier les divers intérêts des partenaires de recherche.
  2. Surmonter les obstacles créés par les changements de personnel dans les districts.
  3. La difficulté de diriger les nouveaux venus vers l'initiative.

PENNY : Un partenariat doit porter sur quelque chose qu'on ne peut pas faire soi-même, ce qui oblige à réunir une variété d'intérêts divers. L'un des premiers défis a été de conceptualiser le cadre de travail de l'initiative. Un élément de notre stratégie a été de rassembler à l'occasion les écoles et districts participants pour les garder dans le réseau de manière à ce que les moins énergiques voient ce que font les autres.

ANITA : Lorsque les enseignantes et enseignants ont constaté que leur école ou eux-mêmes pouvaient poser une ou deux questions relatives à leur situation ou à des initiatives de leur communauté scolaire, on a vu leur engagement s'accroître.

PENNY : La Conférence de Winnipeg a été la seconde conférence de district annuelle que nous avons organisée. Ces rassemblements ne s'adressent qu'à une équipe de personnes des districts participants, qui nous aident aussi à déterminer l'ordre du jour des conférences. Celui qui a été proposé pour cette année était une concentration plus grande sur l'élaboration de méthodes d'enseignement, sur les changements didactiques.

Vidéo d'un élève : Notre école compte environ mille deux cents personnes, mais il n'y en a que 600 d'engagées; l'autre moitié ne l'est pas.

Vidéo d'un élève : C'est seulement la moitié de l'école qui est intellectuellement engagée dans les cours.

Vidéo d'un élève : Il n'y en a que 51 %, alors il faut faire monter ce pourcentage.

NARRATION :
La collaboration se fait à plusieurs niveaux.

D'abord, au sein des écoles, le sondage des élèves donne à ces derniers la possibilité de s'exprimer régulièrement sur l'engagement des gens dans leur école et leur classe, ce qui donne au personnel (et aux élèves) la possibilité d'interpréter les données et d'y réagir, et de mieux comprendre l'engagement des élèves dans le contexte de leurs pratiques quotidiennes.

La collaboration est aussi possible entre les écoles d'un même district. L'initiative repose sur un ensemble précis d'idées et d'objectifs, mais n'impose pas de mode de participation aux districts.

Enfin, l'ACE, au moyen d'un réseau national, permet à tous les niveaux de leadership de participer à la conceptualisation de l'initiative et à la réflexion sur ses divers éléments.

ANITA : Je crois que ce partenariat a bien fonctionné grâce au grand esprit de collaboration et de soutien de l'ACE, et du fait qu'elle a donné à tous les participants l'espace nécessaire pour qu'ils réfléchissent sur leur rôle au sein de l'initiative.

PENNY : Les écoles gagnent à se concentrer sur ce qui compte pour leurs élèves. Par exemple, nous avons vu le nombre d'interventions disciplinaires de la direction diminuer beaucoup en une seule année dans les écoles où l'on a travaillé expressément à engager les élèves et à parler de ce qui les aiderait à apprendre et de ce qu'il fallait changer.

ANITA : Ce que je conseille aux personnes qui envisagent de participer à une recherche collaborative, c'est de le faire. Lorsque des gens travaillent ensemble sur un même problème, ou se questionnent dans la poursuite d'un but commun, l'apprentissage collectif qui en résulte est pas mal étonnant.

PENNY : Si on veut changer l'éducation, il faut travailler avec les personnes qui ont pour tâche d'enseigner aux jeunes. C'est ainsi que nous atteindrons notre objectif.