Research in Education


Insights into a Good Research Partnership

Transcript<a href="/eng/research/insights.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/research/insights.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcript of video

Joan Green: Successful partnerships between university researchers and practitioners are characterized by relationships that are reciprocal, respectful, and collaborative. And, most importantly, they make a big difference for students. To assist us in this endeavour we have asked individuals involved in successful research partnerships to share their stories. We know that positive professional relationships are the backbone of successful research partnerships. Unique collaborations happen when people work together across traditional boundaries to create the best possible learning environments for our students.

Penny Milton: A partnership has to be about doing something that you can't do yourself. So it means that you have to bring together a variety of different interests. One of the early challenges was actually in developing the conceptual framework for the initiative. Part of our strategy is to bring the participating districts and schools together occasionally, to keep them in the network, such that those that may be less energetic actually see what others are doing.

Jackie Oxley: I think probably one of the key challenges for all of us in the early days was really understanding the nature of our mandates and where the challenges were, where the barriers were.

Shelley Lothian: Many of our financial policies actually don't support service integration so it's very difficult for partners to actually share their resources across different sectors. So how we've overcome some of that is we've managed to put together a more formal agreement about how we're going to work together. And that allows us to share some of the resources that are really critical for moving us forward.

Richard Stein: The greatest benefit that I see with this collaboration is that teachers are looking at their practice, at their job, as a professional – taking more of an academic view of learning how to be better teachers. And in doing so [this] causes students to be better achievers.

Judith Taylor: And that's what's important to teachers. They want to find out what will work in context with this group of students. How can I help them? And to have the perspective of the researchers it's very helpful in finding out those things that are worth pursuing and going deeper with.

Chris Mattatal: I think we have to take a long view of research instead of taking the short view. People don't immediately accept you because you're at a university or you have all this research behind you, it's not that easy. You have to earn that rapport and you have to be able to give something to classroom teachers before they say – Okay, now you're talking my language, you're giving me something really practical. Now I'm ready to listen to you.

A lot of teachers don't have a lot of time on their daily schedule to go and do the background research that's necessary to show why PALS is effective or why curriculum based measurement is effective. But we have that background and we have that body of research that we can bring to the School Board and say – This is what the research is currently saying. And this is the correct way to go.

Chris Suurtamm: I think the partnership worked because really as researchers we really do respect multiple perspectives. We also do know that changing teacher practice or implementing new ideas in how one teaches mathematics is not something very simple. It's quite complex. It challenges teachers' beliefs. It challenges sort of people's confidence, their security in how they go about doing things. And we were very careful with that and very respectful in terms of that.

Catherine Pawis: We chose to work with York on this project because we have an ongoing relationship with York University. The lead researcher in this case, Susan Dion, has worked on our aboriginal community advisory committee in the past. So I'm familiar with her work and she's familiar with our priorities as a board and a system in terms of aboriginal education.

Celia Haig-Brown: There's reciprocity between and amongst all the partners involved. So that university people who come to work on research learn from the field. The field learns from the cutting edge research that the researchers bring.  And everyone learns from the community partners.

Recherche en éducation

Qu'est-ce qui fait un bon partenariat de recherche?

Transcription<a href="/fre/research/insights.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/research/insights.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Appareil mobile

Transcription

Joan Green : Les relations réciproques, respectueuses et collaboratives caractérisent les partenariats de chercheurs et de praticiens qui portent fruit, et, de plus grande importance, qui font une grande différence pour les élèves. Pour nous aider dans cette démarche, nous avons demandé à des membres de partenariats de recherche de nous faire part de leur expérience. Nous savons que les partenariats de recherche fructueux reposent sur de bonnes relations professionnelles. Une collaboration exceptionnelle se crée lorsque les frontières traditionnelles sont abolies pour créer les meilleurs milieux d'apprentissage possibles pour nos élèves.

Penny Milton : Un partenariat doit porter sur quelque chose qu'on ne peut pas faire soi-même, ce qui oblige à réunir une variété d'intérêts divers. L'un des premiers défis a été de conceptualiser le cadre de travail de l'initiative. Un élément de notre stratégie a été de rassembler à l'occasion les écoles et districts participants pour les garder dans le réseau de manière à ce que les moins énergiques voient ce que font les autres.

Jackie Oxley : Je crois que l'un des facteurs clés de notre alliance a été notre démarche initiale pour comprendre la nature du mandat de chacun, et les défis et obstacles qu'ils affrontaient.

Shelley Lothian : Nombre des politiques financières ne soutiennent pas l'intégration des services, de sorte qu'il est très difficile pour les partenaires de secteurs différents de partager leurs ressources. Alors, pour contourner en partie le problème, nous avons rédigé une entente plus officielle sur la façon dont nous allions travailler ensemble, qui nous a permis de partager certaines des ressources d'importance cruciale pour aller de l'avant.

Richard Stein : La collaboration constitue un atout majeur, car elle incite les enseignants à adopter une vision plus objective de leur pratique et de leur tâche, et à miser sur une approche rationnelle leur permettant de perfectionner leur méthode d'enseignement. Ultimement, c'est le rendement des élèves qui s'en trouve amélioré.

Judith Taylor: Les enseignants sont toujours à l'affût de pratiques efficaces et applicables en classes qui pourront aider les élèves à atteindre les objectifs. Dans cette optique d'approfondissement de la pédagogie, l'apport des chercheurs s'avère des plus utiles.

Chris Mattatal : Je voulais montrer aux enseignants ce que la recherche peut accomplir à long terme, pas seulement à court terme. J'ajouterais que mes études universitaires et mes connaissances en recherche ne m'ont pas aidé à me tailler une place parmi ces gens. J'ai dû gagner leur confiance et leur apporter quelque chose de tangible avant qu'ils en arrivent à dire « Ahhh, là tu parles. Ça commence à m'intéresser, je vais pouvoir mettre en pratique ce que tu me dis. »

En raison de leur horaire chargé, la plupart des enseignants n'ont pas le temps d'effectuer les recherches contextuelles démontrant l'efficacité de programmes, comme ALD ou de mesures d'évaluation fondées sur le curriculum. Mais à l'université, nous avons accès à tout un savoir ainsi qu'à une foule de données de recherches qui nous permettent de guider le conseil scolaire à la lumière des plus récentes découvertes.

Chris Suurtamm: Je crois que le partenariat a fonctionné parce qu'en tant que chercheurs nous respectons véritablement les différentes perspectives des gens. Nous savons aussi que ce n'est pas facile de changer les pratiques ou d'introduire de nouvelles idées pour enseigner les mathématiques. C'est très complexe. Cela force les enseignants à remettre leurs convictions en question. Cela déstabilise leur confiance, leur sécurité par rapport à leur manière de faire. Et nous avons bien fait attention à ces sentiments et les avons respectés.

Catherine Pawis : Pour ce projet, nous avons choisi de travailler avec l'Université York car nous entretenons des relations étroites avec cet établissement. Susan Dion, la chercheure principale, a déjà collaboré à notre comité consultatif sur l'éducation des Autochtones. Je connais son travail et elle a connaissance des priorités que nous nous sommes fixées au niveau du conseil pour l'éducation des Autochtones.

Celia Haig-Brown : Et il y a une réciprocité entre tous les partenaires du projet. Les chercheurs peuvent apprendre des gens sur le terrain. Et les gens sur le terrain apprennent des chercheurs qui font de la recherche de pointe. Et tout le monde s'inspire des idées des partenaires communautaires.