Research in Education


Introduction to Collaborative Research

Transcript<a href="/eng/research/collabore.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/research/collabore.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcript of video

JOAN GREEN: The Ontario Education Research Panel (OERP) was established to advance education research in Ontario to support improved outcomes for our students, through collaboration among educators, researchers, professional organizations and the ministry.

We are dedicated to encouraging, promoting, disseminating and celebrating positive examples of research-to-practice initiatives currently underway in education. To assist us in this endeavour we have asked individuals involved in successful research partnerships to share their stories.

We know that positive professional relationships are the backbone of successful research partnerships. Unique collaborations happen when people work together across traditional boundaries to create the best possible learning environments for our students. In a sense, OERP wants to serve as a “matchmaker” to facilitate and encourage exciting connections which will result in better teaching and learning.

Successful partnerships between university researchers and practitioners are characterized by relationships that are reciprocal, respectful, and collaborative.

And, most importantly, they make a big difference for students.

NARRATION: Last year, the OERP, in partnership with the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education commissioned a literature review on School-University Collaborative Research. What is school-university collaborative research?

NARRATION:
We found that there are a number of factors that support effective research partnerships between school districts and universities:
Mutual interest
Identifying shared goals
Clear expectations
Respect and trust
Flexible research design
Time and resources
Long-term commitment
Support and recognition
And Shared power and ownership

CAROL CAMPBELL: The Ministry of Education is very committed to working in partnership with schools, school boards, universities, research agencies, and professional organizations to promote research and develop knowledge that is relevant to the work of educators in classrooms, schools, boards and at the provincial level. The Ontario Education Research Panel is an important part of Ontario’s Education Research and Evaluation Strategy.

In order to advance our three key goals of improved student achievement, reduced gaps in achievement and increased confidence in publicly funded education, the Ministry of Education is committed to developing and implementing policies and programs that are evidence-based, research-informed and connected to these goals.

CAROL CAMPBELL: The Research Strategy comprises:

  • leading the ministry's research agenda to coordinate and manage ministry research activities to support our provincial educational goals;
  • building individual and organizational capacity to access, use and conduct research;
  • applying research and evaluation to support evidence-based policy and program decisions and practices;
  • communicating information about existing and new research activities and findings
  • fostering research collaboration through networking and partnerships between and among ministry of education staff, researchers and educators across Ontario and beyond; and finally…
  • contributing to the provincial, national and indeed international body of research knowledge about educational policies, programs and practices.

JOAN GREEN: We believe it is crucial for practitioners, education leaders and policy makers to find common ground and to learn from one another in the interest of improved learning and, of course, teaching. Collaborative research links those working with students in schools every day with those who engage in research and evaluation to address priority questions. When teachers in the classroom and researchers working in the Universities join forces we can genuinely improve the learning environment and experience of students.  We all care about the same thing. We want to ensure that all students achieve at high levels and are able to move with confidence and competence from one learning context to another.

Our commitment is to sustain conversations across traditional boundaries, roles and organizations. We see this as a way to support a culture of inquiry, where questions are our friends and help us to identify what comes next. True accountability is the conversation that moves things forward for all of our students and the OERP is here to help us do just that.

Recherche en éducation

Introduction à la recherche concertée

Transcription<a href="/fre/research/collabore.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/research/collabore.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcription

JOAN GREEN (O/C): Le CORE, Comité ontarien de la recherche en éducation, a pour objet de faire avancer les recherches en éducation en Ontario par la collaboration d'éducatrices et d'éducateurs, de chercheurs, d'organisations professionnelles et du Ministère, afin d'améliorer le rendement des élèves.

Nous voulons mettre en valeur, promouvoir et faire connaître les bons exemples d'application de résultats de recherche actuellement en cours en éducation. Pour nous aider dans cette démarche, nous avons demandé à des membres de partenariats de recherche de nous faire part de leur expérience.

Nous savons que les partenariats de recherche fructueux reposent sur de bonnes relations professionnelles. Une collaboration exceptionnelle se crée lorsque les frontières traditionnelles sont abolies pour créer les meilleurs milieux d'apprentissage possibles pour nos élèves. Le CORE favorise les connexions intéressantes permettant d'améliorer l'enseignement et l'apprentissage.

Les relations réciproques, respectueuses et collaboratives caractérisent les partenariats de chercheurs et de praticiens qui portent fruit, et, de plus grande importance, qui font une grande différence pour les élèves.

V/O : L'an dernier, le CORE et l'Institut d'études pédagogiques de l'Ontario ont commandé une analyse de la documentation sur la recherche collaborative écoles-universités. En quoi consiste ce genre de recherche?

V/O :
Nous avons relevé plusieurs facteurs favorisant les partenariats de recherche fructueux entre les districts scolaires et les universités :
intérêt mutuel
détermination de buts communs
attentes nettes
respect et confiance
souplesse du mode de recherche
temps et ressources
engagement à long terme
soutien et reconnaissance
appropriation et pouvoir partagés

CAROL CAMPBELL (O/C) : Le ministère de l'Éducation tient à travailler en partenariat avec les écoles, conseils scolaires, universités, organismes de recherche et organisations professionnelles à promouvoir la recherche et l'acquisition de connaissances pertinentes pour le personnel enseignant, les écoles, les conseils scolaires et le Ministère. Le CORE est un élément important de la Stratégie de recherche et d'évaluation en éducation de l'Ontario.

Afin de faciliter la poursuite de nos trois principaux objectifs, soit d'améliorer le rendement des élèves, de réduire les écarts de rendement et d'accroître la confiance dans l'éducation financée par les fonds publics, le ministère de l'Éducation s'est engagé à créer et à mettre en œuvre des politiques et programmes rattachés à ces objectifs qui reposent sur des preuves et des recherches.

CAROL CAMPBELL (V/O) : La stratégie de recherche comprend :

  • diriger le programme du Ministère en coordonnant et en gérant les activités de recherche ministérielles à l'appui de nos objectifs éducationnels provinciaux;
  • renforcer les capacités individuelles et organisationnelles à accéder à des recherches, à en effectuer et à les utiliser;
  • utiliser les recherches et évaluations afin de prendre des décisions sur les politiques et programmes qui reposent sur des preuves;
  • communiquer les informations sur les activités et résultats des recherches actuelles et nouvelles;
  • favoriser la recherche collaborative au moyen de réseaux et de partenariats entre et parmi le personnel du ministère de l'Éducation, les chercheurs et le personnel enseignant de l'Ontario et d'ailleurs;
  • contribuer au savoir provincial, national et certes international acquis par les recherches sur les politiques, les programmes et les pratiques en éducation.

JOAN GREEN (O/C) :
Nous croyons qu'il est crucial que les praticiens, les leaders en éducation et les responsables des politiques trouvent un terrain d'entente et apprennent les uns des autres dans l'intérêt d'une amélioration de l'apprentissage et, bien sûr, de l'enseignement. Cette collaboration améliore réellement l'enseignement et l'expérience des élèves, car nous avons tous la même préoccupation. Nous visons tous des niveaux élevés. Et nous pouvons passer avec assurance et compétence d'un contexte d'apprentissage à un autre.

Nous nous sommes engagés à entretenir des dialogues par-delà les frontières, les organisations et les rôles traditionnels. Nous voyons dans cette démarche un moyen de soutenir une culture de questionnement, les questions étant des amies qui nous aident à déterminer la suite de notre démarche. La responsabilité véritable est une conversation qui fait avancer les choses pour tous nos élèves, et c'est exactement ce que le CORE nous aide à accomplir.