Research in Education


Urban Aboriginal Education Project

Mobile

Transcript of video

Alayne Bigwin: The urban project actually came out of the First Nation, Métis and Inuit education policy framework. One of the areas of focus identified in there was the need to look at ways in which to support First Nations, Métis and Inuit students in urban centres.�

Sylvia Maracle: This particular project was intended to address the needs of urban aboriginal students�their families and communities and teachers and schools and other learners in trying to understand urban aboriginal people and aboriginal people who live in urban areas in this province.�

NARRATION: The Urban Aboriginal Education Project was a pilot study carried out in three Ontario school boards that differed in their prior efforts to improve Aboriginal education, and in the number and dispersal of Aboriginal students in their schools.�The Project found that, depending on the characteristics of the board, educators should focus on one of the following aspects: developing or acquiring resources for Aboriginal students; locating and supporting dispersed Aboriginal students; deepening the understanding of non-Aboriginal students.

The Ministry of Education wanted to ensure that its investment in the Project was well-placed and therefore hired an evaluator to assess the Project at the provincial level. At the same time, top-level evaluators from universities, school boards and the private sector, were evaluating or "researching the research projects" at each of the three sites. The first partnership involved the Lakehead District School Board and Lakehead University.

Lisa Korteweg: When we heard of the Urban Aboriginal Education project and the fact that it was at the Lakehead Public School Board – our partners and our neighbours in many educational ventures in Thunder Bay – we knew that there must be a very interesting opportunity there.

Sherri-Lynne Pharand: Research-based best practice is so important to education and to any profession. And I think that this research partnership was such a good example of theory and practice and researcher and classroom working together in terms of defining what best helps students succeed and be successful. And we were also able to define through the research, best practices and things that really have made a difference in terms of the lives of our students and their families.

NARRATION: The second partnership, between the Toronto District School Board and York University, was grounded in previous work they had done together.

Catherine Pawis: We chose to work with York on this project because we have an ongoing relationship with York University. The lead researcher in this case, Susan Dion, has worked on our aboriginal university advisory committee in the past. �So I'm familiar with her work and she's familiar with our priorities as a board and a system in terms of aboriginal education.�

Susan Dion: As the researcher I'm interested in documenting the work that was being done. So, sometimes I'd be asking for time for interviews or time for talking circles. And there was some, "Oh, Susan, we don't have time for that today," kind of response. But the beauty of the project was the ways in which the data gathering became a way for the staff to actually reflect and to learn in process.

NARRATION: The third partnership involved the Simcoe County District School Board and an independent research firm.

Celia Haig-Brown: I think the partnership worked primarily because it was stimulated by community members. People saw a real need for this kind of work. In addition, it was well-funded by the Ministry of Education which always makes a difference. And the people who became partners in the research actually did listen to one another and did learn from one another�and built the outcomes collaboratively.�

Janis Medysky: In Simcoe County District School Board one of the major accomplishments is that we were able to sustain the project. All of the things that we put into place in the pilot schools we were able to replicate in other schools in Simcoe County. And now that the funding has come to a close – funding the project – our board has agreed to continue the good work of the project.�

Lisa Ewanchuk: Our students had an opportunity to shine. To share their culture. Share their understanding about who they are and where they've come from. And to be proud of being a First Nation, a Métis or an Inuit student in our board. To see a student walking down a hall so excited to share some aspect of his culture, or her culture, or to come to school dressed in their regalia, or to come to our board office dressed in their regalia to celebrate their culture is amazing.�

Alayne Bigwin: We're all gathered together at this forum to share what we've all learned in the Urban Aboriginal Education Pilot Project. So it is all of us in the provincial steering committee, and all of the members from the three local sites and their steering committees, along with all of the researchers. I think it is an opportunity for people to not only renew their existing partnerships and working relationships but to make new partnerships and working relationships and to take away from this, new things that they've learned, back to their own sites, and continue this great work across the province.

NARRATION: It seems that no matter whether it's research or evaluation, the keys to a great partnership are the same.

Catherine Pawis: I think one of the most important lessons that we've learned is the importance of ongoing communication. We needed to continually ensure that as we were making changes in the project that we were keeping the researcher informed.��

Alayne Bigwin: I would advise people, if they're thinking about this type of work, is to really reach out to all of the partners who can really provide input and advice and support as the work is done together.�

Sylvia Maracle: I think the fact that it wasn't just an academic research exercise�that there were opportunities for communities, for schools, for teachers, for classrooms, for principals, to actually get engaged in the exercise.�

Andrea Johnston: I think it was very successful in terms of the partners participating at the various levels. The steering committee was very strong in terms of having so many different provincial players at the table. So that made a very strong partnership from the start in terms of having the diversity of knowledge and expertise and experience at the table.

Celia Haig-Brown: There's reciprocity between and amongst all the partners involved. So that university people who come to work on research learn from the field. The field learns from the cutting edge research that the researchers bring. And everyone learns from the community partners.�

Recherche en éducation

Projet pilote pour les jeunes autochtones en milieu urbain

Transcription<a href="/fre/research/UAEP.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/research/UAEP.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Mobile

Transcription

Alayne Bigwin : Le projet urbain était une initiative issue du Cadre d'élaboration des politiques d'éducation autochtone. Dans ce document, on conseille de trouver les moyens d'appuyer les élèves des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits qui habitent dans un milieu urbain.

Sylvia Maracle : Ce projet visait particulièrement à répondre aux besoins des élèves autochtones qui vivent en milieu urbain … leurs familles, mais aussi leurs écoles et les autres élèves, et essayer de comprendre la situation des Autochtones qui habitent dans des centres urbains en Ontario.

NARRATION : Le Projet pilote pour les jeunes autochtones en milieu urbain a été lancé dans trois conseils scolaires de l'Ontario qui chacun employaient une méthode différente pour améliorer l'enseignement dispensé aux Autochtones, et qui comptaient chacun une proportion différente d'élèves autochtones. On avait prévu trois aspects pour le personnel enseignant : mettre au point ou acquérir des ressources pour les élèves autochtones; identifier les élèves autochtones et les appuyer; sensibiliser les élèves non-autochtones. Comme le ministère de l'Éducation voulait valider l'utilité de cet investissement, on a nommé une personne pour évaluer le projet à l'échelle provinciale. En plus, des chercheurs appartenant au milieu universitaire, aux conseils scolaires et au secteur privé ont aussi évalué le projet dans les trois lieux du projet pilote. Le premier partenariat concernait le conseil scolaire Lakehead District School Board et l'Université Lakehead.

Lisa Korteweg : Quand nous avons appris que le Projet pilote pour les jeunes autochtones en milieu urbain se déroulait dans le conseil scolaire de Lakehead – nos voisins et partenaires dans bien des initiatives pédagogiques à Thunder Bay – nous savions qu'il s'agissait d'une occasion à saisir.

Sherri-Lynne Pharand : Les pratiques exemplaires fondées sur la recherche sont tellement importantes en éducation et dans n'importe quel métier. À mon avis, ce partenariat illustrait parfaitement la collaboration exemplaire entre théorie et pratique, entre chercheur et salle de classe. Grâce à la recherche, nous avons déterminé les facteurs qui avaient une véritable incidence sur la vie de nos élèves et de leurs familles.

NARRATION : Le deuxième partenariat, entre le Toronto District School Board et l'Université York, était fondé sur une collaboration antérieure.

Catherine Pawis : Pour ce projet, nous avons choisi de travailler avec l'Université York car nous entretenons des relations étroites avec cet établissement. Susan Dion, la chercheure principale, a déjà collaboré à notre comité consultatif sur l'éducation des Autochtones. Je connais son travail et elle a connaissance des priorités que nous nous sommes fixées au niveau du conseil pour l'éducation des Autochtones.

Susan Dion : En tant que chercheur, ce qui m'intéresse c'est de documenter le travail qui s'accomplissait. Donc, je demandais parfois qu'on m'accorde des entrevues ou qu'on organise des cercles de dialogue. Et parfois, on me répondait par un « Oh, Susan, on n'a pas le temps pour ça aujourd'hui ». Mais la beauté de ce projet, c'est que l'activité de collecte de données donnait l'occasion au personnel scolaire de réfléchir à leur contenu et d'apprendre.

NARRATION : Le troisième partenariat concernait le Simcoe County District School Board et un cabinet indépendant spécialisé en recherche.

Celia Haig-Brown : Je pense que le partenariat a bien fonctionné surtout grâce à la motivation des membres de la collectivité. Les gens ont saisi à quel point ce genre de travail est nécessaire. En plus, l'initiative bénéficiait d'un bon financement octroyé par le ministère de l'Éducation, ce qui fait toute la différence. Et les partenaires dans le cadre de ce projet de recherche s'écoutaient les uns les autres tout en apprenant … et ont élaboré les résultats en collaboration.

Janis Medysky : Au nom du Simcoe County District School Board, je peux dire que toutes les choses que nous avons mises en place dans les écoles participant au projet pilote, nous avons réussi à reproduire dans d'autres écoles du comté. Maintenant que le financement du projet est épuisé, notre conseil a décidé de continuer ce travail important.

Lisa Ewanchuk : Nos élèves ont eu l'occasion de se distinguer. Pour expliquer leur culture. Pour communiquer leurs perspectives sur leur identité et leur histoire. Et exprimer leur fierté d'appartenir à leur ethnie dans notre conseil. Voir un élève se précipiter dans les corridors de notre école pour partager un aspect de sa culture, ou de venir à l'école en vêtements d'apparat pour célébrer sa culture, c'est formidable.

Alayne Bigwin : Nous sommes réunis ici pour communiquer les leçons que nous avons tirées du Projet pilote pour les jeunes autochtones en milieu urbain. Il s'agit donc de tous les membres du comité directeur et tous les membres des trois projets pilote et leurs comités directeurs, ainsi que les chercheurs. Je pense que c'est une bonne occasion pour les participants non seulement de renouer les partenariats actuels et les relations professionnelles, mais aussi de forger de nouveaux partenariats et relations de travail. Et de rentrer chez nous, en pensant aux choses que nous avons apprises, et de continuer ce beau travail à l'échelle de l'Ontario.

NARRATION : Qu'il s'agisse d'un travail de recherche ou d'une évaluation, le secret d'un bon partenariat reste le même.

Catherine Pawis : À mon avis, une des leçons importantes qu'il faut retenir c'est à quel point la communication est essentielle. À mesure que nous apportions des modifications au projet, il fallait toujours faire attention à en informer les chercheurs.

Alayne Bigwin : Je conseille aux gens, s'ils pensent à ce genre de travail, à se mettre en rapport avec tous les partenaires qui sont capables de donner de vrais conseils et d'offrir leur appui alors que le travail est accompli en collaboration.

Sylvia Maracle : Le fait que ce projet de recherche ne se résumait pas à un exercice théorique  … que c'était une occasion pour les collectivités, les écoles, les enseignants, les classes, la direction des écoles de participer personnellement à cet exercice.

Andrea Johnston : Je pense qu'on a bien réussi en termes de participation à tous les niveaux du partenariat. Le comité directeur était très performant ayant à son bord autant d'intervenants au niveau provincial. Par conséquent, le partenariat était très solide dès le début, équipé d'un vaste champ de connaissances spécialisées autour de la table.

Celia Haig-Brown : Et il y a une réciprocité entre tous les partenaires du projet. Les chercheurs peuvent apprendre des gens sur le terrain. Et les gens sur le terrain apprennent des chercheurs qui font de la recherche de pointe. Et tout le monde s'inspire des idées des partenaires communautaires.