Research in Education


Curriculum Implementation Intermediate Math (CIIM)

Transcript<a href="/eng/research/CIIM.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/research/CIIM.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcript of video

CHRIS SUURTAMM: The goal of the partnership was really to understand the multiple perspectives of the mathematics curriculum in grade 7 to 10 as well as to understand the supports and challenges that teachers have in terms of being able to implement that curriculum.

MYRNA INGALLS: This partnership came about when we were revising the mathematics curriculum rather significantly from what it had been previously. We were asking teachers to teach mathematics in a very different way from what they themselves had learned. That meant that we needed to gather some evidence of how was the implementation going for teachers, what were some of the struggles, challenges, how were some of those being overcome and what further supports could we offer to make sure that the intended curriculum is the taught curriculum.

NARRATION: Originating with the Ontario Ministry of Education's Advisory Panel on Connecting Practice and Research in Mathematics Education. Research partners included provincial organizations such as:
The Ontario Association for Mathematics Education,
The Ontario Mathematics Coordinators Association,
Education officers at the ministry, Advisory Panel members,
The research team at the University of Ottawa.
What they hoped to achieve was to bring practitioner and policy-maker voices to research as well as to have research be useful to the field.

CHRIS: The role of the partnership really is that we know that teachers can't do this alone. They can't make changes to practice alone necessarily. And researchers also have a voice in terms of the sorts of experiences they have.

MYRNA: We had a multi-faceted set of relationships at work, system level leaders in the boards, the researchers, as well as myself at the ministry and other ministry folks and it was a whole research team at the University of Ottawa that worked on this.

MARTHA KOCH: Well, because it was a large collaborative project and there were a number of partners, there were I think initially some challenges and throughout in terms of understanding the different contexts that everybody comes from.

CHRIS: And so what that means is that people are working under different constraints. So, for instance, ministries of education, policy makers want answers fairly quickly and university researchers – I don't mean that they tend to take their time but it does take time to do the research and really be comfortable with the kinds of findings and the kinds of results that you're willing to report.

BARBARA GRAVES: So not only did we collect the data from the teachers whom we were interested in, but we had in very short time access to many of them to say, this is what we found and how does this resonate with you? Because, just because we found it and we understand it this way doesn't mean from the practitioner perspective that's how it works. And it was, I would say it was magical.

ARLENE CORRIGAN: Some of the key findings from the CIIM data indicated that teachers required textbooks and teachers would benefit from collaborating, time to collaborate with their peers.

And I must say that our teachers felt the very same way. So I think that the CIIM data just reminded them that this collaborative part is very key to their practice.

NARRATION: Collaborative research respects the various contexts and demands that researchers, policymakers and practitioners face and the research is context sensitive.

MARTHA: The greatest overall benefit is probably that it gives us a richer understanding of the kinds of research questions we're looking at – we get in the classrooms and understand what is happening, we appreciate those different perspectives. That makes the research better.

MYRNA: It's very invigorating to work in a collaborative system whereby we know we're all working in the same direction, reaching higher, trying to do that and help each other and learn along the way but to have that collaboration really happen is rather rare.

CHRIS: I think probably initially the most important thing when you're contemplating a research partnership is to get the participants together and have some discussions before you even begin, as well as having multiple partners participate in terms of talking about the design of the project to a certain extent, asking for feedback on the design of some of your instruments.

MYRNA: I think one of my most important learnings is to trust the people who are working very closely, trying to work in the same direction of improved achievement for all students and to listen when they see a connection.

CHRIS: I really think that some of our best moments in this project were when we were sharing data with the participants themselves. So, for instance, we presented at a large ministry symposium shortly after the questionnaire data came out.  And I remember being in a room that was filled with people. And when we started to show some of our first slides in terms of the questionnaire data there were people in the back standing on chairs to have a look at what that data was saying. I think the partnership worked because really as researchers we really do respect multiple perspectives. We also do know that changing teacher practice or implementing new ideas in how one teaches mathematics is not something very simple. It's quite complex. It challenges teachers' beliefs. It challenges sort of people's confidence, their security in how they go about doing things. And we were very careful with that and very respectful in terms of that.

BARBARA: I think we know practically and theoretically collectives are just much more effective if you really want to make some sort of social change, and that is certainly one of the things that this curriculum is about.

ARLENE: I think that we have learned that the research really can inform our practice, inform our everyday practice. We've learned that we can trust it, we can rely on it, that we can have a relationship with it and it really will make a difference in terms of how we might perform in our classrooms or things that we might consider in our classrooms.

Recherche en éducation

CIIM – Rapport « Curriculum Implementation Intermediate Math »

Transcription<a href="/fre/research/CIIM.html#trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/research/CIIM.html#trans" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcription

CHRIS SUURTAMM : Le but du partenariat était de mieux comprendre les différentes perspectives sur le programme de mathématiques de la 7e à la 10e année, les défis des enseignants pour le mettre en œuvre, et les soutiens dont ils bénéficient.

MYRNA INGALLS : Ce partenariat a été créé lorsque nous avons révisé le programme de mathématique et y avons apporté davantage de changements que par le passé. Nous demandions au personnel enseignant d'enseigner les mathématiques d'une manière autre que ce qu'il avait lui-même appris. Il nous fallait donc trouver des témoignages de personnes enseignant selon le nouveau modèle sur les difficultés qu'elles avaient eues et les solutions qu'elles avaient trouvées pour les surmonter, et sur les soutiens supplémentaires que nous pourrions offrir pour que le curriculum visé soit celui qu'on enseigne en classe.

NARRATION :
C'est le Comité consultatif pour l'établissement de liens entre la pratique et la recherche dans le domaine de l'enseignement des mathématiques qui a eu l'idée du partenariat. Les partenaires de recherche se composaient, entre autres, de l'Association ontarienne pour l'enseignement des mathématiques, de l'Ontario Mathematics Coordinators Association, d'agents du ministère de l'Éducation, de membres du comité consultatif et d'une équipe de recherche de l'Université d'Ottawa. Leur objectif était d'inclure dans la recherche le propos des praticiens et des décisionnaires, et de rendre les recherches utiles sur le terrain.

CHRIS : Le partenariat existe parce que nous savons que les enseignantes et enseignants ne peuvent pas y arriver tout seuls, qu'ils ne peuvent pas nécessairement changer leurs pratiques par eux-mêmes. Et les chercheurs ont aussi voix au chapitre.

MYRNA : Il a fallu tenir compte d'un ensemble de relations aux aspects multiples, car des leaders des conseils scolaires, des chercheurs, ainsi que moi-même et d'autres personnes du Ministère, et toute une équipe de recherche de l'Université d'Ottawa y ont travaillé.

MARTHA KOCH : Étant donné qu'il s'agissait d'un grand projet collaboratif comptant de nombreux partenaires, nous avons dû surmonter des défis au début de l'initiative, et aussi tout au long du travail afin de comprendre le contexte différent de chacun.

CHRIS : Ce qui veut dire, que les gens n'avaient pas tous les mêmes contraintes. Par exemple, les ministères de l'éducation et les décisionnaires veulent des réponses assez rapides. Je ne dis pas que les chercheurs universitaires ont tendance à prendre leur temps, mais c'est vrai qu'il faut du temps pour faire les recherches et pour se sentir à l'aise avec ce qu'on apprend et avec les résultats dont on veut rendre compte.

BARBARA GRAVES : Alors, nous avons non seulement recueilli des données auprès des enseignants qui nous intéressaient, mais nous avons eu très peu de temps avec nombre d'entre eux pour leur dire ce que nous avions découvert et leur demander ce qu'ils en pensaient. Car même si nous découvrons quelque chose et le comprenons de quelque manière, cela ne veut pas dire qu'il en sera ainsi dans l'optique de la praticienne ou du praticien. Mais lorsque cela s'est produit, je dois dire que cela a été magique.

ARLENE CORRIGAN : Certaines des constatations clés issues des données sur le CIIM ont fait voir que les enseignants avaient besoin de manuels scolaires et qu'ils gagneraient à collaborer avec leurs pairs, et à avoir du temps pour le faire.

Il faut dire que nos enseignants avaient le même sentiment. Alors, je crois que les données de la CIIM leur ont rappelé que la collaboration est la clé même de leur pratique.

NARRATION :
La recherche collaborative respecte les divers contextes et exigences qu'affrontent les chercheurs, les décisionnaires et les praticiennes et praticiens, et elle est sensible à ces contextes.

MARTHA : Le plus grand avantage global est probablement que le partenariat approfondit notre connaissance des sortes de questions de recherche que nous envisageons : nous nous retrouvons en classe et comprenons ce qui s'y passe, nous apprécions ces différentes perspectives. C'est ce qui rend la recherche encore meilleure.

MYRNA : C'est stimulant de travailler dans un système collaboratif, de savoir que nous travaillons tous dans la même direction, que nous haussons la barre, que nous essayons de faire quelque chose en nous aidant les uns les autres et que nous apprenons tout au long du parcours. Mais la pleine réalisation de cette collaboration est plutôt rare.

CHRIS : Je crois que le plus important lorsqu'on envisage un partenariat de recherche est de réunir d'abord les participants et de discuter, et ce, avant même de commencer, et aussi de permettre à tous les partenaires de participer jusqu'à un certain point à la conceptualisation de l'initiative et d'exprimer leur opinion sur l'élaboration de certains des instruments.

MYRNA : Je crois que l'une des choses les plus importantes que j'ai apprises a été de faire confiance aux personnes qui travaillent très étroitement et dans la même direction à améliorer le rendement de tous les élèves, et d'écouter lorsqu'elles voient un lien.

CHRIS : Je crois vraiment que certains de nos meilleurs moments dans ce projet ont été lorsque nous avons présenté les données aux participants mêmes, par exemple, lors d'un grand symposium du Ministère lorsque nous avons commencé à montrer les données tirées du questionnaire. Je me souviens d'avoir été dans une salle remplie de gens. Et lorsque nous avons commencé à montrer nos premières diapositives sur les données du questionnaire, nous avons vu des gens à l'arrière monter sur des chaises pour voir ce que révélaient ces données. Je crois que le partenariat a fonctionné parce qu'en tant que chercheurs nous respectons véritablement les différentes perspectives des gens. Nous savons aussi que ce n'est pas facile de changer les pratiques ou d'introduire de nouvelles idées pour enseigner les mathématiques. C'est très complexe. Cela force les enseignants à remettre leurs convictions en question. Cela déstabilise leur confiance, leur sécurité par rapport à leur manière de faire. Et nous avons bien fait attention à ces sentiments et les avons respectés.

BARBARA : Je crois que nous savons que sur le plan pratique et théorique que les collectifs sont plus pratiques lorsqu'on vise un changement social, et c'est sûrement l'un des objectifs de ce curriculum.

ARLENE : Je crois que nous avons appris que la recherche peut vraiment nous éclairer dans notre enseignement, dans nos pratiques quotidiennes. Nous avons appris que nous pouvons lui faire confiance et compter sur elle, que nous pouvons entretenir une relation avec elle et qu'elle fera vraiment une différence dans notre performance ou dans notre choix de choses à faire en salle de classe.