School Administration

Workplace Health and Safety

A safe working environment is important for all workers. That includes ensuring schools are safe for students, school staff and visitors.

There are a number of resources available for school boards, principals and teachers to help maintain a safe working environment:

Ministry of Labour Resources

The Ministry of Labour works to advance safe, fair and harmonious workplace practices that are essential to the social and economic well-being of the people of Ontario.

Check out this video and watch as a Ministry of Labour inspector explains what he looks for when visiting chemistry labs and shop classes in schools.

Transcript <a href="http://www.videodelivery.gov.on.ca/player/download.php?file=http://www.media.gov.on.ca/89ea9fa6d4ae29b7/en/transcripts/page.html" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Transcript | Mobile

The ministry also offers resources, such as Live Safe, Work Smart — a set of resources for school staff. Although Live Safe! Work Smart! refers to earlier versions of the curriculum, it suggests lessons and activities that may be useful for teachers and students.

To provide a safe and suitable learning environment for school staff and students, it is critical that classroom practice and the learning environment complies with relevant federal, provincial and municipal health and safety legislation and by-laws, including:

Ontario's Occupational Health and Safety System Partners

The Ministry of Labour provides links to health and safety system partners, including:

Public Services Health & Safety Association serves Ontario's public service sectors, including universities, colleges, school boards, municipalities, health and community care organizations, emergency services and First Nations. They help organizations to identify and reduce workplace risks and hazards to prevent injuries, illness and disease.

The Workplace Safety and Insurance Board provides no-fault workers' compensation and promotes workplace health and safety. For information about prevention, claims forms, health issues, return-to-work programs, and links to other health and safety organizations, visit the WSIB website.

The School Boards Co-operative Inc. also offers services to school boards in maintaining a healthy workplace, including attendance support, WSIB claim management, health and safety, and actuarial services. Visit the website for resources.

Curriculum Policy

Health and safety knowledge and skills are part of the mandatory learning expectations in the curriculum. It is part of every revised elementary and secondary curriculum policy document in a variety of ways — in a section on Health and Safety in the program planning chapter of each document and in the learning expectations, examples and teacher prompts.

Safety is addressed in more detail in subjects such as:

Secondary:

Elementary

Students involved in cooperative education and work experience must receive instruction on health and safety in the workplace. This includes students working towards a Specialist High-Skills Major who must receive health and safety training relevant to the sector in which they are specializing.

For additional information, see:

Memos from the Deputy Minister of Education

Memos from the Deputy Minister to Directors of Education on student and staff safety:

Administration scolaire

Santé et sécurité

Un environnement de travail sécuritaire est important pour tous les travailleurs. Il faut donc veiller à ce que le milieu scolaire soit sécuritaire pour les élèves, le personnel et les visiteurs.

Les conseils scolaires, les directions d'école et les enseignants ont accès à un bon nombre de ressources pour les aider à maintenir un environnement de travail sécuritaire :

Ressources du ministère du Travail

Le ministère du Travail a pour mission de promouvoir des pratiques de travail sécuritaires, équitables et harmonieuses qui sont indispensables au mieux-être social et économique des Ontariennes et des Ontariens.

Voyez cette vidéo qui montre un inspecteur du ministère du Travail expliquant l'objet de ses visites aux laboratoires et ateliers dans les écoles.

Transcription <a href="http://www.videodelivery.gov.on.ca/player/download.php?file=http://www.media.gov.on.ca/89ea9fa6d4ae29b7/fr/transcripts/page.html" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Transcription | Appareil mobile

De plus, ce ministère offre des ressources, telles que Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé! – un ensemble complet de ressources destiné au personnel des écoles. Même si on y fait référence à d'anciennes versions du curriculum, des leçons et activités qui peuvent être utiles au personnel enseignant et aux élèves y sont proposées.

Pour offrir un milieu sécuritaire et propice aux élèves et au personnel scolaire, il est essentiel que les pratiques en classe et l'environnement d'apprentissage soient conformes aux lois et règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux sur la santé et la sécurité, y compris les suivants :

Partenaires du système de santé et de sécurité au travail de l'Ontario

Consultez le site Web du ministère du Travail pour trouver les liens vers les sites des partenaires en santé et sécurité, dont les suivants :

L'Association de santé et sécurité des services publics (en anglais seulement) aide les organisations du secteur public de l'Ontario à identifier et à réduire les risques en milieu de travail afin de prévenir les blessures et les maladies. Elle offre ses services aux universités, collèges, conseils scolaires, municipalités, organismes de soins en établissement et de soins communautaires, aux services d'urgence de même qu'aux Premières nations.

La Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) favorise la santé et la sécurité en milieu de travail et fournit une indemnisation aux travailleurs sans égard à la responsabilité. Pour des renseignements sur la prévention, les formulaires de demande de prestations, les questions de santé, les programmes de retour au travail et des liens vers des sites d'autres organisations de santé et sécurité, visitez le site Web de la CSPAAT.

Le School Boards Co-operative Inc. offre aux conseils scolaires des services qui leur permettent d'offrir un lieu de travail sécuritaire, notamment des services favorisant l'assiduité et des services de gestion des demandes à la CSPAAT, de santé et sécurité et d'actuariat. Visitez le site Web pour y trouver des ressources.

Le site Web est en anglais seulement, mais les services et ressources sont disponibles en français.

Le curriculum

La sécurité fait partie des attentes d'apprentissage obligatoires du curriculum de l'Ontario. La sécurité est d'ailleurs intégrée de diverses façons dans chaque programme-cadre révisé de l'élémentaire et du secondaire, y compris dans la section santé et sécurité de l'introduction de chaque document, dans les exemples utilisés ainsi que dans les pistes de réflexion pour les enseignantes et enseignants.

La sécurité est abordée plus en profondeur dans les programmes-cadre suivants :

Secondaire :

Élémentaire :

Les élèves participant à l'éducation coopérative et à l'expérience en milieu de travail doivent recevoir une formation sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Les élèves inscrits dans un programme de la Majeure Haute Spécialisation doivent suivre une formation en santé et sécurité particulière à leur secteur de spécialisation.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, visitez les sites suivants :

Notes de service du sous-ministre de l'Éducation

Notes de service du sous-ministre aux directrices et directeurs de l'éducation au sujet de la santé et de la sécurité des élèves et du personnel :