Student Transportation: Review of Competitive Procurement


On January 28, 2016, the Ministry of Education released the Student Transportation Competitive Procurement Review Report.

The report acknowledges that the method of competitive procurement known as request for proposals, or RFPs, is a viable option for school boards wishing to acquire student transportation services. However, the report does outline ways in which the RFP process can be improved.

Overall, the report outlines 29 opportunities for improved competitive procurement. These opportunities fall under four main categories:

  • to sustain and enhance a competitive marketplace
  • to increase economy, efficiency and flexibility
  • to increase the effectiveness and defensibility of evaluation and selection
  • to improve industry relationships

Prior to the submission of the final report to the Minister of Education, the Treasury Board Secretariat reviewed all opportunities and confirmed their compliance with the Broader Public Sector Procurement Directive.

No alternative competitive procurement options are identified in the report.

Background

In 2014, Premier Kathleen Wynne committed to an independent review of competitive procurement processes for student transportation. The review had two intended purposes:

  • A review of current competitive procurement practices and student transportation Requests For Proposals (RFPs) that have been issued since December 31, 2011 to identify best business practices and opportunities for improvement in competitive procurement of student transportation in Ontario; and
  • To explore options other than RFPs for competitive procurement of student transportation that are in compliance with the Broader Public Sector Procurement Directive for the consideration of the school board sector in Ontario.

The review was chaired by the Honorable Colin Campbell, retired Justice of the Ontario Superior Court. The two members of the review team were Leo Gotlieb and Paul Emanuelli.

The review team conducted extensive consultations with stakeholders, including; the Independent School Bus Operators Association (ISBOA), the Ontario School Bus Association (OSBA), the Council of Senior Business Officials (COSBO), the Ontario Association of School Business Officials (OASBO) and Unifor.

Transport des élèves : Examen de l'acquisition concurrentielle


Le 28 janvier 2016, le ministère de l'Éducation a publié le Rapport d'examen de l'acquisition concurrentielle des services de transport des élèves.

Le rapport reconnaît que les demandes de propositions sont une bonne méthode d'approvisionnement concurrentiel dont peuvent se servir les conseils scolaires qui souhaitent obtenir des services de transport des élèves. Le rapport souligne cependant qu'il est possible d'améliorer le processus de demande de propositions.

À cet effet, il présente 29 possibilités d'amélioration de l'approvisionnement concurrentiel des services de transport des élèves, qui peuvent être regroupées dans quatre grandes catégories :

  • soutenir et améliorer un marché concurrentiel;
  • accroître l'économie, l'efficience et la souplesse;
  • accroître l'efficacité et la légitimité de l'évaluation et de la sélection;
  • améliorer les relations au sein du secteur.

Avant la remise du rapport définitif à la ministre de l'Éducation, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a examiné toutes les possibilités et a corroboré leur conformité à la Directive en matière d'approvisionnement dans le secteur parapublic.

Le rapport ne propose pas d'autre option d'approvisionnement concurrentiel.

Contexte

En 2014, la première ministre Kathleen Wynne avait promis un examen indépendant du processus d'approvisionnement concurrentiel des services de transport des élèves, qui viserait deux objectifs :

  • Examiner les pratiques d'acquisition concurrentielle actuelles et les demandes de propositions pour les services de transport des élèves qui ont été publiées depuis le 31 décembre 2011 afin de recenser les pratiques exemplaires et les possibilités d'amélioration.
  • Étudier les possibilités, autres que les demandes de propositions, pour l'acquisition concurrentielle des services de transport des élèves qui sont conformes à la Directive en matière d'approvisionnement dans le secteur parapublic et qui seront soumises à l'examen du secteur des conseils scolaires de l'Ontario.

L'équipe d'examen était présidée par l'honorable Colin Campbell, ancien juge de la Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario, et comptait deux autres membres : Leo Gotlieb et Paul Emanuelli.

L'équipe a mené un vaste processus de consultations auprès de différents groupes d'intervenants, dont l'Independent School Bus Operators Association (ISBOA), l'Ontario School Bus Association (OSBA), le Council of Senior Business Officials (COSBO), l'Ontario Association of School Business Officials (OASBO) et Unifor.