Ontario Education Number


Ontario Education Number

The OEN is a unique, numeric identifier assigned to students in Ontario's elementary/secondary education system by the Ministry of Education. The number will be used as the key identifier on a student's school records and will follow the student through his or her elementary and secondary education.

The OEN makes it possible to keep reliable records on the movement and progress of individual students through elementary and secondary school. In addition, it facilitates the analysis of data about education in Ontario. Use of the OEN system and the data it contains is governed by both the Education Act and the provincial Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

The implementation of the OEN is part of a comprehensive redesign of the Ministry's data gathering and information management capabilities. The use of the OEN is a necessary pre-condition of these system enhancements.

About Us

The Ontario Education Number/Ontario School Information System Group is a unit within the Education Statistics and Analysis Branch responsible for managing the assignment of the OEN.

Information Officers in the Group liaise with schools and boards to provide them with necessary support and training—from how to use the Internet-enabled OEN application to understanding the OEN-related policies and procedures.

Inquiries from schools and boards regarding the Ontario Education Number policies, procedures and supporting system should be directed to:

Ontario Education Number (OEN)/Ontario School Information System Coordination Group
Education Statistics and Analysis Branch
Ministry of Education
777 Bay Street
4th Floor, Suite 422
Toronto ON M5G 2E5

Telephone: 1-888-275-5934 or 416-212-6366
Fax: 416-212-2763
Monday to Friday (excluding holidays)
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

E-mail: oen_niso@ontario.ca

Numéro d'immatriculation scolaire de l'Ontario

Le NISO est un identificateur numérique unique que le ministère de l'Éducation attribue aux élèves des écoles élémentaires et secondaires de l'Ontario. Il constitue le principal élément d'identification sur les dossiers scolaires des élèves et les suit tout au long de leurs études élémentaires et secondaires.

Le NISO permet de tenir des dossiers fiables sur le cheminement et la progression des élèves au fil de leurs études élémentaires et secondaires. En outre, il facilite l'analyse des données sur l'éducation en Ontario. L'utilisation du système du NISO et des données qu'il contient est régie par la Loi sur l'éducation et la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario.

La mise en œuvre du NISO fait partie d'un remaniement complet des systèmes de collecte des données et de gestion de l'information du Ministère. L'utilisation du NISO est une condition préalable nécessaire à l'amélioration de ces systèmes.

Qui sommes-nous?

Le Groupe de coordination du numéro d'immatriculation scolaire de l'Ontario/Système de l'information scolaire de l'Ontario est une unité de la Direction de la statistique et de l'analyse de l'éducation et à la responsabilité d'administrer l'attribution des NISO.

Des agents d'information relevant de ce groupe assurent la liaison avec les écoles et les conseils afin de leur fournir le soutien et la formation nécessaires (pour utiliser l'application du NISO en ligne, comprendre les politiques et processus du NISO, etc.).

Les écoles et les conseils doivent adresser leurs demandes de renseignements sur les politiques, les processus et le système de soutien relatifs au numéro d'immatriculation scolaire de l'Ontario au :
Groupe de coordination du numéro d'immatriculation scolaire de l'Ontario (NISO)/Système de l'information scolaire de l'Ontario (SISOn)
Direction de la statistique et de l'analyse de l'éducation
Ministère de l'Éducation
777, rue Bay
4e étage, suite 422
Toronto ON M5G 2E5

Téléphone : 1 888 275-5934 ou 416 212-6366
Télécopieur : 416 212-2763
Du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés)
De 8 h 30 à 16 h 30

Courriel : oen_niso@ontario.ca