Leadership Development: System Leaders

System Leaders

Ontario's system leaders – directors and supervisory officers – have a crucial role to play in creating the conditions for success within the publicly funded education system.

Ontario Leadership Framework

The Ontario Leadership Framework is designed to:

  • Inspire a shared vision of leadership in schools and boards
  • Promote a common language that fosters an understanding of leadership and what it means to be a school and system leader
  • Identify the practices and competencies that describe effective leadership
  • Guide the design and implementation of professional learning and development for school and system leaders
Learn more about the
Ontario Leadership Framework for Supervisory Officers (Public, Catholic) >>

PPM 152: Terms and Conditions of Employment of Principals and Vice-principals and Effective Practices Guide

On February 12, 2010 the Ministry announced PPM 152: Terms and Conditions of Employment of Principals and Vice-principals. The purpose of this memorandum is to set out provincial standards of practice to assist school boards in establishing terms and conditions of employment of principals and vice-principals that are consistent province-wide. All boards must implement the memorandum by March 31, 2011.

As a resource for PPM 152, the Ministry has developed an effective practices guide (PDF, 30 KB) that describes practices that boards could use to inform their consultation with principals and vice-principals. This guide is the result of the discussions and agreements of a work group that included representatives from principal associations and supervisory officer associations and directors of education.

Leadership Career Options

The need to recruit and retain superintendents, principals and vice-principals means that succession planning and leadership development must become a priority for Ontario schools and school boards.

Professional Learning

Professional learning is a key aspect of leadership development. The resources and links below may help you while planning for professional learning, whether it is for you, your school or your board.

Mentoring for Newly Appointed System Leaders – Directors and Supervisory Officers

Mentoring for newly appointed Directors and Supervisory Officers was implemented province-wide in 2009-10 following a field test in 2008-09. The ministry continues to support this initiative. System leaders who are in their first and second years in the role are eligible to receive mentoring supports.

Tools for School Board Employees

Succession Planning for Leadership in Ontario Schools and School Boards
The Institute for Education Leadership commissioned The Learning Partnership to undertake a comprehensive research study on succession planning for leadership in Ontario schools and school boards. The study examines current knowledge about succession planning, the demographics of the pool of current leaders, the factors motivating and discouraging people from assuming the role, and current practices and challenges in Ontario. This study is available on the Research page of the Institute for Education Leadership website.

Développement du leadership : Leaders du système

Leaders du système

Les leaders du système de l'Ontario jouent un rôle essentiel dans la mesure où ils créent les conditions du succès du système scolaire financé par les fonds publics.

Cadre de leadership de l'Ontario

Le Cadre de leadership de l'Ontario a été conçu pour :

  • inspirer une vision partagée du leadership dans les écoles et les conseils scolaires;
  • promouvoir un langage commun qui favorise la compréhension du leadership et ce que signifie être un leader scolaire ou un leader du système;
  • déterminer les pratiques et les compétences qui décrivent un leadership efficace;
  • diriger la conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes d'apprentissage professionnel et de perfectionnement des leaders.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet du
Cadre de leadership de l'Ontario pour les agentes et les agents de supervision (Public, Catholique) >>

Politique / Programme Note n° 152 : Conditions générales d'emploi des directrices et directeurs d'école et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints et guide des pratiques réussies

Le 12 février 2010, le ministère a fait l'annonce de la NPP n° 152 relative aux conditions générales d'emploi des directrices et directeurs d'école et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints. Cette note vise à établir les normes de pratiques provinciales sur lesquelles les conseils scolaires se baseront afin d'assurer la cohérence du processus d'élaboration des conditions d'emploi des directions d'école et des directions adjointes dans l'ensemble de la province. Tous les conseils scolaires doivent mettre en œuvre cette note d'ici le 31 mars 2011.

Le ministère a élaboré, à titre de ressource pour la NPP n° 152, un guide des pratiques réussies qui décrit les pratiques que les conseils scolaires pourront utiliser comme référence dans le cadre de leur consultation avec les directions d'école et directions adjointes. Ce guide est le fruit des discussions et ententes d'un groupe de travail formé de représentantes et représentants d'associations de directions d'école, d'associations d'agentes et agents de supervision et de directions de l'éducation.

Possibilités de carrière en leadership

Il est essentiel de recruter et de retenir les agentes et agents de supervision et les directions d'école et les directions adjointes, ce qui signifie que les écoles et les conseils scolaires de l'Ontario doivent donner la priorité à la planification de la relève et au développement du leadership.

Apprentissage professionnel

L'apprentissage professionnel est un élément essentiel du développement du leadership. Les liens et les ressources de cette section vous aideront à planifier de l'apprentissage professionnel, qu'il soit pour vous, pour le personnel de votre école ou de votre conseil scolaire.

Mentorat pour les directions de l'éducation et pour les agentes et agents de supervision nouvellement nommés

Le mentorat pour les directions de l'éducation et pour les agentes et agents de supervision nouvellement nommés a été mis en œuvre dans l'ensemble de la province en 2009-2010, à la suite d'une mise à l'essai sur le terrain en 2008-2009. Le ministère continuera d'appuyer cette initiative en 2010-2011. Les leaders du système dans leur première et deuxième année en poste sont admissibles à des soutiens de mentorat.

Outils destinés au personnel des conseils scolaires

Planification de la relève pour le leadership dans les écoles et les conseils scolaires ontariens

L'Institut de leadership en éducation a demandé à l'organisme Alliance‑Éducation de mener une étude de recherche exhaustive sur la planification de la relève pour le leadership dans les écoles et les conseils scolaires de l'Ontario. L'étude porte sur les connaissances acquises en planification de la relève, les données démographiques du groupe de leaders actuels, les facteurs qui motivent et découragent les personnes à assumer un rôle de leader, ainsi que les pratiques et défis actuels en leadership en Ontario. Cette étude se trouve à la page Recherche du site Web de l'Institut de leadership en éducation.