School Board Governance: Governance Reports

School Board Governance: A Focus on Achievement

In 2008, the McGuinty government assembled a Governance Review Committee to examine how well the current governance structure is serving Ontario's education system. The committee found many instances of effective governance by school boards and worked in partnership with the education sector to explore ways of building on these strengths.

Over six months, the committee consulted with trustees, school board directors, as well as parents and parent representatives. In April 2009, the committee presented its report, School Board Governance: A Focus on Achievement, to the government. The report included 25 recommendations.

Overall, the report recommended that the government clarify the mandate and duties of school boards. That mandate included promoting student achievement and well-being; delivering effective and appropriate programs; and ensuring that the board's resources are well managed.

Margaret Wilson Report

In fall 2014, Margaret Wilson was commissioned to examine the operational issues at the Toronto District School Board (TDSB), with a focus on the board’s governance structure. The purpose of the review was to determine whether the TDSB had the resources necessary to succeed, as well as to ensure that the board was focused on student achievement and well-being.

Margaret Wilson presented her findings in a report submitted to Minister of Education Liz Sandals in January 2015. The Review of the Toronto District School Board contained 10 recommendations on how to improve school board governance at the TDSB. One of the recommendations advised Minister Sandals to appoint an advisory committee to examine possible structural and procedural changes at the board.

Toronto District School Board Governance Advisory Panel Report

In March 2015, the province appointed a seven member advisory panel to lead public consultations on how to improve the governance structure at the Toronto District School Board (TDSB).

The TDSB Governance Advisory Panel Report was released in December 2015. The report included 20 recommendations to improve school board governance at the TDSB.

La gouvernance des conseils scolaires : Rapports portant sur la gouvernance

La gouvernance des conseils scolaires : L’accent sur le rendement

En 2008, le gouvernement McGuinty a mis sur pied le Comité d’examen de la gouvernance pour déterminer si la structure de gouvernance du moment servait les intérêts supérieurs du système d’éducation. Le Comité a mis en relief de nombreux cas de bonne gouvernance de la part des conseils scolaires et a travaillé en partenariat avec le secteur de l’éducation pour trouver les moyens de consolider ces atouts.

Pendant six mois, le Comité a consulté des conseillères et conseillers scolaires, des directrices et directeurs des conseils et des représentants des parents. En avril 2009, le Comité a présenté au gouvernement un rapport, La gouvernance des conseils scolaires : L'accent sur le rendement, proposant 25 recommandations.

En gros, le rapport recommandait que le gouvernement clarifie le mandat et les fonctions des conseils scolaires. Ce mandat devait inclure l’amélioration du rendement des élèves et de leur bien-être, la mise sur pied de programmes efficaces et appropriés et la bonne gestion des ressources du conseil.

Le rapport Margaret Wilson

À l’automne 2014, Margaret Wilson a reçu le mandat d’examiner les enjeux opérationnels du Toronto District School Board (conseil scolaire de district de Toronto) en portant une attention particulière à la structure de gouvernance. L’objectif de cette étude était de déterminer si le conseil possédait les ressources nécessaires pour obtenir du succès et s’assurer qu’il centrait ses efforts sur le rendement des élèves et leur bien-être.

En janvier 2015, Margaret Wilson a présenté les résultats de son étude à la ministre de l’Éducation, Liz Sandals. Cet Examen du Toronto District School Board contient 10 recommandations portant sur l’amélioration de la gouvernance du Toronto District School Board. L’une des recommandations suggérait à la ministre Sandals de mettre sur pied un comité consultatif avec pour tâche d’examiner les éventuels changements à apporter aux structures et procédures du conseil scolaire.

Rapport du Comité consultatif de la gestion du Toronto District School Board

En mars 2015, la province a nommé sept membres au comité consultatif responsable de mener des consultations sur la manière d’améliorer la structure de gouvernance du Toronto District School Board (TDSB).

Le Rapport du Comité consultatif de la gestion du TDSB a été publié en décembre 2015. Ce rapport contient 20 recommandations portant sur l’amélioration de la gouvernance du TDSB.