Frequently Asked Questions for Administrators



Who is an "administrator"? Am I one?

Administrators are responsible for the management and day to day operations of schools or school boards. If your work involves policy, funding, operations and/or leadership in the education sector, this is the section of the website for you.

Back to Top

Where can I find the Education Act and other legislation?

You'll find links to frequently accessed legislation, including the Education Act, on the Statutes and Regulations page of this site's Policy & Funding section. Consolidated versions of most of Ontario's public statutes and regulations can be found on the e-Laws website. You can also obtain the Education Act on paper or CD-ROM from Publications Ontario, the Government of Ontario book store. In addition, provincial legislation may be accessed at all depository libraries, at many public libraries, and in the reference sections of those university libraries that are open to the public.

Back to Top

Where do I find policy and program memoranda?

Numbered policy directives are issued to district school boards and school authorities to outline the Ministry of Education's expectations regarding the implementation of ministry policies and programs. You'll find them here, or by following the link from our Policy & Funding Publications page.

Back to Top

Where do I find the policy on Ontario's French-language schools?

You'll find an introduction to Aménagement linguistique: A Policy for Ontario's French-Language Schools and Francophone Community here. You can also link to it via the Policy & Funding area of our Publications section. The complete document Ontario's Aménagement Linguistique Policy is also available.

Back to Top

What are 'B' memoranda and where do I find them?

'B' memoranda are issued to school boards to provide direction on funding policy and other financial or operational matters. You'll find them here, or by following the link from our Policy & Funding Publications page.

Back to Top

How can I obtain a particular document, such as a curriculum guideline or a news release?

Begin by checking the sections of this website containing ministry publications and news releases. If the document you're looking for is not posted there, you should contact Publications Ontario to determine whether printed copies are available for purchase.

Publications Ontario
Telephone: (416) 326-5300
Toll free (in Ontario): 1-800-668-9938

Some documents may be out of print. If they are, you should be able to consult them at depository libraries or at a nearby university faculty of education.

Back to Top

Foire aux questions pour administrateurs


Qui sont les « administrateurs »? En suis-je un?

Les administratrices et administrateurs sont responsables de la gestion et du fonctionnement courant des écoles ou des conseils scolaires. Si les politiques, le financement, le fonctionnement ou le leadership dans le secteur de l'éducation font partie de votre travail, cette section du site Web est pour vous.

Haut de page

Où puis-je trouver la Loi sur l'éducation et d'autres lois?

Vous trouverez des liens vers des lois fréquemment consultées, dont la Loi sur l'éducation, sur la page des Lois et règlements dans la section Politiques et financement du site. Vous trouverez des versions codifiées de la plupart des lois d'intérêt public et des règlements de l'Ontario sur le site Lois-en-ligne. Vous pouvez obtenir la Loi sur l'éducation sur papier ou CD-ROM de Publications Ontario, la librairie du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Vous pouvez également avoir accès aux lois provinciales dans toutes les bibliothèques de dépôt, dans de nombreuses bibliothèques publiques et dans la section référence des bibliothèques universitaires ouvertes au public.

Haut de page

Où puis-je trouver les notes Politique/Programmes?

Le ministère de l'Éducation transmet aux conseils scolaires de district et aux administrations scolaires des notes numérotées traitant de ses attentes pour ce qui est de la mise en œuvre de politiques et de programmes ministériels. Vous les trouverez ici ou en suivant le lien pertinent de la page Publications de politique et de financement.

Haut de page

Où puis-je trouver la politique sur les écoles de langue française de l'Ontario?

Vous en trouverez un aperçu dans L' aménagement linguistique : Une politique au service des écoles et de la communauté de langue française de l'Ontario, en cliquant ici. Vous pouvez aussi y accéder en cliquant sur le lien Politiques et financement de notre section Publications. On peut également consulter le document intégral Politique d'aménagement linguistique de l'Ontario.

Haut de page

Qu'est-ce que les notes de service « B » et où puis-je les trouver?

Les notes de service « B » sont diffusées aux conseils scolaires pour fournir de l'orientation sur les politiques de financement et d'autres questions d'ordre financier ou de fonctionnement. Vous les trouverez ici ou en suivant le lien sur la page Publications de politique et de financement.

Haut de page

Comment puis-je obtenir un document précis comme un programme-cadre ou un communiqué?

Commencez par consulter les sections du site qui renferment des publications du Ministère et des communiqués. Si le document que vous cherchez n'y paraît pas, communiquez avec Publications Ontario pour savoir s'il est possible d'en acheter des exemplaires imprimés.

Publications Ontario
Téléphone : 416 326-5300
Sans frais (en Ontario) : 1 800 668-9938

Certains documents peuvent être épuisés. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez les consulter dans les bibliothèques de dépôt ou à la faculté d'éducation de votre région.

Haut de page