QUICK FACTS

Ontario's Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy

This document is also available as a PDF format. (309 KB)

In Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario, ensuring equity is one of the four goals outlined for publicly funded education: "All children and students will be inspired to reach their full potential, with access to rich learning experiences that begin at birth and continue into adulthood."

Why do we need a strategy?

Ontario is home to people from over 200 countries who speak more than 130 languages, including English and French. We believe that Ontario's diversity is one of its greatest assets – both today and for the future. Embracing this diversity and moving beyond tolerance to inclusivity and respect will help us reach our goal of making Ontario's education system the most equitable in the world.

Publicly funded education is an essential part of our democratic society. Ontarians share a belief in the need to help students learn and to prepare them for their role in society as engaged, productive and responsible citizens. Some groups of students may be facing barriers and struggling to succeed, including recent immigrants, children from low-income families, Aboriginal students and students with special education needs, among others.

Equity and excellence go hand in hand

Equity and inclusive education aims to identify, address, and eliminate the biases and barriers that limit students' prospects for learning, growing, and fully contributing to society. Barriers may be related to sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, race, ethnic origin, religion, socio-economic background, physical or mental ability, or other factors.

An equitable and inclusive education system is essential for all students to reach high levels of achievement. It is recognized internationally as critical to delivering a high-quality education for all learners (UNESCO, 2008). Equitable, inclusive education is also central to creating a cohesive society and a strong economy.

VISION

We envision an inclusive education system in Ontario in which:

  • all students, parents, and other members of the school community are welcomed and respected;
  • every student is supported and inspired to succeed in a culture of high expectations for learning.

Everyone in our publicly funded education system – regardless of background or personal circumstances – must feel engaged and included.

To achieve an equitable and inclusive school climate, school boards and schools will work to ensure that all members of the school community feel safe, comfortable, and accepted. We want all staff and students to value diversity and to demon- strate respect for others and a commitment to establishing a just, caring society.

Why now?

Canadians embrace multiculturalism, human rights and diversity as core values. However, there are ongoing incidents of discrimination in our society that demand attention. Bullying, hate propaganda and cyberbullying are major concerns for parents and students. Racism, religious intolerance, homophobia, transphobia and gender-based violence are still happening in our communities and, unfortunately, in our schools. This can lead to students feeling rejected, excluded and isolated at school. This may result in behaviour problems in the classroom, decreased interest in school, lower levels of achievement and higher dropout rates.

Ontario is Canada's most diverse province, and we must find solutions to these concerns. We must address the needs of a rapidly changing and increasingly complex society by ensuring that our policies evolve with changing needs.

WHAT IS …

DIVERSITY: The presence of a wide range of human qualities and attributes within a group, organization, or society. The dimensions of diversity can include, but are not limited to, ancestry, culture, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, language, physical and intellectual ability, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, and socio-economic status.

EQUITY: A condition or state of fair, inclusive and respectful treatment of all people. Equity does not mean treating people the same without regard for individual differences.

INCLUSIVE EDUCATION: Education that is based on the principles of acceptance and inclusion of all students. Students see themselves reflected in their curriculum, their physical surroundings and the broader environment, in which diversity is honoured and all individuals are respected.

What is Ontario's Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy?

Launched in 2009, Ontario's award-winning Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy aims to help the education community identify and address discriminatory biases and systemic barriers to support the achievement and well-being of all students. The strategy builds on successful ministry, school board, and school policies and practices. As a result of the strategy, every school board has an equity and inclusive education policy and a religious accommodation guideline in place.

Parent engagement is an essential part of Ontario's Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy. Research shows that student achievement can improve when parents play an active role in their children's learning, and that good schools become even better when parents are involved.

What does the strategy accomplish?

To achieve equity and inclusive education in Ontario schools, we have identified the following three goals:

  1. Shared and committed leadership by the ministry, boards and schools will play a critical role in eliminating discrimination through the identification and removal of bias and barriers.
  2. Equity and inclusive education policies and practices will support positive learning environments. All students can feel engaged in and empowered by what they are learning; supported by their teachers and staff; and welcome in their learning environment.
  3. Accountability and transparency will be demonstrated through clear measures of success and communication to the public about our progress towards achieving equity for all students.

Who is involved and how?

Ontario's Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy calls for:

  • each school to create and support a positive safe school climate that fosters equity, inclusive education and diversity
  • each school board to develop and implement an equity and inclusive education policy and a religious accom- modation guideline for the board and its schools
  • Equity and Inclusive Education Implementation Networks to share effective practices and resources and promote and participate in collaborative learning opportunities
  • diverse education and community partners to support school and board efforts by providing resources and professional learning opportunities
  • the ministry to provide direction, support and guidance.

Learn more about:

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2016
ISBN 978-1-4606-1411-2 (Print)
ISBN 978-1-4606-1412-9 (PDF)

FAITS EN BREF

La Stratégie ontarienne d’équité et d’éducation inclusive

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. (247 Ko)

Dans le document Atteindre l’excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario, assurer l’équité est l’un des quatre objectifs énoncés pour l’éducation financée par les fonds publics : « Tous les enfants et tous les élèves seront motivés à réaliser leur plein potentiel et vivront des expériences d’apprentissage enrichissantes depuis la naissance jusqu’à l’âge adulte ».

Pourquoi une stratégie d’équité et d’éducation inclusive?

L’Ontario compte une population venant de plus de 200 pays et parlant plus de 130 langues, y compris le français et l’anglais. La diversité de l’Ontario est l’un de ses atouts les plus précieux, tant aujourd’hui que dans l’avenir. Le fait de promouvoir cette diversité et d’aller au-delà de la tolérance vers l’inclusivité et le respect nous aidera à atteindre notre objectif de faire du système d’éducation de l’Ontario le plus équitable au monde.

L’éducation publique est une partie essentielle de notre société démocratique. Les Ontariennes et les Ontariens croient tous à la nécessité d’aider les élèves à apprendre et de les préparer à leur rôle dans la société comme citoyens consciencieux, productifs et responsables. Or, certains groupes d’élèves pourraient faire face à des obstacles et avoir de la difficulté à réussir, par exemple les nouveaux arrivants, les enfants de familles à faible revenu, les élèves autochtones ou les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers.

L’équité et l’excellence vont de pair

L’équité et l’éducation inclusive visent à cerner, à aborder et à éliminer les préjugés et les obstacles qui limitent les possibilités qu’ont les élèves pour apprendre, s’épanouir et contribuer pleinement à la société. Les obstacles peuvent être liés au sexe, à l’orientation sexuelle, à l’identité de genre, à l’expression de genre, à la race, à l’origine ethnique, à la religion, aux antécédents socioéconomiques, aux aptitudes physiques ou mentales, ou à d’autres facteurs.

Un système d’éducation équitable et inclusif est essentiel pour que tous les élèves atteignent des niveaux de rendement élevés. Un tel système est reconnu à l’échelle internationale comme étant une condition primordiale pour offrir une éducation de qualité à tous les élèves (UNESCO, 2008).

L’équité et l’éducation inclusive sont aussi indispensables pour créer une société cohésive et une économie vigoureuse.

VISION

Nous voulons doter l’Ontario d’un système d’éducation inclusif dans lequel :

  • tous les élèves, les parents et les membres de la communauté scolaire se sentent acceptés et respectés;
  • chaque élève est épaulé et motivé à réussir dans une culture d’apprentissage où les attentes sont élevées.

Toutes les personnes évoluant dans notre système d’éducation financé par des fonds publics, quels que soient leurs antécédents ou leurs circonstances personnelles, devraient se sentir engagées et incluses.

Pour créer un milieu scolaire équitable et inclusif, les conseils scolaires et les écoles s’emploieront à créer un climat où toutes les personnes dans les écoles se sentent en sécurité, à l’aise et acceptées. Nous voulons amener le personnel et les élèves à valoriser la diversité, à montrer du respect envers les autres et à contribuer à créer une société équitable et soucieuse du bien-être de chacun.

Pourquoi maintenant?

Le multiculturalisme, les droits de la personne et la diversité représentent des valeurs fondamentales pour les Canadiennes et Canadiens. Pourtant, il y a régulièrement dans notre société des cas de discrimination qui exigent de la vigilance. L’intimidation, la propagande haineuse et la cyberintimidation sont des préoccupations majeures pour les élèves comme pour leurs parents. Le racisme, l’intolérance religieuse, l’homophobie, la transphobie et la violence fondée sur le sexe se produisent encore dans nos collectivités et, malheureusement, dans nos écoles aussi. Il s’ensuit que certains élèves se sentent rejetés, exclus et isolés. Cela peut entraîner des problèmes de comportement en classe, une diminution de leur intérêt pour les études, une baisse de leur rendement et une augmentation du taux de décrochage.

Nous devons trouver des solutions à toutes les préoccupations ci-dessus, d’autant plus que l’Ontario est la province qui compte la population la plus diversifiée au Canada. Nous devons également satisfaire les besoins d’une société qui évolue rapidement et qui devient de plus en plus complexe, en adaptant nos politiques à mesure qu’évoluent les besoins.

CE QU’EST…

LA DIVERSITÉ : Présence d’un vaste éventail de qualités humaines et d’attributs dans un groupe, une organisation ou une société. Les dimensions de la diversité peuvent notamment avoir trait à l’ascendance, à la culture, à l’origine ethnique, au sexe, à l’identité sexuelle, à l’identité fondée sur le genre, à l’orientation sexuelle, à la langue, aux capacités physiques ou intellectuelles, à la race, à la religion et au statut socioéconomique.

L’ÉQUITÉ : Principe de traitement juste, inclusif et respectueux de toutes les personnes. L’équité ne signifie pas que tout le monde est traité de la même façon, sans égard aux différences individuelles.

L’ÉDUCATION INCLUSIVE : Éducation basée sur les principes d’acceptation et d’inclusion de tous les élèves. L’éducation inclusive veille à ce que les élèves se sentent représentés dans le curriculum et dans leur milieu immédiat de même que dans le milieu scolaire dans son ensemble où la diversité est valorisée et toutes les personnes sont respectées.

Qu’est-ce que la Stratégie ontarienne d’équité et d’éducation inclusive?

Lancée en 2009 et très bien accueillie, la Stratégie ontarienne d’équité et d’éducation inclusive vise à aider le milieu de l’éducation à cerner et à éliminer les préjugés discriminatoires et les barrières systémiques afin d’améliorer le rendement et le bien-être de tous les élèves. Cette stratégie est fondée sur les politiques et les pratiques probantes du Ministère, des conseils scolaires et des écoles. Par suite de cette stratégie, chaque conseil scolaire a en place une politique d’équité et d’éducation inclusive et une ligne directrice sur les adaptations pour diverses religions.

La participation des parents est une partie essentielle de la Stratégie ontarienne d’équité et d’éducation inclusive. Les recherches démontrent que le rendement des élèves peut s’améliorer lorsque les parents participent à leur apprentissage, et que les bonnes écoles deviennent encore meilleures lorsque les parents y jouent un rôle actif.

Qu’est-ce que la Stratégie permet d’accomplir?

Pour réaliser l’équité et l’éducation inclusive dans les écoles de l’Ontario, nous devons atteindre les trois objectifs suivants :

  1. Le leadership collectif et engagé du Ministère, des conseils scolaires et des écoles jouera un rôle de premier plan pour mettre fin à la discrimination, notamment en cernant et en éliminant les préjugés et les obstacles.
  2. Les politiques et les pratiques d’équité et d’éducation inclusive soutiendront la création de milieux d’appren- tissage positifs. Tous les élèves se sentiront bien accueillis, motivés et responsabilisés par leurs enseignants et par le personnel qui œuvrent dans leur environnement d’apprentissage.
  3. La responsabilisation et la transparence seront mesurées grâce à des indicateurs de succès clairs, et les progrès réalisés en matière d’équité pour tous les élèves seront communiqués au public.

Qui participe à la Stratégie et comment?

La Stratégie ontarienne d’équité et d’éducation inclusive prévoit ce qui suit :

  • chaque école créera et soutiendra un climat positif et sécuritaire encourageant l’équité, l’éducation inclusive et la diversité;
  • chaque conseil scolaire élaborera et mettra en application une politique sur l’équité et l’éducation inclusive ainsi que des lignes directrices sur les adaptations pour diverses religions à l’échelle du conseil et de ses écoles;
  • des réseaux de mise en œuvre en matière d’équité et d’éducation inclusive qui favorisent le partage de pratiques efficaces et de ressources, et qui offrent des occasions d’apprentissage coopératif;
  • divers partenaires du secteur de l’éducation et de la communauté appuieront les efforts des écoles et des conseils en leur fournissant des ressources et en créant des occasions d’apprentissage professionnel;
  • le Ministère fournira une orientation, de l’aide et des conseils.

Pour en savoir plus :

© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario, 2016
ISBN 978-1-4606-1413-6 (Imprimé)
ISBN 978-1-4606-1414-3 (PDF)