Parents Reaching Out Grants

St. Aloysius School – Stratford

Huron Perth Catholic District School Board
Parent Tutoring Program

Parents Reaching Out grants help parents to identify barriers to parent engagement in their own community, and find local solutions to get more parents involved. Parents who are involved in their children's education help to support their children's achievement and well-being.

This video is part of a series that features successful parent engagement projects funded through the Ministry of Education's Parents Reaching Out (PRO) grants.

Transcript<a href="/eng/parents/stratfordStAloysius.html#Trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/parents/stratfordStAloysius.html#Trans" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcript

Dave Cassone [Principal, St. Aloysius School]:

St. Aloysius School in Stratford developed a weekly literacy support program giving parents and the community an opportunity to support our readers in ways that are both meaningful to the student and the parent. So the Parent Tutoring Program at St. Aloysius is an opportunity for us to bring parents into our school community to help provide the support and the time required to our students in order to help support their literacy development. The reading process is a continuum beginning very early on with oral language skills and continuing on to independent reading. For those students that face obstacles, sometimes they require brief supports and extra time throughout the day or throughout each week. What we've been able to do as actively involve our parent group in providing those supports for our students so they are able to reach their goals academicaly.

Lorraine Butson [Special Education Resource Teacher]:

The Parent Reading Intervention Program was designed to try to capture some of those students that were struggling with getting some of the basics of reading. I found that parents have come and have said that their students are, their children rather are showing an extra interest at home and will start reading the cereal boxes or start reading things at the grocery store that they hadn't done before.

Jennifer Zammit [Parent Volunteer]:

I have always been volunteering at the school and I am a writer and an editor, so literacy is very important to me. So when the program came into place, I volunteered to learn a little bit more about it and be able to administer that to the kids.

Lorraine Butson [Special Education Resource Teacher]:

Parents reaction I think was really good in terms of they are always interested in having someone else that's wanting to help their child improve and gain better skills in reading.

Jennifer Zammit [Parent Volunteer]:

The reading intervention program is a huge success at this school. I have been at it for five years. I have seen children come very shy, very guarded and actually quite upset that they are not at the level where the rest of their classmates are at. So to see them blossom from September to June, extremely rewarding, not just to me, to the children, to their parents as well.

Dave Cassone [Principal, St. Aloysius School]:

What we've been able to do here in a creative way is introduce parents actively into the achievement of our students by allowing or helping them help our students and provide supports for our students in that reading continuum. Often it's just short little interventions that are required that help give students the boost that they need.

Lorraine Butson [Special Education Resource Teacher]:

Well I would like to think that children learning to read comes about because of a team approach and certainly the community and parents and teachers, older siblings, aunts, uncles, grandparents, whoever is interested in this child and their success will play a part in bringing that child forward.

Jennifer Zammit [Parent Volunteer]:

I thoroughly enjoy volunteering in this program in particular. It's a subject, literacy is so important to me, it's an escape for me, I would like to pass that on to kids and I would like to see more parents get involved. I think a lot of schools can benefit from this sort of program and I think a lot of people, adults can just brighten up their lives when they see that child have that look of. "I got it!" It's the most exhilarating feeling to know that you have made a very very important step in that child's life.

Lorraine Butson [Special Education Resource Teacher]:

I certainly have parents that are interested in the program because they've seen their own children benefit from it. They are positive learners themselves and want to bring that forward to other students.

Dave Cassone [Principal, St. Aloysius School]:

Adults who have been trained in the literacy intervention model help to provide those additional supports to the classroom teacher and more specifically to individuals or small groups of students to help them realize their potential by closing the gap.

Lorraine Butson [Special Education Resource Teacher]:

Parental involvement is huge in my mind. I think that all of the adults even children's lives and parents in particular need to show an interest in reading and show that it is important to them and being involved in this program proves that, that they are interested in reading.

Dave Cassone [Principal, St. Aloysius School]:

What this program does is it gives them an opportunity to be actively involved in student achievement and therefore it widens the community of support that is paying attention to our students and therefore our students can have nothing but success because the community has grown around them.

To learn more visit: www.ontario.ca/EDUparents

Subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents

St. Aloysius SchoolStratford

Huron Perth Catholic District School Board
« Programme de tutorat pour les parents »

Les Subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents (PEP) aident les parents à repérer les obstacles à la participation dans leur propre communauté, et à mettre en place des solutions locales afin de permettre à davantage de parents de s'engager. Les parents engagés dans l'éducation de leurs enfants contribuent à appuyer le rendement et le bien-être des élèves.

Cette vidéo fait partie d'une série qui illustre des projets réussis et financés dans le cadre du Programme de subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents (PEP) du ministère de l'Éducation.

Transcription<a href="/fre/parents/stratfordStAloysius.html#Trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/parents/stratfordStAloysius.html#Trans" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Appareil mobile

Transcription

Dave Cassone [Directeur, St. Aloysius School] :

À la St. Aloysius School à Stratford – un programme hebdomadaire a été mis sur pied en soutien à la littératie, une belle occasion pour les parents et la communauté d'appuyer nos jeunes lecteurs, par des moyens appropriés pour les parents comme pour les élèves. C'est ainsi que le « Parent Tutoring Program at St. Aloysius » constitue un moyen d'inviter les parents à l'école, dans notre communauté scolaire, et d'aider le développement d'un soutien qui peut assurer le temps nécessaire pour que nos élèves soient soutenus dans l'apprentissage de la littératie. L'apprentissage des lettres et de la lecture est un processus continu qui commence depuis les tout premiers pas d'apprentissage de la parole orale, et continue à l'apprentissage de la lecture et le lire. Pour les élèves qui font face à des obstacles, bien des fois ils ont seulement besoin d'un peu de soutien et d'un peu de travail supplémentaire aussi, au long de la journée scolaire, ou bien au long de la semaine. Ce qu'on a réussi à faire c'est d'engager les parents à aider au développement scolaire de leurs enfants dans le but d'améliorer leur performance académique

Lorraine Butson [Enseignante-ressource en éducation de l'enfance en difficulté] :

Le « Programme de tutorat pour les parents » a été créé afin d'essayer d'impliquer quelques-uns des nos étudiants en difficulté dès les premiers pas de l'apprentissage des bases de la lecture.

J'ai trouvé que des parents sont venus nous dire que leurs enfants, et nos élèves, ont montré un intérêt accru à la maison et qu'ils vont, petit par petit, commencer à lire sur les boîtes des céréales ou ils vont lire des choses dans le magasin alimentaire; des activités qu'ils ne faisaient pas du tout auparavant.

Jennifer Zammit [Parent bénévole] :

J'ai toujours fait du bénévolat à l'école et puisque je suis écrivaine et éditrice, la littératie est pour moi très importante. Donc quand le programme à été mis en place, je me suis offerte d'apprendre un peu plus sur le programme pour pouvoir l'offrir aux enfants

Lorraine Butson [Enseignante-ressource en éducation de l'enfance en difficulté] :

La réaction des parents je pense était vraiment bonne, dans le sens qu'ils sont toujours satisfaits d'avoir quelqu'un venir aider leur enfant s'améliorer et acquérir de nouvelles habiletés de lecture.

Jennifer Zammit [Parent bénévole] :

Le programme est vraiment un succès à cette école. Je m'implique à chaque année. Je vois les enfant venir avec plein de timidité et aussi pas mal ennuyé du fait de ne pas être tout-à-fait au même niveau que leurs collègues. Alors, de les voir grandir du mois de septembre jusqu'au mois de juin c'est très gratifiant.

Dave Cassone [Directeur, St. Aloysius School] :

Ce qu'on a appris ici, et d'une manière très créative en plus, c'est d'inclure les parents comme facteurs actifs dans la réussite scolaire de nos élèves en leur permettant ou peut-être en les « aidant à aider » nos élèves et les supporter dans ce processus continu qu'est l'apprentissage de la lecture. Souvent, il leur manque seulement un coup de pouce, des petites interventions très courtes vont suffire pour que l'enfant reprend la bonne voie.

Lorraine Butson [Enseignante-ressource en éducation de l'enfance en difficulté] :

J'aime penser que l'apprentissage de la lecture survient comme résultat d'une approche en équipe  et c'est certain que la communauté, les parents, les enseignants, des grands frères, ou des sœurs plus âgés, les tantes, oncles, les grand-parents, toutes les personnes que cet enfant là, préoccupe, -lui et aussi son succés scolaire- vont tous jouer des roles en le poussant vers la réussite.

Jennifer Zammit [Parent bénévole] :

J'ai beaucoup aimé être impliqué, particulièrement dans ce programme. C'est un sujet,... la lecture est tellement importante pour moi, c'est une évasion pour moi, alors je veux passer ça aux enfants, je voudrais voir de plus et plus de parents s'impliquer. Je crois bien que beaucoup d'écoles auront à en bénéficier – avoir ce genre de programme et je pense que plusieurs personnes du monde des adultes pourront avoir leur vies illuminées par ce regard là, de l'enfant, de ce qu'il y a sur le petit visage quand il pense ” Ça y est! Je l'ai! »

Lorraine li [Enseignante-ressource en éducation de l'enfance en difficulté] :

Cest sûr que moi j'ai des parents qui sont assez intéressés par ce programme, parce qu'ils ont observé les benefices sur leur propres enfants. Ils sont des « positive learners » eux mêmes et ils veulent montrer ceci à d'autres élèves.

Dave Cassone [Directeur, St. Aloysius School] :

Des adultes avec des formations dans le modele de l'intervention pour l'alphabétisation vont apporter du support additionnel aux enseignants, et plus encore pour des petits groupes d'élèves, ils vont remplir les manques.

Lorraine Butson [Enseignante-ressource en éducation de l'enfance en difficulté] :

L'engagement parental, est, je pense, quelque chose de très grand. Je pense que tous les adultes et les parents en particulier doivent démontrer une préoccupation continue, un intérêt constant pour la lecture.

Dave Cassone [Directeur, St. Aloysius School] :

Ce qu'a accomplit ce programme c'est qu'on leur a donné l'occasion d'être activement engagé dans la réussite des élèves et par cela nous avons élargi le soutien communautaire qui à son tour va appuyer nos enfants pour avoir ces grands succès, parce que la communauté s'est formé autour d'eux.

Pour en savoir davantage, rendez-vous à : www.ontario.ca/siteparents