Parents Reaching Out Grants

Parents Reaching Out Success Stories

Britannia Public School – Mississauga
Peel District School Board
Homework Survival Strategies

Britannia Public School, a French Immersion school in Mississauga hosted two workshops for parents focusing on homework strategies, knowing your child, parenting skills and how to support school work at home.

Bruce Peninsula District Elementary School – Lion's Head
Bluewater DSB
Literacy on the Bruce

In an effort to help bridge gaps in literacy and to promote reading in the school and the community, Bruce Peninsula District Elementary School joined neighbouring area schools and invited a Métis author and boys literacy champion to speak to parents and community leaders about the power of literacy. The event was an important element of the school's effort to enhance parent engagement and support improved student achievement and well-being.

CC Carrothers Public School – London
Thames Valley District School Board
Books for Breakfast

CC Carrothers Public School held a series of breakfast and read sessions for parents and children entitled, “Books for Breakfast”. Guest authors met with them during the breakfast session and then provided a short program to parents discussing ways to build and enhance literacy skills and foster a love of reading with their children.

Collegiate Avenue School – Hamilton
Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board
Translation Activities

Collegiate Avenue School reached out to Punjabi-speaking parents to foster a welcoming environment by providing important education information and updates in their first language by translating three selected newsletters into Punjabi. These newsletters were also posted on the school website to make them accessible to these parents and their extended family members.

École élémentaire Laure-Rièse – Toronto 
CSD du Centre Sud-Ouest
Success at School Begins with the Parents

L'école élémentaire Laure-Rièse invited a speaker to an interactive parent information evening to discuss new approaches and strategies so parents can learn how to help their children with homework.

ÉÉC Frère-André – Barrie
CSDC Centre-Sud
Workshop Day for Parents

L'école élémentaire catholique Frère-André offered parents a series of workshops on topics such as cyber-bullying, safe schools and special education. During the special education workshop, a psychologist spoke to parents about children with special needs and the importance of being supportive and empathic.

ÉÉC Sainte-Lucie – South Stormont
CSDC de l'Est ontarien
Informed and Engaged Parents

Throughout the school year l'école élémentaire catholique Sainte-Lucie organized a series of workshops for parents on various topics such as family literacy, positive and healthy discipline, cyber-bullying and internet safety, as well as the concerns of mixed families in which one partner has French as a mother tongue. Parents were also given a listing of community resources and services available to help them support their children's success.

Elgin Street Public School – Ottawa
Ottawa Carleton District School Board
Parents Enriching Education

Elgin Street Public School invited parents to attend a series of three evening sessions throughout the school year where a speaker shared ideas with parents on how they could help them support their children's learning at home. Speakers focused on ways that parents can complement the learning that is going on in the classroom, then followed with a guided practice and discussion on how to apply these strategies at home with their children.

Michael J Brennan Separate School – St. Catharines
Niagara Catholic District School Board
Family Math Evening

Michael J Brennan Separate Schoolheld a family math night where parents could visit various stations in the gym with their children to see how math is taught in different grades at the elementary level. In addition to the stations, a mathematics professor spoke to parents about how to promote math and how important math is to everyday life.

Monsignor Castex Separate School – Midland
Simcoe Muskoka CDSB
Student Achievement

Monsignor Castex Separate School developed and organized a number of activities which helped parents learn how to support their children's learning at home. A family numeracy evening brought parents and children together to explore interactive stations located throughout the school. A literacy night welcomed three local authors to meet and read to parents and children and the parent resource library was supplemented with a variety of parent resources to improve numeracy skills at home.

Ogden Community Public School – Thunder Bay
Lakehead District School Board
Parent Engagement Symposium Series

Ogden Community Public School held a series of three symposia for parents on bullying prevention strategies, strategies for parents to support literacy at home, and a family math night to help parents and children learn about math strategies. The symposia involved aboriginal guest speakers and authors who shared their experiences with the parents and children.

Regent Park/Duke of York Junior Public School – Toronto
Toronto District School Board
Parents Get Involved

Regent Park/Duke of York Junior Public School held two evening events for parents. One was a nutrition workshop for parents and students with the support of Toronto Public Health. Families learned about reading labels properly and had the opportunity to make a healthy meal with their child. The second event focused on total wellness. Parents with school-aged students learned about non-competitive games, healthy living and eating to support student achievement and well-being.

St. Aloysius School
Stratford – Huron Perth Catholic District School Board
Parent Tutoring Program

St. Aloysius School in Stratford developed a weekly tutoring program to help parents support their children's reading. The parents came to the school to learn from other parents who had received training to help them support their child's literacy at home.

St. Gregory Separate School – Powassan
Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board
Their Success Depends on Us!

After surveying parents, St. Gregory Separate School established a Parent Support Centre to increase parents' confidence and skills in supporting their children's success at school. This volunteer-run centre offers parents hands-on workshops, a numeracy support group for parents and resources to help their children succeed in school.

Subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents

Réussites concernant l'engagement et la participation des parents

Britannia Public School, Mississauga
Peel District School Board
Stratégies de survie pour les devoirs

L'école, qui offre un programme d'immersion en français, a organisé à l'intention des parents deux ateliers axés sur les stratégies relatives aux devoirs, quoi faire pour bien connaître son enfant, les compétences parentales et comment aider son enfant à faire ses devoirs à la maison.

Bruce Peninsula District Elementary School – Lion's Head
Bluewater DSB
La littératie dans la péninsule de Bruce

Dans le but de réduire les écarts en matière de littératie et de promouvoir la lecture à l'école et dans la communauté, l'école s'est alliée à d'autres écoles du secteur et a invité un auteur Métis, champion de la littératie chez les garçons, pour parler aux parents et aux dirigeants de la communauté de l'importance d'apprendre à lire et à écrire. L'événement a joué un rôle majeur dans le cadre des initiatives de l'école pour stimuler la participation des parents et soutenir l'amélioration du rendement et du bien‑être des élèves.

CC Carrothers Public School, London
Thames Valley District School Board
Des livres au déjeuner

L'école a organisé pour les parents une série de déjeuners‑lecture intitulée « Books for Breakfast ». Des auteurs étaient invités à ces déjeuners pour rencontrer les parents et leur présenter ensuite un court exposé sur les façons de perfectionner les compétences en lecture et en écriture de leurs enfants et de les intéresser à la lecture.

Collegiate Avenue School, Hamilton
Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board
La traduction au service de l'éducation

Afin d'établir un climat accueillant, l'école a centré ses efforts sur sa relation avec les parents de langue pendjabi et leur a fourni de l'information et autres documents sur l'éducation dans leur langue maternelle – en faisant traduire trois bulletins sélectionnés. Ces bulletins ont également été publiés dans le site Web de l'école, afin de les rendre accessibles aux parents et aux membres de la famille élargie.

École élémentaire Laure‑Rièse, Toronto  
CSD du Centre Sud‑Ouest
La réussite à l'école commence par les parents

À l'occasion d'une soirée d'information interactive à l'intention des parents, l'école élémentaire Laure‑Rièse a invité un conférencier pour qu'il présente de nouvelles approches et stratégies aux parents sur les façons d'aider leurs enfants à faire leurs devoirs.

ÉÉC Frère‑André, Barrie    
CSDC Centre‑Sud
Ateliers pour les parents

L'école élémentaire catholique Frère‑André a offert aux parents une série d'ateliers sur des sujets comme la cyberintimidation, la sécurité à l'école et l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté. Dans le cadre de l'atelier sur l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté, un psychologue a été invité pour parler des enfants ayant des besoins particuliers et de l'importance de leur offrir un environnement attentif à leurs besoins.

ÉÉC Sainte‑Lucie, South Stormont
CSDC de l'Est ontarien
Des parents informés et engagés

Tout au long de l'année scolaire, l'école a organisé à l'intention des parents une série d'ateliers sur différents sujets comme la littératie familiale, les méthodes de discipline constructives et saines, la cyberintimidation, la sécurité sur Internet et les familles mixtes, où l'un des parents est francophone. On a aussi remis aux parents une liste des ressources et des services communautaires mis à leur disposition pour les aider à appuyer la réussite de leurs enfants.

Elgin Street Public School, Ottawa
Ottawa Carleton District School Board
Des parents qui enrichissent l'éducation de leurs enfants

Pendant l'année scolaire, l'école a invité les parents à participer à trois soirées d'information durant lesquelles un conférencier a partagé avec les parents des idées sur la façon dont on peut soutenir l'apprentissage des enfants à la maison. Les conférences, axées sur les méthodes que les parents peuvent employer pour compléter l'apprentissage en classe, étaient suivies d'une séance pratique encadrée et d'une discussion sur la façon de mettre en œuvre ces stratégies à la maison, auprès des enfants.

Michael J Brennan Separate School, St. Catharines
Niagara Catholic District School Board
Soirée familiale sur le thème des mathématiques

L'école a organisé une soirée familiale sur le thème des mathématiques. Les parents et les élèves ont pu visiter divers kiosques installés dans le gymnase où on donnait des informations sur l'enseignement des mathématiques aux différentes années d'études du palier élémentaire. Un professeur de mathématiques a expliqué aux parents comment promouvoir les mathématiques et a souligné l'importance des mathématiques dans la vie de tous les jours.

Monsignor Castex Separate School, Midland
Simcoe Muskoka CDSB
Rendement des élèves

L'école a organisé un certain nombre d'activités pour montrer aux parents comment soutenir l'apprentissage de leurs enfants à la maison. À l'occasion d'une soirée axée sur la numératie familiale, parents et enfants se sont réunis pour explorer des kiosques interactifs installés un peu partout dans l'école. Trois auteurs de la région ont participé à une soirée sur la littératie, ont rencontré les parents et les enfants et ont lu des extraits choisis. L'école a de plus ajouté à la collection de la bibliothèque diverses ressources pour aider les parents à améliorer les compétences en numératie à la maison.

Ogden Community Public School, Thunder Bay
Lakehead District School Board
Série de symposiums visant à encourager la participation des parents

L'école a tenu pour les parents une série de trois symposiums portant sur les stratégies de prévention de l'intimidation et les stratégies d'encouragement de la littératie à la maison, ainsi qu'une soirée familiale consacrée aux mathématiques pour montrer aux parents et aux enfants des stratégies dans ce domaine. Des conférenciers et écrivains autochtones étaient invités et ont partagé leurs expériences avec les parents et les élèves.

Regent Park/Duke of York Junior Public School, Toronto
Toronto District School Board
Les parents mettent la main à la pâte

L'école a organisé deux soirées d'activités à l'intention des parents. La première était un atelier sur l'alimentation pour les élèves et leurs parents, avec la participation du Bureau de santé de Toronto. Les familles ont appris à lire correctement les étiquettes et ont eu l'occasion de préparer ensemble un repas santé. La deuxième soirée a été consacrée au bie-être global. Les parents d'enfants d'âge scolaire se sont familiarisés avec des jeux non axés sur la compétition et avec un mode de vie et d'alimentation sain afin d'aider leurs enfants à réussir à l'école et d'assurer leur bien-être.

St. Aloysius School, Stratford
Huron Perth Catholic District School Board
Programme de tutorat pour les parents

L'école a mis sur pied un programme de tutorat hebdomadaire pour aider les parents à encourager leurs enfants à lire. Des parents ont profité de l'expérience d'autres parents ayant reçu une formation pour apprendre comment favoriser la lecture à la maison.

St. Gregory Separate School, Powassan
Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board
Leur réussite dépend de nous!

Après avoir mené un sondage auprès des parents, l'école a mis sur pied un centre d'aide aux parents en vue d'accroître la confiance et les compétences des parents dans le soutien de la réussite de leur enfant à l'école. Ce centre, dirigé par des bénévoles, offre aux parents des ateliers pratiques, un groupe de soutien axé sur la numératie et des ressources pour aider les enfants à réussir à l'école.