Parents Reaching Out Grants

Michael J. Brennan Separate School – St. Catharines

Niagara Catholic District School Board
Family Math Evening

Parents Reaching Out grants help parents to identify barriers to parent engagement in their own community, and find local solutions to get more parents involved. Parents who are involved in their children's education help to support their children's achievement and well-being.

This video is part of a series that features successful parent engagement projects funded through the Ministry of Education's Parents Reaching Out (PRO) grants.

Transcript<a href="/eng/parents/stCatharinesBrennan.html#Trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/parents/stCatharinesBrennan.html#Trans" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Transcript

Bob Grand [Principal, Michael J. Brennan Separate School]:

We ran a family math evening here at our school, we involved the parents and the children in math activities that were led by our teaching staff, it was a very successful evening. As educators we know that when parents as our partners are actively engaged in their children's education at school the more likely it is that their child will be successful in school. The focus for our family event was family math. When I talked to the parents that came up as an area that they felt that they needed more information on how to help their child. It matched one of our smart goals for the school for the year which was to improve the children's problem solving capabilities in mathematics, so it worked hand in hand with what we are already doing as a school. The teachers came in and they each ran a station of mathematics showing parents how mathematics is taught in that grade and how they could help out their child in that grade. It was a great evening it was very successful we had well over half of the school population, parent population came that night with their children and the parents and the children could sit down with the teachers, meet the teachers and try out some math activities together. It was a fun evening for everybody involved.

Jennifer Kennedy [Parent and Volunteer]:

Oh! it was really good the kids were really excited and it provided a great opportunity for the families to come in and share math experiences with their children in their classes with their teachers as well. And by interjecting fun games into math the kids didn't really mind doing the math at all, it was a good time.

Bob Grand [Principal, Michael J. Brennan Separate School]:

The outcomes that we wanted from the evening was number one, to familiarize parents with how mathematics is taught in today's classroom and how they can help their child in mathematics. So going beyond working with the text book how could they help with their child when their child came home with everyday mathematics in their own lives. The second objective for the evening was to have parents feel comfortable coming in and meeting the teachers, opening up the lines of communication with them because we know that the more that a parent is familiar with the teacher and is in contact and communicating with the teacher, the more likely it is that their child will be successful in that classroom.

Jennifer Kennedy [Parent and Volunteer]:

I think anytime that you are able to show the family as a whole and interacting together in a social environment in the school system it's really beneficial for everyone.

Bob Grand [Principal, Michael J. Brennan Separate School]:

What I noticed as the principal of the school is that the parents, the same parents who came out that evening for the family math night is that we opened up lines of communication with them, they have been more comfortable now with coming to school whether it be for school council meetings, for school activities, for assemblies, for curriculum nights. We have a big increase in the amount of parents that are coming to the school for school events. The second outcome from it would be that parents are telling me that they now feel more comfortable with how they can help out their child in school because that evening we provided the specific ways that they could help out their child with mathematics, we gave them some resources and from a teacher parent point of view they met their child's teacher and they opened up that line of communication as well to find out how they could help out their child.

Jennifer Kennedy [Parent and Volunteer]:

I really think this is going to help children with their math because it's a good introduction to new concepts while their parents are experiencing the fun and excitement of the night as well as sharing a social aspect with math so I think it's really good.

Bob Grand [Principal, Michael J. Brennan Separate School]:

We also gave each family as they left a math activity or game that they could take with them so that they could follow through at home that they could do some math card games or some math activities with games that are readily available through different stores. Yes I have seen that since the time that we had that event we've had more parents coming out to be involved in school activities here at Michael J. Brennan School. So I think by making that initial thrust of providing an event like this, so its family friendly, involved the staff and the parents and the children that we made a lot of connections that night and although some of those same parents I am now seeing coming out and helping with one of our lunch reading programs with an after school program. Coming out we always invite parents to come to our school assemblies and I am seeing more parents from that night coming out and being part of school life.

To learn more visit: www.ontario.ca/EDUparents

Subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents

Michael J. Brennan Separate School – St. Catharines

Niagara Catholic District School Board
Soirée Math famille

Les Subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents (PEP) aident les parents à repérer les obstacles à la participation dans leur propre communauté, et à mettre en place des solutions locales afin de permettre à davantage de parents de s'engager. Les parents engagés dans l'éducation de leurs enfants contribuent à appuyer le rendement et le bien-être des élèves.

Cette vidéo fait partie d'une série qui illustre des projets réussis et financés dans le cadre du Programme de subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents (PEP) du ministère de l'Éducation.

Transcription<a href="/fre/parents/stCatharinesBrennan.html#Trans" title="http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/parents/stCatharinesBrennan.html#Trans" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Appareil mobile

Transcription

Bob Grand [Directeur, Michael J. Brennan Separate School] :

Nous avons conçu une soirée mathématique pour toute la famille ici à notre école, nous avons impliqué les parents et les enfants dans des activités mathématiques qui ont été conduites par notre personnel enseignant, c'était une soirée très réussie. En tant qu'éducateurs, nous savons tous que lorsque les parents sont activement engagés dans l'éducation de leurs enfants à l'école, en partenariat avec nous, il est plus probable que leur enfant va réussir à l'école. L'accent de notre événement familier a été « mathématiques en famille ». Quand j'ai parlé aux parents ça revenait toujours comme un domaine qu'ils estimaient difficile, et ils ressentaient le besoin d'avoir de plus amples renseignements sur la façon d'aider leur enfant. En mathématiques, un de nos objectifs pour l'école pour l'année c'était d'améliorer la capacité de résoudre des problèmes, et alors ça était compris dans ce que nous faisons déjà dans notre école. Les enseignants étaient là et ils ont monté chacun une station mathématique afin de montrer aux parents comment les mathématiques sont enseignées à ce niveau, comment ils pourraient aider leurs enfants dans cette classe. Ce fut une grande soirée, c'était très réussi, bien plus de la moitié de la population scolaire, population des parents était venus à cette soirée-là avec leurs enfants et les parents et les enfants pouvaient s'asseoir avec les enseignants, rencontrer les enseignants et essayer quelques activités mathématiques ensemble. C'était une soirée amusante pour tout le monde.

Jennifer Kennedy [Parent et bénévole] :

Oh! C'était vraiment bien, les enfants étaient vraiment excités et ça a fourni une excellente occasion aux familles de venir partager des expériences mathématiques avec leurs enfants dans leurs classes, et avec leurs enseignants aussi. Et en intercalant des jeux amusants parmi les problèmes mathématiques, les enfants n'avaient plus rien contre les calculs, ils ont vécu un bon moment.

Bob Grand [Directeur, Michael J. Brennan Separate School] :

Le résultat que nous voulions voir de cette soirée était, premièrement, de familiariser les parents avec la façon dont les mathématiques sont enseignées dans les classes d'aujourd'hui et puis comment ils peuvent aider leur enfant en mathématiques. Donc aller au-delà du travail au niveau du manuel scolaire, comment peuvent-ils travailler avec leurs enfants lorsque leur enfant rentre à la maison avec les mathématiques au quotidien dans leur propre vie. Le deuxième objectif de la soirée était d'avoir des parents à l'aise de rencontrer les enseignants, d'établir la communication avec eux, car nous savons que, plus le parent est familier avec l'enseignant, plus il est en contact et communique avec l'enseignant- plus il est probable que leur enfant aura du succès dans cette classe.

Jennifer Kennedy [Parent et bénévole] :

Je pense que chaque fois que vous êtes en mesure de montrer la famille comme un tout qui interagit dans un environnement social, dans le système scolaire, c'est vraiment bénéfique pour tout le monde.

Bob Grand [Directeur, Michael J. Brennan Separate School] :

Ce que j'ai remarqué en tant que directeur de l'école c'est qu'avec les parents, les mêmes parents qui sont venus cet soir-là pour la soirée de mathématiques en famille, nous avons ouvert la communication, et ils sont plus à l'aise maintenant pour venir à l'école pour les réunions du conseil scolaire, pour des activités scolaires, pour des assemblées, ou pour des soirées curriculum. Nous avons une forte augmentation du nombre de parents qui viennent à l'école pour des événements scolaires. Le deuxième résultat de cette soirée c'est que les parents me disent qu'ils se sentent maintenant plus à l'aise face aux façons dont ils peuvent aider leur enfant à l'école parce que cette soirée-là nous leurs avons fourni les moyens spécifiques qu'ils pourraient utiliser pour aider leurs enfants dans l'apprentissage des mathématiques, on leur a fourni des ressources et du point de vue de la relation enseignant-parent, ils ont rencontré l'enseignant de leur enfant et ils ont ouvert cette communication aussi, pour savoir comment ils pouvaient aider leur enfant.

Jennifer Kennedy [Parent et bénévole] :

Je pense vraiment que ça va aider les enfants dans leur apprentissage des mathématiques parce que c'est une bonne introduction à de nouveaux concepts alors que leurs parents connaissent l'amusement et l'excitation de la soirée tout en vivant l'aspect social avec les mathématiques donc je pense que c'est vraiment bon.

Bob Grand [Directeur, Michael J. Brennan Separate School] :

Nous avons aussi donné à chaque famille en fin de la soirée une activité mathématique ou un jeu qu'ils pouvaient emporter avec eux : quelques jeux de cartes mathématiques ou certaines activités mathématiques avec des jeux qui sont facilement disponibles dans les magasins. Oui, j'ai observé que depuis le temps que nous avons eu cet événement, nous avons eu plus de parents qui s'impliquent dans les activités de l'école ici à l'école Michael J. Brennan. Donc, je pense, en faisant cette poussée initiale qui est de fournir un tel événement, qui convient à toute la famille, incluant le personnel et les parents et les enfants, je pense que nous avons fait beaucoup de connexions lors de cette soirée-là et je suis certain que ce sont ces mêmes parents que je vois maintenant venir aider avec un de nos programmes de repas de lecture ou un programme parascolaire. En montrant ce que nous faisons, nous avons invité les parents à venir à nos réunions à l'école et je vois encore des parents qui après cette soirée-là viendront et s'impliqueront dans notre vie scolaire.

Pour en savoir davantage, rendez-vous à : www.ontario.ca/siteparents.