Capital Investments – Improving Ontario's Schools

Ontario Regulation 444/98, Disposition of Surplus Real Property

There are currently 72 school boards across Ontario, which are grouped into four categories: English Public, English Catholic, French Public and French Catholic. These school boards hold between eight to 600-plus properties, and they operate 5,000 school facilities in total. School board facilities represent the government's largest investment in building infrastructure. Overall, Ontario schools cover 267 million square feet and are valued at about $55 billion.

School Board Disposition Process

When schools are closed, school boards can declare these properties surplus to the board's needs. Once that has been declared, school boards can offer these properties for sale or lease.

In doing so, school boards are required to follow the requirements set out in Ontario Regulation 444/98 - Disposition of Surplus Real Property (O. Reg. 444/98).

Under this regulation, school boards are required to first offer surplus property for purchase or lease to a list of preferred organizations. This has to happen before the property can be sold or leased on the open market, and helps to facilitate the property remaining within the public sphere where there is a need and a financially viable proposal. When school boards choose to sell or lease a surplus property, they will provide notification to the preferred organizations in the jurisdiction in which the surplus property is located.

Amendments to Ontario Regulation 444/98

On May 5, 2016, O. Reg. 444/98 was amended by the Ministry of Education to respond to recommendations made in the report Community Hubs in Ontario: A Strategic Framework and Action Plan. The amendments are intended to improve opportunities for public organizations to participate in the process that school boards undertake when selling or leasing surplus schools.

The ministry's two key amendments result in an expansion to circulation timelines and an expansion of eligible public organizations.

These amendments will come into effect on September 1, 2016.

1. Extension of Circulation Timelines

Organizations receiving notification of surplus property sale or lease will have 90 days to submit an expression of interest, following which organizations that submitted an expression of interest will have an additional 90 days to submit an offer.

Expressions of interest must be in writing and signed by a person representing the entity with the appropriate authority to do so. In addition, expressions of interest must include the property description and the name of the organization(s) expressing interest, as well as the name of any referring organization.

Certain organizations listed in the regulation have the opportunity to refer notifications of surplus property disposition to organizations within their purview. In particular, this applies to District Social Services Administration Boards/Consolidated Municipal Service Managers, children's mental health lead agencies, Local Health Integration Networks, and First Nation and Métis Organizations. If two or more of the same type of organization make offers, their priority may be determined by the listed organization that referred the notification. If the referring organization does not identify the priority of offers from its member organizations in cases where two or more offers are submitted, the member organization that offers the highest price has priority.

O. Reg. 444/98 does not stipulate the contents of an offer; however it is common and best practice for the disposing board and the interested organization to commission their own appraisals in order to determine the fair market value of the surplus property.

2. Expansion of List of Public Organization:

This amendment expands and reprioritizes the current list of public organizations to receive notification of surplus school board property sale or lease. School boards will now be required to circulate surplus school properties that they want to lease or sell to six additional groups of public entities.

Starting September 1, 2016, boards will be required to circulate notification of surplus property sale or lease simultaneously to the following prioritized list of public organization before the property can be sold or leased on the open market.

New public entities that are being added to the circulation list are italicized below.

  1. Coterminous school boards
  2. Agencies accommodating Section 23 programming
  3. District Social Services Administration Boards (DSSABs) or Consolidated Municipal Service Managers (CMSMs)
  4. Public colleges
  5. Public universities
  6. Children's mental health lead agencies
  7. Local Health Integration Networks (LHINs)
  8. Public health boards
  9. Provincial government (The Crown in Right of Ontario)
  10. Lower-tier municipalities
  11. Upper-tier municipalities
  12. Local service boards
  13. First Nation and Métis Organizations
  14. Federal government (The Crown in Right of Ontario)

For additional information, please consult the amended O. Reg. 444/98, using the following link: www.ontario.ca/laws.

School boards can use the Property Circulation Address Look-up Function for GIS to identify most of the entities to which notice of surplus school property disposition should be circulated under O. Reg. 444/98. School board users will need GO Secure Integration for GIS, as well as a supported browser, to access and use the property circulation address look-up function.

Investissements en immobilisations – Amélioration des écoles de l'Ontario

Règlement de l’Ontario 444/98 : Aliénation de biens immeubles excédentaires

L’Ontario compte actuellement 72 conseils scolaires, qui comprennent quatre catégories : les conseils scolaires publics de langue anglaise, les conseils scolaires catholiques de langue anglaise, les conseils scolaires publics de langue française et les conseils scolaires catholiques de langue française. Ces 72 conseils détiennent entre 8 et plus de 600 biens immeubles et exploitent un total de 5 000 installations scolaires. Les installations des conseils scolaires représentent le plus grand investissement du gouvernement dans l’infrastructure immobilière. Ensemble, les écoles de l’Ontario totalisent une superficie de 267 millions de pieds carrés et on estime leur valeur à 55 milliards de dollars.

Processus d’aliénation des biens immeubles

Lorsqu’un conseil ferme une école, il peut déclarer les biens immeubles la constituant comme étant excédentaires par rapport à ses besoins, et les mettre en vente ou en location.

Il doit toutefois le faire conformément au Règlement de l’Ontario 444/98 (Aliénation de biens immeubles excédentaires) [Règl. de l’Ont. 444/98].

Selon ce règlement, les conseils scolaires ne doivent pas mettre leurs biens immeubles excédentaires en vente ou en location sur le marché libre s’ils ne les ont pas préalablement offerts en vente ou en location à un certain nombre d’organismes désignés. Cette règle favorise la conservation des biens immeubles scolaires dans le domaine public lorsque les besoins le justifient et que les modalités financières proposées sont viables. Ainsi, les conseils scolaires qui souhaitent vendre ou louer leurs biens immeubles excédentaires doivent d’abord en aviser les organismes désignés établis sur le territoire de compétence où se trouvent ces biens.

Modifications au Règlement de l’Ontario 444/98

Le 5 mai 2016, le ministère de l’Éducation a modifié le Règl. de l’Ont. 444/98 pour donner suite aux recommandations émises dans le rapport Les carrefours communautaires en Ontario : un cadre stratégique et plan d’action. Les modifications apportées visent à améliorer l’accès des organismes publics aux écoles excédentaires que les conseils scolaires souhaitent vendre ou louer.

Les deux principales modifications apportées par le Ministère sont la prolongation de la période d’annonce des biens immeubles excédentaires et l’élargissement de la liste des organismes publics admissibles.

Ces modifications entreront en vigueur le 1er septembre 2016.

1. Prolongation de la période d’annonce

Les organismes qui reçoivent un avis de mise en vente ou en location de biens immeubles excédentaires auront 90 jours pour soumettre une manifestation d’intérêt, puis 90 autres jours pour soumettre une offre.

Une manifestation d’intérêt doit être faite par écrit et signée par un fondé de pouvoir. Elles doivent contenir la description du bien immeuble visé et le nom de l’organisme qui manifeste son intérêt, ainsi que le nom de l’organisme ayant renvoyé la proposition à celui qui manifeste son intérêt, le cas échéant.

Certains organismes désignés dans le Règl. de l’Ont. 444/98 peuvent transmettre un avis d’aliénation de biens immeubles excédentaires à d’autres organismes qui se rattachent à eux. Cette règle s’applique notamment aux conseils d’administration de district des services sociaux et aux gestionnaires des services municipaux regroupés, aux organismes responsables des services de santé mentale aux enfants, aux réseaux locaux d’intégration des services de santé et aux organismes des Premières Nations et des Métis. Si plusieurs organismes de même type soumettent une offre, l’organisme prioritaire peut être déterminé par l’organisme qui lui a transmis l’avis. Si celui-ci ne détermine pas d’organisme prioritaire, c’est le meilleur offrant qui sera retenu.

Le Règl. de l’Ont. 444/98 ne précise pas le contenu de l’offre. Il est toutefois coutume et de bon aloi pour les conseils scolaires et les organismes intéressés de commander leurs propres évaluations afin de déterminer la juste valeur marchande du bien immeuble excédentaire visé.

2. Élargissement de la liste des organismes publics admissibles

La liste actuelle des organismes publics à qui doivent être envoyés les avis de vente ou de location de biens immeubles excédentaires est élargie, et son ordre de priorité est révisé. Dorénavant, les conseils scolaires devront envoyer ces avis à six autres groupes d’organismes publics.

À compter du 1er septembre 2016, les conseils scolaires devront, avant de mettre leurs biens immeubles excédentaires en vente ou en location sur le marché, annoncer l’aliénation de ces biens immeubles simultanément aux organismes publics prioritaires figurant dans la liste ci-dessous.

Les organismes publics nouvellement ajoutés à la liste sont en italique.

  1. Les conseils scolaires coïncidents
  2. Les organismes offrant des programmes de l’article 23
  3. Les conseils d’administration de district des services sociaux (CADSS) et les gestionnaires des services municipaux regroupés (GSMR)
  4. Les collèges publics
  5. Les universités publiques
  6. Les organismes responsables des services de santé mentale aux enfants
  7. Les réseaux locaux d’intégration des services de santé (RLISS)
  8. Les conseils de santé publique
  9. Le gouvernement provincial (la Couronne du chef de l’Ontario)
  10. Les municipalités de palier inférieur
  11. Les municipalités de palier supérieur
  12. Les régies locales des services publics
  13. Les organismes des Premières Nations et des Métis
  14. Le gouvernement fédéral (la Couronne du chef du Canada)

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la version modifiée du Règl. de l’Ont. 444/98 en vous rendant à l’adresse suivante : www.ontario.ca/fr/lois.

Les conseils scolaires peuvent utiliser la fonction de consultation en ligne du SIG pour la mise en circulation des biens excédentaires pour trouver la majorité des entités auxquelles ils doivent envoyer un avis d'aliénation de biens excédentaires en vertu du Règl. de l'Ont. 444/98. Les utilisateurs des conseils scolaires devront avoir un compte d'intégration GO Secure au SIG, ainsi qu'une version de navigateur compatible pour utiliser la fonction de consultation en ligne pour la mise en circulation des biens excédentaires.