Involving Parents in the School: Tips for School Councils

Put Out the Welcome Mat

Some parents may not be comfortable in a school setting. Newcomers to Canada, in particular, may have experienced a very different school setting, and may therefore be unfamiliar with the school environment. These tips will help you create a school climate that makes parents feel comfortable and welcome.

Tip #3: The School Information Package

Create a welcoming information package for parents new to the school. Include information about the school and its programs, the School Council and its meetings, key dates and school events, and opportunities for parent involvement.

Tip #4: The Meet and Greet Program

Work with the principal to find opportunities for Council members to meet new parents when they first register at the school. This might include general information nights or welcome events for new parents, or more focused information sessions geared, for example, to the particular information needs of parents with children in Kindergarten, Grade 8, or Grade 9.

Tip #5: The Bring a Friend Program

Encourage Council members to invite and bring a new parent to each Council meeting. This welcoming gesture can dramatically improve parent attendance.

Tip #6: The Welcoming Council

Make newcomers feel welcome at Council meetings. Take time for introductions at the beginning of the meeting. Ask newcomers to talk about their children and the grades they are attending. At the end of the meeting, the Chair or other Council members can make a special effort to speak with newcomers, thanking them for their attendance, asking them if they need any assistance or information, and inviting them to attend the next meeting. Parents who do not feel welcome are much less likely to return.

Tip #7: The Newcomers Event

Consider a periodic event for parents new to Canada. Get school families involved in planning a special welcome that might include information about Canadian culture, the school system, extracurricular activities, and services and opportunities in the local community.

← Getting Started

Engager les parents à l'école : Quelques idées pour les conseils d'école

Assurez un accueil chaleureux

Certains parents ne se sentent pas à l'aise dans un milieu scolaire. C'est notamment le cas des nouveaux immigrés qui sont probablement habitués à un système scolaire très différent et qui connaissent peu notre environnement scolaire. Voici quelques idées qui vous aideront à créer un climat où les parents seront à l'aise et se sentiront les bienvenus.

Idée n° 3 : Une trousse d'information sur l'école

Constituez une trousse d'accueil et d'information pour les nouveaux parents. Insérez-y des renseignements sur l'école et ses programmes, le conseil d'école et ses réunions, les dates et les activités importantes, et les possibilités pour les parents de participer à la vie scolaire.

Idée n° 4 : Un programme d'accueil

En collaboration avec la direction de l'école, voyez comment les membres du conseil pourraient rencontrer les nouveaux parents lorsqu'ils inscrivent leur enfant à l'école. Différentes options sont possibles, par exemple, des soirées d'information générale ou d'accueil pour les nouveaux parents ou encore des séances d'information plus ciblées, conçues spécialement pour les parents d'enfants de la maternelle, de la 8e ou de la 9e année.

Idée n° 5 : Un programme « Amenez un ami »

Encouragez les membres du conseil à inviter un nouveau parent à chaque réunion du conseil. Ce geste de bienvenue pourra augmenter considérablement la participation des parents aux réunions.

Idée n° 6 : Un conseil accueillant

Accueillez chaleureusement les nouveaux venus aux réunions du conseil. Réservez un moment pour les présentations au début de la réunion. Demandez-leur de parler de leurs enfants et de leur niveau scolaire. À la fin de la réunion, le président ou la présidente ou d'autres membres du conseil peuvent faire un effort particulier pour leur parler, les remercier de leur présence, leur demander s'ils ont besoin d'aide ou de renseignements et les inviter à la réunion suivante. Il est peu probable que les parents qui ne se sentent pas les bienvenus reviennent.

Idée n° 7 : L'accueil des nouveaux arrivants

Envisagez d'organiser une activité périodique en l'honneur des nouveaux arrivants au Canada. Recrutez des familles qui aideront à planifier cet accueil spécial au cours duquel vous pourriez donner des renseignements sur la culture canadienne, le système scolaire, les activités parascolaires, les divers services et possibilités qu'offre la communauté locale.