Involving Parents in the School: Tips for School Councils


Be Event Oriented

Creative school events that appeal to the needs and interests of parents often provide a key introduction to the school. These tips will help you develop events that will engage and attract parents, and open the door to greater parent involvement to help support student achievement and well-being.

Tip #12: The Showcase Evening

Use a special showcase evening to highlight school programs and activities, to provide parent education, or to offer the opportunity to meet other parents. The following are just a few of the many showcase ideas you may wish to consider:

  • Feature a school activity or project such as the school choir or band, a drama group, science experiments or technology displays.
  • Consider providing a speaker to present information on a topic of interest to parents such as homework strategies, discipline or health-related topics.
  • Provide a brief information session by School Council on a topic or issue of current interest to the school community.

Tip #13: The School Fair

Consider organizing a career, health or community services fair. Participants may include parents and representatives from outside groups in the community. A fair provides an excellent opportunity for community involvement, and demonstrates the school's commitment to supporting families.

Tip #14: The Volunteer Training Program

Offering a school volunteer training program can go a long way to building parent confidence and building involvement. Sessions might be considered, for example, to providing coaching on being a reading buddy, or a library assistant.

Tip #15: The Parent Education Program

Parents often welcome information on a variety of topics related to parenting and their children's schooling. Consider developing information sessions on topics such as the parent-teacher interview; working successfully with teachers; school volunteering; adolescence; internet safety; drug and alcohol issues; or successful homework hints.

Tip #16: The Welcome Back to School Event

To re-engage parents early in the school year, and welcome new parents to the school, hold a “Welcome Back to School” event which might combine a barbeque or similar social event with a meet-the-teacher opportunity.

Tip #17: The Multicultural Program

Where the school serves a diverse community, multicultural programs and events can serve not only to welcome all parents, but also to share and enjoy a wide range of traditions, cultures, sports and other activities. The following is a small sampling of the many events you may want to consider:

  • Hold an international dinner with explanations of foods from around the world.
  • Hold an international fair in which families create simple displays highlighting their customs and traditions.
  • Run an outdoor recreation day featuring a popular international sport or other activity – such as cricket – which can be shared with the school community.
← Break Down Barriers

Engager les parents à l'école : Quelques idées pour les conseils d'école

Des activités bien pensées

Des activités novatrices qui répondent aux besoins et aux intérêts des parents constituent souvent une excellente façon de rapprocher les parents de l'école. Voici quelques idées qui vous aideront à organiser des activités qui attireront les parents et à ouvrir la voie à une participation plus active pour appuyer le rendement et le bien-être des élèves.

Idée n° 12 : Une soirée de présentation de l'école

Organisez une soirée spéciale pour mettre en valeur les programmes et les activités de l'école, informer les parents ou leur donner l'occasion de se rencontrer. Voici quelques-unes des multiples formes que pourrait prendre votre soirée de présentation :

  • Présentez une activité ou un projet de l'école, comme la chorale ou l'orchestre, un groupe de théâtre ou encore des kiosques sur la technologie ou des expériences scientifiques.
  • Invitez un conférencier qui parlera d'un sujet qui intéresse les parents, comme la santé, la discipline ou les stratégies pour les devoirs.
  • Demandez à un représentant du conseil d'école de parler brièvement d'un sujet qui intéresse la communauté scolaire.

Idée n° 13 : Un salon à l'école

Envisagez d'organiser un salon sur le thème de l'emploi, de la santé ou des services communautaires. Cette activité pourrait être animée par des parents et des représentants de divers groupes communautaires extérieurs à l'école. Les salons sont une excellente occasion de faire participer la collectivité et de montrer que l'école se fait un devoir d'appuyer les familles.

Idée n° 14 : Un programme de formation des bénévoles

Offrir un programme de formation des bénévoles peut contribuer fortement à augmenter la confiance des parents et leur participation. Les séances pourraient porter, par exemple, sur l'encadrement pour devenir un partenaire en lecture ou un commis à la bibliothèque.

Idée n° 15 : Un programme d'éducation des parents

Les parents sont souvent heureux de recevoir des renseignements pertinents sur divers sujets liés au rôle parental et à la scolarité des enfants. Vous pourriez offrir des séances d'information sur des sujets comme les entrevues parent-enseignant, la façon de travailler efficacement avec les enseignants, le bénévolat à l'école, l'adolescence; Internet et la sécurité; les drogues et l'alcool ou des astuces pour les devoirs.

Idée n° 16 : Une activité « Rentrée des classes »

Pour renouer avec les parents dès le début de l'année et accueillir les nouveaux parents, tenez une activité « Rentrée des classes ». Elle pourrait combiner un barbecue ou une autre activité sociale avec une occasion de rencontrer le personnel enseignant.

Idée n° 17 : Un programme multiculturel

Si l'école dessert une collectivité diversifiée, des programmes et activités multiculturels peuvent servir non seulement à accueillir tous les parents, mais aussi à découvrir tout un éventail de traditions, de cultures, de sports et d'autres activités. Voici quelques idées qui pourront vous inspirer :

  • Organisez un souper international où on expliquera des mets du monde entier.
  • Organisez un salon international où les familles présenteront leurs coutumes et traditions.
  • Organisez une journée de loisir en plein air mettant en vedette un sport populaire dans plusieurs pays - tel que le cricket – auquel toute la communauté scolaire peut participer.