Involving Parents in the School: Tips for School Councils

Be Persistent

Building parent involvement is not an 'event' but a process. An effective parent involvement program will take place over months rather than days, and with continued effort, will be sustained over years. These tips will help you maintain consistent parent contact, and spread the school message within the wider community.

Tip #23: The Reminder Program

Parents lead busy lives. Remember to send frequent reminders home to parents about Council meetings and other important school events. Email is a cost-effective and efficient method for keeping parents informed on a day-to-day basis. If available, an outdoor sign can also be an effective way to keep this information highly visible and top of mind for parents.

Tip #24: Identify Yourself at School Events

Encourage School Council members to be visible at key events such as information nights, school concerts and graduation ceremonies. When participating in school events, consider the use of a name tag so that parents identify you as a School Council member.

Tip #25: The Community Ambassador

Encourage School Council members to speak up – both formally and informally – about the school whenever they have an opportunity in the community. School Council Members are often engaged in a variety of social and community organizations who may welcome information about the school and its activities.

Tip #26: The Recognition Program

Provide recognition for School Council members, and other parents, for their contributions to various activities and initiatives. This might take the form of a brief note to the parent, a gift certificate, recognition at a School Council meeting, mention in the School or School Council newsletter, or public mention at a school assembly or other event.

← Get the Word Out

Engager les parents à l'école : Quelques idées pour les conseils d'école

Soyez tenaces

Accroître la participation des parents n'est pas un « événement » mais un processus. Les programmes efficaces de renforcement de la participation s'étalent sur plusieurs mois et non pas sur plusieurs jours, et avec de la persistance, durent plusieurs années. Les idées ci-dessous vous aideront à garder des contacts réguliers avec les parents et à répandre le message de l'école dans la collectivité.

Idée n° 23 : Un programme de rappel

Les parents sont très occupés. N'oubliez pas de leur rappeler régulièrement les réunions du conseil et d'autres activités importantes de l'école. Le courriel est une façon économique et efficace d'informer les parents au jour le jour. Un panneau extérieur – si cette option est disponible – est aussi une bonne façon de mettre ces renseignements bien en vue et de les rappeler aux parents.

Idée n° 24 : Visibilité des membres du conseil

Encouragez les membres du conseil d'école à être présents à des événements clés, comme les soirées d'information, les concerts de l'école et les remises des diplômes. Quand vous participez à une activité de l'école, portez un insigne d'identification afin que les parents sachent que vous faites partie du conseil d'école.

Idée n° 25 : Ambassadeurs dans la collectivité

Encouragez les membres du conseil d'école à parler de l'école dans la collectivité chaque fois qu'ils en ont l'occasion, que ce soit de façon officielle ou officieuse. Les membres du conseil sont souvent actifs dans une variété d'organismes sociaux et communautaires qui pourraient être heureux d'avoir des renseignements sur l'école et ses activités.

Idée n° 26 : Un programme de reconnaissance

Reconnaissez les contributions du conseil d'école et d'autres parents aux différentes activités et initiatives. Cette reconnaissance pourrait prendre la forme d'un petit mot de remerciement adressé au parent, d'un chèque-cadeau, d'une mention lors d'une réunion du conseil ou dans le bulletin de l'école ou encore lors d'une assemblée de l'école ou d'une autre activité.