Involving Parents in the School: Tips for School Councils

Break Down Barriers

Many parents would welcome the opportunity to engage in the school community, but face genuine barriers to involvement. These tips will help you encourage parent involvement by addressing issues such as child care, language, transportation and accessibility to school events and programs.

Tip #8: The Childcare Program

Sometimes parents are unable to attend meetings because they do not have access to child care or cannot afford the cost of a babysitter. Here are some suggestions for activities that would help parents participate more easily in school events.

  • Consider hiring high school students to run a babysitting service for parents using a small portion of Council budget.
  • Alternatively, consider students who may wish to participate in babysitting services as a means of fulfilling the 40 hours of community involvement required for the Ontario Secondary School Diploma.
  • Focus on low-risk activities – such as math help, reading help, storytelling and board games – to minimize the possibility of injury.
  • Take care that all board policies and procedures are being followed.

Tip #9: The Translation Service

For parents who speak a first language other than English, consider offering translation services for Council meetings and other events. Parents will also appreciate receiving selected school documents, such as newsletters or important information notices, in a variety of languages. Members of the school community, and the larger community, are often pleased to provide language support to new Canadian families.

Tip #10: The Off-Site / Off-Hours Program

Where parents have problems with transportation, or with attending regularly scheduled events – due, for example, to shift work – consider holding supplementary events or meetings in the community and/or during off hours. The local library is often an ideal place to hold an information event, and can serve to raise the public visibility of the school at the same time.

Tip #11: Parents Reaching Out

Consider making application for a Parents Reaching Out (PRO) grant. PRO grants support school-based initiatives that help identify barriers to parent engagement and find local solutions to help more parents get involved.

← Put Out the Welcome Mat

Engager les parents à l'école : Quelques idées pour les conseils d'école

Éliminez les obstacles

Beaucoup de parents aimeraient faire quelque chose dans la communauté scolaire mais des obstacles réels les en empêchent. Ces idées vous aideront à encourager la participation des parents en réglant des problèmes comme la garde des enfants, la langue, le transport et l'accessibilité aux activités et programmes des écoles.

Idée n° 8 : Un programme de garde d'enfants

Parfois, les parents ne peuvent pas assister aux réunions parce qu'ils n'ont personne pour garder les enfants ou n'ont pas les moyens de payer une gardienne. Voici quelques suggestions qui pourraient faciliter la participation de parents dans les rencontres scolaires.

  • Voyez si vous pouvez utiliser une petite partie du budget du conseil afin d'embaucher des élèves du secondaire pour offrir un service de garde d'enfants.
  • Sinon, voyez si des élèves sont prêts à participer au service de gardiennage dans le cadre des 40 heures de service communautaire obligatoires pour obtenir le diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario.
  • Afin de réduire les risques de blessures, concentrez-vous sur des activités qui comportent peu de risques : aide en mathématiques, aide en lecture, histoires, jeux de société, etc.
  • Veillez à ce que toutes les politiques et les pratiques du conseil scolaire soient suivies.

Idée n° 9 : Un service de traduction

Envisagez d'offrir des services de traduction aux réunions du conseil et à d'autres activités pour les parents dont la première langue n'est pas le français. Les parents seront également heureux de recevoir certains documents, comme les bulletins ou les avis importants, dans diverses langues. Des membres de la communauté scolaire et de la collectivité en général sont souvent heureux de fournir une aide linguistique aux nouvelles familles canadiennes.

Idée n° 10 : Un autre endroit, un autre horaire

Si les parents ne peuvent pas assister aux activités régulières, par exemple parce qu'ils ont des problèmes de transport ou parce qu'ils travaillent par quarts, songez à organiser des activités ou des réunions supplémentaires ailleurs dans la collectivité et selon un horaire différent. La bibliothèque municipale est souvent un endroit idéal pour tenir une activité d'information et vous améliorerez du même coup la visibilité de l'école.

Idée n° 11 : Une Subvention pour la participation et l'engagement des parents

Envisagez de demander une Subvention pour la participation et l'engagement des parents (PEP). Ces subventions appuient des initiatives scolaires qui visent à relever les obstacles à la participation des parents et à trouver des solutions locales pour aider davantage de parents à intervenir.