Ontario’s Strategy for International Education

Ontario’s Strategy for K-12 International Education cover page Ontario is recognized around the world as a leader in providing a high-quality education in a system that is safe, welcoming and accessible. It is a destination of choice for students and families from around the world.

Ontario’s Strategy for K-12 International Education provides Ontario students with increased opportunities to develop global competencies both in Ontario and abroad. It promotes a deeper understanding and appreciation of the international dimensions of their studies and exposes them to different cultures and languages. Its goals and framework reinforce Ontario’s vision for education, which is committed to the success and well-being of every student and child.

Students in Ontario’s English- and French-language secondary school boards are encouraged to study international languages and to learn about the history, geography, arts and culture of other countries.

The strategy also promotes opportunities for Ontario students who are unable to travel or study abroad, by exposing them to the diverse cultures, languages and viewpoints of their classmates, and the broader community in which they live.

Ontario is committed to strengthening our province and our country by teaching young people to look past differences and seek commonalities. These principles will help students appreciate and understand the global perspectives they will need to succeed in our diverse and interconnected world.

What is International Education in Ontario?

Expanding Ontario students’ global awareness, knowledge and perspectives

The strategy allows Ontario students to access opportunities at home and abroad to experience different cultures, and to develop intercultural competencies, global knowledge and an appreciation of the international dimensions of their studies.

Opportunities for international students to learn in a world-class education system

Ontario is a destination of choice for students from around the world and now hosts over 126,000 international students from kindergarten through to postsecondary education. This represents almost half of all the international students choosing to live and study in Canada.

International students are also recruited by Ontario school boards for the contributions they bring to the learning environment and school community. More secondary students are coming from abroad to position themselves for entry into Canadian institutes of higher education.

‘Internationalization’ of Ontario’s curriculum and learning environments

In the context of Ontario’s strategy, internationalization is the ongoing process of change in the school program and environment, with opportunities to enhance learning through the integration of international, intercultural and/or global perspectives, cultures and experiences.

All students and educators in Ontario can benefit from exposure to diverse cultures and perspectives, and gain a better understanding of their own world.

Overseas delivery of the Ontario curriculum – the Ontario International Schools program

Ontario currently has agreements with 20 international schools located around the world, allowing them to deliver the Ontario curriculum and grant credits toward the Ontario Secondary School Diploma. These schools are inspected regularly to ensure that instruction in credit courses meets ministry requirements, and to confirm compliance with the terms of the agreements.

Ontario’s world-class educators sharing their expertise abroad

Experiential learning is not limited to students; Ontario educators also benefit from opportunities to travel and work abroad, and return with valuable new perspectives and strategies and a wider understanding of global issues to share with students and staff.

Through exchange programs and partnerships, Ontario and international educators can learn a great deal from each other by sharing best practices, pedagogies and work experiences. These activities can open new international academic partnerships, projects and research initiatives, with increased collaboration at the K-12 and postsecondary levels.

Pathways to Postsecondary Education, Work, and Living in Ontario

To meet the challenge of increasing global competition in the field of international education, the strategy provides a framework to support initiatives and pathways to help students transition from K to 12, all the way through Ontario postsecondary institutions and other education and training opportunities.

These include:

Additional Information and Resources

If you are an educator, parent, student or stakeholder interested in learning more about international education in Ontario, the following organizations have more information, resources and special event information available on their websites.

The links to third party content are for general informational purposes only and do not constitute a recommendation or an endorsement.

Ontario Association of School Districts International (OASDI) logo The Ontario Association of School Districts International (OASDI) is a non-profit association comprised of publicly-funded schools in Ontario that have established international student programs.

Canadian Association of Public Schools – International (CAPS-I) logo The Canadian Association of Public Schools – International (CAPS-I) is a non-profit association comprised of 127 publicly-funded school districts/boards who offer established international student programs for various grade levels ranging from elementary school through to high school graduation.

Stratégie ontarienne en matière d’éducation internationale

page couverture de la Stratégie ontarienne en matière d’éducation internationale de la maternelle à la 12e année L’Ontario a, de par le monde, une réputation de chef de file dans la prestation d’une éducation de haute qualité au sein d’un système accueillant, accessible et sécuritaire pour tous les élèves. L’Ontario est une destination de choix pour les élèves et les familles partout dans le monde.

La Stratégie ontarienne en matière d’éducation internationale de la maternelle à la 12e année offre aux élèves ontariens des occasions accrues d’acquérir des compétences mondiales, tant en Ontario qu’à l’étranger. Elle permet aux élèves de mieux comprendre et d’apprécier les dimensions internationales des matières qui leur sont enseignées, et les initie à différentes langues et cultures. Ses buts et son cadre renforcent la vision de l’éducation en Ontario, qui nous aidera à assurer la réussite et le bien-être de chaque enfant et de chaque élève.

Le ministère de l’Éducation encourage les élèves du palier secondaire des conseils scolaires de langue française et de langue anglaise à étudier des langues étrangères ainsi qu’à élargir leurs connaissances au sujet de l’histoire, de la géographie, des arts et de la culture d’autres pays.

Si les élèves de l’Ontario ne sont pas en mesure de voyager ou d’étudier à l’étranger, la stratégie leur offre la possibilité de découvrir les cultures, les langues et les perspectives de leurs camarades de classe ainsi que de la collectivité où ils vivent.

En enseignant aux jeunes à se concentrer sur les points communs qui les unissent et à voir au-delà de leurs différences, le gouvernement de l’Ontario renforce la province et le pays. De telles attitudes aideront les élèves à apprécier les perspectives mondiales dont ils auront besoin pour réussir dans le monde diversifié et interrelié d’aujourd’hui.

Qu’entend-on par éducation internationale en Ontario?

Expansion des connaissances et des perspectives mondiales des élèves de l’Ontario

La stratégie donne aux élèves ontariens l’occasion de connaître différentes cultures, d’acquérir des compétences interculturelles et des connaissances du monde, ainsi que d’apprécier les dimensions internationales des matières qui leur sont enseignées, et ce, aussi bien en restant dans leur collectivité en Ontario qu’en allant à l’étranger.

Occasions pour les élèves étrangers d’apprendre au sein d’un système d’éducation de classe mondiale.

L’Ontario constitue une destination de choix pour les élèves du monde entier ; son système d’éducation, de la maternelle au niveau postsecondaire, compte à l’heure actuelle plus de 126 000 élèves et étudiants étrangers. Ce chiffre représente près de la moitié des étudiants étrangers qui choisissent de vivre et d’étudier au Canada.

De leur côté, les conseils scolaires de la province recrutent aussi des élèves de l’étranger, en raison de leurs contributions au milieu d’apprentissage et à la communauté scolaire. Par ailleurs, des élèves étrangers viennent faire leurs études secondaires en Ontario afin d’être mieux préparés à faire une demande d’admission dans un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire au Canada.

« Internationalisation » du curriculum de l’Ontario et du milieu d’apprentissage

Dans le contexte de la stratégie de l’Ontario, l’internationalisation représente le processus d’évolution constant des programmes d’études et du milieu scolaire, afin d’y inclure des possibilités d’enrichissement de l’apprentissage par la prise en compte de perspectives, de cultures et d’expériences internationales, interculturelles ou globales.

Les élèves et le personnel enseignant de l’Ontario peuvent bénéficier de telles ouvertures à d’autres cultures et perspectives, ce qui les aidera à mieux comprendre le monde dans lequel ils évoluent.

Offre du curriculum ontarien à l’étranger – programme des écoles internationales

L’Ontario a conclu des accords avec 20 écoles internationales du monde entier, les autorisant à offrir le curriculum de l’Ontario et à accorder à leurs élèves des crédits en vue de l’obtention du diplôme d’études secondaires de l’Ontario. Ces écoles font l’objet d’inspections régulières afin de s’assurer que l’enseignement dispensé dans les cours donnant droit à des crédits respecte bien les exigences du Ministère et que les écoles se conforment aux modalités de l’accord conclu avec elles.

Le personnel enseignant de classe mondiale de l’Ontario partage ses connaissances pédagogiques à l’étranger

L’apprentissage expérientiel n’est pas réservé aux élèves, les éducatrices et les éducateurs de l’Ontario se voient aussi offrir des occasions d’aller rencontrer leurs homologues à l’étranger et de travailler à leurs côtés. Ils rapportent de ce genre d’expérience de nouvelles façons de voir et de faire les choses, de même qu’une compréhension approfondie des enjeux mondiaux qu’ils peuvent transmettre à leurs élèves et à leurs collègues.

Divers programmes et partenariats permettent aux éducatrices et aux éducateurs ontariens et étrangers d’apprendre les uns des autres en partageant leurs pratiques exemplaires, leurs méthodes pédagogiques ainsi que leurs expériences de travail. Ces activités peuvent donner naissance à des partenariats, des projets et des initiatives de recherche ainsi qu’à d’autres projets internationaux liés à l’éducation. Elles peuvent également mener à une collaboration accrue tant aux niveaux élémentaire et secondaire qu’au niveau postsecondaire.

Itinéraires d’études postsecondaires, de carrière et de vie en Ontario

Pour faire face à la concurrence mondiale croissante dans le secteur de l’éducation internationale, la stratégie fournit un cadre visant à soutenir les initiatives et les itinéraires afin de favoriser la transition des élèves, depuis la maternelle jusqu’à la 12e année et vers les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire ontariens ainsi que vers d’autres possibilités d’éducation et de formation.

Voici ces initiatives et itinéraires :

Renseignements supplémentaires et ressources

Si en tant que membre du personnel enseignant, parent, élève ou membre d’un groupe d’intervenants, vous souhaitez en savoir davantage sur l’éducation internationale en Ontario, vous pouvez consulter les sites suivants pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et des ressources sur ce sujet.

Les liens vers les contenus de sites de tiers sont fournis à titre d’information seulement et ne constituent ni une recommandation ni une approbation.

Ontario Association of School Districts International (OASDI) logo

Ontario Association of School Districts International est un organisme sans but lucratif composé d’écoles financées par les fonds publics de l’Ontario qui ont établi des programmes destinés aux élèves internationaux.

Association canadienne des ecoles publiques - international logo

L’Association canadienne des écoles publiques – International est une association sans but lucratif qui réunit 127 districts et conseils scolaires qui offrent des programmes éducatifs aux étudiants internationaux, depuis l’école élémentaire jusqu’au diplôme d’études secondaires.