School Funding - A Guide for Parents


The Funding Formula

School boards are funded through Ontario's "funding formula." The ministry allocates funding to each board using a formula that's based on student enrolment and the unique needs of the students in each board. The number of schools, their distribution and their physical condition are also factors.

Boards use this money to make the local decisions needed to educate their students. They do this by funding and staffing schools, designing programs to meet the needs of their students and fixing, maintaining and building schools.

How your school is funded

Each year your school board decides how much money to give your local school. The school then spends this money according to the plans and priorities of the school board and the province. For example, since schools, school boards and the government are concentrating on improving student achievement, schools will spend money to support that goal. The school also considers its improvement plan developed by the principal and the school community.

Schools also have some choices in the way they spend money. For example, a group of schools might decide to pool their resources to fund a music program. One school might buy musical instruments, another might hire a local musician to visit the schools, and so on. It is important that schools, like school boards, can make these choices so that they can meet the needs of students in their communities.

Funding grants

The various grants in the education funding formula fall into three broad categories:

  1. Basic or "foundation" funding that every board receives for general costs, such as staff salaries, textbooks, classroom computers and other supplies.
  2. Funds to help boards meet the unique needs of their students. English-as-a-Second-Language (ESL) programs, special education classes and funding for remote or rural schools are just a few examples.
  3. Funds that are used to build new schools, and to repair and maintain existing schools.

This funding is then used by the school board to develop its budget for the school year.

According to the Education Act, school boards must submit balanced budgets. A balanced budget simply means that the amount of money that a board expects to spend is equal to, or less than, the amount of money it receives from the government.

 

Where does funding come from?

School boards receive money in two ways. First, some of the property taxes collected in your community go to your local school board. Second, the province tops up this amount to bring the total for each board up to the amount set out by the funding formula.

Financement des écoles - Un guide à l'intention des parents

La formule de financement

Les conseils scolaires sont financés en vertu de la « formule de financement » de l'Ontario. Le Ministère accorde un financement à chaque conseil scolaire sur la base d'une formule prenant en compte les inscriptions d'élèves et leurs besoins spécifiques. Le nombre d'écoles, la répartition et l'état de ces écoles sont d'autres facteurs considérés.

Les conseils scolaires utilisent les fonds qui leur sont alloués pour exécuter les décisions concernant l'enseignement des élèves dans leur région, c'est-à-dire le financement et la dotation des écoles, la conception de programmes pour combler les besoins des élèves ainsi que la réfection et la construction d'écoles.

Base de financement de votre école

Chaque année, votre conseil scolaire décide du montant d'argent à octroyer à votre école. L'école dépense ensuite les fonds qui lui sont accordés selon les plans et priorités du conseil scolaire et de la province. Par exemple, comme les écoles, les conseils scolaires et le Ministère concentrent leurs efforts sur l'amélioration du rendement des élèves, les écoles dépenseront en fonction de cet objectif. Chaque école prend également en considération le plan d'amélioration de l'école élaboré par la direction et la communauté scolaire.

Les écoles ont aussi certains choix à faire sur la manière de dépenser les fonds alloués. Par exemple, plusieurs écoles peuvent décider de combiner leurs ressources pour financer un programme de musique. Une école pourrait acquérir des instruments de musique et une autre pourrait engager un musicien qui se rendrait aux écoles. Il est important que les écoles, tout comme les conseils scolaires, puissent faire ces choix pour répondre aux besoins des élèves dans leurs collectivités.

Les diverses subventions relevant de la formule de financement provincial se divisent en trois catégories principales :

  1. Financement de base que chaque conseil scolaire reçoit pour ses charges générales, comme les salaires des enseignants, les manuels, les ordinateurs de classe et les autres fournitures.
  2. Financement pour aider les conseils scolaires à répondre aux besoins particuliers de leurs élèves : programmes d'actualisation linguistique en français (ALF) et d'anglais, langue seconde (ALS), classes d'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté et financement d'écoles éloignées ou rurales, pour ne mentionner que quelques exemples.
  3. Fonds affectés à la construction de nouvelles écoles ainsi qu'à la rénovation et à l'entretien des écoles.

Le financement est utilisé par le conseil scolaire pour mettre au point son budget pour l'année scolaire.

La Loi sur l'éducation stipule que les conseils scolaires doivent soumettre des budgets équilibrés. Un budget équilibré signifie tout simplement que la quantité d'argent qu'un conseil scolaire prévoit dépenser sera égale ou inférieure au montant qu'il reçoit du gouvernement.

 

D'où provient le financement?

Les conseils scolaires reçoivent un financement sous deux formes. En premier lieu, les impôts fonciers perçus dans votre collectivité vont à votre conseil scolaire. En deuxième lieu, la province complète ce montant pour ramener le total de chaque conseil scolaire au montant fixé par la formule de financement préétablie.