Getting Started – Frequently Asked Questions for Parents


Elementary and Secondary Education Questions

Questions about School Board

Questions about Child Care

Ministry-Related Questions



Elementary and Secondary Education Questions

Which school can my child attend?

Each district school board in Ontario administers "attendance areas" for its schools, and generally, children go to the school located in the attendance area in which they live. Parents wanting to send their children to a school outside their normal attendance area must make a request to the local board for permission to do so. Refer to the School Board Finder to find the contact information of your local school board or school authority.

top

Can a student from outside Canada attend school in Ontario?

Yes, but in order to study here, an international student requires a valid student visa. Contact the Canadian embassy, consulate, or high commission in your country to apply for one. You will also need a letter from the school in Ontario, stating that a space is available. To find out which schools have openings for foreign students, you should contact district school boards and school authorities (for publicly funded schools) or the private schools that interest you.

top

Who determines the school curriculum?

The Ministry of Education sets curriculum policy and defines what teachers are required to teach and students are expected to learn in each grade and subject. A consistent, provincewide curriculum is thereby ensured. However, teaching and assessment strategies are left to the professional judgement of teachers, enabling them to address individual student needs and deliver the curriculum in a context that is locally meaningful.

top

To whom do I speak regarding an issue at my child's school?

Whenever you have a suggestion or a concern about your child's school or education program, do not hesitate to speak with your child's teacher or the school principal. Teachers and principals are responsible for issues relating to their own schools, and welcome parental involvement. If you have further inquiries or concerns you should contact your district school board or school authority.

top

How do I make arrangements to teach my child at home?

Policies related to homeschooling can be found here.

top

How do I find a private school for my child?

A directory of all the private elementary and secondary schools in Ontario is available on this website. The database indicates general information about each school, including religious affiliation and the availability of residential facilities. To find out about courses, tuition fees, and entrance requirements, please contact the school that interests you.

top

How do I open a private elementary or secondary school?

Operators of private schools in Ontario are required to notify the Ministry of Education annually of their intention to operate. To obtain the relevant information package, please contact the Ministry at 416-325-2929 or 1-800-387-5514.

top

As an adult, how can I complete the requirements for the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD)?

There are several ways to complete your secondary school diploma. For example, secondary school courses leading to diploma credits are offered by correspondence through the Ministry of Education's Independent Learning Centre. More information on this program is provided in the ILC Course Guide. If you would prefer to take courses in a classroom with other adults, contact your local school board to discuss adult credit programs. Evening classes, as well as English as a Second Language courses for those who would like to improve their English skills, are also available through most Ontario school boards.

top

Can I take my General Educational Development (GED) test in Ontario?

The General Educational Development test is an international secondary school equivalency examination program for adults. The GED tests cover what secondary school graduates are expected to know in mathematics, writing, science, literature, and the arts. Candidates who successfully complete the tests can earn the Ontario High School Equivalency Certificate. GED tests are offered in English and French, and testing sites are located in several cities across Ontario including Toronto, Mississauga, Sudbury, Ottawa, Thunder Bay, and Windsor. For detailed information, visit the General Educational Development page of the Independent Learning Centre.

top

How do I get an official transcript from the secondary school I attended?

If you left a publicly funded school within the past five years, you will most likely be able to obtain your secondary school transcript (the Ontario Student Transcript) from the last school you attended. However, some school boards maintain records in a central office, so you may be referred to the board to obtain your transcript. If you left a publicly funded school more than five years ago, or if the school you attended is no longer in operation, you should contact the school board directly.

Contact information for publicly funded schools can be found through the School Information Finder. Refer to the School Board Finder to find the contact information of your local school board or school authority. If you are looking for the contact information of a private school refer to the directory.

If a private secondary school you attended is no longer in operation, you should contact:

Ontario Ministry of Education
Education Research and Evaluation Strategy Branch
900 Bay Street
Toronto, Ontario M7A 1L2
Telephone: (416) 325-2492

top

How do I get an evaluation of elementary or secondary education documents from outside Ontario?

In Ontario, individual elementary and secondary schools evaluate the academic records of all new students. If you or your children are new to Ontario, please take your education documents (translated into English or French) directly to the school you or your children will be attending. The records will be used by the school to determine grade-level placement and the number of graduation credits still required.

top


Questions about School Boards

Where can I find the contact information and web address of a district school board or board authority?

Visit the School Board Finder.

top

Where can I find out how my school board is performing?

The School Board Progress Reports provide information about how school boards are performing on key indicators, including literacy results, credit accumulation and class sizes.

Where can I get more information on my child's school?

You can find out about your child's school – including contact information, information about student achievement, programs available and how the school compares to similar schools or board or provincial averages – on the School Information Finder or by contacting the school, the district school board or school authority directly.

top

What are the roles and responsibilities of some of the positions listed on the board directory?

This information is posted on the Ministry website.

top

Who sets the school boards' budgets?

Funding to school boards is provided by the Ministry of Education according to the provincial funding formula which takes into account the many factors that make each school board unique.

top

Who sets school budgets?

This is the responsibility of the school boards. In recent years, increases to the funding formula have been made for many components of our publicly funded education system including increases in funding for special education and for the hiring of additional teachers.

top


Questions about Child Care

How do I find a child care provider?

There are two basic kinds of child care in Ontario: licensed and unlicensed.

Whether or not a child care program needs a licence depends on how many children a caregiver is looking after. In Ontario, caregivers can look after up to five unrelated children under the age of 10 without needing a licence. Learn more about what you should consider when looking for child care.

Search for licensed child care.

Visit your local Ontario Early Years Centre for information about unlicensed child care.

top

How do I find out if a child care provider is licensed?

You can search for licensed child care and find out the terms and conditions of a provider's license on their profile.

Licensed child care programs have to meet and maintain specific provincial standards. These standards are set out in the Day Nurseries Act. The standards help to make sure that the health, safety, and developmental needs of the children are being met.

Licences have to be renewed at least every year.

In Ontario, caregivers can look after up to five unrelated children under the age of 10 without needing a licence.

top

What supports are available to help me pay for child care?

The following programs provide help in paying for child care:

top


Ministry-Related Questions

Which legislation governs elementary and secondary education?

In Canada, education is a provincial responsibility. Elementary and secondary education in Ontario is governed by the Education Act and any amendments made to that Act. Ontario Statutes and Regulations are now available online. You can also obtain the Education Act on paper or CD-ROM from ServiceOntario Publications, the Government of Ontario book store. In addition, provincial legislation may be accessed at all depository libraries, at many public libraries, and in the reference sections of those university libraries that are open to the public.

top

What are the roles of the ministers, school boards, and teachers? And what about parents and students?

See Who's Responsible for Your Child's Education? for a description of the responsibilities of the various participants in Ontario's elementary and secondary school system.

top

How can I obtain a particular document, such as a curriculum guideline or a news release?

Begin by checking the sections of this website containing ministry publications and news releases. If the document you're looking for is not posted there, you should contact ServiceOntario Publications to determine whether printed copies are available for purchase. The address is:


ServiceOntario Centre
College Park Building, 777 Bay Street
Market Level, Suite M212
Toronto, Ontario M5G 2C8
Telephone: (416) 326-5300
Toll free (in Ontario): 1-800-668-9938

Some documents may be out of print. If they are, you should be able to consult them at depository libraries or at a nearby university faculty of education.

top

When is Education Week?

The first full week of May is Education Week in Ontario. During this time the education community conducts a wide variety of events and activities across the province, aimed at demonstrating education in action.

top

Pour bien commencer – Foire aux questions pour parents

Questions sur l'éducation élémentaire et secondaire

Questions sur les conseils scolaires

Questions sur la garde d'enfants

Questions sur le Ministère


Questions sur l'éducation élémentaire et secondaire

Quelle école mon enfant peut-il fréquenter?

Chaque conseil scolaire de district administre pour ses écoles les « régions de fréquentation » et, généralement, les enfants vont à l'école située dans la région de fréquentation où ils habitent. Les parents qui veulent envoyer leurs enfants dans une école à l'extérieur de leur région de fréquentation doivent en demander la permission au conseil scolaire. Pour trouver les coordonnées d'un conseil scolaire ou d'une administration scolaire de votre région, consultez la page Rechercher un conseil scolaire.

Haut de page

Est-il possible pour une ou un élève de l'extérieur du Canada de poursuivre ses études dans une école en Ontario?

Oui, mais afin de poursuivre ses études en Ontario, l'élève étranger a besoin d'un visa d'étudiant valide. Vous pouvez en faire la demande auprès d'une ambassade, d'un consulat ou d'un haut-commissariat du Canada dans votre pays. Il faut une lettre de l'école en Ontario qui doit préciser qu'une place attend l'élève à cette école. Pour savoir quelles écoles reçoivent des élèves étrangers, communiquez avec les conseils scolaires de district et les administrations scolaires (pour les écoles financées par les fonds publics) ou avec les écoles privées qui vous intéressent.

Haut de page

Qui détermine le programme d'enseignement?

Le ministère de l'Éducation établit la politique en ce qui concerne les programmes, définit ce que les enseignants doivent enseigner et ce que les élèves doivent apprendre à tous les niveaux et dans chaque matière. On dispose ainsi d'un programme d'enseignement cohérent, valable à l'échelle de la province. Cependant, les stratégies d'enseignement et d'évaluation sont laissées à la discrétion du personnel enseignant, ce qui permet à ce dernier de répondre aux besoins particuliers des élèves et de présenter un programme qui tient compte du milieu où il est dispensé.

Haut de page

À qui dois-je m'adresser concernant une situation particulière à l'école que fréquente mon enfant?

Quand vous avez une question ou une suggestion concernant l'école de votre enfant et son programme d'études, n'hésitez pas à parler à son enseignante ou à son enseignant ou bien à la direction de l'école. Le personnel enseignant et la direction sont responsables des questions liées à l'école et favorisent la participation des parents. Si on ne peut répondre à vos questions, communiquez avec votre conseil scolaire de district ou administration scolaire.

Haut de page

Quelles dispositions dois-je prendre pour enseigner à mon enfant à la maison?

Veuillez consulter la politique relative à l'enseignement à domicile par les parents.

Haut de page

Comment puis-je trouver une école privée pour mon enfant?

Le site Web contient la liste de toutes les écoles privées élémentaires et secondaires en Ontario. Cette liste renferme des renseignements généraux sur chaque école, y compris sur leur confessionnalité et sur la disponibilité des places en pensionnat. Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements sur les cours, les droits de scolarité et les exigences d'admission, communiquez avec l'école qui vous intéresse.

Haut de page

Comment fait-on pour ouvrir une école élémentaire ou secondaire privée?

En Ontario, les exploitants d'écoles privées doivent rendre compte annuellement au ministère de l'Éducation de leur intention d'exploiter une école privée. Pour obtenir une trousse d'information, communiquez avec le Ministère en composant le 416 325-2929 ou le 1 800 387-5514.

Haut de page

En tant qu'adulte, comment puis-je répondre aux conditions d'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario (DESO)?

Il existe plusieurs façons d'obtenir le diplôme d'études secondaires. Par exemple, le Centre d'études indépendantes du ministère de l'Éducation offre par correspondance des cours du palier secondaire. Ces cours donnent droit à des crédits en vue de l'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires. L'Annuaire du CEI donne plus de détails à ce sujet. Si vous préférez prendre des cours dans une classe en compagnie d'autres adultes, communiquez avec le conseil scolaire de votre région pour discuter des programmes pour adultes menant à des crédits. Des cours du soir, comme les cours de français langue seconde à l'intention des personnes qui veulent améliorer leurs compétences en français, sont également offerts par certains conseils scolaires en Ontario.

Haut de page

Puis-je faire le test d'évaluation en éducation générale (GED) en Ontario?

Le test d'évaluation en éducation générale est un programme international d'examens visant à accorder aux adultes une équivalence des études secondaires. Le test GED couvre ce que les diplômés des écoles secondaires doivent savoir en mathématiques, en lecture, en sciences, en littérature et en arts. Les personnes qui réussissent le test obtiennent l'équivalent d'un diplôme d'études secondaires. Les tests sont offerts en français et en anglais dans plusieurs villes de l'Ontario, notamment Toronto, Mississauga, Sudbury, Ottawa, Thunder Bay et Windsor. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez la page Tests GED du Centre d'études indépendantes.

Haut de page

Comment puis-je obtenir un relevé de notes officiel de l'école secondaire que j'ai fréquentée?

Si vous avez quitté une école financée par les fonds publics au cours des cinq dernières années, vous devriez être en mesure d'obtenir votre relevé de notes d'études secondaires (Relevé de notes de l'Ontario) auprès de la dernière école que vous avez fréquentée. Toutefois, comme certains conseils scolaires conservent leurs dossiers dans un bureau central; il se peut qu'on vous demande de communiquer avec le conseil scolaire en question. Si vous avez quitté une école financée par les fonds publics il y a plus de cinq ans ou si l'école que vous avez fréquentée a fermé ses portes, vous devez communiquer directement avec le conseil scolaire.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les écoles publiques, utilisez l'outil de recherche. Pour trouver les coordonnées d'un conseil scolaire ou d'une administration scolaire, consultez la page Rechercher un conseil scolaire. Si vous cherchez les coordonnées d'une école privée, consultez la liste des Écoles privées élémentaires et secondaires.

Si l'école secondaire privée que vous avez fréquentée n'existe plus, communiquez avec :

Ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario
Direction de la stratégie de recherche et d'évaluation en éducation
900, rue Bay
Toronto (Ontario)  M7A 1L2 
Téléphone : 416 325-2492

Haut de page

Comment puis-je obtenir une évaluation de documents d'éducation élémentaire et secondaire de l'extérieur de l'Ontario?

En Ontario, chaque école élémentaire ou secondaire évalue les dossiers scolaires de ses nouveaux élèves. Si vous ou votre enfant venez d'arriver en Ontario, apportez ces documents (traduits en français ou en anglais) directement à l'école que vous ou que votre enfant allez fréquenter. L'école se servira de ces documents pour déterminer votre année d'études ou celle de votre enfant ainsi que le nombre de crédits qui manquent en vue de l'obtention du diplôme.

Haut de page


Questions sur les conseils scolaires

Où puis-je trouver les coordonnées et l'adresse du site Web d'un conseil scolaire ou d'une administration scolaire?

Pour rechercher un conseil scolaire ou une administration scolaire, rendez-vous à la page Rechercher un conseil scolaire.

Haut de page

Où puis-je me renseigner sur les résultats dans mon conseil scolaire?

La page Rapports sur les progrès des conseils scolaires contient des renseignements sur les progrès que les conseils scolaires ont réalisés par rapport à des indicateurs clés, notamment les tests de compétences linguistiques, l'accumulation de crédits et la taille des classes.

Haut de page

Où puis-je m'informer sur l'école que fréquente mon enfant?

Pour trouver des renseignements sur l'école de votre enfant, tels que les coordonnées de l'établissement, le rendement des élèves, les programmes offerts et des données pour voir où se situe l'établissement par rapport aux autres écoles du conseil ou par rapport à la moyenne provinciale, visitez l'outil de recherche ou communiquez directement avec l'école, le conseil scolaire de district ou l'administration scolaire.

Haut de page

Quel est le rôle et la responsabilité de certains postes indiqués dans le répertoire du conseil?

Cette information est affichée sur le site Web du ministère. 

Haut de page

Qui établit le budget d'un conseil scolaire?

Le financement des conseils scolaires est assuré par le ministère de l'Éducation selon la formule provinciale qui tient compte des nombreux facteurs rendant chaque conseil scolaire unique.

Haut de page

Qui établit le budget des écoles?

L'établissement du budget des écoles incombe aux conseils scolaires. Au cours des dernières années, la formule de financement a autorisé des augmentations dans de nombreux domaines de notre système d'éducation public, y compris l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté et l'embauche d'enseignantes et d'enseignants.

Haut de page


Questions sur la garde d'enfants

Comment trouver un fournisseur de services de garde d'enfants?

Il y a deux types fondamentaux de services de garde d'enfants en Ontario : agréés et non agréés.

Un programme de garde d'enfants a ou non besoin d'un permis en fonction du nombre d'enfants dont le fournisseur de services s'occupe. En Ontario, les fournisseurs de services peuvent prendre soin, sans avoir besoin d'un permis, d'un maximum de cinq enfants de moins de 10 ans sans lien de parenté. Renseignez-vous sur ce que vous devez prendre en considération lorsque vous recherchez des services de garde d'enfants.

Visitez votre centre de la petite enfance local pour obtenir des renseignements sur les services de garde d'enfants non agréés.

Haut de page

Comment savoir si un fournisseur de services est agréé ou non?

En faisant une interrogation sur la page Chercher des services de garde d'enfants agréés vous obtiendrez des renseignements sur les conditions du permis en vigueur pour chaque fournisseur de services de garde d'enfants agréés.

Les programmes de garde d'enfants agréés doivent satisfaire à des normes provinciales précises et les maintenir. Ces normes sont énoncées dans la Loi sur les garderies. Elles aident à s'assurer que l'on satisfait aux besoins des enfants en matière de santé, de sécurité et de développement.

Les permis doivent être renouvelés au moins tous les ans.

En Ontario, les fournisseurs de services peuvent prendre soin, sans avoir besoin d'un permis, d'un maximum de cinq enfants de moins de 10 ans sans lien de parenté.

Haut de page

Quels soutiens sont disponibles pour m'aider à payer des services de garde d'enfants?

Les programmes suivants fournissent une aide pour payer les services de garde d'enfants.

Apprenez-en plus sur le paiement des services de garde d'enfants.

Haut de page


Questions sur le Ministère

Quelles mesures législatives régissent l'éducation élémentaire et secondaire?

Au Canada, l'éducation est de compétence provinciale. L'éducation élémentaire et secondaire en Ontario est régie par la Loi sur l'éducation et par toutes modifications qui y sont apportées. Les Lois et règlements de l'Ontario sont maintenant disponibles sur Internet. Vous pouvez obtenir une copie de la Loi sur l'éducation sur papier ou sur CD-ROM auprès de ServiceOntario Publications, la librairie du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Vous pouvez également avoir accès aux autres mesures législatives provinciales dans toutes les bibliothèques de dépôt, dans de nombreuses bibliothèques publiques et dans la section référence des bibliothèques universitaires ouvertes au public.

Haut de page

Quel est le rôle du ministre de l'Éducation, des conseils scolaires, du personnel enseignant, des parents et des élèves?

Consultez la section Qui est responsable de l'éducation de votre enfant pour obtenir une description des responsabilités des divers participants au système d'éducation élémentaire et secondaire de l'Ontario.

Haut de page

Comment puis-je obtenir un document particulier (programme-cadre, communiqué, etc.)?

Commencez par consulter les sections du site qui renferment des publications du Ministère et des communiqués. Si le document que vous cherchez n'y paraît pas, communiquez avec Publications Ontario pour savoir s'il est en vente et si vous pouvez en acheter des exemplaires. En voici l'adresse :

ServiceOntario Publications
Centre ServiceOntario 
Édifice College Park
777, rue Bay 
Niveau du marché, bureau M212
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2C8 
Téléphone : 416 325-5300
Sans frais (en Ontario) : 1 800 668-9938

Certains documents peuvent être épuisés. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez les consulter dans les bibliothèques de dépôt ou à la faculté d'éducation de l'université de votre région.

Haut de page

Quand a lieu la Semaine de l'éducation?

La Semaine de l'éducation a lieu pendant la première semaine complète de mai. C'est l'occasion pour la communauté de l'éducation d'organiser partout dans la province une grande variété d'événements et d'activités qui ont pour objectif de montrer l'éducation en action.

Haut de page