Provincial and Demonstration Schools Consultation

Achieving Excellence: Provincial and Demonstration Schools

UPDATE: The ministry is carefully considering the input and feedback received during the provincial and demonstration schools consultations, and has now resumed the admission process for the 2016-17 school year.

Message from Minister Sandals

Transcript<a href="/eng/parents/message_pds.html" title="Message from Minister Sandals" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Transcript | Mobile


In 2014, Ontario released its renewed vision for education – Achieving Excellence. This vision builds on the education system's priorities and reached deeper and broader, raising expectations for the system and the potential of our students.

We are committed to the success and well-being of every child and student, giving them access to the supports they need to succeed in school and in life.

Provincial and demonstration schools provide programs and services for students who are Deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision, deafblind, or have learning disabilities. The ministry consulted with our education and community partners to explore ways to provide a range of quality programs and services that best meet their needs.

By working directly with students, families and education and community partners, these consultations will explore how students currently attending selected provincial and demonstration schools can be best supported to develop the knowledge, skills and characteristics to be personally successful, productive and actively engaged citizens.

Discussion papers were developed to gather input. The public was invited to provide online input by responding to the surveys that are attached to each of the discussion papers. The deadline for written submissions was April 8, 2016.

Students, families and education and community partners were also invited to attend face-to-face meetings so their perspectives could be shared.

Discussion Papers, and videos:

Centre Jules-Léger Provincial and Demonstration School

Transcript<a href="" title="Centre Jules-L&eacute;ger Provincial and Demonstration School" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Robarts School for the Deaf

Transcript<a href="" title="Robarts School for the Deaf" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

English-Language Provincial Demonstration Schools

Transcript<a href="" title="English-Language Provincial Demonstration Schools" style="display:none;">Transcript</a>

Mobile

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Ontario is committed to the success and well-being of every child and student – including students who are Deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision, deafblind or have learning disabilities, and to giving them access to the supports they need to reach their full potential.

The Ministry of Education consulted with students, families, and its education and community partners to explore ways to provide a range of quality programs and services that best meet the needs of students and families.

What schools are the subject of the consultations?

The scope of the consultation included:

  • Centre Jules-Léger (Ottawa) Provincial and Demonstration school
  • Robarts School for the Deaf (London) and
  • Three English-language demonstration schools for students with severe learning disabilities (Amethyst Demonstration School in London, Trillium Demonstration School in Milton, and Sagonaska Demonstration School in Belleville).

Ernest C. Drury School for the Deaf in Milton, Sir James Whitney School for the Deaf in Belleville, and W. Ross Macdonald School for the Blind in Brantford, were not included in this process.

How is the Ministry of Education conducting these consultations?

Discussion papers are posted on the ministry website. The site included links to an online survey where stakeholders could make online submissions in response to the questions posted in the discussion paper. The surveys are now closed

In addition to being able to respond to the discussion papers, the ministry conducted a number of face-to-face engagement sessions in the spring with students, families, and education and community partners.

Why were Ernest C. Drury School for the Deaf, Sir James Whitney School for the Deaf, and W. Ross Macdonald School for the Blind not included in the consultations?

In some provincial and demonstration schools enrolment levels limit the range, choice and availability of programs and services. While enrolment at Ernest C. Drury, Sir James Whitney, and W. Ross Macdonald, has also experienced some decline, the student population remains at levels which provide more options for programs and services than the schools within the scope of the consultation.

Will there be separate consultations on these three provincial schools?

There are no plans to conduct consultations on Ernest C. Drury, Sir James Whitney, and W. Ross Macdonald at this time.

Why did the Ministry of Education do this consultation now?

Ontario is committed to the success and well-being of every child and student – including students who are Deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision, deafblind or have severe learning disabilities – giving them access to the supports they need to succeed in school and in life.

By working directly with families, students and education and community partners, we will explore how students currently attending provincial and demonstration schools can best be supported to develop the knowledge, skills and characteristics to be personally successful, productive and actively engaged citizens.

The ministry consulted with students, families, and education and community partners to explore ways, in the face of declining enrolment, to provide a range of quality programs and services that best meet the needs of students and families.

In part, the consultation also provided an opportunity to explore recommendations made by the French Language Services Commissioner in his recent report about governance at Centre Jules-Léger (CJL).

What effect will this have on the children at the provincial and demonstration schools?

The needs and well-being of all our students are of paramount importance. The consultation will seek advice from students, parents and other education and community partners about programs and services to best support student achievement and well-being.

As plans for moving forward are developed, we will work closely with students, their families and educators and community partners. There will be no impact on students for the 2015/2016 school year.

What was the methodology that the consultants used?

The consultants will gather information from face-to-face consultation sessions, an online survey and key informant interviews and will provide the ministry with summaries of the consultations.

When will the Ministry of Education announce the results of the consultations?

The ministry is now carefully considering the input received from students and families, staff and education and community partners.

Consultation sur les écoles provinciales et d'application

Atteindre l’excellence
Écoles provinciales et écoles d’application

NOUVEAU : Le Ministère examine attentivement les avis et commentaires reçus dans le cadre de la consultation sur les écoles provinciales et d'application. Cette consultation étant terminée, le processus d'admission pour l'année scolaire 2016-2017 a maintenant repris.

Message vidéo de la ministre de l’Éducation

Pour un visionnement optimal, vous pouvez agrandir la fenêtre du clip vidéo en cliquant sur le bouton situé en bas à droite. Pour afficher les sous-titres en français, cliquez sur l’option CC en haut à droite.

Transcription<a href="" title="Message vid&eacute;o de la ministre de l&rsquo;&Eacute;ducation" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Transcription | Mobile


En 2014, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a présenté sa vision renouvelée pour l’éducation dans un document intitulé Atteindre l’excellence. Cette vision s’appuie sur les priorités du système d’éducation et va plus loin encore en rehaussant les attentes tant à l’égard du système qu’à l’égard du potentiel des élèves.

L’Ontario s’engage à favoriser la réussite et le bien-être de chaque enfant et de chaque élève et à leur donner accès à tous les soutiens dont ils ont besoin pour réussir à l’école et dans la vie.

Les écoles provinciales et d’application fournissent des programmes et services aux élèves sourds, malentendants, aveugles, ayant une basse vision, sourds et aveugles ou ayant des troubles d’apprentissage. Le Ministère a consulté ses partenaires du secteur de l’éducation et ses partenaires communautaires pour explorer des moyens d’offrir des programmes et services de qualité les mieux adaptés possible.

Grâce à la participation directe des élèves, de leur famille, des partenaires en éducation et des partenaires communautaires, la consultation sera l’occasion de d'examiner comment nous pouvons aider davantage les élèves des écoles provinciales et d’application à acquérir les connaissances, les compétences et les qualités qui en feront des citoyens épanouis, productifs et pleinement engagés.

Nous avons conçu des documents de travail pour recueillir des commentaires et nous avons invité le public à répondre en ligne aux sondages qui figuraient à la fin des documents de travail, au plus tard le 8 avril 2016.

Les élèves, les familles, les partenaires en éducation et les partenaires communautaires ont aussi été invités à participer à des rencontres en personne pour faire part de leurs commentaires.

Documents de travail et vidéos

Écoles provinciale et d’application du Centre Jules-Léger

Transcription<a href="" title="&Eacute;coles provinciale et d&rsquo;application du Centre Jules-L&eacute;ger" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Appareil mobile

Appareil mobile

Robarts School for the Deaf

Transcription<a href="" title="Robarts School for the Deaf" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Appareil mobile

Écoles provinciales et d’application de langue anglaise

Transcription<a href="" title="&Eacute;coles provinciales et d&rsquo;application de langue anglaise" style="display:none;">Transcription</a>

Appareil mobile

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

L’Ontario s’engage à favoriser la réussite et le bien-être de chaque enfant et de chaque élève, y compris les élèves sourds, malentendants, aveugles, ayant une basse vision, sourds et aveugles ou ayant des troubles d’apprentissage, et à leur donner accès à toute l’aide dont ils ont besoin pour réaliser leur plein potentiel.

Le ministère de l’Éducation a consulté des élèves, leur famille et des partenaires communautaires et du secteur de l’éducation pour trouver des moyens d’offrir divers programmes et services de qualité qui répondent au mieux aux besoins des élèves et de leur famille.

Quelles sont les écoles qui ont participé à la consultation?

La consultation a porté sur les écoles suivantes :

  • le Centre Jules-Léger (Ottawa)
  • la Robarts School for the Deaf (London)
  • trois écoles d’application de langue anglaise pour les élèves ayant des troubles d’apprentissage graves : l’Amethyst Demonstration School (London), la Trillium Demonstration School (Milton) et la Sagonaska Demonstration School (Belleville)

La Ernest C. Drury School for the Deaf (Milton), la Sir James Whitney School for the Deaf (Belleville) et la W. Ross Macdonald School for the Blind (Brantford) étaient hors du champ de la consultation.

Comment le Ministère a-t-il mené  la consultation?

Le Ministère a publié sur son site Web des documents de travail contenant un lien vers un sondage en ligne que les intervenantes et intervenants pouvaient remplir pour répondre aux questions posées dans les documents. Les sondages sont maintenant terminés.

Outre les sondages, le Ministère a organisé plusieurs séances de consultation au printemps avec des élèves, des familles, des partenaires du secteur de l’éducation et des partenaires communautaires.

Pourquoi la Ernest C. Drury School for the Deaf, la Sir James Whitney School for the Deaf et la W. Ross Macdonald School for the Blind n’ont pas fait partie de la  consultation?

Dans certaines écoles provinciales et d’application, la baisse des effectifs limite l’étendue, le nombre et la disponibilité des programmes et services. Les trois écoles qui n’ont pas été concernées par la consultation ont été elles aussi touchées par la baisse des effectifs, mais leur effectif est suffisant pour qu’elles continuent d’offrir un grand choix de programmes et de services.

Ces trois écoles provinciales feront-elles l’objet de consultations ultérieures?

Aucune consultation sur Ernest C. Drury, Sir James Whitney et W. Ross Macdonald n’est prévue pour le moment.

Pourquoi le Ministère a-t-il fait  une consultation maintenant?

L’Ontario s’est engagé à favoriser la réussite et le bien-être de chaque enfant et de chaque élève, y compris les élèves sourds, malentendants, aveugles, ayant une basse vision, sourds et aveugles ou ayant des troubles d’apprentissage graves, et à leur donner accès à toute l’aide dont ils ont besoin pour réussir à l’école et dans la vie.

En collaborant directement avec les élèves, leur famille, les écoles et les partenaires de l’éducation et de la communauté, nous tenterons de comprendre comment nous pouvons aider davantage les élèves des écoles provinciales et d’application à acquérir les connaissances, les compétences et les qualités qui en feront des citoyens accomplis, productifs et pleinement engagés.

Face à la baisse des effectifs scolaires, le Ministère a consulté des élèves, leur famille et des partenaires du secteur de l’éducation et de la communauté pour trouver des moyens d’offrir divers programmes et services de qualité qui répondent au mieux aux besoins des élèves et de leur famille.

La consultation a aussi été l’occasion d’étudier les recommandations du commissaire aux services en français de l’Ontario qui figurent dans son récent rapport sur la gouvernance du Centre Jules-Léger.

Quelles conséquences la consultation aura-t-elle sur les élèves des écoles provinciales et d’application? 

Les besoins et le bien-être de tous nos élèves sont nos priorités. La consultation visait à recueillir les idées des élèves, de leurs parents et des partenaires du secteur de l’éducation et de la communauté pour répondre au mieux au bien-être et au rendement des élèves.

Nous collaborerons étroitement avec les élèves, leur famille et les partenaires du milieu de l’éducation et de la communauté à mesure que les plans pour aller de l’avant seront créés. Il n’y aura aucune conséquence pour les élèves en 2015-2016.

Quelle est la démarche suivie par les consultants? 

Lorsque les consultants auront rassemblé les idées recueillies dans le cadre des séances de consultation, du sondage en ligne et des entrevues avec des intervenants  clés, ils remettront au Ministère un sommaire qui résumera le tout.

Quand le ministère de l’Éducation annoncera-t-il les résultats de la consultation?

Le Ministère examine maintenant les commentaires des élèves, des familles, du personnel et des partenaires du secteur de l’éduction et des partenaires communautaires.