School Consolidation Experience Studies

School Consolidation Experience Studies

What is School Consolidation?

For the purposes of this study, school consolidation is defined as the closure or re-organization of one or more school(s) and the subsequent amalgamation into one single school on an existing or a new site, either in an entirely newly constructed facility or an existing building.

“Positive faith-based culture and excellent education is not about location: it is about the people who work together.” (Board Senior Official)

Background

Given the current fiscal context, the School Board Efficiencies and Modernization (SBEM) strategy was developed to promote consolidation or joint use of existing or new school space.

To support this goal, the Ministry of Education committed to conducting case studies on recent experiences of school consolidations/reorganizations across the province to share promising practices and based on these results increase positive outcomes. The fourth School Consolidation Experience study provides perspectives on the school consolidation experience in a Catholic school district context.

The Case Study

This study focused on the consolidation of three schools into one newly-built school in the Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board (SMCDSB). Our Lady of Grace, Prince of Peace, and Our Lady of the Assumption were consolidated into a single newly-built school on the original site of Our Lady of Grace (K-8). In this case study, the research team conducted approximately 10 key informant interviews and eight focus groups with stakeholders impacted by these school consolidations and new school construction.

“When you walk into the front doors of our current building, you can easily identify where each school is represented in the chapel and other highly visible places…we have key artifacts placed to mark a school culture and where each school community can feel a part of this new building” (Principal)

Case Studey Approach: Principals and Vice-Principals - Academic Supervisory Officers - School Board Business Officials - Community and Municipal Organizations - Student Groups - Parents Groups - Teacning and Non-Teaching Staff

What Are Some Highlights from the Findings?
This study reflects important lessons learned and advice for school board administrators in future consolidations/reorganizations. Highlights from the study include that:

  • Articulation of the aspirations/values of the Catholic school system acted as a unifier of different school communities.
  • Discussion in the communities about the benefits of expanded academic programming and co-curricular activities were effective.
  • Efforts made by school leadership to involve staff, students and community members from the consolidating schools during the transition process helped in diffusing dissension and fostering an inclusive atmosphere in the new school.

“This has been a lot of work, but I feel like we have really become something special.” (Principal)

Key Themes

Communication: the quality and consistency of commu­nication about board decision-making and planning and the facilitation of connections and dialogue between staff groups, between student groups, and between the board and stakeholders (including parents, staff, students and community members) had a direct impact on the acceptance and positive impact of the consolidation/reorganization experience.

Transition Planning and Implementation of Decisions: collaborative planning, coupled with efficient and thorough implementation of decisions and commitments, was vital to the success of consolidation/reorganization efforts.

Program Offerings and School Culture: due to larger student cohorts and consolidated staff, program offerings and co-curricular were generally enhanced through consolidation/reorganization. When all parties in the consolidated/reorganized school were engaged in creating a new school culture, an inclusive and encouraging learning and teaching environment resulted.

What Was Learned?

Communication

  • Involve students by encouraging student voice and leadership during the transition planning and implementation process.
  • Have a clear plan for the use or disposal of the closed school facilities and communicate this as openly and transparently as possible.
  • Identify ways in which the resources from the closed facilities will be used or disposed of so there is clarity for parents and community members about the resources in which they may have invested.
  • To encourage good communication and relationship building, before the consolidation takes place, bring staff from the consolidating school(s) together socially and to collectively plan instructional and assessment practices. For example, staff retreats for all staff from the consolidated schools in advance of working together in the new setting is an excellent strategy to establish collaboration and ensure quality instruction. In addition, program consultant support for teachers was provided as they planned for the new school environment.

Transition Planning and Implementation of Decisions

  • Prior to consolidation and/or the building of a new school, establish working groups involving parents, staff, students and community members to investigate similar experiences in other jurisdictions, either through research or visitation.
  • Get buy-in from parents and community members and have them lead planning activities as the old school(s) close and the new one opens.
  • To address concerns as they arise and to facilitate the transition process, assign a liaison person at the Board’s central office who can be the first point of contact for the Principal(s).
  • Seek staff input from all of the consolidating school(s) on the design features of the new school, both in terms of instructional and co-curricular activities. Be sure engagement of stakeholders is authentic and their suggestions are taken seriously especially in situations which are emotionally charged like the naming of the new school.
  • Design events and activities that bring staff and students to the new facility before the actual opening of the new school. In this case study, staff and students were brought together for a formal cutting of a tri-ribbon representing the three consolidated schools, signalling the launching of solidarity at the newly consolidated school. This event was accompanied by the celebration of Mass for the new school community.
  • Empower an ongoing group of staff, students and parents to monitor the implementation of transition plans throughout the consolidation process so that “course adjustments” can take place, and the legacy of the amalgamated schools can be honoured.
  • Use a school climate/culture survey after one year to discover how the consolidation/new school has been received by staff, students and community members, and make changes where needed.
  • Provide sufficient support for the Principal of the new school either in the form of temporary additional staff assistance, or by relieving the Principal of his/her current duties for a period of time to ensure appropriate communication, planning and implementation of transitional activities.

Program Offerings and School Culture

  • Engage local school(s) council members from the closing school(s) in the research, design and implementation of the new school(s) or consolidated school(s) academic programming, co-curricular options and identification of community partners for innovative practice.
  • Involve students, parents, and staff in ongoing discussion about ensuring excellence and equity in programming and co-curricular activities.
  • Celebrate rituals, traditions and activities of the merging school(s) during the early days of the transition to the new school(s) or consolidated school, and continue to do this throughout the first year of the new school’s operation. For example, faith-based celebrations and messages helped bridge the divides that existed at the outset among the three schools.

“It is important to respect the fact that whatever you think is the best plan could and should change to meet community needs; we have to be open-minded, flexible and responsive.” (Superintendent)

Étude sur l'impact des regroupements scolaires

Étude sur l'impact des regroupements scolaires

Qu’est‑ce qu’un regroupement scolaire?

Pour les besoins de ce projet de recherche, le regroupement scolaire se définit comme la fermeture ou la réorganisation d’une ou plusieurs écoles et la fusion subséquente en une seule école, qu’elle soit située à un emplacement nouveau ou existant, dans un bâtiment neuf ou existant.

« Une culture confessionnelle positive et une excellente éducation n’ont rien à voir avec un emplacement : ce qui compte ce sont les personnes qui travaillent ensemble. » (cadre supérieur du conseil)

Renseignements généraux

En raison du contexte fiscal actuel, la Stratégie des mesures d’économies et de modernisation pour les conseils scolaires (MEMCS) a été élaborée pour faire la promotion du regroupement ou de l’utilisation communes d’espaces scolaires existants ou nouveaux.

Pour aider à atteindre ce but, le ministère de l’Éducation a décidé d’effectuer des études de cas sur des expériences récentes de regroupements et de réorganisations d’écoles à travers la province, afin de mettre en commun des pratiques prometteuses et, compte tenu des résultats ainsi obtenus, d’augmenter les résultats positifs. La quatrième étude sur l’impact des regroupements scolaires présente des perspectives sur l’expérience d'un regroupement scolaire dans le contexte d’un district scolaire catholique.

L’étude de cas

L’étude de cas porte sur le regroupement de trois écoles dans une école nouvellement construite du Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board (SMCDSB). Les écoles Our Lady of Grace, Prince of Peace et Our Lady of the Assumption ont été regroupées dans une école nouvellement construite sur le site original de l’école Our Lady of Grace (M‑8). Dans cette étude de cas, l’équipe de recherche a effectué environ dix entrevues d’informateurs clés et a animé huit groupes de discussion auxquels ont participé des intervenants touchés par les regroupements de ces trois écoles et la construction de la nouvelle école.

« Lorsque vous traversez les portes d’entrée de notre bâtiment actuel, vous pouvez facilement identifier les endroits où chacune des écoles est représentée dans la chapelle et d'autres endroits très visibles… nous avons des artéfacts importants placés pour commémorer la culture de chaque école, afin que chaque communauté scolaire puisse avoir l’impression de faire partie de ce nouveau bâtiment. » (directeur)

Approche fondée sur l'étude de cas : Directions et directions adjointes - Agentes et Agents de supervision des programmes d'études - Cadres de l'administration des affaires des conseils scolaires - Communauté et organizations municipales - Groupes d'élèves - Groupes de parents - Personnel enseignant et non enseignant

Quels sont certains des faits saillants des conclusions?

Cette étude expose des leçons tirées et des conseils importants à l’intention des administrateurs de conseil scolaire qu'ils pourront utiliser pour des réorganisations et des regroupements futurs. Les faits saillants de l’étude sont :

  • L'articulation des aspirations et des valeurs du système scolaire catholique a contribué à unifier des communautés scolaires différentes.
  • L’étude dans les communautés des avantages d’une programmation scolaire élargie et d’activités parascolaires a été efficace.
  • Les efforts entrepris par la direction scolaire de faire participer le personnel, les élèves et les membres de la communauté des écoles regroupées durant le processus de la transition ont aidé à atténuer les dissensions et ont favorisé une atmosphère inclusive dans la nouvelle école.

« Cela a demandé beaucoup de travail, mais j’ai le sentiment que nous sommes véritablement devenus quelque chose de spécial. » (directeur)

Thèmes principaux

Communication : la qualité et la cohérence des communications sur la planification et la prise des décisions du conseil et la facilitation de l’établissement de liens et de dialogues entre les groupes de membres du personnel, entre les groupes d’élèves et entre le conseil et les intervenants (notamment les parents, le personnel, les élèves et les membres de la communauté) ont eu un impact direct sur l’acceptation et les répercussions positives de l’expérience de consolidation et de réorganisation.

Planification de la transition et mise en œuvre des décisions : une planification collaborative, associée à une mise en œuvre efficace et minutieuse des décisions et des engagements, a été essentielle à la réussite de la démarche de regroupement et de réorganisation.

Programmes offerts et culture scolaire : en raison de l'augmentation des cohortes d’élèves et du personnel regroupé, les programmes offerts et les activités parascolaires ont généralement été améliorés suite au regroupement ou à la réorganisation. Lorsque toutes les parties de l’école regroupée ou réorganisée ont participé à la création d’une nouvelle culture scolaire, il en a résulté un milieu d’enseignement et d’apprentissage inclusif et stimulant.

Qu’est‑ce qui a été appris?

Communication

  • Faire participer les élèves en les encourageant à s’exprimer et à prendre des initiatives durant la planification de la transition et le processus de la mise en œuvre.
  • Avoir un plan clair pour l’utilisation et la cession des installations scolaires fermées et le communiquer avec le plus d’ouverture et de transparence possible.
  • Déterminer des moyens pour céder ou utiliser les ressources des installations fermées, afin que tout soit clair pour les parents et les membres de la communauté au sujet des ressources dans lesquelles ils ont peut-être investi.
  • Pour encourager de bonnes communications et l'établissement de relations, et cela avant le regroupement, réunir socialement le personnel de la ou des écoles regroupées et planifier collectivement des pratiques pédagogiques et d’évaluation. Par exemple, des retraites pour les membres du personnel des écoles regroupées avant qu’ils travaillent ensemble dans le nouveau milieu constituent une excellente stratégie pour créer une collaboration et s’assurer de la qualité de l’enseignement. En outre, le soutien d’un conseiller en programmes a été prévu durant la planification du milieu de la nouvelle école.

Planification de la transition et mise en œuvre des décisions

  • Avant le regroupement et (ou) la construction d’une nouvelle école, créer des groupes de travail auxquels participeront les parents, le personnel, les élèves et les membres de la communauté pour étudier des expériences semblables dans d’autres régions, soit en faisant des études ou des visites.
  • Obtenir l’adhésion des parents et des membres de la communauté et leur demander de diriger des activités de planification quand la et les anciennes écoles ferment leurs portes ou que la nouvelle ouvre.
  • Pour répondre aux inquiétudes à mesure qu'elles se manifestent et pour faciliter le processus de la transition, affecter un agent de liaison au bureau central du conseil qui peut être le premier point de contact pour le ou les directeurs.
  • Solliciter des commentaires du personnel de la ou des écoles regroupées sur les caractéristiques de la conception de la nouvelle école, pour à la fois les activités pédagogiques et parascolaires. Veiller à ce que la participation des intervenants soit authentique et que leurs suggestions soient prises au sérieux, en particulier dans les situations où elles sont chargées d’émotion, comme le choix de la nouvelle école.
  • Concevoir des événements et des activités qui font venir le personnel et les élèves à la nouvelle installation avant l’ouverture véritable de la nouvelle école. Dans cette étude de cas, les élèves et le personnel se sont réunis pour la coupe officielle d’un ruban triple symbolisant les trois écoles regroupées, qui a marqué l'avènement de la solidarité dans la nouvelle école regroupée. Cet événement a été accompagné de la célébration d'une messe pour la nouvelle communauté scolaire.
  • Habiliter un groupe permanent de membres du personnel, d’élèves et de parents pour surveiller la mise en œuvre des plans de transition tout au long du processus de regroupement, afin de pouvoir éventuellement « rectifier le tir », et pour respecter le patrimoine des écoles regroupées.
  • Faire une enquête sur la culture et le climat de l’école après une année afin de déterminer comment l’école nouvelle ou regroupée a été acceptée par le personnel, les élèves et les membres de la communauté.
  • Apporter un soutien suffisant au directeur de la nouvelle école soit par l'affectation d’employés temporaires supplémentaires ou en déchargeant le directeur de ses fonctions courantes pendant un certain temps, afin de s'assurer que les communications, la planification et la mise en œuvre se déroulent adéquatement.

Programmes offerts et culture scolaire

  • Faire participer les membres de la ou des écoles locales qui ferment leurs portes à la recherche, la conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes scolaires et des activités parascolaires de la ou des écoles nouvelles ou regroupées, et à l’identification de partenaires communautaires, afin de mettre en place une pratique novatrice.
  • Faire participer les élèves, les parents et les membres du personnel à des débats réguliers visant à assurer l’excellence et l’égalité dans les programmes et les activités parascolaires.
  • Célébrer des rituels, des traditions et des activités de la ou des écoles fusionnées durant les premiers jours de la transition dans la ou les nouvelles écoles ou l’école regroupée, et continuer de le faire tout au long de la première année de fonctionnement de la nouvelle école. Par exemple, des célébrations et des messages confessionnels ont aidé à combler les clivages qui existaient au départ entre les trois écoles.

« Il est important de respecter le fait que peu importe ce que vous pensez que le meilleur plan pourrait et devrait changer pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté; nous devons être ouverts d’esprit, souples et réceptifs. » (surintendant)