Parent Involvement Committees

Parents can get involved in their child's education in many ways, including through school councils and Parent Involvement Committees.

PICs are an important advisory body that operate as a direct link between parents and a board's director of education and its trustees. Where school councils focus on the local school and community, Parent Involvement Committees (PICs) participate at the board level and focus on things that affect more than one school.

PICs and school councils encourage parent involvement in their children's learning in support of student achievement and well-being. Ontario Regulation 612/00 requires all Ontario school boards to establish a Parent Involvement Committee and outlines its composition, function and mandate. Education partners, including parents, were consulted during the development of the regulation.

In the 2005-2006 school year, the ministry established a Parent Engagement Office (PEO) to help develop and implement parent engagement initiatives across the province in support of student achievement and well-being. The government currently provides boards with $5,000 annual base funding and 17 cents per student to fund its PIC, as well as an additional $500 per school council to support parent engagement activities.

Information in other languages

What they do

Every school board is different. So every Parent Involvement Committee is different too.

Parent Involvement Committees build parent engagement by:

  • providing boards with advice on parent engagement and how to communicate with parents
  • developing strategies and initiatives to help boards engage more parents in their children's learning at home and at school
  • sharing information with, and supporting the work of, school councils within the boards.

A Parent Involvement Committee's activities are based on the unique needs of its board and its diverse community, how it is organized and the members of the committee.

Parent Involvement Committee Membership

The PIC is a parent-led committee. The chair/co-chairs are parents, and the majority of members are also parents. For parents to qualify for election or appointment, they must have a child enrolled in a school of the board. To provide a direct link to the board, the director of education and a trustee are also members. The PIC appoints up to three community members. Each Parent Involvement Committee decides, based on its local needs, who else to include, such as a principal, teacher and support staff. The committee meets at least four times a year.

Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) Handbook

The Parent Involvement Committee handbook Making a Difference: A practical handbook for Parent Involvement Committee members is provided for PIC members as a practical guide to support them in meeting the requirements of the PIC regulation (Ontario Regulation 612/00). PIC members from across the province were consulted in the development of the handbook.

How to get involved

Contact your local school board or call the Ministry of Education Regional Office for your area. Either can put you in contact with your local Parent Involvement Committee.

Comités de participation des parents (CPP)

Les parents peuvent participer de bien des façons à l'éducation de leurs enfants, y compris en siégeant aux conseils d'école et aux comités de participation des parents.

Qu'est-ce qu'un comité de participation des parents (CPP)?
Le comité de participation des parents est un important groupe consultatif qui fonctionne comme lien direct entre les parents et la direction de l'éducation et les conseillères et conseillers scolaires du conseil scolaire. Alors que le conseil d'école se concentre sur l'école et la communauté locales, le comité de participation des parents agit au niveau du conseil scolaire et se préoccupe de questions qui touchent plusieurs écoles.

Le CPP ainsi que le conseil d'école encouragent les parents à participer à l'apprentissage de leurs enfants, à l'appui du rendement et du bien-être des élèves. Le Règlement de l'Ontario 612/00 exige que tous les conseils scolaires de l'Ontario se dotent d'un comité de participation des parents et précise la composition, la fonction et le mandat de ces comités. Les partenaires en éducation, y compris les parents, ont été consultés lors de l'élaboration de ce règlement.

Au cours de l'année scolaire 2005-2006, le Ministère a créé le Bureau de la participation des parents, qui est chargé d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des initiatives d'engagement des parents qui appuient le rendement et le bien-être des élèves dans toute la province. Le gouvernement attribue actuellement au conseil scolaire un financement de base de 5 000 $ par an, auquel s'ajoutent 17 cents par élève, pour son comité de participation des parents, ainsi que 500 $ par conseil d'école pour appuyer des activités d'engagement des parents.

Renseignements dans d'autres langues

Que fait le comité de participation des parents?

Chaque conseil scolaire est différent. Par conséquent, chaque comité de participation des parents l'est aussi.

Les comités de participation des parents renforcent l'engagement des parents en :

  • fournissant aux conseils scolaires des suggestions sur l'engagement des parents et sur les moyens de communiquer avec eux;
  • élaborant des stratégies et des initiatives que les conseils pourraient utiliser pour engager davantage de parents dans l'apprentissage de leurs enfants à la maison et à l'école;
  • partageant des renseignements avec les conseils d'école et en appuyant leur travail.

Les activités d'un comité de participation des parents reposent sur les besoins uniques de son conseil scolaire et de sa communauté diversifiée, et dépendent de son organisation et de ses membres.

Qui siège aux comités de participation des parents?

Le comité de participation des parents est dirigé par des parents. La présidente ou le président et les coprésidents sont des parents, tout comme la majorité des membres. Pour être admissibles à une élection  ou à une nomination au comité, les parents doivent avoir un enfant inscrit à une école du conseil scolaire. La directrice ou le directeur de l'éducation et une conseillère ou un conseiller scolaire en sont aussi membres afin d'assurer un lien direct avec le conseil. Le comité nomme jusqu'à trois membres de la collectivité. Chaque comité détermine, en fonction des besoins locaux, les autres personnes à inclure, comme une directrice ou un directeur d'école, un membre du personnel enseignant et de soutien. Le comité se réunit au moins quatre fois par an.

Guide à l'intention des comités de participation des parents

Le document Pour faire une différence : Guide pratique à l'intention des membres du comité de participation des parents (PDF, 493 Ko) est offert pour aider les membres des CPP à satisfaire aux exigences du règlement relatif à ces comités (Règlement de l'Ontario 612/00). Des membres des CPP de toute la province ont été consultés pour la préparation de ce manuel.

Comment m'engager?

Communiquez avec votre conseil scolaire ou appelez le bureau régional du ministère de l'Éducation. L'un ou l'autre pourra vous mettre en contact avec votre comité de participation des parents local.