The spirit of the TORONTO 2015 Pan Am/Parapan Am Games lives on!

Pan Am/Parapan Am Games 2015 In July 2015, over 7,500 athletes from across Latin America, South America, the Caribbean and North America competed in 36 Pan Am sports and 15 Parapan Am sports at the TORONTO 2015 Games.

Pan Am/Parapan Am Kids
The Games may be over, but the legacy continues.

The Ministry of Education partnered with the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport, and TO2015 ­− the organizing committee for the 2015 Games – to develop the Pan Am/Parapan Am Kids program. This initiative was designed to increase awareness of the Games by encouraging participation in a variety of sports, parasports, and recreational and cultural activities. We hope the program will continue to inspire and motivate Ontario children and youth to be physically active!

The goals of the Pan Am/Parapan Am Kids program continue to be an increase in the:

  • physical activity among children and youth
  • awareness of the benefits of healthy, active living
  • the skills and knowledge students need to make healthy choices

The Pan Am/Parapan Am Kids program offers resources and activities for elementary and secondary educators, after-school leaders and recreational staff. The four components of the program include:

  • PlaySport: an online learning resource that can be linked to the Ontario Health and Physical education curriculum. It helps children and youth build the skills and knowledge they need to lead active, healthy lives by providing a wide range of physical activities as well as videos promoting healthy living, decision making, and student leadership. Developed in collaboration with Ophea.
  • Pan Am/Parapan Am Games 2015Activity Day Kit: includes 13 activity cards related to healthy living and the sports/parasports that were featured in the TORONTO 2015 Games. Kits, available in English and French, include a guide that explains how to set up each activity so that educators and after-school and recreation providers can set up an Activity Day in a gym or field. Kits were delivered to elementary schools in June 2014.
  • Kids ꞌn Play: a resource guide for teachers, as well as sport and recreation leaders, that connects kids of all abilities to the fun and excitement of the Games through physical and cultural activities and healthy living lessons.
  • My Personal Best: an online tool that helps young people learn about the importance of physical exercise, and allows them to set individual goals and motivate them to achieve their personal best. Teachers and sport and recreation leaders can use this tool to track children's physical activity skills and progress.

Learn more about Pan Am/Parapan Am Kids at ontario.ca/ppakids

L'esprit des Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de Toronto 2015 vit en nous!

Les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains 2015 En juillet 2015, plus de 7 500 athlètes venus de l'Amérique latine, de l'Amérique du Sud, des Caraïbes et de l'Amérique du Nord ont participé aux Jeux de TORONTO 2015 dans 36 disciplines sportives et 15 disciplines parasportives.

Les enfants pan/parapanaméricains
Les jeux sont peut-être finis, mais leur héritage est bien vivant.

Le ministère de l'Éducation a lancé le programme Les enfants pan/parapanaméricains en partenariat avec le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport et TO2015 ­– le comité organisateur des Jeux de 2015. Ce programme avait pour but d’accroître la sensibilisation aux Jeux en encourageant la participation à un éventail d'activités sportives, parasportives, récréatives et culturelles. Nous espérons que ce programme continuera d’encourager les enfants et les jeunes de l’Ontario à faire de l’activité physique.

Le programme Les enfants pan/parapanaméricains vise à accroître :

  • l’activité physique chez les enfants et les jeunes
  • la sensibilisation aux bienfaits d’une vie saine et active
  • les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour faire des choix sains

Le programme Les enfants pan/parapanaméricains propose des ressources et des activités destinées aux éducateurs des écoles élémentaires et secondaires, aux animateurs des programmes parascolaires et au personnel des centres récréatifs. Il comprend quatre éléments :

  • RécréAgir : ressource d’apprentissage en ligne qui peut être liée au programme- d’éducation physique et santé de l’Ontario. Elle aide les enfants et les jeunes à acquérir les compétences et les connaissances dont ils ont besoin pour mener une vie saine et active. Cette ressource, qui a été élaborée en collaboration avec Ophea, propose un grand éventail d'activités physiques et de vidéos qui favorisent une vie saine, des décisions judicieuses et le leadership.
  • Les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains 2015 Trousse journée d'activités : trousse bilingue comprenant 13 fiches d'activité liées à la vie saine et aux sports et parasports figurant au programme des Jeux et un guide destiné aux éducateurs et aux animateurs de programmes parascolaires et récréatifs leur expliquant comment organiser une journée d'activités dans le gymnase ou à l'extérieur. Des trousses ont été livrées aux écoles élémentaires en juin 2014.
  • Aux Jeux! : guide destiné au personnel enseignant et aux animateurs des programmes sportifs et récréatifs qui leur servira à faire découvrir aux enfants, quelles que soient leurs capacités, les plaisirs et les défis des Jeux en leur présentant des activités physiques et culturelles et des leçons sur les habitudes de vie saines.
  • Ma meilleure performance personnelle : outil en ligne qui permet aux jeunes de mieux comprendre l'importance des exercices physiques, de se fixer des objectifs personnels et de se motiver pour atteindre leur meilleure performance. Le personnel enseignant et les animateurs des programmes sportifs et récréatifs peuvent se servir de cet outil pour surveiller les aptitudes des enfants et les progrès qu'ils font dans leurs activités physiques.

Pour en savoir davantage :