Annual Report 2020-2021

Provincial Schools Authority

Contents

About the Provincial Schools Authority (PSA)
The PSA and Provincial and Demonstration Schools
Members of the PSA
PSA Activities
Performance Measures and Targets
Risks
PSA Expenses

About the Provincial Schools Authority (PSA)

The Provincial Schools Authority (PSA) was established as an agency of the Ministry of Education in 1975 under the Provincial Schools Negotiations Act (now the Provincial Schools Authority Act). The PSA is the employer of record for teachers employed in provincially operated schools, which includes schools operated by the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of the Solicitor General (SolGen). These teachers are represented by the Provincial Schools Authority Teachers (PSAT), which is a district of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF). The PSA is also the employer of record for principals and vice principals in provincially operated schools. The principals and vice principals are not represented by a union and do not have a collective agreement.

As the employer of record, the PSA is responsible for ratifying the PSAT collective agreement, which includes Part A – OSSTF Central Agreement and Part B – PSAT Local Agreement. The PSA ratifies the collective agreements in accordance with the School Boards Collective Bargaining Act 2014 (SBCBA). The SBCBA governs collective bargaining for teachers in the education sector. It identifies union and management representatives and their roles and responsibilities, including the role of the PSA and the Ministry of Education during bargaining with provincial school employees.

The Deputy Minister of Education via the Executive Director of the PDSB, is responsible for all matters relating to the administration of the branch, including oversight and responsibility for day to day school operations and administration in respect of teachers, principals and vice principals. The Executive Director of PDSB oversees and is responsible for the day to day operations including all issues related to teachers and students. The Executive Director works in cooperation with the PSA Chair to ensure effective and efficient fulfillment of the PSA's mandate.

The PSA meets as needed and makes decisions with respect to terms and conditions of employment of teachers, principals and vice principals, leave provisions of the Provincial Schools Authority Teachers (PSAT) Collective Agreement and grievance resolution.

The PSA and Provincial and Demonstration Schools

Provincial and demonstration schools offer the Ontario curriculum at the elementary and secondary levels as well as specialised integrated programming for students who are Deaf, hard of hearing, blind, low vision, Deafblind and students who have severe learning disabilities. The schools also provide outreach services and teacher in-service for school boards. Provincial and demonstration schools are located at four sites: Belleville, Brantford, London and Milton.

In 2020-2021, there were approximately 170.24 teachers and 12 principals and vice-principals working in provincial schools and outreach programs. These teachers are employed in schools and outreach programs directly operated by the Ministry of Education, PDSB, or at the Ontario Correctional Institute operated by the Ministry of the Solicitor General. Teachers, principals and vice-principals in these schools are classified as employees of the PSA. Their salaries are paid directly by the Ministry of Education or the Ministry of the Solicitor General.

Members of the PSA

Historically, the PSA members have been Ontario Public Service employees and do not receive remuneration for their PSA services. In 2020-2021 a new member was appointed to ensure full membership.

Membership as of June 2021 is as follows:

Membership as of June 2020 is as follows:
Position Incumbent Appointment Date Expiry Date of
Appointment Council
Chair Ms. Claudine Munroe November 14, 2018 September 3, 2021
Vice Chair Ms. Suzanne Gordon April 24, 2020 April 23, 2022
Member Mr. Med Ahmadoun AAhAhmadoun May 7, 2020 May 6, 2022
Member Ms. Stacey Weber May 13, 2020 May 13, 2022
Member Ms. Carol Costello June 3, 2021 June 2, 2023

PSA Activities

The PSA addresses issues related to the terms and conditions of employment of teachers, principals and vice-principals employed in provincially operated schools.

In December 2020, the Minister provided the PSA Chair with a mandate letter outlining the expectations for the 2020-21 fiscal year. The PSA met the direction set out in the agency's mandate letter in relation to the activities for the agency including:

  • Deciding on leave applications from teachers, principals and vice-principals in a reasonable and efficient manner and in compliance with the terms of employment for each group;
  • Hearing PSAT grievances at second step in a timely manner;
  • Providing input regarding the settlement of grievances in a fair and equitable manner and in compliance with the PSAT collective agreement; and
  • Ratifying agreements reached between the parties at the central and local negotiation tables.

Performance Measures and Targets

Output based Performance Measures:

The PSA aims to meet two to three times a year during a normal operating cycle to discuss issues of importance to the schools and issues raised by PSAT.

The PSA meets with PSAT executives to share information and discuss items of concern in a timely manner. The PSA and PSAT held two joint meetings during the 2020-21 school year and will propose a meeting schedule for the 2021-2022 school year to ensure that meetings take place to maintain positive relationships with the labour organization.

The PSA will operate within the $20,000 annual budget allocation.

In 2020-2021, the PSA incurred $19,665.12 in expenses which is 98% of the annual budget of $20,000.

Outcome based Performance Measures:

The PSA will continue to look for opportunities to reduce the number of grievances filed each year by the union, which could reduce the total number of grievance mediation and arbitration services each year.

The PSA strives to improve relations with the representatives of its employee groups by reducing the turnaround times for leave applications, grievance hearings, and the communication of decisions made as a result of grievance hearings. The PSA continues to look for opportunities to proactively mitigate the number of grievances which could reduce the number of grievance hearings and arbitration services. In 2020-21 there were 41 grievances, 13 of which have been resolved or withdrawn. An additional 11 grievances filed in previous years were also resolved or withdrawn in 2020-21 (data as of June 18, 2021). Monthly joint meetings between the senior management at PDSB and the PSAT executive members have helped to open communication channels for discussion with the aim of reducing the number of grievances.

Risks

The membership for one PSA member expired on March 6, 2021. The Ministry worked to fill the member vacancy within a timely manner and a new member was appointed on June 3, 2021. A full member complement provides a diverse range of opinions and analysis which is beneficial to the group. The membership for the PSA Chair is expiring on September 3, 2021 and work is underway to fill that upcoming vacancy.

PSA Expenses

PSA expenses are funded by the Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch of the Ministry of Education. The allocation is $20,000 annually.

These funds are intended for:

  • Travel expenses incurred by members hearing grievances.
  • Costs associated with the administration of the collective agreement including arbitration hearings.

In 2020-2021, the PSA incurred $19,665.12 in expenses which is 98% of their annual budget.

Rapport Annuel 2020-2021

Administration des écoles provinciales

Contents

À propos de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP)
L'AEP et les écoles provinciales et d'application
Membres de l'AEP
Activités de l'AEP
Mesures et objectifs de rendement
Risques
Dépenses de l'AEP

À propos de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP)

L'Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP) a été créée en 1975 à titre d'organisme du ministère de l'Éducation sous le régime de la Loi sur la négociation collective dans les écoles provinciales (maintenant la Loi sur l'Administration des écoles provinciales). L'AEP est l'employeur officiel des enseignantes et enseignants des écoles provinciales, ce qui comprend les écoles administrées par le ministère de l'Éducation et le ministère du Solliciteur général (SolGen). Ces employés sont représentés par la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (unité PSAT), un district de la Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l'Ontario (FEESO). L'AEP est également l'employeur officiel des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints des écoles provinciales. Ces derniers ne sont pas représentés par un syndicat et ne sont pas régis par une convention collective.

À titre d'employeur officiel, l'AEP est responsable de la ratification de la convention collective de l'unité PSAT, qui comprend la Partie A – Convention centrale de la FEESO et la Partie B – Convention locale de l'unité PSAT. L'AEP ratifie les conventions collectives en vertu de la Loi de 2014 sur la négociation collective dans les conseils scolaires (LNCCS). La LNCCS régit les négociations collectives pour les enseignantes et enseignants dans le secteur de l'éducation. Elle précise les représentantes et représentants syndicaux et patronaux ainsi que leurs rôles et responsabilités, y compris le rôle de l'AEP et du ministère de l'Éducation durant les négociations avec les employés des écoles provinciales.

Le ou la sous-ministre de l'Éducation est responsable de toutes les questions relatives à l'administration de la direction et délègue cette responsabilité à la directrice générale ou au directeur général de la Direction des écoles provinciales et d'application (DEPA) du ministère de l'Éducation, notamment en ce qui concerne la supervision et la responsabilité des activités quotidiennes de l'organisation, y compris toutes les questions qui se rattachent au personnel enseignant, ainsi qu'aux directrices et directeurs et aux directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints. Le directeur général ou la directrice générale de la DEPA supervise et est responsable des activités quotidiennes, y compris en ce qui concerne les enseignants et les élèves. Le directeur général ou la directrice générale collabore avec le directeur ou la directrice de l'AEP pour garantir une exécution efficace du mandat de l'AEP.

L'AEP se réunit au besoin et rend des décisions à l'égard des conditions d'emploi des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints, des dispositions en matière de congés de la convention collective de la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (unité PSAT) et du processus de règlement des griefs.

L'AEP et les écoles provinciales et d'application

Les écoles provinciales et d'application offrent le programme d'études de l'Ontario aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, ainsi que des programmes d'intégration spécialisés pour les élèves qui sont sourds, malentendants, aveugles, malvoyants, sourds-aveugles et qui ont des troubles d'apprentissage graves. Les écoles offrent également des services en dehors de l'école et des services de formation aux enseignantes et enseignants en cours d'emploi pour les conseils scolaires. Les écoles provinciales et d'application sont situées dans quatre villes : Belleville, Brantford, London et Milton.

En 2020-2021, il y avait environ 170 enseignantes et enseignants et 12 directrices et directeurs et directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints dans les écoles provinciales et les programmes hors école. Ces enseignantes et enseignants travaillent dans des écoles et des programmes hors école qui sont exploités directement par la DEPA du ministère de l'Éducation, ou à l'Institut correctionnel de l'Ontario exploité par le ministère du Solliciteur général. Les enseignantes, les enseignants, les directrices, les directeurs et les directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints de ces écoles sont classés en tant qu'employés de l'AEP. Leurs salaires sont payés directement par le ministère de l'Éducation et le ministère du Solliciteur général.

Membres de l'AEP

Les membres de l'AEP sont traditionnellement des fonctionnaires de la fonction publique de l'Ontario qui ne reçoivent pas de rémunération pour leurs services à l'AEP. En 2020-2021, un nouveau membre a été nommé pour assurer une adhésion complète.

En juin 2021, les membres étaient les suivants :

Voici la liste des membres en juin 2020 :
Poste Nom Date de nomination Fin de mandat
Conseil
Présidente Mme Claudine Munroe 14 novembre 2018 3 septembre 2021
Vice-présidente Mme Suzanne Gordon 24 avril 2020 23 avril 2022
Membre M. Med Ahmadoun 7 mai 2020 6 mai 2022
Membre Mme Stacey Weber 13 mai 2020 13 mai 2022
Membre Mme Carol Costello 3 juin 2021 2 juin 2023

Activités de l'AEP

L'AEP aborde des questions qui portent sur les modalités et les conditions d'emploi des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs ainsi que des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints des écoles provinciales.

En décembre 2020, le ministre a remis une lettre de mandat à la présidente de l'AEP décrivant les attentes pour l'exercice 2020-2021. L'AEP a respecté les directives énoncées dans la lettre de mandat de l'organisme en ce qui concerne ses activités, notamment :

  • prendre des décisions concernant les demandes de congé des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints de façon équitable et efficiente et conformément aux conditions d'emploi de chaque groupe;
  • entendre en temps opportun les griefs de l'unité PSAT qui sont rendus à une deuxième étape;
  • aider à régler les griefs de façon juste et équitable et conformément à la convention collective de l'unité PSAT;
  • ratifier les conventions collectives conclues entre les parties au cours des négociations centrales et locales.

Mesures et objectifs de rendement

Mesures de rendement fondées sur les extrants :

L'AEP a pour objectif de se réunir deux à trois fois par an au cours d'un cycle d'exploitation standard afin de discuter des questions importantes pour les écoles ou des enjeux soulevés par l'unité PSAT.

L'AEP rencontre les directrices et directeurs de l'unité PSAT pour partager des renseignements et discuter des sujets de préoccupation en temps opportun. L'AEP et l'unité PSAT ont tenu deux réunions conjointes au cours de l'année scolaire 2020-2021 et proposeront un calendrier de réunions pour l'année scolaire 2021-2022 afin d'assurer le maintien des réunions et de maintenir des relations positives avec les organismes syndicaux.

L'AEP respectera les limites du budget annuel de 20 000 $.

En 2020-2021, les dépenses de l'AEP s'élevaient à 19 665,12 $, ce qui représente 98 % du budget annuel de 20 000 $.

Mesures de rendement fondées sur les résultats :

L'AEP continuera à tenter de réduire le nombre de griefs déposés chaque année par le syndicat, ce qui pourrait réduire le nombre total annuel de recours aux services de médiation et d'arbitrage de griefs.

L'AEP s'efforce d'améliorer les relations avec les représentantes et représentants de ses groupes d'employés en réduisant les délais de traitement des demandes de congé, des auditions de griefs et de la communication des décisions prises à la suite des auditions de griefs. L'AEP s'efforce toujours de réduire de manière proactive le nombre de griefs, ce qui pourrait réduire le nombre d'auditions de griefs et de recours aux services d'arbitrage. En 2020-2021, on a déposé 41 griefs, dont 13 qui ont été résolus ou retirés, et 11 griefs qui ont été déposés lors des années précédentes ont été résolus ou retirés (en date du 18 juin 2021). Des réunions mensuelles conjointes entre la haute direction de la DEPA et les membres de la direction de l'unité PSAT ont permis d'établir des canaux de communication pour les discussions dans le but de réduire le nombre de griefs.

Risques

L'adhésion d'un membre de l'AEP a expiré le 6 mars 2021. Le ministère s'est efforcé de pourvoir le poste le plus rapidement possible en nommant un nouveau membre le 3 juin 2021. Un effectif de membres complet fournit une vaste diversité d'opinions et d'analyses, ce qui est bénéfique pour le groupe. Le mandat de la présidente de l'AEP expire le 3 septembre 2021 et des efforts sont en cours pour pourvoir ce poste vacant.

Dépenses de l'AEP

Les dépenses de l'AEP sont financées par la Direction des écoles provinciales et d'application du ministère de l'Éducation. Le budget est de 20 000 $ par année.

Ces fonds sont consacrés :

  • aux dépenses de déplacement engagées par les membres pour assister pour entendre les griefs;
  • aux coûts liés à l'administration de la convention collective, y compris les auditions d'arbitrage.

En 2020-2021, les dépenses de l'AEP s'élevaient à 19 665,12 $, ce qui représente 98 % du budget annuel.