Annual Report 2018-2019

Provincial Schools Authority

Contents

About the Provincial Schools Authority (PSA)
The PSA and Provincial and Demonstration Schools
Members of the PSA
PSA Activities
Performance Measures and Targets

About the Provincial Schools Authority (PSA)

The Provincial Schools Authority (PSA) was established as an agency of the Ministry of Education in 1975 under the Provincial Schools Negotiations Act (now the Provincial Schools Authority Act). The PSA is the employer of record for teachers employed in provincially operated schools. These employees are represented by the Provincial Schools Authority Teachers (PSAT), which is a district of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF). The PSA is also the employer of record for principals and vice principals in provincially operated schools. The principals and vice principals are not represented by a union and do not have a collective agreement.

As the employer of record, the PSA ratifies the collective agreements between the parties during central and local negotiations in accordance with the School Boards Collective Bargaining Act 2014 (SBCBA). The SBCBA governs collective bargaining for teachers in the education sector. It identifies union and management representatives and their roles and responsibilities, including the role of PSA and the Ministry of Education during bargaining with provincial school employees.

The Deputy Minister of Education is responsible for all matters relating to the PSA and delegates this responsibility to the Executive Director of the Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch (PDSB), Ministry of Education. The Executive Director oversees and is responsible for the day to day operations of the organization including all issues related to teachers and students. The Executive Director is also involved in developing, negotiating and implementing the terms and conditions of employment for principals and vice-principals on behalf of the PSA.

The PSA meets as needed and makes decisions with respect to terms and conditions of employment of teachers, principals and vice principals, leave provisions of the Provincial Schools Authority Teachers (PSAT) Collective Agreement and grievance resolution.

The PSA and Provincial and Demonstration Schools

Provincial and demonstration schools offer the Ontario curriculum at the elementary and secondary levels as well as specialised integrated programming for students who are Deaf, hard of hearing, blind, low vision, deafblind and students who have severe learning disabilities. The schools also provide outreach services and teacher in-service for school boards. Provincial and demonstration schools are located at five sites: Belleville, Brantford, London, Milton, and Ottawa (French-language).

In 2018-2019, there were approximately 204.5 teachers and 12 principals and vice-principals working in provincial schools and outreach programs. These teachers are employed in schools and outreach programs directly operated by the Ministry of Education, PDSB, or at the Ontario Correctional Institute operated by the Ministry of the Solicitor General. Teachers, principals and vice-principals in these schools are classified as employees of the PSA. Their salaries are paid directly by the Ministry of Education or the Ministry of the Solicitor General.

Members of the PSA

Historically, the PSA members have been Ontario Public Service employees and do not receive remuneration for their PSA services. In 2018-2019 a new Chair and Vice Chair were appointed to ensure full membership.

Membership as of August 2019 is as follows:
Position Incumbent Appointment Date Expiry Date of Appointment
Chair Ms. Claudine Munroe November 14, 2018 September 3, 2021
Vice Chair Ms. Debra Cormier April 11, 2019 December 27, 2019
Member Ms. Anita Bennett March 8, 2009 March 17, 2020
Member Mr. Terry Angle November 20, 1996 March 17, 2020
Member Mr. Billroy Powell March 7, 2018 March 6, 2021

PSA Activities

The PSA addresses issues related to the terms and conditions of employment of teachers, principals and vice-principals employed in provincially operated schools.

PSA Activities include:

  • Receiving and deciding on leave applications from teachers, principals and vice-principals in an equitable and efficient manner and in compliance with the terms of employment for each group;
  • Hearing PSAT grievances at second step in a timely manner;
  • Resolving grievances in a fair and equitable manner and in compliance with the PSAT collective agreement; and
  • Ratifying the collective agreements between the parties during central and local negotiations in accordance with the School Boards Collective Bargaining Act 2014.

Performance Measures and Targets

The PSA strives to improve relations with the representatives of its employee groups by reducing the turnaround times for leave applications, grievance hearings, and the communication of decisions made as a result of grievance hearings. The PSA continues to look for opportunities to proactively mitigate the number of grievances which could reduce the number of grievance hearings and arbitration services. The number of grievances has reduced from 36 in 2017-2018 to 31 in 2018-2019. Regular planned meetings between PDSB and the PSAT Union have helped to open communication channels for discussion with the aim of reducing the number of grievances.

The PSA meets with PSAT executives to share information and discuss items of concern in a timely manner. PSA and PSAT held one joint meeting during the 2018-2019 school year and have proposed a meeting schedule for the 2019-2020 school year to ensure that meetings take place to maintain positive relationships with the labour organization.

PSA Expenses

PSA expenses are funded by the Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch. These funds are intended for:

  • Travel expenses incurred by members hearing grievances.
  • Costs associated with the administration of the collective agreement including arbitration hearings.

In 2018-2019, the PSA incurred $15,604.03 in expenses.

Rapport Annuel 2018-2019

Administration des écoles provinciales

Contents

À propos de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP)
L'AEP et les écoles provinciales et d'application
Membres de l'AEP
Activités de l'AEP
Mesures et cibles de rendement

À propos de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP)

L'Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP) a été créée en 1975, à titre d'organisme du ministère de l'Éducation, sous le régime de la Loi sur la négociation collective dans les écoles provinciales (maintenant la Loi sur l'Administration des écoles provinciales). L'AEP est l'employeur officiel des enseignantes et enseignants des écoles provinciales. Ces employés sont représentés par la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (unité PSAT), un district de la Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l'Ontario (OSSTF). L'AEP est également l'employeur officiel des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints des écoles provinciales. Ces employés ne sont pas représentés par un syndicat et ne sont pas régis par une convention collective.

À titre d'employeur officiel, l'AEP ratifie les conventions collectives entre les parties pendant les négociations centrales et locales, conformément à la Loi de 2014 sur la négociation collective dans les conseils scolaires. Cette loi régit le processus de négociation collective des enseignantes et enseignants dans le secteur de l'éducation. Elle précise les représentantes et représentants syndicaux et patronaux et leurs rôles et responsabilités, y compris le rôle de l'AEP et du ministère de l'Éducation durant les négociations avec les employés des écoles provinciales.

Le ou la sous-ministre de l'Éducation est responsable de toutes les questions relatives à l'AEP et délègue cette responsabilité à la directrice générale ou au directeur général de la Direction des écoles provinciales et d'application (DEPA) du ministère de l'Éducation. La directrice générale ou le directeur général assume la supervision et la responsabilité des activités quotidiennes de l'organisation, y compris toutes les questions qui se rattachent au personnel enseignant et aux élèves. La directrice générale ou le directeur général est également actif dans la préparation, la négociation et la mise en œuvre des conditions d'emploi des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints au nom de l'AEP.

L'AEP se réunit au besoin et rend des décisions à l'égard des conditions d'emploi des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints, des dispositions en matière de congés de la convention collective de la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de l'Administration des écoles provinciales (unité PSAT) et du processus de règlement des griefs.

L'AEP et les écoles provinciales et d'application

Les écoles provinciales et d'application offrent le programme d'études de l'Ontario aux niveaux primaire et secondaire ainsi que des programmes d'intégration spécialisés pour les élèves qui sont sourds, malentendants, aveugles, malvoyants, sourds-aveugles et qui ont des troubles d'apprentissage graves. Les écoles offrent également des services en dehors de l'école et des services de formation aux enseignantes et enseignants en cours d'emploi pour les conseils scolaires. Les écoles provinciales et d'application sont situées dans cinq villes : Belleville, Brantford, London, Milton et Ottawa (de langue française).

En 2018-2019, il y avait environ 204,5 enseignantes et enseignants et 12 directrices et directeurs et directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints dans les écoles provinciales et les programmes hors école. Ces enseignantes et enseignants travaillent dans des écoles et des programmes hors école qui sont exploités directement par la DEPA du ministère de l'Éducation, ou à l'Institut correctionnel de l'Ontario exploité par le ministère du Solliciteur général. Les enseignantes, les enseignants, les directrices, les directeurs et les directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints de ces écoles sont classés en tant qu'employés de l'AEP. Leurs salaires sont payés directement par le ministère de l'Éducation ou le ministère du Solliciteur général.

Membres de l'AEP

Les membres de l'AEP sont traditionnellement des fonctionnaires de la fonction publique de l'Ontario qui ne reçoivent pas de rémunération pour leurs services à l'AEP. En 2018-2019, une nouvelle présidente et une nouvelle vice-présidente ont été nommées; la composition de l'AEP est complète.

En août 2019, les membres étaient les suivants :
Poste Nom Date de nomination Fin de mandat
Présidente Mme Claudine Munroe 14 novembre 2018 3 septembre 2021
Vice-présidente Mme Debra Cormier 11 avril 2019 27 décembre 2019
Membre Mme Anita Bennett 8 mars 2009 17 mars 2020
Membre M. Terry Angle 20 novembre 1996 17 mars 2020
Membre M. Billroy Powell 7 mars 2018 6 mars 2021

Activités de l'AEP

L'AEP aborde des questions qui portent sur les modalités et les conditions d'emploi des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints des écoles provinciales.

Les activités de l'AEP consistent notamment à :

  • recevoir les demandes de congé des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints et à prendre des décisions à cet effet de façon équitable et efficiente et conformément aux conditions d'emploi de chaque groupe;
  • entendre en temps opportun les griefs de l'unité PSAT qui sont rendus à une deuxième étape;
  • régler les griefs de façon juste et équitable et conformément à la convention collective de l'unité PSAT;
  • ratifier les conventions collectives conclues entre les parties au cours des négociations centrales et locales conformément à la Loi de 2014 sur la négociation collective dans les conseils scolaires.

Mesures et cibles de rendement

L'AEP s'efforce d'améliorer les relations avec les représentantes et les représentants de ses groupes d'employés en réduisant les délais de traitement des demandes de congé, des audiences des griefs et de communication des décisions qui ont été prises à la suite des audiences des griefs. L'AEP continue à chercher des moyens de limiter, de façon proactive, le nombre de griefs afin de pouvoir réduire le nombre d'audiences des griefs et de services d'arbitrage. Le nombre de griefs est passé de 36 en 2017-2018 à 31 en 2018-2019. La planification de rencontres régulières entre la DEPA et le syndicat de l'unité PSAT a favorisé la communication et les discussions, et a permis de réduire le nombre de griefs.

L'AEP rencontre les dirigeants de l'unité PSAT pour échanger l'information et aborder en temps opportun les éléments préoccupants. L'AEP et l'unité PSAT se sont rencontrées à une occasion pendant l'année scolaire 2018-2019 et elles ont proposé un calendrier de rencontres pour l'année scolaire 2019-2020 afin d'en assurer la tenue et de maintenir de bonnes relations.

Dépenses de l'AEP

Les dépenses de l'AEP sont financées par la Direction des écoles provinciales et d'application. Ces fonds sont consacrés :

  • aux dépenses de déplacement engagées par les membres pour entendre les griefs;
  • aux coûts liés à l'administration de la convention collective, y compris les audiences d'arbitrage.

Les dépenses de l'AEP en 2018-2019 s'élevaient à 15 604,03 $.