Annual Report 2016-2017

Provincial Schools Authority

Contents

About the Provincial Schools Authority (PSA)
The PSA and Provincial and Demonstration Schools
Members of the PSA
PSA Activities

About the Provincial Schools Authority (PSA)

The Provincial Schools Authority (PSA) was established as an agency of the Ministry of Education in 1975 under the Provincial Schools Negotiations Act. The PSA is the employer of record for teachers, principals and vice-principals employed in provincially operated schools. This means the PSA is responsible for all matters relating to the employment of teachers in provincially operated schools.

  • As the employer of record, the PSA ratifies the collective agreements between the parties during central and local negotiations in accordance with the School Boards Collective Bargaining Act 2014 (SBCBA). The SBCBA establishes a system of collective bargaining in the Ontario education sector. It identifies union and management representatives and their roles and responsibilities, including the role of PSA and the Ministry of Education during bargaining with provincial school employees.

The Deputy Minister of Education is responsible for all matters relating to the PSA and delegates this responsibility to the Executive Director of the Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch (PDSB), Ministry of Education. The Executive Director oversees and is responsible for the day to day operations of the organization including all issues related to teachers and students. The Executive Director is also involved in developing, negotiating and implementing the terms and conditions of employment for Principals and Vice-Principals on behalf of the PSA.

The PSA meets as needed and makes decisions with respect to leave provisions of the Provincial Schools Authority Teachers (PSAT) Collective Agreement and may hear grievances.

The PSA and Provincial and Demonstration Schools

Provincial and demonstration schools offer the Ontario curriculum at the elementary and secondary levels as well as specialised integrated programming for students who are Deaf, hard of hearing, blind, low vision, deafblind and who have a severe learning disability. The schools also provide outreach services and teacher in-service for school boards. Provincial and demonstration schools are located at five sites: Belleville, Brantford, London, Milton, and Ottawa (French-language).

In 2016-2017, there were approximately 202 teachers and 12 principals and vice-principals working in provincial schools and outreach programs. These teachers are employed in schools and outreach programs directly operated by the Ministry of Education, PDSB, or at the Ontario Correctional Institute operated by the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services. Teachers, principals and vice-principals in these schools are classified as employees of the PSA. Their salaries are paid directly by the Ministry of Education or the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services.

Members of the PSA

Historically, the PSA members have been Ontario Public Service employees and do not receive remuneration for their PSA services. The PSA must seek the appointment of a new chair every three years. The vice chair and members may be reappointed.

Membership as of June 30, 2017 is as follows:
Position Incumbent Appointment Date Expiry Date of Appointment
Chair Ms. Louise Sirisko March 3, 2016 March 3, 2019
Vice Chair Ms. Demetra Saldaris March 3, 2016 March 3, 2019
Member Ms. Anita Bennett March 8, 2009 March 18, 2020
Member Mr. Terry Angle November 20, 1996 March 18, 2020
Member Currently vacant*    

* The agency and the Ministry of Education are working towards filling the vacant member position.

PSA Activities

The PSA addresses issues related to the terms and conditions of employment of teachers, principals and vice-principals employed in provincially operated schools.

PSA Activities include:

  • Receiving and deciding on leave applications from teachers, principals and vice-principals in an equitable and efficient manner and in compliance with the terms of employment for each group;
  • Hearing PSAT grievances at second step in a timely manner; and
  • Resolving grievances in a fair and equitable manner and in compliance with the PSAT collective agreement.

The PSA strives to improve relations with the representatives of its employee groups by reducing the turnaround times for leave applications, grievance hearings, and the communication of decisions made as a result of grievance hearings. The PSA meets with PSAT executives to share information and discuss items of concern in a timely manner.

PSA Expenses

PSA expenses are funded by the Provincial and Demonstration Schools Branch. These funds are intended for:

  • Travel expenses incurred by members coming to meetings or hearing grievances.
  • Services (including interpreters and translators).
  • Costs associated with the administration of the collective agreement including arbitration hearings.

In 2016-2017, the PSA incurred no such expenses.

Rapport Annuel 2016-2017

Administration des écoles provinciales

Contents

À propos de l’Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP)
L’AEP et les écoles provinciales et d’application
Membres de l’AEPAEP
Activités de l’AEP

À propos de l’Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP)

L’Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP) a été créée en 1975, à titre d’organisme du ministère de l’Éducation, sous le régime de la Loi sur la négociation collective dans les écoles provinciales. L’AEP est l’employeur officiel des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints d’écoles exploitées par la Province. Cela veut dire que l’AEP est responsable de toutes les questions qui touchent à l’emploi des enseignantes et enseignants dans les écoles provinciales.

  • À titre d’employeur officiel, l’AEP négocie la convention collective entre les parties au cours des négociations centrales et locales conformément à la Loi de 2014 sur la négociation collective dans les conseils scolaires.La Loi de 2014 sur la négociation collective dans les conseils scolaires définit un système de négociation collective dans le secteur de l’éducation de l’Ontario. Elle identifie les représentants syndicaux et patronaux et leurs rôles et responsabilités, y compris le rôle de l’AEP et du ministère de l’Éducation durant les négociations avec les employés des écoles provinciales.

Le sous-ministre de l’Éducation est responsable de toutes les questions relatives à l’AEP et délègue cette responsabilité à la directrice générale ou au directeur général de la Direction des écoles provinciales et d’application (DEPA) du ministère de l’Éducation. La directrice générale ou le directeur général assume la supervision et la responsabilité des activités quotidiennes de l’organisation, y compris toutes les questions qui se rattachent au personnel enseignant et aux élèves. La directrice générale ou le directeur général est également actif dans la négociation et la mise en œuvre des conditions d’emploi des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints au nom de l’AEP.

L’AEP se réunit au besoin et rend des décisions à l’égard des dispositions en matière de congés de la convention collective de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Administration des écoles provinciales et peut entendre les griefs.

L’AEP et les écoles provinciales et d’application

Les écoles provinciales et d’application offrent le programme d’études de l’Ontario aux niveaux primaire et secondaire ainsi que des programmes d’intégration spécialisés pour les élèves qui sont sourds, malentendants, aveugles, malvoyants, sourds-aveugles et qui ont des troubles d’apprentissage graves. Les écoles offrent également des services en dehors de l’école et des services de formation aux enseignantes et aux enseignants en cours d’emploi pour les conseils scolaires. Les écoles provinciales et d’application sont situées dans cinq villes : Belleville, Brantford, London, Milton et Ottawa (de langue française).

En 2016-2017, il y avait environ 202 enseignantes et enseignants ainsi que 12 directrices et directeurs et directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints dans les écoles provinciales. Ces enseignantes et enseignants travaillent dans des écoles et des programmes hors école qui sont exploités directement par le ministère de l’Éducation ou par le ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels de l’Ontario. Les enseignantes, les enseignants, les directrices, les directeurs et les directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints de ces écoles sont classés en tant qu’employés de l’AEP. Leurs salaires sont payés directement par le ministère de l’Éducation ou le ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels.

Membres de l’AEP

Les membres de l’AEP sont traditionnellement des fonctionnaires de la fonction publique de l’Ontario qui ne reçoivent pas de rémunération pour leurs services à l’AEP. L’AEP doit demander la nomination d’une nouvelle présidente ou d’un nouveau président tous les trois ans. Le mandat de la vice-présidente ou du vice-président et des membres peut être renouvelé.

Le 30 juin 2017, les membres étaient les suivants :
Poste Nom Date de nomination Fin de mandat
Présidente Mme Louise Sirisko 3 mars 2016 3 mars 2019
Vice-présidente Mme Demetra Saldaris 3 mars 2016 3 mars 2019
Membre Mme Anita Bennett 8 mars 2009 18 mars 2020
Membre M. Terry Angle 20 novembre 1996 18 mars 2020
Membre Poste actuellement vacant*    

*L’agence et le ministère de l’Éducation collaborent en vue de pourvoir le poste vacant de membre.

Activités de l’AEP

L’AEP aborde des questions qui portent sur les modalités et les conditions d’emploi des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints des écoles provinciales.

Les activités de l’AEP consistent notamment à :

  • recevoir les demandes de congé des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints et à prendre des décisions à cet effet de façon équitable et efficiente et conformément aux conditions d’emploi de chaque groupe;
  • entendre en temps opportun les griefs de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Administration des écoles provinciales qui sont rendus à une deuxième étape; et
  • régler les griefs de façon juste et équitable et conformément à la convention collective de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Administration des écoles provinciales.

L’AEP s’efforce d’améliorer les relations avec les représentantes et les représentants de ses groupes d’employées et d’employés en réduisant les délais de traitement des demandes de congé, des audiences des griefs et de communication des décisions qui ont été prises à la suite des audiences des griefs. L’AEP rencontre les dirigeants de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Administration des écoles provinciales pour échanger l’information et aborder en temps opportun les éléments préoccupants.

Dépenses de l’AEP

Les dépenses de l’AEP sont financées par la Direction des écoles provinciales et d’application. Ces fonds sont consacrés :

  • aux dépenses de déplacement engagées par les membres pour assister aux réunions ou pour entendre les griefs;
  • aux services (y compris les interprètes et les traductrices et traducteurs);
  • aux coûts liés à l’administration de la convention collective, y compris les audiences d’arbitrage.

L’AEP n’a engagé aucune de ces dépenses en 2016-2017.