The complete report is available as a PDF (70 KB)

ANNUAL REPORT 2014-2015

PROVINCIAL SCHOOLS AUTHORITY
An Operational Service Agency of the Government of Ontario


PROFILE

Provincial Schools Authority (PSA)

The Provincial Schools Authority (PSA) was established in 1975 under the Provincial Schools Negotiations Act.  It is an operational service agency of the Ministry of Education. The PSA is the employer of record for teachers, principals and vice-principals employed in provincially operated schools.

The PSA is responsible for all matters relating to the employment of teachers in provincially operated schools. All matters relating to administration in respect to teachers are the responsibility of the Deputy Minister, who delegates this to the Executive Director of Provincial Schools Branch (PSB).  The Executive Director of Provincial Schools Branch oversees and is responsible for the day to day operations of the organization including all issues related to teachers and students.

The PSA is also involved in collective bargaining with the bargaining unit of all teachers employed in provincially operated schools called the Provincial Schools Authority Teachers (PSAT). The PSA, in direct consultation with the Executive Director of the Provincial Schools Branch, formally ratifies the PSAT collective agreement.

The PSA meets and makes decisions with respect to leave provisions of the PSAT collective agreement and may hear grievances.

Members of the PSA are OPS employees and do not receive remuneration for their services.

The PSA is supported by The Ministry of Education, Provincial Schools Branch, which is responsible for the day-to-day operations of provincial and demonstration schools for students who are Deaf/hard of hearing, blind/low vision, deaf-blind or who have a severe learning disability.  The schools also provide outreach services and teacher in-service for school boards.  The students served by the provincial schools tend to need intensive support which cannot be accommodated in a District School Board program.  Provincial Schools are located in five sites: Belleville, Brantford, London, Milton, and Ottawa (French-language).   

In 2014-15, there were approximately 200 teachers and 14 principals and vice-principals working in provincial schools.  The vast majority of these teachers are employed in schools directly operated by the Ministry of Education or the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services.

Provincial schools teachers are classified as employees of the PSA, however their salaries are paid through budgets within the Ministry of Education or the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services.

MEMBERS OF THE PROVINCIAL SCHOOLS AUTHORITY

Historically, the PSA members have been civil servants acting in negotiations with the approval of the Deputy Minister. As civil servants, the members are subject to the Public Service Act and to the policies established in Management Board of Cabinet directives. The PSA must seek the appointment of a new chair every two years and the reappointment of the vice chair and three members.  Barry Finlay was re-appointed chair on March 19, 2014. However, the position of chair became vacant as of June 26, 2015 due to Mr. Finlay’s retirement from the Ontario Public Service.

Membership as of June 26, 2015 is:

Position

Incumbent

Date of Original
Appointment to PSA

Expiry Date of
Current Order in Council

Chair

Vacant

Vacant

Vacant

Vice Chair

Vacant

Vacant

Vacant

Member

Ms. Anita Bennett

March 26, 2009

March 19, 2017

Member

Mr. Terry Angle

April 6, 2011

March 19, 2017

Member

Ms. Sandy Palinski

March 19, 2014

March 19, 2017

The agency and the Ministry of Education are working towards filling the vacant chair and vice-chair positions.

OPERATIONAL OVERVIEW

The PSA addresses issues related to the terms and conditions of employment of teachers, principals and vice-principals employed in provincially operated schools. Activities include:

  • Receiving and deciding on leave applications from teachers, principals and vice-principals in an equitable and efficient manner and in compliance with the terms of employment for each group;
  • Hearing PSAT grievances at second step in a timely manner; and
  • Resolving grievances in a fair and equitable manner and in compliance with the PSAT collective agreement.

The PSA strives to improve relations with the representatives of its employee groups by reducing the turnaround times for leave applications, grievance hearings, and the communication of decisions made as a result of grievance hearings.

The PSAT collective agreement expired on August 31, 2014. In 2014 / 2015 the PSA commenced local bargaining with PSAT and participated in central bargaining with OSSTF toward a new collective agreement in accordance with the negotiations process established under the School Boards Collective Bargaining Act.

The PSA also responded to four Step 2 grievances forwarded by PSAT.

FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE

The PSA budget is provided by the Provincial Schools Branch of the Ministry of Education from its base budget.  The allocation is approximately $30,000 annually. These funds are intended for:

  • Travel expenses incurred by members coming to meetings or hearing grievances;
  • Services (including interpreters and translators Provincial Schools has both English and French speaking schools); and
  • Costs associated with the administration of the collective agreement including arbitration hearings.

In 2014-15, the PSA incurred no expenditures.

Ce rapport est disponible en format PDF. (37 Ko)

RAPPORT ANNUEL 2014-2015
ADMINISTRATION DES ÉCOLES PROVINCIALES

Un service opérationnel du gouvernement de l’Ontario


PROFIL

Administration des écoles provinciales (AEP)

L’AEP des écoles provinciale a été créée en 1975 sous le régime de la Loi sur la négociation collective dans les écoles provinciales. Il s’agit d’un service opérationnel du ministère de l’Éducation. L’AEP des écoles provinciales est l’employeur officiel des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints des écoles provinciales.

L’AEP est responsable de toutes les questions qui touchent à l’emploi des enseignantes et enseignants dans les écoles provinciales. Toutes les questions liées à l’AEP qui concernent le personnel enseignant relèvent de la sous-ministre ou du sous-ministre, qui les délègue à la directrice générale ou au directeur général de la Direction  des écoles provinciales (DEP). La directrice générale ou le directeur général de la DEP assume la responsabilité et la supervision des activités quotidiennes de l’organisation, y compris de toutes les questions qui se rattachent au personnel enseignant et aux élèves.

L’AEP participe également aux négociations collectives avec l’unité de négociation de toutes les enseignantes et tous les enseignants qui travaillent dans des écoles provinciales appelée Provincial Schools Authority Teachers (PSAT). L’AEP ratifie officiellement la convention collective de l’unité PSAT dans le cadre d’une consultation directe avec la directrice générale ou le directeur général de la Direction des écoles provinciales.

Les membres de l’AEP se réunissent et prennent des décisions qui portent sur les congés prévus dans la convention collective de l’unité PSAT et ils peuvent entendre des griefs.

Les membres de l’AEP sont des employées et employés de la FPO qui ne sont pas rémunérés pour leurs services.

L’AEP bénéficie du soutien de la Direction des écoles provinciales du ministère de l’Éducation, qui est responsable des activités quotidiennes des écoles provinciales et d’application pour les élèves sourds ou malentendants, aveugles ou ayant une basse vision ou sourds et aveugles ou pour les élèves ayant de graves difficultés d’apprentissage. Les écoles offrent également des services en dehors de l’école ainsi que des services d’enseignantes et enseignants qui reçoivent une formation en cours d’emploi pour les conseils scolaires. Les élèves qui sont desservis par les écoles provinciales ont généralement besoin d’un appui intensif qui ne peut pas être adapté dans le cadre du programme d’un conseil scolaire de district. Les écoles provinciales sont situées dans cinq villes : Belleville, Brantford, London, Milton et Ottawa (de langue française).

En 2014-2015, il y avait environ 200 enseignantes et enseignants ainsi que 14 directrices et directeurs et directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints dans les écoles provinciales. La grande majorité de ces enseignantes et enseignants travaillent dans des écoles qui sont exploitées directement par le ministère de l’Éducation ou par le ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels.

Les enseignantes et enseignants des écoles provinciales sont classés comme des employées et employés de l’AEP, mais leurs salaires sont puisés dans les budgets du ministère de l’Éducation ou du ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels.

MEMBRES DE L’ADMINISTRATION DES ÉCOLES PROVINCIALES

Les membres de l’AEP sont traditionnellement des fonctionnaires qui agissent dans les négociations avec l’approbation de la sous-ministre ou du sous-ministre. En tant que fonctionnaires, ils sont assujettis à la Loi de 2006 sur la fonction publique de l’Ontario ainsi qu’aux politiques qui sont établies dans les directives du Conseil de gestion du gouvernement. L’AEP doit demander la nomination d’une nouvelle présidente ou d’un nouveau président tous les deux ans ainsi que le renouvellement du mandat de la vice-présidente ou du vice-président et des trois membres. Barry Finlay a été reconduit dans ses fonctions de président le 19 mars 2014, mais le poste est devenu vacant le 26 juin 2015 quand il a pris sa retraite de la fonction publique de l’Ontario.

L’AEP est composée des membres suivants en date du 26 juin 2015 :
Poste Nom Date de la nomination
originale à l’AEP
Date d’échéance
du décret actuel
Président Vacant Vacant Vacant
Vice-président Vacant Vacant Vacant
Membre Anita Bennett 26 mars 2009 19 mars 2017
Membre Terry Angle 6 avril 2011 19 mars 2017
Membre Sandy Palinski 19 mars 2014 19 mars 2017

L’organisme et le ministère de l’Éducation travaillent pour combler les postes vacants de présidente ou président et de vice-présidente ou vice-président.

APERÇU OPÉRATIONNEL

L’AEP aborde des questions qui portent sur les modalités et les conditions d’emploi des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints des écoles provinciales. Les activités consistent notamment à :

  • recevoir les demandes de congé des enseignantes et enseignants, des directrices et directeurs et des directrices adjointes et directeurs adjoints et à prendre des décisions à cet effet de façon équitable et efficiente et conformément aux conditions d’emploi de chaque groupe;
  • entendre en temps opportun les griefs de l’unité PSAT qui sont rendus à une deuxième étape;
  • régler les griefs de façon juste et équitable et conformément à la convention collective de l’unité PSAT.

L’AEP s’efforce d’améliorer les relations avec les représentantes et les représentants de ses groupes d’employées et d’employés en réduisant les délais de traitement des demandes de congé, des audiences des griefs et de communication des décisions qui ont été prises à la suite des audiences des griefs.

La convention collective de l’unité PSAT est arrivée à échéance le 31 août 2014. En 2014‑2015, l’AEP a commencé les négociations locales avec l’unité PSAT et participé à des négociations centrales avec la FEESO afin de conclure une nouvelle convention collective conformément aux processus de négociation établi dans la Loi sur la négociation collective dans les écoles provinciales.

L’AEP a aussi répondu à quatre griefs rendus à la deuxième étape transmis par l’unité PSAT.

RENDEMENT FINANCIER

Le budget de l’AEP provient du budget de base de la Direction des écoles provinciales du ministère de l’Éducation. L’allocation est d’environ 30 000 $ par année. Ces fonds sont voués :

  • aux dépenses de déplacement engagées par les membres pour assister aux réunions ou pour entendre les griefs;
  • aux services (y compris des interprètes et des traducteurs dont disposent les écoles provinciales de langue française et de langue anglaise);
  • aux coûts liés à l’administration de la convention collective, y compris des audiences d’arbitrage.

En 2014-2015, l’AEP n’a engagé aucune dépense.