What Works? Research into Practice

Understanding Self-Regulation: Why Stressed Students Struggle to Learn

By Dr. David Tranter, School of Social Work, and Dr. Donald Kerr, Faculty of Education, Lakehead University

Research monograph # 63
February 2016

This document is also available as a PDF format. (381 KB)

Self-regulation is a term used widely by educators; however, there is very little agreement about what it actually means. What do educators need to understand about self-regulation, and how can they support self-regulation in students?

Self-regulation is a term increasingly used but all too often misunderstood. A recent analysis of its use in scholarly literature found that the term had 88 variations related to 447 different concepts.1 The fact that educators and experts frequently confound the term with self-control and executive function is understandable given how recent much of the research is in these highly interrelated areas. However, each term embodies a different assumption about the nature of students’ behaviour. A proper understanding of self-regulation can inform educators’ efforts to help. Below, we provide three analogies that can be used to understand, and to teach students, about self-regulation.

Tips to Support Self-Regulation in Students

  • Self-regulation refers to the influence of states of arousal and the ways in which people cope with and recover from ongoing stress.
  • In particular, children who have experienced chronic stress can have great difficulty successfully matching their state of arousal with the demands of various classroom activities.
  • Educators can do a lot to help students learn to meet challenges with the right level of arousal.

Self-Control as a Muscle

Self-control is famously exemplified by Mischel’s Marshmallow Test, in which four-year-olds tried to resist eating a marshmallow for 15 minutes in order to win a second one.2 Self-control is viewed as analogous to a muscle – something that is stronger for some and weaker for others.3 While a self-control orientation to behaviour is positive in that it holds that qualities like impulse control and deferred gratification can be strengthened over time, it also perpetuates a view that behaviour problems stem from an individual weakness in the student.4

Executive Function as an Air Traffic Control System

Executive function emphasizes higher-order meta-cognitive skills, including working memory (the ability to hold and work with information for short periods of time), inhibitory control (the ability to manage and filter thoughts and impulses), and cognitive flexibility (the ability to switch mental gears).5 Successful executive function is analogous to a personal air traffic control system that enables the negotiation of social, emotional, and cognitive tasks throughout the day. An executive function orientation to behaviour assumes that behaviour problems arise when these skills are deficient.

Self-Regulation as the Gas and Brakes

Self-regulation provides us with a very different explanation of how behaviour and learning problems arise. It emphasizes the influence of states of arousal and the ways in which students cope with and recover from ongoing stress. Central to this is the concept of allostasis, meaning that people constantly adjust their state of arousal in response to the various demands placed on them.6 These adjustments involve the entire nervous system. When a demand is placed on the individual, the sympathetic nervous system activates a range of brain and body functions associated with the “fight or flight response” to increase the overall state of arousal. When that demand is no longer present, the parasympathetic nervous system activates functions associated with the “rest and digest response” to lower the level of arousal. People don’t drive all day at the same speed, but rather hit the “gas” or “brakes” to best match their arousal with their circumstances. A self-regulation orientation to behaviour focuses on whether the level of arousal is appropriate.

In a typical school day, students must adjust their energy and alertness many times. Silent reading, group activities, outdoor play ... all require different levels of arousal and pose different kinds of stress.

The Continuum of Regulation

In a typical school day, students must adjust their energy and alertness many times. Silent reading, group activities, outdoor play, and eating lunch with friends all require different levels of arousal and pose different kinds of stress. A continuum of arousal enables students to respond to and recover from challenges throughout the day.4 The task for students is to meet challenges with the right level of arousal. For example, a teacher may help some students “gear down” by reminding them to use their “indoor voices” when they come in from an outdoor activity.

Hyperarousal, Hypoarousal, and Allostatic Load

Difficulties in self-regulation arise when students are unable to match their arousal state with their circumstances. This is a particular challenge for students who have experienced chronic stress.4 The wear and tear imposed on the body by ongoing stress disrupts the normal process of allostasis. The consequence of repeated stress is referred to as allostatic load, which can lead to problems in self-regulation.6 Some students experience chronic hyperarousal, meaning that they tend to apply the gas too much and too often. These students can be highly active and overly sensitive to a variety of stimuli. Other students experience chronic hypoarousal, meaning they apply the brakes too much and the gas too little. These students may appear disengaged or inattentive. Still others may fluctuate relatively quickly between states, struggling to remain calm and focused.4

Self-Regulation Strategies in the Classroom

Successful self-regulation is not something we are born with; rather, it develops slowly throughout childhood and into the mid-twenties as parts of the brain fully develop and connect.5 For students who struggle with self-regulation, there are a number of things that educators can do to help:

Remember that stress takes many forms and students respond in unique ways. Stress is subjective and happens as a result of both past and present events. What might be a small stress for one student could be overwhelming for another. A loud school bell, or a difficult math problem will impact students in entirely different ways.7

Know your students. The more you know about the lives of your students, the more you can understand their behaviour. Conduct that seems entirely out of context will make sense if the rest of the picture is revealed. Even if you don’t know the whole picture, knowing a little will make you more likely to empathize with your students.

Relationships have the most powerful influence on self-regulation. Each of us learns to self-regulate through our relationships with others. Children are first soothed by caregivers and, thus, learn to soothe themselves. Teachers have a powerful role to play in helping to regulate the arousal and recovery of their students. It’s important that teachers remain calm, keep a warm sense of humour, and stay connected with each student.8

Student self-regulation starts with teacher self-regulation. Moods and arousal states are contagious. A stressed teacher can readily stress their students. Teachers need to recognize their own struggles and take steps to ensure that they practice good self-regulation.

Consider the impact of your classroom and school environment. The physical environment of the school can be a source of stress for many students. As much as teachers like to decorate their classes with colourful samples of student work, many classrooms are overloaded with stimulation. Rather than inspiring students to achieve, these classes can overwhelm some children. Many teachers are now creating calming classrooms with quiet workspaces, subdued lighting, and other features to create an atmosphere that supports concentration and learning.9

For some children, schools might be the only place where there is consistent calm, and teachers might be the only adults who teach them the calming strategies that they will rely on for the rest of their lives.

Teach children to be more aware of their arousal states. While shifts in arousal states are often ubiquitous, students are usually quite keen to learn the signs in themselves and their peers that indicate stress and problems with arousal. Young students will eagerly approach the teacher and report having an “upset amygdala” in much the same way he or she would report a need to go to the washroom.

Teach children to develop self-regulation skills. Children are less skeptical and self-conscious than adults and are generally happy to learn self-regulation strategies. For example, students readily respond to mindfulness and meditation strategies and, once learned, often practise them without prompting from their teachers.10 Similarly, when fidget toys and calming tools are made available to students, they quickly learn to incorporate them into their everyday school routine.

Use down-regulating strategies when needed. Sitting still for most of the day can be a challenge for any student. Transitions from one activity to the next can disrupt concentration and make it tough for students to refocus. Class-wide down-regulating strategies such as deep breathing, listening to a story, or watching a calming video can help the entire class prepare for the next lesson. Teachers should create an atmosphere in the class and state of mind in their students that will best fit the expectations of the planned work.4, 11

Use up-regulating strategies when needed. As the day wears on, many students can slip into a hypoaroused state and start to daydream and lose focus. It’s important for teachers to build in regular activities, especially in the form of physical movement, to help students up-regulate and renew focus.4 Physical activity has the unique ability to energize hypoaroused students and to discharge energy for hyperaroused students.12

Successful self-regulation takes a long time to master. Most adults, regardless of upbringing or exposure to stress, sometimes struggle to remain calm and focused. For children who experience ongoing stress, learning self-regulation can be a difficult challenge; teachers have an opportunity to make a tremendous difference in these students’ lives. For some children, schools might be the only place where there is consistent calm, and teachers might be the only adults who teach them the calming strategies that they will rely on for the rest of their lives.11

In Sum

Self-regulation is about responding to stress and managing one’s state of arousal. Students who have experienced chronic stress often struggle to self-regulate; their level of arousal may be either too low or high or may fluctuate rapidly through the school day. Once educators understand self-regulation, they can utilize a variety of strategies to help their students be self-regulated and ready to learn.

References

  1. Burman, J. T., Green, C. D., & Shanker, S. (2015). On the meanings of self-regulation: Digital humanities in service of conceptual clarification. Child Development, 86, 1507–1521.
  2. Mischel, W. (2014). The marshmallow test: Mastering self-control. New York, NY: Little Brown.
  3. Baumeister, R. F., & Tierney, J. (2012). Willpower: Rediscovering the greatest human strength. New York, NY: Penguin Books.
  4. Shanker, S. (2013). Calm, alert, and learning: Classroom strategies for self-regulation. Don Mills, ON: Pearson.
  5. National Scientific Council on the Developing Child & Harvard University. (2011). Building the brain’s “air traffic control” system: How early experiences shape the development of executive function. Cambridge, MA: Center on the Developing Child.
  6. McEwen, B. S., & Wingfield, J. C. (2003). The concept of allostasis in biology and biomedicine. Hormones and Behavior, 43, 2–15.
  7. NCTSN Core Curriculum on Childhood Trauma Task Force. (2012). The 12 core concepts: Concepts for understanding traumatic stress responses in children and families. UCLA-Duke University National Center for Child Traumatic Stress.
  8. National Scientific Council on the Developing Child & Harvard University. (2008). The timing and quality of early experiences combine to shape brain architecture. Cambridge, MA: Center on the Developing Child.
  9. Benson, H., Wilcher, M. (2000). Academic performance among middle school students after exposure to a relaxation response curriculum. Journal of Research and Development in Education, 33, 156–165.
  10. Meiklejohn, J., Phillips, C., Freedman, M., Griffin, M., Biegel, G., Roach, A., Pinger, L. (2012). Integrating mindfulness training into K–12 education: Fostering the resilience of teachers and students. Mindfulness, 3, 291–307.
  11. Cole, S. F. (2005). Helping traumatized children learn: Supportive school environments for children traumatized by family violence. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Advocates for Children.
  12. Ratey, J. (2008). Spark: The revolutionary new science of exercise and the brain. New York, NY: Little Brown.

What Works? Research into Practice is produced by a partnership between the Ontario Association of Deans of Education and the Student Achievement Division.

To learn more about how to write a monograph: Mobilizing Research into Practice in Meaningful Ways
By Dr. Michelann Parr and Dr. Terry Campbell Co-editors What Works? is updated and posted here

The opinions and conclusions contained in these monographs are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the policies, views, or directions of the Ontario Ministry of Education or the Student Achievement Division.

ISSN 1913-1097 What Works? Research Into Practice (Print)
ISSN 1913-1100 What Works? Research Into Practice (Online)

L'autorrégulation : pourquoi le stress chez les rélèves nuit à leur apprentissage

par David Tranter, Ph. D., Faculté de travail social, et Donald Kerr, Ph. D., Faculté de l’éducation, Université Lakehead

Monographie de recherche n° 63
Février 2016

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (407 Ko).

Bien que le terme autorégulation soit très répandu parmi les intervenants du domaine de l’éducation, très peu s’entendent sur le sens à lui donner. Qu’est-ce que les éducateurs doivent savoir sur l’autorégulation et comment peuvent-ils aider les élèves à y recourir?

Le terme autorégulation est de plus en plus répandu, mais il est trop souvent mal compris. Une récente analyse de son emploi dans les articles de recherche en a répertorié 88 variations reliées à 447 notions différentes.1 La confusion fréquente chez les éducateurs et les experts entre autorégulation, maîtrise de soi et fonction exécutive est compréhensible étant donné que la plupart des recherches sur ces domaines très interdépendants sont récentes. Or, chacun de ces termes incarne une hypothèse différente sur la nature du comportement de l’élève. Une bonne compréhension de l’autorégulation peut orienter le travail d’aide des enseignants. Voyons ci-dessous trois analogies qui permettent de mieux comprendre cette notion et d’enseigner des stratégies d’autorégulation aux élèves.

Pistes pour soutenir l’autorégulation chez les élèves

  • L’autorégulation se réfère à l’influence des états d’éveil et aux façons dont les personnes font face au stress permanent et le surmontent.

  • En particulier, les enfants qui ont subi un stress chronique peuvent avoir beaucoup de difficulté à adapter leur état d’éveil aux sollicitations des différentes activités en classe.

  • Les enseignants peuvent faire beaucoup pour aider les élèves à relever les défis avec le niveau d’éveil approprié.

La maîtrise de soi à titre de muscle

La notion de maîtrise de soi est illustrée par le fameux test de la guimauve du psychologue Walter Mischel, dans lequel des enfants de quatre ans essaient de résister à l’envie de manger une guimauve pendant 15 minutes dans le but d’en obtenir une autre.2 La maîtrise de soi peut être comparée à un muscle – puissant chez certains et faible chez d’autres.3 Orienter le comportement en fonction de la maîtrise de soi est positif puisque cela implique que des qualités comme le contrôle des pulsions et la gratification différée peuvent se renforcer avec le temps, mais cela, en revanche, perpétue l’idée selon laquelle les problèmes de comportement résultent d’une faiblesse individuelle chez l’élève.4

La fonction exécutive à titre de système de contrôle de la circulation aérienne

La fonction exécutive met au premier plan les habiletés métacognitives de haut niveau, dont la mémoire de travail (la capacité de retenir et d’utiliser de l’information pendant une courte période), le contrôle inhibiteur (la capacité de gérer et de filtrer les pensées et les pulsions) et la flexibilité cognitive (la capacité de réorienter rapidement les engrenages mentaux).5 La fonction exécutive efficace est comparable à un système de contrôle de la circulation aérienne personnel qui permet de gérer les tâches sociales, émotionnelles et cognitives tout au long de la journée. Orienter le comportement en fonction de la fonction exécutive suppose que les problèmes de comportement surviennent lorsque ces habiletés font défaut.

L’autorégulation: accélération et freinage

L’autorégulation fournit une explication très différente des problèmes de comportement et d’apprentissage. Elle met en relief l’influence des états d’éveil et des façons dont les élèves gèrent le stress permanent et le surmontent. La notion d’allostasie (l’adaptation constante de l’état d’éveil de la personne en réaction aux différentes demandes qui lui sont imposées) est un élément essentiel.6 Cette adaptation fait appel à tout le système nerveux. Lorsqu’une demande est imposée à la personne, le système nerveux sympathique mobilise un ensemble de fonctions cérébrales et organiques associées à la « réaction de lutte ou de fuite » pour hausser l’état d’éveil global. Lorsque cette demande n’existe plus, le système nerveux parasympathique mobilise les fonctions associées à la « réaction repos et digestion » pour réduire le niveau d’éveil. Personne ne conduit toute la journée à la même vitesse; les gens « accélèrent » ou « freinent » pour adapter le mieux possible leur état d’éveil aux circonstances. Orienter le comportement en fonction de l’autorégulation, c’est vérifier si le niveau d’éveil est approprié.

Au cours d’une journée ordinaire à l’école, les élèves doivent adapter leur niveau d’énergie et d’attention à de nombreuses reprises. La lecture en silence, les activités de groupe, les jeux à l’extérieur et le repas du midi correspondent à différents niveaux d’éveil et à différents types de stress.

Le continuum de la régulation

Au cours d’une journée ordinaire à l’école, les élèves doivent adapter leur niveau d’énergie et d’attention à de nombreuses reprises. La lecture en silence, les activités de groupe, les jeux à l’extérieur et le repas du midi correspondent à différents niveaux d’éveil et à différents types de stress. Un continuum d’éveil leur permet de relever les défis et de récupérer tout au long de la journée.4 La tâche pour les élèves est de relever les défis avec le bon niveau d’éveil. Par exemple, une enseignante ou un enseignant peut aider certains élèves à
« rétrograder » en leur rappelant de baisser le ton lorsqu’ils entrent en classe après une activité à l’extérieur.

Hyperéveil, hypoéveil et charge allostatique

Des problèmes d’autorégulation surviennent lorsque les élèves ne peuvent pas adapter leur état d’éveil aux circonstances. C’est particulièrement difficile pour les élèves qui ont subi un stress chronique.4 L’usure du corps attribuable au stress permanent perturbe le processus normal d’allostasie. L’effet d’un stress récurrent est appelé charge allostatique; celle-ci peut causer des problèmes d’autorégulation.6 Certains élèves manifestent un hyperéveil chronique, à savoir qu’ils ont tendance à trop appuyer sur l’accélérateur, trop souvent. Ces élèves peuvent être très actifs et trop sensibles à différents stimuli. D’autres élèves montrent des signes d’hypoéveil chronique; ils appuient trop sur le frein et pas assez sur l’accélérateur. Ils peuvent sembler passifs ou inattentifs, tandis que d’autres peuvent osciller relativement rapidement entre divers états et avoir du mal à demeurer calmes et concentrés.4

Stratégies d’autorégulation en classe

L’autorégulation efficace n’est pas innée; elle se développe lentement tout au long de l’enfance et jusqu’au début de l’âge adulte, jusqu’à ce que les différentes parties du cerveau atteignent leur plein développement et se raccordent.5 Pour les élèves qui éprouvent de la difficulté avec l’autorégulation, il existe différentes stratégies que les enseignants peuvent utiliser :

Rappelez-vous que le stress prend de nombreuses formes et que les élèves y réagissent chacun à leur façon. Le stress est une notion subjective; il peut être la conséquence de situations passées ou présentes. Ce qui peut être un léger stress pour un élève peut être insurmontable pour  un autre. Une cloche d’école bruyante ou un problème de mathématique difficile aura un effet tout à fait différent d’un élève à l’autre.7

Pour certains enfants, l’école peut être le seul endroit où règne le calme, et les enseignants peuvent être les seuls adultes qui leur montrent les stratégies d’apaisement qui leur serviront le reste de leur vie.

Connaissez vos élèves. Le plus vous en savez sur la vie de vos élèves, le mieux vous pourrez comprendre leur comportement. Une conduite qui semble tout à fait incongrue prend du sens quand on connaît le contexte. Même si vous n’avez pas un profil complet, ce que vous savez vous aidera à mieux comprendre vos élèves.

L’influence la plus puissante sur l’autorégulation : les relations. Chaque personne apprend l’autorégulation par ses relations avec les autres. Les enfants sont d’abord calmés par les personnes qui s’en occupent et, par la suite, ils apprennent à se calmer de façon autonome. Le personnel enseignant peut jouer un rôle primordial en aidant les élèves à réguler leur niveau d’éveil et à se rétablir du stress. Il est important que les enseignants demeurent calmes, démontrent un bon sens de l’humour et gardent le contact avec chaque élève.8

L’autorégulation chez l’élève passe par l’autorégulation chez l’enseignante ou l’enseignant. L’humeur et les états d’éveil sont contagieux. Une enseignante stressée peut facilement stresser ses élèves. Les enseignants doivent apprendre à reconnaître leurs propres difficultés et faire en sorte de pratiquer une autorégulation efficace.

Évaluez l’incidence de votre salle de classe et du milieu scolaire. Le milieu physique de l’école peut être une source de stress pour de nombreux élèves. Bon nombre d’enseignants aiment décorer leur salle de classe en y exposant des exemples colorés de travaux d’élèves, mais dans bien des cas, le mieux est l’ennemi du bien. Au lieu d’inspirer les élèves à se dépasser, ce genre d’aménagement peut écraser certains élèves. De nos jours, beaucoup d’enseignants créent dans leur salle de classe une atmosphère apaisante (aires de travail tranquilles, éclairage tamisé, etc.) qui favorise la concentration et l’apprentissage.9

Amener les élèves à être plus attentifs à leurs états d’éveil. Les soubresauts des états d’éveil sont souvent très répandus, mais les élèves sont habituellement très intéressés à apprendre à déceler les signes, autant les leurs que ceux de leurs pairs, qui révèlent un stress et des problèmes liés à l’état d’éveil. Les jeunes élèves n’hésitent pas à aller voir leur enseignant pour exprimer leur frustration, et ce avec la même contenance que s’ils demandaient d’aller à la toilette.

Apprenez aux enfants à perfectionner leur autorégulation. Les enfants sont moins sceptiques et gênés que les adultes, et sont généralement contents d’apprendre des stratégies d’autorégulation. Ainsi, ils sont ouverts à l’introspection et aux stratégies de méditation et, souvent, quand ils les ont assimilées, ils les pratiquent sans y être invités par l’enseignante.10 De même, lorsqu’on leur fournit des jouets et d’autres objets d’apaisement, ils apprennent vite à les intégrer dans leur routine scolaire quotidienne.

Utilisez des stratégies de régulation à la baisse au besoin. Rester assis tranquille presque toute la journée peut être difficile pour n’importe quel élève. Les transitions d’une activité à l’autre peuvent nuire à la concentration de sorte que les élèves peuvent avoir du mal à recentrer leur attention. Une activité de régulation à la baisse, comme de profondes respirations, l’écoute d’une histoire ou le visionnement d’une vidéo apaisante, peut aider l’ensemble du groupe à se préparer à la prochaine leçon. Les enseignants devraient créer dans la classe une atmosphère, et chez leurs élèves un état d’esprit, qui favorisent une transition optimale à l’activité suivante.4, 11

Utilisez des stratégies de régulation à la hausse au besoin. À mesure que la journée avance, l’état d’hypoéveil peut s’installer chez beaucoup d’élèves, qui commencent à rêvasser et à relâcher leur attention. Il est important d’intégrer dans le programme de la journée des activités régulières, en particulier sous la forme de mouvements physiques, pour aider les élèves à reprendre du tonus et à recentrer leur attention.4 L’activité physique est idéale pour donner de l’énergie aux élèves en état d’hypoéveil et pour canaliser cette énergie chez les élèves en état d’hyperéveil.12

Bien maîtriser l’autorégulation prend du temps. La plupart des adultes, quelle que soit la façon dont ils ont été élevés et leur exposition au stress, ont parfois du mal à rester calmes et concentrés. Pour les enfants qui éprouvent un stress continuel, l’apprentissage de l’autorégulation peut être difficile. Les enseignants peuvent améliorer considérablement la vie de ces élèves. Pour certains enfants, l’école peut être le seul endroit où règne le calme, et les enseignants peuvent être les seuls adultes qui leur montrent les stratégies d’apaisement qui leur serviront le reste de leur vie.11

En bref

L’autorégulation se rapporte à la réaction au stress et à la gestion des états d’éveil. Les élèves qui ont subi un stress chronique ont souvent du mal à s’autoréguler. Leur niveau d’éveil peut être soit trop bas, soit trop élevé ou peut fluctuer rapidement au cours de la journée scolaire. Une fois qu’ils ont compris l’autorégulation, les éducateurs peuvent utiliser diverses stratégies pour aider les élèves à s’autoréguler et ainsi à être disposés à apprendre.

Bibliographie

  1. Burman, J. T., Green, C. D., et Shanker, S. (2015). On the meanings of self-regulation: Digital humanities in service of conceptual clarification. Child Development, 86, 1507–1521.
  2. Mischel, W. (2014). The marshmallow test: Mastering self-control. New York, NY: Little Brown.
  3. Baumeister, R. F., et Tierney, J. (2012). Willpower: Rediscovering the greatest human strength. New York, NY: Penguin Books.
  4. Shanker, S. (2013). Calm, alert, and learning: Classroom strategies for self-regulation. Don Mills, ON: Pearson.
  5. National Scientific Council on the Developing Child & Harvard University. (2011). Building the brain’s “air traffic control” system: How early experiences shape the development of executive function. Cambridge, MA: Center on the Developing Child.
  6. McEwen, B. S., et Wingfield, J. C. (2003). The concept of allostasis in biology and biomedicine. Hormones and Behavior, 43, 2–15.
  7. NCTSN Core Curriculum on Childhood Trauma Task Force. (2012). The 12 core concepts: Concepts for understanding traumatic stress responses in children and families. UCLA-Duke University National Center for Child Traumatic Stress.
  8. National Scientific Council on the Developing Child & Harvard University. (2008). The timing and quality of early experiences combine to shape brain architecture. Cambridge, MA: Center on the Developing Child.
  9. Benson, H., Wilcher, M. (2000). Academic performance among middle school students after exposure to a relaxation response curriculum. Journal of Research and Development in Education, 33, 156–165.
  10. Meiklejohn, J., Phillips, C., Freedman, M., Griffin, M., Biegel, G., Roach, A., Pinger, L. (2012). Integrating mindfulness training into K–12 education: Fostering the resilience of teachers and students. Mindfulness, 3, 291–307.
  11. Cole, S. F. (2005). Helping traumatized children learn: Supportive school environments for children traumatized by family violence. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Advocates for Children.
  12. Ratey, J. (2008). Spark: The revolutionary new science of exercise and the brain. New York, NY: Little Brown.

La série de monographies Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique est produite en collaboration par l’Ontario Association of Deans of Education et la Division du rendement des élèves du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de rédiger une monographie : Mobiliser les résultats de la recherche pour les appliquer de façon significative, par Michelann Parr, Ph. D., et Terry Campbell, Ph. D., co-rédactrices.

La série Faire la différence est mise à jour et publiée ici.

Les opinions et les conclusions exprimées dans ces monographies sont celles des auteurs; elles ne reflètent pas nécessairement les politiques, les opinions et les orientations du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario ou de la Division du rendement des élèves.

ISSN 1913-1097 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (imprimé)
ISSN 1913-1100 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (en ligne)