What Works? Research into Practice

Pedagogical Documentation: Opening Windows onto Learning

By Dr. Terry A. Campbell, Nipissing University; Amanda Brownlee, Near North District School Board; and Carole Anne Renton, Nipissing Parry Sound District Catholic School Board

Research monograph # 61
February 2016

This document is also available as a PDF format. (411 KB)

The crucial step of “going public” with documentation can be a challenging one. What can educators do to communicate what they are learning about student learning with parents, other staff and the wider school community?

Inspired by their observations of learners in K–12 classrooms, educators are transforming their practice. They are finding innovative ways to learn with their students in collaborative, social contexts, and to go beyond traditional evidence-gathering, such as paper and pencil tasks, to better understand how students learn through play, inquiry projects, conversations, and social interactions. Many are employing diverse forms of pedagogical documentation as a powerful way of chronicling student learning in action, attributing value to the thoughts and feelings of the learners themselves during the process. Yet many also are uncertain how to communicate this learning. They are asking, “How will [I] collaborate with students, families and colleagues in the communication of the learning in the documentation?”1 (p. 8).

Tips for Going Public with Student Learning

  • Keep focused on your true intention which is to open a window onto the work and thought processes of students.
  • Start with small steps focused on individual learning stories which show a milestone in development or a breakthrough in understanding.
  • Whether visual display or classroom blog, use a simple format.
  • Use “family-friendly” language.

The Power of Documenting

Documentation involves “observing, recording, interpreting, and sharing, through a variety of media, the processes and products of teaching and learning in order to deepen learning”2 (p. 38). Research across grade levels provides evidence of the powerful effects of documentation on multiple aspects of learning, including the emotional, the cognitive, and the social.3

Since teacher and student learning are deeply interwoven, both teachers and learners benefit from the documentation process. While documenting, teachers become researchers. As teachers delve into their “story of the movement of children’s understanding” (p. 3),4 they are also learning about themselves. Carlina Rinaldi defines this type of research as “an attitude and an approach in everyday living, in schools and in life… as a way of thinking for ourselves and thinking with others, a way of relating with others, with the world around us and with life”5 (p. 2).

Documentation “supports students’ learning from early childhood to secondary school” (p. 38).6 Through documentation, and the conversations it inspires, learners are empowered to articulate their thinking, feelings, and beliefs about themselves and their learning. Listening to learners, teachers learn to attribute value to aspects of learning experiences from the learner’s perspective. For example, a teacher observes two girls rolling a die and arranging the corresponding number of shells. One girl, Lila, notes, “I’m playing with Angelina.”7 For kindergarten-aged Lila, the value of playing with a friend is primary, and the mathematical learning is secondary. By observing and listening, the teacher is able to understand and to document both dimensions of Lila’s learning experience.

We know pedagogical documentation in the classroom is powerful. How can taking the step of publicly displaying documentation benefit learners as well as the school community, including other teachers and families?

The Art of Going Public

Given et al.2 found that a collaborative inquiry group “experienced its most powerful shift when it decided to share documentation and collective learning in public arenas” (p. 40). The crucial step of “going public” with their documentation can be a challenging one for teachers.4 With this in mind, two Kindergarten teachers describe here how they communicate learning stories with learners and the school community. The processes they describe can be applied at any grade level.

One teacher has been utilizing visual displays in her classroom and school, and the second has been posting a classroom blog shared with families and other members of the school community. What follows are their accounts of what works for them.

Although the visual displays have the effect of beautifying the environment, their true intention is to open a window onto the work and thought processes of the learners.

Carole Anne’s Visual Display

In my classroom, I use visual display to document student learning. By visual display, I mean some form of illustration accompanied by text. The illustrations may be photographs captured by the teacher, or the drawings and paintings of the learners themselves. The accompanying text is usually a description, a narrative, or a verbatim transcript of a classroom conversation. The whole process involves careful observation and thoughtful listening. I am guided by the inspiring image of the window used by Judy Harris Helm and her colleagues.8 Although the visual displays have the effect of beautifying the environment, their true intention is to open a window onto the work and thought processes of the learners. I am guided by the following practices:

  • Use the classroom environment strategically and with intention.
  • Keep classroom display surfaces intentionally spare to create a canvas effect.
  • Capture images with photographs and learners’ thought processes with video, stills, or pencil and paper.
  • Arrange displays resulting from these interactions in a variety of ways throughout the classroom and hallway to create windows into the dynamic, ever-changing workings of your classroom.
  • Have learners’ paintings and observational drawings on constant display. Accompany them with photographs and narrative text to bring the art process to life. How did you create the movement of the wind in the park?
  • Display three-dimensional structures and art pieces on window ledges, intermingled with photographs and text. What did you do to make your cat sculpture seem to walk?
  • Create a learning story that documents a milestone in the development of one particular learner. Ask: What breakthrough was observed? What specific actions did the learner take?
  • Use hallway corkboards to display the process of an inquiry project.
  • Create individual “window” panels, using text and photographs of a project, to provide a running record of an inquiry, detailing the work and thinking of learners. These public displays spark lively discussion within the school community; they are visited by older students, who share their respect and amazement at the learning capacity of young learners.

I began my journey into documentation with baby steps, focusing on individual learning stories. Like any journeyman, I hone my skills as each day passes, encouraged by the energizing effect it has had on my practice. I come to know my students on a much deeper level, making differentiated instruction easier to achieve. I watch in awe as young children grow into strong, capable learners accustomed to sharing their thinking in open dialogue with peers and teachers. It’s a journey I plan to continue.

The processes these teachers describe can be applied at any grade level.

Amanda’s Blog

My classroom blog has a simple format, drawing attention to photos of work in progress, quotes from learners, work samples, and links to curriculum expectations,9 as well as quotes from early learning research. The learning documented is explained in family-friendly language. The blog acts as a connection between school and home and to extended families as well (I have had grandparents in Germany comment on how much they enjoy this window into their grandchild’s learning). It is an engaging way of communicating learning, and acts as a springboard for conversations among learners and family members. This, in turn, encourages oral communication, metacognition, and sharing of learning goals while strengthening the family-school relationship.

A parent reports that the blog offers a “wonderful way to get a discussion going with Ada [pseudonym] about what is happening at school. We look at it together and she talks about the activities in the photos, but she also tells us about other things that were happening ... I really think it is so worthwhile for us as parents to feel that connection to our child’s daily life at school and see the learning!” When I update the blog (about twice a week), I send parents an e-mail (with the link included) to notify them. I find these reminders keep the families checking in more often.

Knowing what to publish and how to share this documented learning is a never-ending journey. As a class, we review blog entries on the classroom television, and children are encouraged to comment and give feedback. I’ve discovered that knowing your students and taking the time to slow down and really listen to them is important. Careful listening is essential because what I might assume they are learning, thinking, or feeling could be completely different from what they have to say! Recording their words on either paper or iPad is vital. From there, experiment until you find what works for you and for your learners. I have found that the following practices work well for me:

  • Take lots of photographs.
  • Create a digital photo album for each child and sort photos of their work into their albums at the end of each day.
  • Have the children take photos of work they want to save, share or extend and tag their work so it can be identified. Print the work for them so they can write about the learning or their next steps and add it to their portfolio.
  • Create and publish learning stories using applications such as Pic Collage, to send home, post on the blog or in our learning environment (visual displays, classroom books, etc., to revisit and discuss, to send home for parent feedback).
  • Send e-mails notifying the parents about new blog posts.
  • E-mail photos of children to their parents throughout the day with small captions with their child’s quote attached.  Both children and the parents LOVE this!
  • Use applications such as Explain Everything so learners can describe their learning visually and orally. Use this during parent interviews or as assessment for and of learning.

My practice continues to evolve and grow through reflection and discussions with colleagues. I frequently visit other teachers to exchange ideas, feedback, resources, and practical advice. It’s exciting to be in the recursive cycle of inquiry and to have so many partners to share and grow with.

In Sum

Whether educators use visual displays, document panels, bulletin boards, digital portfolios, or classroom blogs, the goal is documenting and valuing learners and learning. Documentation, as viewed by Carole Anne and Amanda, is a narrative, a way of telling learners’ stories, and a way of sharing this exciting journey with the school community and families.

References

  1. Ontario Ministry of Education. (2015). Pedagogical documentation revisited: Looking at assessment and learning in new ways. Toronto, ON: Queen’s Printer for Ontario.
  2. Given, H., Kuh, L., LeeKeenan, D., Mardell, B., Redditt, S., & Twombly, S. Changing school culture: Using documentation to support collaborative inquiry. Theory into practice, 49(1), 36-46.
  3. Krechevsky, M., Mardell, B., Rivard, M., & Wilson, D. (2013). Visible learners. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.
  4. Wien, C. A., Guyevskey, V., & Berdoussis, N. (2011). Learning to document in Reggio-inspired education. Early childhood research and practice, 13(2).
  5. Rinaldi, C. (2003). The teacher as researcher. The Quarterly Periodical of the North American Reggio Emilia Alliance, 10(2), 1–4.
  6. Ritchhart, R., Church, M., & Morrison, K. (2011). Making thinking visible: How to promote engagement, understanding, and independence for all learners. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.
  7. Wood, J., & Speir, S. (2013). Assessment as attributing value: Documentation and assessment in early learning. Toronto, ON: Ministry of Education, Assessment and Policy Branch.
  8. Helm, J. H., Beneke, S., & Steinheimer, K. (2007). Windows on learning: Documenting young children’s work. New York, NY: Teachers College Press.
  9. Ontario Ministry of Education. (2015). The full-day early learning – Kindergarten program. Toronto, ON: Queen’s Printer for Ontario.

What Works? Research into Practice is produced by a partnership between the Ontario Association of Deans of Education and the Student Achievement Division.

To learn more about how to write a monograph visit Mobilizing Research into Practice in Meaningful Ways

By Dr. Michelann Parr and Dr. Terry Campbell Co-editors What Works? is updated and posted here.

The opinions and conclusions contained in these monographs are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the policies, views, or directions of the Ontario Ministry of Education or the Student Achievement Division.

ISSN 1913-1100 What Works? Research Into Practice (Online)

La documentation pédagogique : ouverture sur l’apprentissage

par Terry A. Campbell, Ph. D., Université Nipissing, Amanda Brownlee, Conseil scolaire de district Near North, et Carole Anne Renton, Conseil scolaire du district   catholique de Nipissing Parry Sound

Monographie de recherche n° 61
Février 2016

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (420 Ko).

L’étape cruciale de la diffusion publique de la documentation peut présenter un défi. Que peuvent faire les enseignants pour communiquer l’apprentissage de leurs élèves aux parents, à leurs collègues et à l’ensemble de la communauté scolaire?

Inspirés par leurs observations des apprenants dans les classes de la maternelle à la 12e année, les enseignants changent leurs pratiques d’enseignement. Ils trouvent de nouvelles façons d’apprendre avec leurs élèves dans des contextes collaboratifs et sociaux, et d’aller au-delà des méthodes traditionnelles de collecte de preuves d’apprentissage, comme l’approche « papier crayon », pour mieux cerner comment ceux ci apprennent par le jeu, les projets d’enquête, les conversations et les interactions sociales. Bon nombre d’éducateurs ont recours à diverses formes de documentation pédagogique pour en faire de puissants véhicules qui décrivent l’apprentissage en action et, ce faisant, donnent de la valeur aux réflexions et aux sentiments des apprenants. Néanmoins, nombreux sont ceux parmi le personnel enseignant qui sont incertains de la façon de communiquer ces apprentissages. « Comment vais-je collaborer avec les élèves, les familles et les collègues pour communiquer l’apprentissage capté par la documentation? » s’interrogent-ils.1

Quelques pistes de réflexion sur l’affichage de la documentation pédagogique

  • Gardez à l’esprit votre véritable but : ouvrir une fenêtre sur le travail et les processus de réflexion des élèves.
  • Allez-y progressivement : concentrez-vous sur des exemples d’apprentissage individuels qui montrent les étapes importantes dans le développement ou un progrès au niveau de la compréhension.
  • Utilisez un moyen de communication simple, par exemple un visuel ou un blogue.
  • Utilisez un langage adapté aux familles.

Le pouvoir de la documentation

La documentation s’appuie sur l’observation, l’enregistrement, l’interprétation et la diffusion au moyen de divers supports, des processus et des produits de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage dans le but d’approfondir ce dernier.2 Des recherches menées à tous les niveaux scolaires montrent la grande influence de la documentation sur de nombreux aspects de l’apprentissage, dont les aspects émotionnel, cognitif et social.3

Puisque l’apprentissage des enseignants et celui des élèves sont étroitement liés, le processus de documentation bénéficie à tous. Lorsqu’ils documentent, les enseignants deviennent des chercheurs. Lorsqu’ils explorent l’évolution de la compréhension des élèves,4 ils apprennent également à mieux se connaître. Carlina Rinaldi définit ce type de recherche comme une attitude et une approche liées à la vie de tous les jours, dans les écoles et dans la vie… comme une manière de penser par nous mêmes et de penser avec les autres, une manière d’entrer en relation avec les autres, avec le monde autour de nous et avec la vie.5

La documentation soutient l’apprentissage des élèves depuis la petite enfance jusqu’au secondaire.6 Grâce à la documentation et aux conversations qu’elle inspire, les apprenants ont la possibilité d’articuler leur pensée, leurs sentiments et leurs perceptions d’eux mêmes et de leur apprentissage. En écoutant les élèves, les enseignants apprennent à mettre en valeur les aspects des expériences d’apprentissage du point de vue des apprenants. Par exemple, une enseignante observe deux fillettes qui lancent un dé et disposent le nombre de coquilles correspondant. L’une des fillettes, Lila, dit : « Je joue avec Angelina. »7 Pour Lila, qui est au jardin d’enfants, la valeur du jeu avec une amie est primordiale tandis que l’apprentissage des mathématiques vient au second rang. En observant et en écoutant, l’enseignante est en mesure de comprendre et de documenter les deux dimensions de l’expérience d’apprentissage de Lila.

Nous connaissons la grande valeur de la documentation pédagogique. Comment le fait de diffuser cette documentation à l’extérieur de la classe peut bénéficier aux apprenants comme à la communauté scolaire, y compris les autres enseignants et les familles?

L’art de partager publiquement

Given et ses collègues2 ont constaté que c’est lorsqu’elle a décidé de partager sur des tribunes publiques sa documentation et son apprentissage collectif qu’une communauté en enquête collaborative a marqué un moment décisif. L’étape cruciale de la diffusion publique de leur documentation peut présenter un défi pour les enseignants.4 Dans cette optique, deux enseignantes au jardin d’enfants décrivent comment elles partagent des comptes-rendus d’apprentissage avec les apprenants et la communauté scolaire. Les processus qu’elles décrivent peuvent être appliqués à tous les niveaux scolaires.

Bien sûr, les visuels embellissent l’environnement, mais leur véritable raison d’être est d’ouvrir une fenêtre sur les processus de réflexion des élèves et leur travail.

Une de ces enseignantes a utilisé des visuels dans sa salle de classe et son école, et l’autre a créé un blogue accessible aux familles et aux autres membres de la communauté scolaire. Voyons leur démarche.

Les visuels de Carole Anne

Dans ma salle de classe, j’utilise des visuelspour documenter l’apprentissage vécu par les élèves. Par visuel, j’entends une forme d’illustration accompagnée de texte. Les illustrations peuvent être des photos prises par l’enseignante, ou des dessins et des peintures réalisés par les élèves. Le texte d’accompagnement est généralement une description, une narration ou une transcription textuelle de conversations de la salle de classe. Il faut observer attentivement et écouter assidûment. L’image de la fenêtre utilisée par Judy Harris et ses collègues m’a inspirée.8 Bien sûr, les visuels embellissent l’environnement, mais leur véritable raison d’être est d’ouvrir une fenêtre sur les processus de réflexion des élèves et leur travail. Je m’inspire des pratiques suivantes :

  • Utiliser la salle de classe de manière stratégique en ayant une intention précise.
  • Garder les surfaces d’affichage de la salle de classe dégagées pour créer un effet de toile.
  • Capter des images en prenant des photos et documenter les processus de réflexion des apprenants en réalisant des vidéos ou des images fixes, ou encore en prenant des notes manuscrites.
  • Disposer partout dans la salle de classe et le couloir les visuels témoignant des interactions, de manière à créer des fenêtres sur le fonctionnement dynamique et évolutif du groupe – classe.
  • Afficher les peintures et les dessins d’observation des élèves. Les accompagner de photos et de textes pour donner vie à la démarche artistique. Comment as tu représenté le mouvement du vent dans le parc?
  • Exposer les structures tridimensionnelles et les œuvres d’art sur le bord des fenêtres, entremêlées de photos et de textes. Comment as-tu fait pour que le chat   que tu as sculpté semble marcher?
  • Créer une histoire d’apprentissage qui documente une étape importante dans le développement d’un élève particulier. Quel progrès a été observé? Qu’est-ce que l’élève a fait précisément?
  • Utiliser les tableaux d’affiche dans les couloirs pour présenter la démarche d’un projet d’enquête.
  • Créer des tableaux personnalisés montrant en détail le travail et les réflexions des élèves pour présenter un compte rendu continu d’une enquête. Ces présentations publiques suscitent des échanges animés dans la communauté scolaire; elles sont examinées par des élèves plus âgés, qui manifestent leur respect et leur étonnement devant la capacité d’apprendre de leurs jeunes pairs.

Les exemples de documentation pédagogique décrits par ces enseignantes s’appliquent à tous les niveaux scolaires.

J’ai entamé ma démarche de documentation graduellement, en mettant l’accent sur des histoires d’apprentissage particulières. Comme tout voyageur, je me perfectionne de jour en jour, encouragée par la dose d’énergie que cela apporte à ma pratique. J’acquiers une connaissance beaucoup plus profonde de mes élèves, ce qui facilite l’enseignement différencié. Je suis émerveillée de voir de jeunes enfants devenir des apprenants compétents habitués à partager leurs réflexions ouvertement avec leurs pairs et leurs enseignants. J’ai bien l’intention de poursuivre ce voyage.

Le blogue d’Amanda*

Mon blogue est simple : photos de travaux en cours, citations de paroles d’élèves, extraits de travaux, liens avec les attentes du curriculum9 et citations tirées de rapports de recherche sur l’apprentissage chez les jeunes enfants. L’apprentissage documenté est expliqué dans un langage accessible aux élèves et à leur famille. Le blogue est un lien entre l’école, la maison et même les familles étendues (des grands-parents habitant en Allemagne m’ont exprimé leur joie de profiter de ce coup d’œil sur l’apprentissage de leur petit enfant). C’est une façon agréable de faire état de l’apprentissage et un déclencheur de conversations entre les élèves et les membres de leur famille. De plus, cela favorise la communication orale, la métacognition et le partage de résultats d’apprentissage tout en renforçant les liens famille-école.

Un parent mentionne que le blogue est un merveilleux moyen d’échanger avec Ada [prénom fictif ] sur ce qui se passe à l’école : « Elle nous parle des activités présentées en photos, mais aussi d’autres aspects de la vie en classe… Je pense vraiment que c’est très précieux pour nous, parents, de sentir ce lien avec la vie scolaire de notre fille et de suivre son apprentissage. » Quand je mets le blogue à jour (environ deux fois par semaine), j’avertis les parents en leur envoyant le lien par courriel. Je trouve que ces rappels contribuent à faire augmenter la fréquentation du blogue par les familles.

Le choix des éléments à publier et la façon de le faire exigent une réflexion constante. Les élèves et moi examinons les articles dans le blogue sur le   téléviseur de la salle de classe, et ils sont encouragés à exprimer leurs commentaires. J’ai découvert qu’il est important de connaître ses élèves et de prendre le temps de les écouter. L’écoute active est essentielle, car il se peut  que ce que je crois qu’ils apprennent, pensent ou ressentent soit  tout à fait différent de ce qu’ils ont à dire! Il est primordial de noter leurs commentaires, que ce soit sur papier ou sur tablette électronique. De là, vous  pouvez  expérimenter jusqu’à ce que vous trouviez ce qui vous convient tout comme à vos  élèves.

Pour moi, les pratiques suivantes fonctionnent bien :

  • Prendre beaucoup de photos.
  • Créer un album photo numérique pour chaque élève et trier les clichés de son travail dans son album à la fin de chaque journée.
  • Faire prendre aux enfants des photos de   travaux qu’ils veulent conserver, partager ou poursuivre et les marquer pour les identifier. Faire imprimer les photos pour qu’ils puissent écrire leurs prochaines étapes d’apprentissage et les ajouter à leur portfolio.
  • Créer et publier des histoires sur leur apprentissage à l’aide d’applications comme Pic Collage pour les envoyer à la maison, les afficher sur le blogue ou dans le milieu d’apprentissage (visuels, livres de classe, etc.) pour les revoir, en discuter et les envoyer aux parents dans le but de recevoir de la  rétroaction.
  • Informer les parents par courriel des nouveautés parues sur le blogue.
  • Durant la journée, envoyer des photos aux parents par courriel avec de petites légendes présentant des paroles de leurs enfants. Les enfants et les parents ADORENT ça!
  • Utiliser des applications comme Explain   Everything pour que les élèves puissent décrire leur apprentissage visuellement et verbalement. Cela peut servir pendant les rencontres avec les parents ou pour l’évaluation en tant qu’apprentissage.

Ma pratique continue d’évoluer et de s’améliorer par la réflexion et les échanges avec mes collègues. Je consulte souvent d’autres enseignants pour échanger des   idées et des ressources et pour obtenir leur rétroaction et des conseils pratiques. C’est stimulant de faire partie du cycle d’enquête récursif et de compter sur de nombreux partenaires avec lesquels échanger et  évoluer.

* Explorez le blogue d’Amanda ici (en anglais).

En bref

Quels que soient les moyens que les éducateurs utilisent (visuels, panneaux d’affichage, portfolios numériques ou blogues), le but est de documenter l’apprentissage et de mettre cet apprentissage et les élèves en valeur. Carole Anne et Amanda voient la documentation comme un récit, une façon de partager le vécu des élèves avec leurs familles et la communauté scolaire.

Bibliographie

  1. Ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario. (2015). Nouveau regard sur la documentation pédagogique : Envisager l’évaluation et l’apprentissage autrement. Toronto, ON: Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario.
  2. Given, H., Kuh, L., LeeKeenan, D., Mardell, B., Redditt, S. et Twombly, S. (2010). Changing school culture: Using documentation to support collaborative inquiry. Theory into practice, 49(1), 36-46.
  3. Krechevsky, M., Mardell, B., Rivard, M. et Wilson, D. (2013). Visible learners. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.
  4. Wien, C. A., Guyevskey, V. et Berdoussis, N. (2011). Learning to document in Reggio-inspired education. Early childhood research and practice, 13(2). Récupéré ici
  5. Rinaldi, C. (2003). The teacher as researcher. The Quarterly Periodical of the North American Reggio Emilia Alliance, 10(2), 1–4.
  6. Ritchhart, R., Church, M. et Morrison, K. (2011). Making thinking visible: How to promote engagement, understanding, and independence for all learners. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.
  7. Wood, J. et Speir, S. (2013). Assessment as attributing value: Documentation and assessment in early learning. Toronto, ON: Ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario, division de la mesure et de l’évaluation.
  8. Helm, J. H., Beneke, S. et Steinheimer, K. (2007). Windows on learning: Documenting young children’s work. New York, NY: Teachers College Press.
  9. Ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario. (2015). Programme d’apprentissage à temps plein de la maternelle et du jardin d’enfants. Toronto, ON: Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario.

La série de monographies Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique est produite en collaboration par l’Ontario Association of Deans of Education et la Division du rendement des élèves du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de rédiger une monographie : Mobiliser les résultats de la recherche pour les appliquer de façon significative, par Michelann Parr, Ph. D., et Terry Campbell, Ph. D., co-rédactrices.

La série Faire la différence est mise à jour et publiée ici.

Les opinions et les conclusions exprimées dans ces monographies sont celles des auteurs; elles ne reflètent pas nécessairement les politiques, les opinions et les orientations du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario ou de la Division du rendement des élèves.

ISSN 1913-1097 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (imprimé)
ISSN 1913-1100 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (en ligne)