What Works? Research into practice

The mathematical territory between direct modelling and proficiency

By Dr. Alex Lawson, Lakehead University

Research monograph # 64
April 2016

This document is also available as a PDF format. (400 KB)

The potential learning that exists in the territory between direct modelling and memorization of facts is foundational for a great deal of later mathematics and for mental fluency. How should children come to know their math facts?

Over the past few years, there has been a media outcry over children's reputed lack of mastery of number facts and teachers' apparent disinterest in having students memorize them, as this excerpt from the Guelph Mercury indicates:

The education bureaucracy has long held a disdain for teaching methods that emphasize "math facts," such as multiplication tables and simple arithmetic such 7 + 8 = 15 . . . . Instead, Ontario schools mostly use "discovery math," which allows students to explore concepts according to their own personal learning style.1

While such dichotomies make for good press, they misrepresent the situation. Most educators believe all children should learn number facts; however, they also believe that children should learn and understand much more math. Just memorizing the facts is no longer enough. In fact, it never was.

Tips for teaching math facts

  1. Recognize that progressively learning math facts can lay important foundations for later mathematics.
  2. Support the progression of increasingly sophisticated calculation strategies rather than jumping to memorization.
  3. Pose well-constructed problems to guide this progression and encourage student-generated strategies.
  4. Memorize for efficient calculations after students' reasoning strategies are well-established.

Past practice

Many of us learned our facts by starting with direct modelling – usually with concrete objects.2 To add 5 + 7, for example, we might have:

  1. counted a first set of 5 objects
  2. counted a second set of 7 objects
  3. counted from 1 again to reach 12 (i.e., the strategy of counting three times)

Once we had mastered this method of addition, we would have memorized 5 + 7 = 12 as one isolated fact.

Unfortunately, this quick shift from direct modelling to memorization came at a cost for many students.3,4 The potential learning that exists in the territory between direct modelling and memorization of facts is foundational for a great deal of later mathematics and for mental fluency.

What math lies between direct modelling and fact memorization?

Students who, over time, construct a series of increasingly sophisticated personal strategies for solving calculations often learn mathematics that serves them in and beyond the classroom. In classrooms where teachers support the development of increasingly sophisticated addition and subtraction calculation strategies, children's methods reflect three general phases of progression before they become proficient.2,5

Phase 1: Direct modelling and counting. Consider our previous calculation, 5 + 7. During this phase, children use strategies such as counting three times (described above). From here, children begin to move away from fully modelling the problem.

Phase 2: Counting more efficiently. Children use strategies such as counting on from 5, stating 6, 7, and so on, raising a finger to track each count of a mental number line until they reach seven fingers raised. In doing so, they shift from counting the direct (concrete) model of the second number, to continuing the mental number sequence in their mind from the first model. Their fingers are no longer physical objects to be counted but, instead, a mechanism for simultaneously "counting the count"6 and tracking it.

Phase 3: Working with the numbers. This phase illustrates the mathematical advantages of supporting children's evolving progression of calculation methods over quick memorization of facts, as children begin working with numbers rather than counting. Initially, they may use some form of a double.7 For example, to determine 5 + 7, some children will break up the 7 in order to give 1 to the 5, transforming the expression into 6 + 6, a double they know. Mathematically, they think "5 + (1 + 6) = (5 + 1) + 6," capitalizing on the associative property of addition to make the numbers into something they know.8 While children will not know the name of the property, they do know that breaking up the addends and re-associating them will result in the same sum, or that a + (b + c) = (a + b) + c. This begins the foundation of algebraic thinking.

With instructional support from their teacher, children may later – among a number of other increasingly sophisticated strategies – learn to decompose numbers in order to add using the strategy up over ten. With the example of 5 + 7, they may reverse the addends: To add 7 + 5, they may first add 3 (from the 5) to the 7 to get to 10 and then add the remaining 2 to get 12 (see Figure 1).

Figure 1: Up Over Ten Strategy for Single- and Double-Digit Addition.

When children reach these later strategies, like up over ten to solve 5 + 7 = 12 with speed and ease, some will commit the equation to memory as a fact, while others will need some short targeted drill.9 Equally important, these children will have built foundations for later mathematics, such as algebraic generalizations (a + b = b + a) and strategic efficiencies (breaking apart the second addend to get to ten and then adding the remainder).

Later, these students can employ the same strategy with double-digit calculations. For example, when solving 55 + 77, they can commute the addends to start with 77; they can then break apart the 55 to add up by 3 to the nearest decade number (80), add 50, and add the remaining 2 to get 132 (see Figure 1).

Subtraction and the roots of algebra and increasing efficiency

It is with subtraction strategies that we see more clearly the foundations of future mathematics. Consider 14 – 8. Initially, as in addition, children will count three times by counting out 14 objects, removing 8, and recounting the remaining objects to find 6. As children shift to the next phase, they may eventually use the strategy of counting on to subtract. (Figure 2 illustrates both strategies).

Figure 2: Subtraction as Removal (left) and Subtraction as Distance Between Numbers (right)

Rather than thinking of subtraction as simply removal, these children are now beginning to think about the distance between two numbers8. This is a profoundly different understanding of subtraction, and it is foundational to developing more efficient mental mathematics. Children who understand subtraction as the distance between numbers can solve subtraction calculations by adding up. They can also solve subtraction calculations by maintaining the distance (difference) while shifting numbers mentally to a nearby decade number. For example, the calculation 54 – 18 can be shifted up by 2 to the easier calculation of 56 – 20 (see Figure 3).

Figure 3: Solving 54 – 18 Using Constant Difference (left) and the Traditional British Subtraction Algorithm (right)

With further teacher support, students will be able to use this constant difference strategy to understand, for example, why the often-mysterious traditional British subtraction algorithm (which standardizes this strategy) works. They will be better poised to determine why adding ten to the minuend (top number) and adding ten to the subtrahend (bottom number) will give you the same difference, that is, 54 – 18 = (54 + 10) – (18 + 10).

These are but a few of the types of mathematical understandings and strategic efficiencies that children can achieve if they work through a range of increasingly efficient calculation methods rather than simply jumping to memorization. That said, another contention in the opening commentary must still be addressed.

Are children inventing their own methods for calculation?

The answer in effective classrooms is both yes and no. We have increasing evidence that teachers whose classes achieve the greatest amount of learning use a well-executed "guided-discovery" approach for learning facts,10 rather than direct instruction (which most of us would have experienced) or discovery mathematics (which the Guelph Mercury editorialist discussed). In classrooms where a guided-discovery approach is effectively used, we may hear conversations such as the one in the following excerpt.

Teacher: Your friend Natalie had 5 gummies and you gave her 7 more. How many did she have then?
Student: 12.
Teacher: Did you use the same strategy as last time?
Student: Yes, I counted on.
Teacher: You like that strategy?
Student: Yes I invented it. My friends use it in class.11

The student believed she had invented counting on and noted with pride that her classmates used the strategy. This invention was, of course, guided – the teacher created a problem scenario where children would be more likely to develop and use this strategy (the first addend was hidden) and when the strategy came up, the teacher highlighted it and worked with children who were ready to use it. She knew the continuum of strategies from earliest to more sophisticated and she was pressing her students to move beyond counting three times. The notion that children develop their own calculation methods randomly is far from what actually happens in an effective mathematics classroom.

In sum

Children should learn their number facts. However, they would benefit from learning these facts by using an increasingly sophisticated series of strategies rather than by jumping directly to memorization. As they work with these strategies, children develop deepening mathematical understandings that can be drawn on in everyday life as well as in junior- and high-school mathematics courses. Students who work through and become competent using increasingly sophisticated strategies do so, not through direct instruction, but rather as a result of teachers posing well-constructed problems that elicit and work with these evolving strategies, augmented by extensive practice in different contexts. Once children have worked through these reasoning strategies, they can memorize whatever facts have not yet become automatic using targeted drills.9

References

  1. Wake-up call needed on math skills [Editorial]. (2014, September 3). Guelph Mercury, p. A8.
  2. Fuson, K. (2003). Developing mathematical power in whole number operations. In J. Kilpatrick (Ed.), A research companion to principles and standards for school mathematics (pp. 68–94). Reston, VA: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
  3. Henry, V., & Brown, R. (2008). First-grade basic facts: An investigation into teaching and learning of an accelerated, high-demand memorization standard. Journal for Research in Mathematics Education, 39, 153–183.
  4. Baroody, A. (2006). Why children have difficulties mastering the basic number combinations and how to help them. Teaching Children Mathematics, 13, 22–31.
  5. Lawson, A. (2015). What to look for: Understanding and developing student thinking in early numeracy. Toronto, ON: Pearson.
  6. Sarama, J., & Clements, D. (2009). Early childhood mathematics education research: Learning trajectories for young children. New York, NY: Routledge.
  7. Kamii, C. (2000). Young children reinvent arithmetic: Implications of Piaget's Theory (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Teachers College Press.
  8. Fosnot, C. T., & Dolk, M. (2001). Young mathematicians at work: Constructing numbers sense, addition, and subtraction. Portsmouth: Heinemann.
  9. van de Walle, J., Karp, K., Bay-Williams, J., McGarvey, L., & Folk, S. (2015). Elementary and middle school mathematics: Teaching developmentally. (4th Canadian ed.). Toronto: Pearson.
  10. Gravemeijer, K., & van Galen, F. (2003). Making mathematics reasonable in school. In J. Kilpatrick, G. Martin, & D. Schifter (Eds.), A research companion for the principles and standards for school mathematics. Reston, VA: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
  11. Lawson, A. (2005) [Gr. 1 children's mathematical thinking]. Unpublished interview raw video data.

What Works? Research into Practice is produced by a partnership between the Ontario Association of Deans of Education and the Student Achievement Division.

To learn more about how to write a monograph, see Mobilizing Research into Practice in Meaningful Ways by Dr. Michelann Parr and Dr. Terry Campbell Co-editors.

What Works? is updated and posted here.

The opinions and conclusions contained in these monographs are, those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the policies, views, or directions of the Ontario Ministry of Education or the Student Achievement Division.

ISSN 1913-1097 What Works? Research Into Practice (Print)
ISSN 1913-1100 What Works? Research Into Practice (Online)

Faire la différence... De la recherche à la pratique

Les mathématiques : la zone entre la modélisation directe et la compétence

Par Alex Lawson, Ph.D., Université Lakehead

Monographie de recherche no 64
Avril 2016

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (447 Ko).

Le potentiel d'apprentissage qui existe dans la zone située entre la modélisation directe et la mémorisation des faits est un aspect fondamental de la réussite ultérieure en mathématiques et des habiletés intellectuelles. De quelle façon les élèves devraient-ils apprendre les mathématiques?

Au cours des dernières années, il y a eu un tollé médiatique au sujet du prétendu manque de maîtrise des faits numériques et le prétendu désintéressement des enseignants de faire en sorte que les élèves les mémorisent, comme l'indique cet extrait du Guelph Mercury :

La bureaucratie de l'éducation a longtemps eu un mépris pour les méthodes d'enseignement qui mettent l'accent sur les « faits numériques », comme les tables de multiplication et l'arithmétique simple, comme 7 + 8 = 15... Au lieu de cela, les écoles de l'Ontario utilisent surtout l'enseignement par la « découverte des mathématiques », qui permet aux élèves d'explorer les concepts en fonction de leur propre style d'apprentissage personnel.1

Bien que ces dichotomies fassent bonne presse, elles déforment la situation. La plupart des enseignants croient que tous les élèves devraient apprendre les faits numériques. Toutefois, ils croient également que les élèves devraient apprendre et comprendre beaucoup plus les mathématiques. Il ne suffit plus  de mémoriser les faits. En fait, cela ne l'a jamais été.

Pistes pour soutenir l'enseignement des faits numériques

  1. Reconnaître que l'apprentissage des faits numériques est un aspect fondamental de la réussite ultérieure en mathématiques et des habiletés intellectuelles.
  2. Soutenir les stratégies de calcul de plus en plus sophistiquées plutôt que de sauter à la mémorisation.
  3. Proposer des problèmes bien construits pour guider cette progression et encourager les stratégies personnelles des élèves.
  4. Avoir recours à la mémorisation pour effectuer des calculs de façon efficace seulement lorsque les stratégies de raisonnement sont bien acquises par les élèves.

Pratique passée

Nombre d'entre nous avons appris les faits numériques à l'aide de la modélisation directe – habituellement avec des objets concrets.2 Pour additionner 5 + 7, par exemple, on pouvait :

  1. compter un premier groupe de cinq objets;
  2. compter un deuxième groupe de sept objets;
  3. compter à nouveau de 1 à 12 (c.-à-d., la stratégie qui consiste à compter tout).

Une fois que nous maîtrisions cette méthode d'addition, nous avions mémorisé 5 + 7 = 12 sous la forme d'un fait isolé.

Malheureusement, ce passage rapide de la modélisation directe à la mémorisation a eu des conséquences pour de nombreux élèves.3,4 Le potentiel d'apprentissage qui existe entre la modélisation directe et la mémorisation des faits est un aspect fondamental de la réussite ultérieure en mathématiques et des habiletés intellectuelles. 

Quelles mathématiques se situent entre la modélisation directe et la mémorisation?

Avec le temps, les élèves adoptent une série de stratégies personnelles de plus en plus sophistiquées afin de résoudre les calculs et ils apprennent souvent les mathématiques qui les servent dans la classe et au-delà. Dans les classes, où les enseignants favorisent l'adoption de stratégies d'addition et de soustraction de plus en plus sophistiquées, les méthodes utilisées par les élèves reflètent trois phases générales de progression avant qu'ils ne deviennent compétents.2,5

Phase 1 : Modélisation directe et calcul. Considérez notre calcul précédent, 5 + 7. Au cours de cette phase, les élèves utilisent des stratégies, comme celle qui consiste à compter tout (décrites ci-dessus). De là, les élèves commencent à s'éloigner de la modélisation complète du problème.

Phase 2 : Compter plus efficacement. Les élèves utilisent des stratégies, comme celle qui consiste à compter des objets concrets à partir de 5, afin d'indiquer 6, 7, et ainsi de suite, en levant un doigt pour indiquer chaque nombre et tracer une droite numérique mentale jusqu'à ce qu'ils aient sept doigts levés. Ce faisant, ils passent du calcul d'un modèle direct (concret) du deuxième nombre, à un calcul mental
de la séquence de nombres. Leurs doigts ne sont plus des objets physiques qui servent à compter, mais, plutôt, un mécanisme permettant simultanément de « compter les nombres »6 et d'en faire le suivi.

Phase 3 : Travailler avec les nombres. Cette phase illustre les avantages mathématiques d'aider les enfants à évoluer au chapitre des méthodes de calcul par rapport à la mémorisation rapide des faits, alors que les élèves commencent à travailler avec des nombres plutôt que de les compter. Dans un premier temps, ils peuvent utiliser une certaine forme de dédoublement (stratégie des doubles).7 Par exemple, pour déterminer 5 + 7, certains élèves vont fractionner le 7 afin d'ajouter un 1 au 5, transformant l'expression en 6 + 6, un « double » qu'ils connaissent. Sur le plan du calcul, ils pensent comme ceci : « 5 + (1 + 6) = (5 + 1) + 6 » en tirant parti de la propriété associative de l'addition afin de transformer les nombres en quelque chose qu'ils connaissent.8 Même si les élèves ne peuvent pas connaître le nom de la propriété, ils savent qu'en morcelant les termes et en les réunifiant ils arriveront à la même somme, ou que a + (b + c) = (a + b) + c. Il s'agit des premiers éléments du fondement de la pensée algébrique.

Avec le soutien pédagogique de leur enseignante ou de leur enseignant, et en ayant recours à un certain nombre d'autres stratégies de plus en plus sophistiquées, les élèves peuvent plus tard apprendre à décomposer des nombres afin d'additionner à l'aide de la stratégie qui consiste à compter au-delà de dix (point d'ancrage 10). Avec l'exemple de 5 + 7, ils peuvent inverser les termes : pour additionner 7 + 5, ils peuvent d'abord additionner 3 (à partir du 5) au 7 pour arriver à 10, puis additionner le 2 qui reste afin d'obtenir 12 (voir la figure 1).

Figure 1 : La stratégie qui consiste à compter au-delà de dix (point d'ancrage 10) pour une addition de nombres à 1 chiffre ou à 2 chiffres.

Plus tard, lorsque les élèves ont recours à ces stratégies, comme celle qui consiste à compter au-delà de dix pour résoudre l'addition 5 + 7 = 12 avec rapidité et facilité, certains mémoriseront l'équation en tant que fait, tandis que d'autres auront besoin de courts exercices ciblés.9 Ce qui est tout aussi important, ces élèves auront jeté les bases de l'apprentissage ultérieur des mathématiques, comme les généralisations algébriques (a + b = b + a) et l'efficacité stratégique (décomposer le deuxième terme pour obtenir un dix, et additionner le reste ensuite).

Plus tard, ces élèves peuvent utiliser la même stratégie avec des calculs à deux chiffres. Par exemple, pour calculer 55 + 77, ils peuvent interchanger les termes afin de commencer par 77; ils peuvent aussi décomposer le 55, additionner 3 pour atteindre la dizaine la plus rapprochée (80), additionner 50, et additionner le 2 qui reste pour obtenir 132 (voir la figure 1).

La soustraction et les racines de l'algèbre et l'amélioration de l'efficacité

C'est avec les stratégies de soustraction que nous voyons plus clairement les fondements des futures mathématiques. Considérons 14 - 8. Dans un premier temps, comme pour l'addition, les élèves compteront à trois reprises en comptant d'abord 14 objets, ils en soustrairont 8, et ils recompteront les objets restants pour obtenir 6 (compter tout). Alors que les élèves passent à la phase suivante, ils peuvent éventuellement utiliser la stratégie qui consiste à additionner pour soustraire. (La figure 2 illustre les deux stratégies.)

Figure 2 : La soustraction par retrait (à gauche) et la soustraction indiquant la distance entre les nombres (à droite)

Plutôt que de penser simplement que la soustraction est un retrait, ces élèves commencent maintenant à penser à la distance entre deux nombres.8 Cela reflète une compréhension profondément différente de la soustraction, et elle est fondamentale dans le développement du calcul mental plus efficace. Les élèves qui comprennent la soustraction comme une distance entre les nombres peuvent résoudre des calculs de soustraction par l'addition. Ils peuvent également résoudre les calculs de soustraction en maintenant la distance (différence) tout en transposant des nombres mentalement afin d'atteindre la dizaine la plus rapprochée. Par exemple, le calcul 54 - 18 peut être modifié en y ajoutant 2 afin que le calcul de 56-20 soit plus facile (voir la figure 3).

Figure 3 : Résoudre 54 – 18 en utilisant la différence constante (à gauche) et l'algorithme de soustraction traditionnel britannique (à droite)

Avec l'aide continue de l'enseignante ou de l'enseignant, les élèves seront en mesure d'utiliser cette stratégie de différence constante afin de comprendre, par exemple, pourquoi fonctionne le souvent mystérieux algorithme de soustraction traditionnel britannique (qui uniformise cette stratégie). Ils seront plus aptes à déterminer pourquoi l'ajout de dix au nombre le plus élevé et l'ajout de dix au nombre le plus bas vous permettront d'obtenir la même différence, à savoir, 54 – 18 = (54 + 10) – (18 + 10). 

Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples des connaissances et des stratégies que les élèves peuvent utiliser en mathématiques afin d'améliorer leur efficacité s'ils évoluent vers une utilisation de méthodes de calcul de plus en plus efficaces plutôt que de simplement recourir à la mémorisation. Cela dit, une autre affirmation présentée dans le commentaire d'ouverture doit être abordée.

Les élèves inventent-ils leurs propres méthodes de calcul?

Dans les classes efficaces, on doit répondre oui et non. Nous avons de plus en plus de preuves qui indiquent que les enseignants dont les classes atteignent un degré le plus élevé d'apprentissage ont eu recours à une méthode de « découverte guidée » bien exécutée pour l'apprentissage des faits,10 plutôt que l'enseignement explicite (ce que la plupart d'entre nous avons connu) ou la découverte des mathématiques (dont l'éditorialiste du Guelph Mercury a discuté). Dans les classes où la méthode de la découverte guidée est utilisée efficacement, on peut entendre des conversations comme celle reproduite ci-dessous. 

Enseignante : Ton amie Natalie a 5 bonbons et tu lui en donnes 7 autres. Combien en a-t-elle maintenant?
Élève : 12.
Enseignante : As-tu utilisé la même stratégie la dernière fois?
Élève : Oui, j'ai compté les bonbons.
Enseignante : Tu aimes cette stratégie?
Élève : Oui, je l'ai inventée. Mes amies s'en servent en classe.11

L'élève croit qu'elle a inventé la stratégie de dénombrer des objets concrets et elle souligne avec fierté que ses camarades de classe l'utilisent également. Cette invention a été, bien sûr, guidée. L'enseignante a créé un scénario de problème dans le cadre duquel les élèves étaient plus susceptibles de développer et d'utiliser cette stratégie (le premier terme était caché), et lorsque la stratégie est apparue, l'enseignante l'a soulignée et elle a travaillé avec les élèves qui étaient prêts à l'utiliser. Elle connaissait le continuum des stratégies, allant des stratégies élémentaires aux plus sophistiquées, et elle poussait ses élèves à aller
au-delà de la méthode qui consiste à compter tout. La notion que les élèves développent leurs propres méthodes de calcul au hasard est loin de ce qui se passe réellement dans une classe de mathématiques efficace.

En résumé

Les élèves devraient apprendre leurs faits numériques. Toutefois, ils bénéficieraient d'apprendre ces faits à l'aide d'une série de stratégies de plus en plus sophistiquées plutôt que de recourir directement à la mémorisation. En travaillant avec ces stratégies, les élèves acquièrent des connaissances plus approfondies des mathématiques qui peuvent être utiles dans la vie quotidienne, ainsi que dans les cours de mathématiques de l'élémentaire et du secondaire. Les élèves qui progressent et deviennent habiles à utiliser des stratégies de plus en plus sophistiquées y parviennent, non pas grâce à l'enseignement explicite, mais plutôt parce que les enseignants ont proposé des problèmes bien construits qui font appel à ces stratégies en constante évolution et qui sont fondées sur une longue pratique dans différents contextes. Une fois que les élèves ont réfléchi à ces stratégies de raisonnement, ils peuvent mémoriser tous les faits qui ne sont pas encore devenus automatiques à l'aide d'exercices ciblés.9

Bibliographie

  1. Wake-up call needed on math skills [Editorial]. (3 septembre 2014). Guelph Mercury, pp. A8.
  2. Fuson, K. (2003). Developing mathematical power in whole number operations. Dans J. Kilpatrick (Ed.), A research companion to principles and standards for school mathematics (pp. 68–94). Reston, VA: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
  3. Henry, V., & Brown, R. (2008). First-grade basic facts: An investigation into teaching and learning of an accelerated, high-demand memorization standard. Journal for Research in Mathematics Education, 39, 153–183.
  4. Baroody, A. (2006). Why children have difficulties mastering the basic number combinations and how to help them. Teaching Children Mathematics, 13, 22–31.
  5. Lawson, A. (2015). What to look for: Understanding and developing student thinking in early numeracy. Toronto, ON: Pearson.
  6. Sarama, J., & Clements, D. (2009). Early childhood mathematics education research: Learning trajectories for young children. New York, NY: Routledge.
  7. Kamii, C. (2000). Young children reinvent arithmetic: Implications of Piaget's Theory (2e). New York, NY: Teachers College Press.
  8. Fosnot, C. T., & Dolk, M. (2001). Young mathematicians at work: Constructing numbers sense, addition, and subtraction. Portsmouth: Heinemann.
  9. van de Walle, J., Karp, K., Bay-Williams, J., McGarvey, L., & Folk, S. (2015). Elementary and middle school mathematics: Teaching developmentally. (4e édition can.). Toronto: Pearson.
  10. Gravemeijer, K., & van Galen, F. (2003). Making mathematics reasonable in school. Dans J. Kilpatrick, G. Martin, & D. Schifter (Eds.), A research companion for the principles and standards for school mathematics. Reston, VA: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
  11. Lawson, A. (2005) [Gr. 1 children's mathematical thinking]. Données tirées d'une entrevue non publiée.

La série de monographies Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique est produite en collaboration par l'Ontario Association of Deans of Education et la Division du rendement des élèves du ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de rédiger une monographie, voir : Mobiliser les résultats de la recherche pour les appliquer de façon significative, par Michelann Parr, Ph. D., et Terry Campbell, Ph. D., co-rédactrices.

La série Faire la différence est mise à jour et publiée ici.

Les opinions et les conclusions exprimées dans ces monographies sont celles des auteurs; elles ne reflètent pas nécessairement les politiques, les opinions et les orientations du ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario ou de la Division du rendement des élèves.

ISSN 1913-1097 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (imprimé)
ISSN 1913-1100 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (en ligne)