What Works? Research into Practice

Facilitating Activist Education

By Dr. Blair Niblett, School of Education and Professional Learning at Trent University

Research monograph # 66
April 2017

This document is also available as a PDF format. (231 KB)

Activism is about bringing to life ideas regarding power, fairness, democracy, and hope. What relationships exist between activism and education? How can educators leverage these relationships to support student achievement, equity, and well-being?

Tips for Activist Educators

  • Design projects that connect with curriculum expectations in ways that bring together schools and communities.
  • Partner with education-minded community activists like food banks, shelters, environmental groups, rainbow networks, cultural and community animators.
  • Provide exemplars of excellence to which students can aspire.

Social and Environmental Justice in Classroom Practice to Promote Achievement, Equity, and Well-Being

Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario states that creating “actively engaged citizens” (p.1)1 is a mission for Ontario’s schools. In addition, this guiding policy framework for schools in Ontario lists equity, well-being, and academic excellence as priorities. Activist-education learning activities such as participation in, and reflection on, community-based socio-political activism can be a significant strategy for achieving these goals and helping students develop into active citizens capable of initiating social and political change.

Activist education can be defined as an intentional educational practice in which participants engage in guided learning activities that help them understand themselves as capable of effecting change for social and ecological justice.2 Learning derived from activist education occurs through activities that are hands-on, minds-on, developmentally appropriate, and – at least partially – student-directed. Activities are presented in ways that open a practice field where students and educators can enact lived-democracy3 in the form of facilitated participation in, and sometimes resistance to, the structures that constitute human society on both local and global levels.

Why Schools Need Activism

In the past decade, activist movements have garnered significant global media attention. Citizen collectives such as Black Lives Matter, Occupy, Idle No More, and 350.org have come together to take action on racism, income inequality, Aboriginal rights, and climate change, respectively. These groups pose globally important social questions and demonstrate that citizen action is an important part of the contemporary human story. If Ontario’s schools are committed to helping students develop skills and dispositions for active citizenship, then it is incumbent on them to employ developmentally appropriate strategies to help students engage meaningfully with activist questions being voiced in contemporary societies.

One important task of activist education is a disruption of the sense of social apathy that many education researchers suggest pervades contemporary schools.2,3,4,5 One way educators can undertake this task is by intentionally developing classroom environments that facilitate activist inquiry.6 For example, an ongoing action research collaboration between the Toronto District School Board and the social innovation NGO TakingITGlobal integrates professional learning regarding “global citizenship, environmental stewardship, and student voice”7 with a five-day “ideas camp” for students. During the camp, students and educators explore a variety of social, environmental, and political issues; they express and share their thinking about these issues using new media and design strategies developed through instruction from industry experts participating in the ideas camp program.8

Activist Educators: Designing Environment, Ideas, and Actions

Activist education can be conceptualized as having three components: environments, ideas, and actions. Activist educators design each of these elements as they make decisions about how to create a supportive community of learners in their classrooms. While environment, ideas, and actions are highly interconnected, environment holds some primacy because it functions as a playing field on which ideas and actions can unfold and interact. Ideas and actions, while independent to a degree, are best addressed in tandem in order to highlight the importance of a pedagogical design in which students are invited to act on ideas and reflect on actions.

Environments
All learning is situated within an environment, and the character of the learning environment has significant impact on the nature of the learning that can take place.9,10 John Dewey’s seminal thinking about educational environments focused on the notion of experience, and Dewey viewed educators primarily as designers of environments in which children could learn. This way of thinking about teaching and learning is central to activist education. Successful activist educators design learning environments that facilitate feelings of safety and inclusion. Invitational education theory posits that one way of developing such learning environments is by designing schools as inviting spaces where students and educators work hard to consider how everything they say and do impacts others in the classroom environment.11 Design choices that foster activist education include both logistical elements like classroom arrangement (e.g., circles or groups versus rows) and relationship conventions (e.g., co-developing classroom norms with students, envisioning the educator as co-learner and students as co-teachers12). Cultivating a classroom environment where students feel safe, cared for, and empowered to ask critical questions is crucial in order to incubate ideas and actions that can be tested, practised, and refined in the real world.

Ideas and Actions
Putting ideas into actions is critical to activist education.2,13 Teachers who identify as activist educators design opportunities that invite students to take action on social and environmental issues. They also ask that students think deeply on these experiences and question ideas surrounding any given set of activist actions. Such reflective practices distinguish activist education from the broader field of activism. While activist education can occur in any context, the learning purpose inherent to schools offers focused opportunities to join activist actions with ideas connected to curriculum expectations.

What Teachers Can Do: Promoting Achievement, Equity, and Well-Being Through Activist Education

With its focus on social and ecological justice, activist education helps to connect student action with ideas regarding power, fairness, democracy, and hope. Skillful educators facilitate student learning about these critical concepts at developmentally appropriate levels. What follows are examples of pedagogical design for activist education that promotes achievement, equity, and well-being.

Promoting Achievement
Across the curricula, activist-education action projects can be designed to connect with curriculum expectations in ways that bring together schools and communities. Partnering with education-minded community activists (food banks, shelters, environmental groups, rainbow networks, cultural and community animators) can provide exemplars of excellence to which students can aspire. Hands-on, minds-on enactments of activism about issues connected to students’ lives and communities may provide a significant source of intellectual engagement.14

Primary/Junior Exemplar
Biweekly over two months, a Grade 3/4 class works in collaboration with a local chapter of the Raging Grannies to collect litter in parks near the school.

Each small group works with a volunteer granny to sort and weigh recyclables, organics, and garbage, and to depict data in graphs and pictographs. Students discuss the value of parks as public spaces and the importance of taking care of natural areas to reduce impacts. Together, they write up their discussions, digitize and post their graphs on the Raging Grannies’ blog, and present recommendations to the parks department on placement of waste receptacles. (This exercise connects with the following curricula: Social Studies, Grade 3., B2.1–2.2; Math, Grade 3, Data Management and Probability, data relationships; Language, Grade 3, Media literacy, 3.1–3.4.)

Promoting Equity
Participating in and reflecting on developmentally appropriate activism for social and ecological justice provide exposure to instances of equity and inequity within local and global communities. Learning through activist education promotes equity as students consider diverse practices and perspectives, and attempt to reconcile differences between themselves and others.

Junior/Intermediate Exemplar
A Grade 5 class visits the school in a neighbouring First Nation community to participate in the annual
Our Dreams Matter Too walk (www.fncaringsociety.com/our-dreams-matter-too). Leading up to the event, pen pals from each community exchange letters; as an elective, summative task, some work together to write letters to their Member of Parliament to advocate for more funding for schools in First Nation communities. (This exercise connects with the following curricula: Language, Grade 5, Writing, 1.1–1.3; Social Studies, Grade 5, B1.1–1.3.)

Promoting Well-Being
Taking part in activist experiences offers the potential for focused self-reflection on well-being. Students can consider how particular actions promote or detract from well-being for themselves and others. Teachers can draw attention to the ways that activist campaigns often emerge when groups identify a particular threat to their well-being and organize to resist that threat. Additionally, students should be encouraged to reflect on the need for self-care when taking part in activist campaigns. Activist education should always be safe for students: Make opportunities to examine the ways and reasons that activists sometimes forgo their own safety as they strive for socio-ecological change.

Intermediate/Senior Exemplar
Grade 12 students in a world issues class participate in a fasting campaign to develop understanding and awareness about local and global inequity in access to food. In debriefing, they discuss how it felt to be hungry, how it impacted their ability to function, the kinds of self-care they initiated at the end of the fasting campaign to safeguard well-being, and the reality that the simulation is unlike the experience of chronic persistent hunger because of the ability to resume a privileged eating routine. (This exercise connects with the following curricula: Grade 12, CGW4C/4U, B1.1–1.4.)

In Sum

Activist education engages students intellectually in learning tasks that are relevant to their lives and communities. Simultaneously, students may become engaged citizen-activists – people who see themselves as capable of affecting positive change for social and ecological justice. Many practices of activist education are supported by the principles of Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario, insofar as activist education serves to develop active citizenship. The exemplars herein offer invitations to collaborate with students to test pedagogical strategies that leverage theories and practice of experiential education toward increased achievement, equity, and well-being for all students.

References

  1. Ontario Ministry of Education (2014). Achieving excellence: A renewed vision for education in Ontario. Toronto: Queen’s Printer for Ontario.
  2. Niblett, B. (2014). Narrating activist education: Teachers’ stories of affecting social and political change. (Doctoral dissertation, Lakehead University).
  3. Carr, P. R. (2011). Does your vote count? Critical pedagogy and democracy. New York, NY: Peter Lang.
  4. Marshall, C., & Anderson, A. (2009). Activist educators. New York, NY: Routledge.
  5. Picower, B. (2012). Practice what you teach. New York, NY: Routledge.
  6. Literacy and Numeracy Secretariat (2012). The third teacher: Designing the learning environment for mathematics and literacy, K to 8. Toronto, ON: Queen’s Printer for Ontario.
  7. Toronto District School Board. (2014). Sprout ideas camp connects ideas, industry, and innovation.
  8. TakingITGlobal. (2014). TakingITGlobal + TDSB – 2014 Innovation Fair.
  9. Dewey, J. (1918). Democracy and education. New York, NY: Macmillan.
  10. Dewey, J. (1937). Experience and education. New York, NY: Macmillan.
  11. Purkey, W. W., & Novak, J. M. (2008). Fundamentals of invitational education. Kennesaw, GA: The International Alliance for Invitational Education.
  12. Freire, P. (1970). Pedagogy of the oppressed. New York, NY: Continuum.
  13. Breunig, M. C. (2005). Turning experiential education and critical pedagogy theory into praxis. Journal of Experiential Education, 28, 106–122.
  14. Dunleavy, J., Milton, P., & Willms, J. D. (2012). Trends in intellectual engagement. (What did you do in school today?) Research Series Report No. 3. Toronto, ON: Canadian Education Association.

What Works? Research into Practice is produced by a partnership between the Ontario Association of Deans of Education and the Student Achievement Division.

To learn more about how to write a monograph see Mobilizing Research into Practice in Meaningful Ways
By Dr. Michelann Parr and Dr. Terry Campbell Co-editors

What Works? is updated and posted here.

The opinions and conclusions contained in these monographs are, those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the policies, views, or directions of the Ontario Ministry of Education or the Student Achievement Division.

ISSN 1913-1097 What Works? Research Into Practice (Print)
ISSN 1913-1100 What Works? Research Into Practice (Online)

Faire la différence... De la recherche à la pratique

Faciliter l’enseignement humaniste

par Blair Niblett, de la Faculté d’éducation et d’apprentissage professionnel de l’Université de Trent.

Monographie de recherche n° 66
Avril 2017

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (280 ko).

Le courant humaniste consiste à donner vie à des idées concernant le pouvoir, l’équité, la démocratie et l’espoir. Quel rapport y a-t-il entre l’humanisme et l’enseignement? Comment le personnel enseignant peut-il mettre à profit ces rapports afin d’appuyer le rendement, l’équité et le bien-être des élèves?

Conseils aux enseignantes et enseignants

  • Concevoir des actions qui établissent des liens, d’une part, avec les attentes du curriculum et, d’autre part, entre les écoles et la collectivité.
  • Forger des partenariats au sein de la collectivité avec des groupes militants dont vous souhaitez appuyer la cause, p. ex., des responsables de banques d’alimentation, refuges, groupes écologistes, réseaux arc-en-ciel, ou encore des animateurs culturels et communautaires.
  • Fournir aux élèves des exemples d’excellence qui peuvent leur servir d’inspiration.

Incorporer la justice sociale et environnementale à la pratique en salle de classe pour promouvoir le rendement, l'équité et le bien-être des élèves

Atteindre l’excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario donne aux écoles de l’Ontario la mission d’aider les apprenantes et apprenants à devenir des « citoyennes et citoyens […] engagés dans leur communauté » (p. 1)1. De plus, ce cadre d’orientation pour les écoles ontariennes consolide à celles-ci les priorités comme l’équité, le bien-être et l’excellence scolaire. Les activités d’apprentissage prévues par ce type d’enseignement, dont par exemple la défense de causes sociopolitiques ou communautaires et la réflexion sur celles-ci, peuvent grandement contribuer à réaliser ces priorités et aider les élèves à devenir des citoyennes et citoyens actifs, capables d’amener le changement social et politique.

L’enseignement humaniste peut se définir comme une pratique de l’enseignement qui propose aux élèves des activités d’apprentissage guidé susceptibles de les aider à prendre conscience de leur capacité d’amener le changement en faveur d’une plus grande justice sociale et environnementale2. Dans le contexte d’un enseignement humaniste, l’apprentissage découle d’activités faisant appel aussi bien au corps qu’à l’esprit, adaptées au niveau de développement des élèves et guidées, ne serait-ce qu’en partie, par les élèves mêmes. La forme que prennent ces activités permet aux élèves comme aux enseignants de voir la démocratie en mouvement3, en ce sens qu’elles les incitent à participer, et parfois à s’opposer, aux structures de notre société, tant à l’échelle locale que mondiale.

L’importance de l’activisme pour les écoles

Ces dix dernières années, les mouvements militants ont souvent fait la manchette, et ce, partout au monde. Les groupes militants comme Black Lives Matter, Occupy, Idle No More et 350.org, visent, respectivement, à dénoncer le racisme, éliminer l’inégalité des revenus, défendre les droits des Autochtones et lutter contre le changement climatique. Ces groupes soulèvent des questions importantes pour la société partout au monde et apportent la preuve que l’action citoyenne est un aspect important de l’histoire humaine contemporaine. Les écoles ontariennes doivent avoir recours à des stratégies adaptées au niveau de développement de leurs élèves pour les aider à confronter ces questions de manière censée, si elles veulent que les élèves acquièrent les compétences et l’attitude nécessaires à une citoyenneté active.

L’un des aspects les plus importants de l’enseignement humaniste est qu’il permet d’ébranler l’apathie sociale qui, selon bien des chercheurs en éducation, caractériserait les écoles modernes2,3,4,5. Le personnel enseignant peut atteindre cet objectif en créant sciemment dans les salles de classe une atmosphère propice à l’enquête militantiste6. À titre d’exemple, une collaboration en cours entre le Toronto District School Board et l’organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) d’innovation sociale TakingITGlobal intègre l’apprentissage professionnel sur la citoyenneté mondiale, la gérance de l’environnement et la voix des élèves7 avec un camp de réflexion de cinq jours pour ces derniers. Durant ce camp, les élèves et les enseignants se penchent sur une variété de questions sociales, écologiques et politiques, expriment et partagent leurs idées s’y rapportant à l’aide des nouveaux médias et élaborent des stratégies pour y faire face grâce aux conseils que leur donnent des spécialistes des domaines en jeu conviés à se joindre à eux à cette occasion8.

Le milieu, les idées et les actions qu’engendrent les enseignants activistes

L’enseignement militant peut être caractérisé comme ayant trois composantes : le milieu, les idées et les actions. Les enseignantes et enseignants humanistes influent sur chacun de ces éléments au moment de décider comment instaurer une solide communauté d’apprentissage dans leur classe. S’il est vrai que ces éléments sont étroitement liés, le milieu occupe une place primordiale parce qu’il sert de base à l’éclosion et à l’interaction des idées et des actions. Malgré la relative indépendance des idées et des gestes,il est préférable de les aborder ensemble, afin de souligner l’importance d’une conception de la pédagogie qui invite les élèves à concrétiser leurs idées et à réfléchir à leurs actions.

Le milieu
Tout apprentissage se situe dans un milieu spécifique et la nature de ce milieu exerce une grande influence sur la qualité de l’apprentissage9,10. Dans ses nombreux ouvrages sur la question, John Dewey attache une valeur prépondérante à l’expérience et voit les enseignants avant tout comme des créateurs de milieux favorisant l’apprentissage des enfants. Cette conception de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage est essentielle à l’enseignement humaniste. Les enseignantes et enseignants qui maîtrisent ce type d’enseignement proposent à leurs élèves un milieu d’apprentissage sécurisant et inclusif. Certains chercheurs affirment que l’une des façons d’instaurer ce type de milieu d’apprentissage est de concevoir les écoles comme des lieux accueillants où les élèves et le personnel enseignant s’efforcent sans cesse de tenir compte des retombées de leurs paroles et de leurs actions sur les autres au sein de la classe11. Les choix conceptuels qui favorisent l’enseignement humaniste sont aussi bien d’ordre logistique, notamment en ce qui concerne l’agencement des salles de classe (p. ex., la disposition en cercle plutôt qu’en rangées) et les relations entre les enseignants et les élèves (p. ex., la participation des élèves à l’établissement des règles à respecter en classe ou encore la perception des enseignantes et enseignants comme coapprenants et des élèves comme coenseignants)12. La création dans les salles de classe d’un milieu où les élèves se sentent en sécurité, appréciés et autorisés à poser des questions fondamentales est cruciale si l’on veut faire jaillir des idées et des actions pouvant être mises à l’essai, concrétisées et intégrées dans la vie réelle.

Les idées et les actions
Le passage à l’action est indispensable à l’enseignement humaniste 2,13. Les personnes qui pratiquent ce type d’enseignement offrent à leurs élèves des occasions d’agir et de faire face à des enjeux sociaux et écologiques. Elles les invitent par ailleurs à réfléchir sérieusement à ces expériences et à remettre en question toute notion préconçue relative à différents types de militantisme. C’est cette réflexion qui distingue l’enseignement humaniste de l’humanisme proprement dit. S’il est vrai que l’enseignement humaniste pourrait avoir lieu n’importe où, dans les écoles, il permet l’établissement de liens entre les gestes militants et les idées associées aux attentes du curriculum.

Le rôle des enseignants dans la promotion du rendement, de l’équité et du bien-être par l’entremise de l’enseignement humaniste

Vu sa focalisation sur la justice sociale et environnementale, l’enseignement humaniste aide à faire des liens entre les actions des élèves et les idées touchant le pouvoir, l’équité, la démocratie et l’espoir. Les enseignantes et enseignants font bien de faciliter l’apprentissage des élèves au sujet de ces notions cruciales d’une manière adaptée à leur niveau de développement. Les paragraphes qui suivent donnent quelques exemples de conceptions pédagogiques de l’enseignement activiste qui favorisent le rendement, l’équité et le bien-être des élèves.

Promotion du rendement
Tous les programmes-cadres se prêtent à un enseignement humaniste générateur d’actions qui établissent des liens, d’une part, avec les attentes du curriculum et, d’autre part, entre les écoles et la collectivité. Forger des partenariats au sein de la collectivité avec des groupes militants dont vous souhaitez appuyer la cause (p. ex., des responsables de banques d’alimentation, refuges, groupes écologistes, réseaux arc-en-ciel ou encore des animateurs culturels et communautaires) peut fournir aux élèves des exemples d’excellence qui peuvent leur servir d’inspiration. Les initiatives concrètes et réfléchies de militantisme des domaines qui touchent la vie des élèves et de leurs communautés peuvent s’avérer une excellente source de stimulation intellectuelle14.

Exemple aux cycles primaire et moyen
Tous les quinze jours pendant deux mois, les élèves d’une classe de 3e/4e année s’associent aux membres d’une section locale des Raging Grannies pour ramasser des déchets dans les parcs à proximité de leur école.

Les élèves sont par la suite répartis en plusieurs petits groupes, dont chacun aide une dame âgée bénévole à trier et peser les matières recyclables, les matières organiques et les déchets, pour ensuite représenter les résultats de leurs tris et pesées sous forme de graphiques et de pictogrammes. Les élèves discutent de la valeur des parcs comme espaces publics et de l’importance d’en prendre soin afin de minimiser les incidences négatives sur l’environnement. Ensemble, les élèves rédigent une synthèse de leurs discussions, numérisent et affichent leurs graphiques sur le blogue des Raging Grannies et présentent des recommandations au Service des parcs concernant l’importance de l’emplacement des poubelles. (Cette activité établit des liens entre les programmes-cadres d’études sociales, de mathématiques, de traitement des données et probabilité, et de français.)

Promotion de l’équité
La participation des élèves à des actions en faveur de la justice sociale et environnementale adaptées à leur niveau de développement leur permet d’être exposés à des exemples d’iniquité et d’inégalité à l’échelle locale ou mondiale. L’apprentissage qu’offre un enseignement militantisme favorise l’équité, vu qu’il amène les élèves à réfléchir à une variété de pratiques et de points de vue, de même qu’à tenter de concilier leurs divergences d’opinions avec autrui.

Exemple aux cycles moyen et intermédiaire
Les élèves d’une classe de 5e année doivent se rendre dans une école d’une Première Nation voisine pour participer à sa marche annuelle Our Dreams Matter Too (« nos rêves comptent aussi »). Au préalable, les élèves des deux écoles échangent des lettres. Quelques-uns d’entre eux choisissent, comme tâche d’évaluation au choix, de rédiger ensemble des lettres à leur député fédéral l’exhortant à accroître le financement des écoles des Premières Nations. (Cette activité établit des liens entre les programmes-cadres de français et d’études sociales.)

Promotion du bien-être
La participation des élèves à des actions militantes les aide à réfléchir à leur propre bien-être et celui des autres. Elle les amène à se questionner à savoir dans quelle mesure certaines actions favorisent ou au contraire entravent leur bien-être et celui d’autrui. Le personnel enseignant peut attirer leur attention sur le fait que le point de départ des actions militantes est souvent la prise de conscience d’une menace pour le bien-être d’un groupe, dont les membres s’organisent alors pour faire opposition à cette menace. Il serait par ailleurs bon d’encourager les élèves à songer à l’importance de prendre soin de leur propre personne lors de toute participation à une campagne, quelle qu’elle soit. L’enseignement militant ne doit jamais présenter le moindre risque pour les élèves : aidez les élèves à examiner comment et pourquoi les groupes militants compromettent parfois leur sécurité ou même mettent leur vie en danger pour essayer d’amener un changement socio-écologique.

Exemple aux cycles intermédiaire et supérieur
Les élèves de 12e année qui suivent un cours sur les enjeux mondiaux font un jeûne pour essayer de se sensibiliser aux inégalités locales et mondiales en matière d’accès à la nourriture et de mieux en comprendre les causes et les conséquences. Par la suite, les élèves discutent de leur sensation de faim, de l’influence que leur faim a eu sur leur capacité de fonctionner, de la manière dont ils ont rompu leur jeûne pour préserver leur bien-être et du fait que leur jeûne volontaire n’était en rien comparable à la situation d’une personne confrontée à la faim en permanence, vu qu’ils ont le privilège de pouvoir reprendre leurs habitudes alimentaires. (Cette activité établit des liens avec le programme-cadre d’études canadiennes et mondiales et le cours de 12e année.)

Résumé

L’enseignement humaniste stimule l’intelligence des élèves par des tâches d’apprentissage pertinentes en regard de leur vie et de leur communauté. Parallèlement, il aide les élèves à devenir des citoyennes et citoyens actifs qui se sentent capables d’amener un changement positif dans le sens d’une plus grande justice sociale et environnementale. L’enseignement humaniste sert à promouvoir une citoyenneté active et bon nombre de ses pratiques reflètent les principes énoncés dans Atteindre l’excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario. Les exemples fournis dans le présent document se veulent une incitation à collaborer avec les élèves pour mettre à l’essai des stratégies pédagogiques fondées sur les théories et la pratique de l’enseignement humanisme en vue d’améliorer le rendement, l’équité et le bien-être de tous les élèves.

Bibliographie

  1. ONTARIO. Ministère de l’Éducation (2014). Atteindre l’excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario. Toronto, Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario.
  2. NIBLETT, B. (2014). Narrating activist education: Teachers’ stories of affecting social and political change, Thèse (Ph. D.), Université Lakehead, [En ligne].
  3. CARR, P. R. (2011). Does your vote count? Critical pedagogy and democracy, New York, NY : Peter Lang.
  4. MARSHALL, C., et A. ANDERSON (2009). Activist educators, New York, NY : Routledge.
  5. PICOWER, B. (2012). Practice what you teach, New York, NY : Routledge.
  6. DIVISION DU RENDMENT DES ÉLÈVES (mai 2013). Le troisième enseignant : Concevoir le milieu d’apprentissage des mathématiques et de la littératie, de la maternelle à la 8e année, Toronto, Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario.
  7. TORONTO DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD. (2014). Sprout ideas camp connects ideas, industry, and innovation, [En ligne].
  8. TAKINGITGLOBAL. (2014). TakingITGlobal + TDSB – 2014 Innovation Fair, [En ligne].
  9. DEWEY, J. (1918). Democracy and education, New York, NY : Macmillan.
  10. DEWEY, J. (1937). Experience and education, New York, NY : Macmillan.
  11. PURKEY, W. W. et J. M. NOVAK (2008). Fundamentals of invitational education, Kennesaw, GA: The International Alliance for Invitational Education.
  12. FREIRE, P. (1970). Pedagogy of the oppressed, New York, NY : Continuum.
  13. BREUNIG, M. C. (2005). “Turning experiential education and critical pedagogy theory into praxis”, Journal of Experiential Education, vol. 28, p. 106-122.
  14. DUNLEAVY, J., P. MILTON et J. D. WILLMS (2012). “What did you do in school today?”, Research Series, Report Number Three: Trends in intellectual engagement, Toronto, ON: Association canadienne d’éducation, [En ligne].

La série de monographies Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique est produite en collaboration par l’Ontario Association of Deans of Education et la Division du rendement des élèves du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de rédiger une monographie, visitez : Mobiliser les résultats de la recherche pour les appliquer de façon significative, par Michelann Parr, Ph. D., et Terry Campbell, Ph. D., co-rédactrices.

La série Faire la différence est mise à jour et publiée ici.

Les opinions et les conclusions exprimées dans ces monographies sont celles des auteurs; elles ne reflètent pas nécessairement les politiques, les opinions et les orientations du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario ou de la Division du rendement des élèves.

ISSN 1913-1097 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (imprimé)
ISSN 1913-1100 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (en ligne)