What Works? Research into Practice

Meaningful Making

Establishing a Makerspace in Your School or Classroom

By Dr. Janette Hughes, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Research monograph # 68
April 2017

This document is also available as a PDF format. (431 KB)

Makerspaces are creative spaces where people gather to tinker, create, invent, and learn. What do educators need to understand about maker pedagogies, and how can maker pedagogies support student learning across subject areas?

Mindset is key ...
Maker pedagogies promote important principles including inquiry, play, imagination, innovation,
critical thinking, problem solving, collaboration, and personalized learning.

  • To see a maker mindset in action
  • To learn more about a research project on makerspaces across Ontario, involving over 50 educators, administrators and tech facilitators, visit Steam 3D Lab

Community makerspaces are becoming a widespread phenomenon. Makerspaces are creative spaces where people gather to tinker, create, invent, and learn. The maker movement was borne out of the increasing number of people who creatively engage in both physical (or tangible) and digital fabrication to solve an existing problem or need and to share their design and making with a community of like-minded innovators.1 The increasing popularity of the maker movement and makerspaces is not surprising to MAKE magazine founder Dale Dougherty; as Dougherty argues in his 2011 TED Talk, we are all makers.

Do-it-yourself (DIY) paradigms have recently re-emerged as a medium for creative expression2 and self-directed learning.3,4 As they gain popularity, these DIY models, rooted in design thinking and innovation, are beginning to move into the realm of formal education. In educational realms, the maker movement is associated primarily with science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) or with STEAM (which adds a focus on embedding the Arts into STEM). More generally, maker pedagogies promote important principles including inquiry, play, imagination, innovation, critical thinking, problem solving, collaboration, and personalized learning.5,6 Maker pedagogies build on project- and problem-based learning, design thinking, and remixing practices, all of which are often highlighted in media-literacy programs. A current need in this area is to define best practices and to better understand how to utilize making for the purpose of learning.1,7

The maker movement has led to increased creation of new, in-school makerspaces for practising hands-on learning, encouraging girls to participate in STEM activities, and emphasizing the idea that every child can become an innovator.1 Situated within a constructionist approach to education,8 making connects the physical processes of constructing something with digital media. Making with digital media is not new in education; teachers have been working with their students to create digital stories and other digital texts for many years. The recent advent of user-friendly digital tools augments this digital fabrication, making it easier for students to create multimodal, multimedia content. Importantly, this positions students as producers rather than just consumers.9

Constructionist learning encourages students to learn from their own active engagement with raw materials. Papert, an early proponent of constructionism, proposed a “low-floor, high-ceiling” learning environment, in which students engage in digital coding in a form that depends little on prerequisite knowledge yet offers opportunities to explore and to build concepts and relationships well beyond students’ formal grade levels.8 Creating interactive stories, simulations, games, and both physical and wearable technologies entails using digital tools to integrate, critically analyze, synthesize, create, communicate, and collaborate.

Meaningful Making

Critical making goes beyond simply creating objects for the sake of creating objects (e.g., creating 3-D keychains); it concerns itself with technologies and their relationship to social life, with an emphasis on their emancipatory potential to bring about change and improvement. Thus, it connects two practices that are often considered separate: critical thinking and creative expression.10 Critical making assumes that learning is most effective when students are active in making tangible objects in the world and are able to draw their own conclusions through experimentation across multiple media, constructing new relationships with knowledge in the process.10 To avoid the dangers of trivialization of making “stuff” that will end up in landfill sites, educators should avoid the kind of quick demonstration projects typically associated with makerspaces, and move toward learning that is more meaningful and contextualized.11 To facilitate this kind of contextualized learning, makerspace pedagogies can be used in close connection to the Ontario Ministry of Education curriculum documents. For example, during a novel study, students can design and print a 3-D model of the book’s setting.

Promoting a Maker Culture

What distinguishes a makerspace from a place where people make stuff is the inherent culture. A makerspace is much more than the equipment that is housed there. A makerspace should be committed to a culture of innovation and should provide the skills and foundation that students need to succeed in this kind of learning environment.12 A maker culture promotes risk-taking, learning from mistakes, problem-solving, and developing an ability to persevere when tasks are difficult. It also fosters higher-order thinking skills and opportunities to share learning at local and global community levels through Maker Faires and websites such as Instructables, Thingiverse, and DIY.

Considerations for Establishing a Makerspace

Purpose: Makerspaces promote collaboration and community engagement through sharing. Every makerspace is unique and should be based on the needs and interests of the community of makers.Take time to find out what students want to do in the makerspace and tailor the space accordingly. For example, consider whether the focus will be on STEM or STEAM education or otherwise.

Space: Decisions about what to include in your makerspace will also depend on what space is available in the school and who will be using the space. It should be accessible to all students but may only accommodate a small number at a time. Most schools are setting up makerspaces in school resource centres/libraries, but with more schools moving to a BYOD model, the former computer lab may also be a space that can be converted.

Budget: The financial commitment required to establish and maintain a makerspace is significant, but there are ways to stretch the budget to provide more making activities. Recycling and upcycling can empower students to make in eco-conscious ways. Although many costly makerspace classroom kits are available for purchase, there are also generic or low-cost alternatives that can reduce costs; for example, common items such as LED lights and batteries can be purchased in bulk or at the dollar store. See Steam 3D Lab for other suggestions.

Tools and Materials: The purpose of your makerspace will help determine which tools, supplies, and materials you will need to purchase. For example, are both a 3-D printer and laser cutter necessary, or will just one of these tools be enough to get started? Will there be media equipment, such as a green screen and video recorder? If the students are going to create games and coding, MaKey MaKey innovation kits will enable them to build game controllers. If young students are going to practise circuit work, they can begin with paper-based circuits and move to more sophisticated tools, such as Raspberry Pi microcontrollers, as they become more advanced.

Take time to find out what students want to do in the makerspace and tailor the space accordingly.

Making in the Classroom

For educators who do not have access to a fully-equipped makerspace in the school or local community, a centre or station approach in the classroom can be an effective way to begin integrating maker pedagogies without investing a lot of money. In setting up the centre, it may be helpful to keep in mind that maker pedagogies embody the principles of Universal Design for Learning, because they enable the use of multiple means of representation, expression, and engagement. Further, although makerspaces are typically associated with STEM subjects, they can be integrated with other subjects as well. Below, I offer three examples (based on current research) of centres that may be set up to enhance the literacy program through an integrated approach.

Electronic Textiles Centre: Wearables or e-textiles are clothing and accessories that include lights, sensors, motors, and micro-computers and are becoming more popular in athletics, fashion, and the health sector. Students engaged in any literature study can experiment with e-textiles by creating simple designs for bracelets, T-shirts, hats, puppets, bookmarks, or garments to represent characters in a novel. See Sew Electric for some simple ideas to get started.

Coding/Gaming Centre: Scratch is a free programming language that allows even the youngest students to create and share interactive stories and games. Students can design stories from “scratch” or they can use existing projects and integrate them with what they are reading in class to create something new. Examples of interactive stories can be found at Interactive Stories

3-D Printing Centre: Digital fabrication has advanced rapidly in just a few short years, and students do not need to print their final products to engage with the fabrication process. Tinkercad is an easy-to-use design program that allows students to design anything they can imagine. The website offers online tutorials and a gallery of existing designs that can be adapted. A large repository of designs can also be accessed at Thingiverse. Students can design sets, props, or symbols based on any piece of literature. Imagine your students designing a modern Globe Theatre when you introduce Shakespeare!

In Sum

It can be a challenge to find a suitable and dedicated space to house a school makerspace and to properly outfit that space with the most current tools and technologies. The benefits of a makerspace, however, are certainly worth the effort and cost, especially when issues of sustainability are foregrounded so that students can participate in recycling and upcycling programs. A designated place – whether it be a room in the school learning commons or library, or a centre or station in the classroom that changes its focus regularly – allows students to benefit from playing, tinkering, discovering, designing, and even failing.

References

  1. Halverson, E., & Sheridan, K. (2014). The maker movement in education. Harvard Educational Review, 84, 495–504.
  2. Buechley, L., Peppler, K., Eisenberg, M., & Kafai, Y. (2013). Textile messages: Dispatches from the world of e-textiles and education. New York, NY: Peter Lang.
  3. Martinez, S. L., & Stager, G. S. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Torrance, CA: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.
  4. Kafai, Y. B., Fields, D. A., & Searle, K. A. (2014). Electronic textiles as disruptive designs: Supporting and challenging maker activities in schools. Harvard Educational Review, 84, 532–556.
  5. Kurti, R., Kurti, D., & Fleming, L. (2014). The philosophy of educational makerspaces. Teacher Librarian, 41(5), 8–11.
  6. Martinez, S., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Torrance, CA: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.
  7. Cohen, J., Jones, W. M., Smith, S., & Calandra, B. (2016). Makification: Towards a framework for leveraging the maker movement in formal education. In Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2016 (pp. 129–135). Chesapeake, VA: Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE).
  8. Papert, S. (1980). Mindstorms. New York, NY: Basic Books.
  9. Hughes, J., & Morrison, L. (2014). At the intersection of critical digital literacies, YAL and literature circles. ALAN Review, 42(1), 35–43.
  10. Ratto, M. (2011). Critical making: Conceptual and material studies. The Information Society: An International Journal, 27, 252–260.
  11. Blikstein, P. (2013). Digital fabrication and “making” in education: The democratization of invention. In J. Walter-Herrmann & C. Büching (Eds.), FabLabs: Of machines, makers,and inventors (pp. 203–222). Bielefeld, Germany: Transcript Publishers.
  12. Fleming, L. (2015). Worlds of making: Best practices for establishing a makerspace for your school. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin.

What Works? Research into Practice is produced by a partnership between the Ontario Association of Deans of Education and the Student Achievement Division.

To learn more about how to write a monograph see Mobilizing Research into Practice in Meaningful Ways
By Dr. Michelann Parr and Dr. Terry Campbell Co-editors

What Works? is updated and posted here.

The opinions and conclusions contained in these monographs are, those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the policies, views, or directions of the Ontario Ministry of Education or the Student Achievement Division.

ISSN 1913-1097 What Works? Research Into Practice (Print)
ISSN 1913-1100 What Works? Research Into Practice (Online)

Faire la différence... De la recherche à la pratique

La création significative

Comment mettre en place un espace de fabrication collectif dans votre école ou salle de classe

par Janette Hughes, Ph. D., Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario

Monographie de recherche n° 68
Avril 2017

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (266 ko).

Les espaces de fabrication collectifs (Makerspaces en anglais) sont des lieux où on se retrouve pour bricoler, inventer, créer et apprendre. Que faut-il savoir sur la pédagogie de création appliquée dans ces espaces et en quoi celle-ci peut-elle favoriser l'apprentissage des élèves dans tous les domaines d'études?

Une question de mentalité
La pédagogie de création renforce d’importantes aptitudes, telles que la recherche, le jeu, l’imagination, l’innovation, l’esprit critique, la résolution de problèmes, la collaboration et l’apprentissage individualisé.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur une recherche dans ce domaine, menée par plus de 50 représentants du milieu de l’éducation, y compris des responsables de l’éducation comme des services administratifs et techniques (en anglais seulement)

Les espaces de fabrication collectifs, des lieux de rencontre où bricoler, inventer, créer et apprendre, se multiplient rapidement. Ce phénomène reflète le nombre croissant de personnes cherchant à répondre à un problème ou à un besoin donné par des activités de fabrication concrètes et numériques qui laissent libre cours à leur créativité, tout en favorisant le partage et la collaboration avec d'autres personnes innovatrices partageant les mêmes idées1. L'envolée de ce phénomène n'a rien de surprenant pour Dale Dougherty, fondateur de la revue MAKE : comme il le dit si bien dans sa conversation TED de 2011, nous avons toutes et tous le goût et le pouvoir de création.

L'idée du bricolage, du « fait par soi-même », est de nouveau d'actualité comme moyen d'expression créative2 et d'apprentissage autogéré3,4. Cette pratique fait fond sur la pensée de conception (design thinking en anglais) et l'innovation, et se répand tant et si bien qu'elle commence à faire son apparition dans la formation scolaire. Dans le milieu de l'éducation, cette tendance se dessine surtout dans les disciplines dites STIM (sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques) ou STIAM (qui incorporent également les arts). De façon plus générale, la pédagogie de création renforce d'importantes aptitudes, telles que la recherche, le jeu, l'imagination, l'innovation, l'esprit critique, la résolution de problèmes, la collaboration et l'apprentissage individualisé5,6. Elle prend appui sur l'apprentissage par la résolution de problèmes, la pensée de conception et l'amalgame de diverses pratiques, autant d'éléments souvent mis de l'avant par les programmes de compétence médiatique. Cette pédagogie présente toutefois des lacunes qu'il conviendrait de combler, à savoir qu'il faudrait définir les pratiques efficaces à adopter dans les espaces de fabrication collectifs et mieux cerner la manière d'utiliser les activités qui s'y déroulent à des fins d'apprentissage1,7.

Le mouvement des espaces de fabrication collectifs conduit à l'augmentation de la pratique dans une foule d'écoles où ils incitent les élèves, et en particulier les filles, à mettre leur apprentissage STIM en pratique, soulignant ainsi que chaque enfant porte en soi la capacité d'innover1. Reflet d'une approche de l'éducation qui mise sur le constructivisme8, ce style de pédagogie relie les éléments matériels qui entrent en jeu lors du processus de fabrication et les technologies numériques. Les moyens numériques n'ont rien de nouveau comme outils de fabrication dans le milieu de l'éducation : élèves et enseignants se servent depuis bien des années de supports électroniques pour créer des récits et autres textes à lecture numérique. Toutefois, leur emploi lors des activités de fabrication dans les écoles se popularise, vu la plus grande convivialité des outils de dernière génération qui aident les élèves à créer en un tour de main du contenu multimodal et multimédia. Cette évolution a surtout pour effet de faire des élèves des producteurs, plutôt que de simples consommateurs9.

L'enseignement fondé sur le constructivisme encourage les élèves à apprendre en tirant les leçons de la manipulation de matières premières. Papert, l'un des premiers adeptes du constructivisme en éducation, avançait l'idée d'un milieu d'apprentissage avec peu de prérequis, mais sans limites. Un milieu offrant aux élèves même novices la possibilité de faire l'essai du codage numérique et donc d'explorer et d'approfondir des concepts et des relations dépassant, et de loin, le niveau de connaissances normalement associé à leur année d'études8. L'élaboration de récits, de simulations et de jeux interactifs, ou encore de technologies matérielles et logicielles, à l'aide d'outils numériques entraîne des efforts d'intégration, d'analyse critique, de synthèse, de création, de communication et de collaboration.

La création significative

Avec son esprit critique, cette forme de création dépasse l’idée de créer simplement pour la beauté du geste (p. ex., des porte-clés en 3D) : elle s’intéresse aux technologies et à leur influence sur la vie sociale, et plus particulièrement au rôle qu’elles peuvent jouer en vue d’amener un changement pour le mieux. Ainsi, elle repose simultanément sur deux aptitudes généralement considérées distinctes, l’esprit critique et l’expression créative10. Cette forme de création part du principe que la meilleure façon pour les élèves d’apprendre est de participer activement à la fabrication d’objets réels et de tirer leurs propres conclusions d’expérimentations faites à l’aide de plusieurs médias, construisant par la même occasion de nouvelles connaissances10. Pour ne pas produire trop de choses sans la moindre utilité qui finiront au rebut aussitôt achevées, les responsables de l’éducation ont intérêt à éviter les projets de démonstration rapides généralement associés aux espaces de fabrication collectifs dans les écoles et à viser un apprentissage plus réfléchi et contextualisé11. Une façon de faciliter pareil apprentissage contextualisé est d’appliquer la pédagogie de création en suivant de près les différents programmes-cadres du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario. Lors de l’étude d’un roman, par exemple, les élèves peuvent concevoir et imprimer une maquette en 3D du lieu où se déroule le cœur de l’action.

La promotion d'une culture de fabrication collective

Un espace de fabrication collectif se distingue d'un endroit utilisé pour bricoler n'importe quoi par la culture inhérente dont il est imprégné. L'espace dépasse largement celui du matériel que l'on y trouve. Un espace de fabrication collectif devrait être dédié à une culture de l'innovation et transmettre aux élèves les compétences de base qu'il leur faut pour réussir dans ce type de milieu d'apprentissage12. La culture de fabrication collective aide à prendre des risques, à tirer des leçons de ses erreurs, à résoudre des problèmes et à développer la capacité de persévérer face aux difficultés. Elle favorise aussi le développement des habiletés supérieures de la pensée et les possibilités de partage de l'apprentissage aux niveaux local et mondial par l'entremise des foires Maker Faire et de sites Web tels que Helios qui est disponible en français, et les sites instructables, thingiverse et DIY qui sont disponibles en anglais seulement.

Quelques points à prendre en considération pour la mise en place d'un espace de fabrication collectif

Objet : Les espaces de fabrication collectifs incitent à la collaboration et à l’engagement des participants par le partage. Ils sont tous différents les uns des autres, vu qu’ils reflètent les besoins et les goûts de la communauté « d’inventeurs ». Prenez le temps de découvrir ce que les élèves aimeraient faire dans leur espace de fabrication collectif, puis aménagez-le en conséquence. Déterminez par exemple si l’espace mettra l’accent sur les disciplines dites STIM, STIAM ou autre chose.

Superficie : La question de savoir quoi inclure dans votre espace de fabrication collectif dépendra aussi de la superficie que vous pouvez lui réserver dans votre école et des utilisateurs auxquels l’espace est destiné. Il s’agit de veiller à ce qu’il soit pleinement accessible, mais par la force des choses, il se peut qu’il ne puisse accueillir qu’un petit nombre d’élèves à la fois. La plupart des écoles installent leur espace de fabrication collectif dans leur centre de ressources ou bibliothèque, mais comme bon nombre d’établissements demandent désormais à leurs élèves d’apporter leur propre ordinateur, les locaux qui hébergeaient préalablement le laboratoire informatique peuvent aussi être reconvertis pour les besoins de la cause.

Budget : Les fonds à prévoir pour la mise en place et le maintien d’un espace de fabrication collectif sont importants, mais il est toujours possible d’en optimiser l’utilisation et de prévoir un maximum d’activités. Le recyclage et le surcyclage peuvent inciter les élèves à réaliser leurs projets de façon écologique. Bien qu’il existe sur le marché de nombreuses trousses de fournitures pour ce type d’activités en classe, leur achat n’a rien d’obligatoire; il est tout à fait possible d’y substituer des articles génériques et moins coûteux; par exemple, les diodes électroluminescentes et les piles sont disponibles en gros ou dans les magasins à un dollar. Pour d’autres suggestions, voir Steam 3D lab (en anglais seulement).

Outils et matériaux : L’objectif de votre espace de fabrication collectif vous aidera à déterminer les outils, les matériaux et les autres fournitures que vous devrez acheter. Réfléchir au genre de projet que les élèves réaliseront pourra vous aider à décider quoi vous procurer en premier (p. ex., vous faut-il dès le départ une imprimante 3D et une découpeuse laser ou est-ce que l’une des deux suffira pour commencer? Aurez-vous besoin d’équipement média, par exemple un écran vert et un magnétoscope?). Là où les élèves seront amenés à faire de la programmation et à créer des jeux de simulation, les trousses d’innovation MaKey MaKey® les aideront à assembler des commandes à distance pour contrôler ces jeux. Si les élèves ont envie d’assembler des circuits électroniques, ils peuvent commencer par s’entraîner avec des circuits papier avant d’avoir recours à des outils plus sophistiqués, tels que des microcontrôleurs Raspberry Pi.

Prenez le temps de découvrir ce que les élèves aimeraient faire dans leur espace de fabrication, puis aménagez-le en conséquence.

L’espace de fabrication collectif en salle de classe

Une solution à envisager si vous n’avez pas accès à un espace de fabrication collectif tout équipé dans votre école ou votre communauté est de réserver un coin de votre salle de classe à la pédagogie de création, et ce, sans investir de grandes sommes. Rappelez-vous que cette pédagogie reflète les principes de la conception universelle de l’apprentissage, en ce sens qu’elle est propice à l’emploi de nombreux moyens de représentation, d’action et de participation. De plus, bien que les espaces de fabrication collectifs soient généralement associés aux disciplines STIM, ils se prêtent tout à fait à d’autres apprentissages. Les paragraphes qui suivent donnent trois exemples (basés sur la recherche actuelle) de centres de fabrication collectifs qui pourraient rehausser un programme de littératie dans une approche intégrée.

Centre de technologies portables : Les technologies portables, ces articles vestimentaires et accessoires pourvus de lumières, capteurs, moteurs et microordinateurs, sont répandues dans le milieu des sports, de la mode et de la santé. Les élèves d’un cours de français peuvent s’essayer à produire de simples modèles de bracelets, chapeaux, marionnettes, marque-pages, t-shirts ou autres vêtements inspirés de personnages dans un roman. Vous trouverez d’autres suggestions sur le site sew electric (en anglais seulement).

Centre de programmation/jeux de simulation : Scratch est un langage de programmation gratuit qui permet aux élèves, même les plus jeunes, de créer des récits et des jeux interactifs et de les partager. Il se prête à l’élaboration de récits nouveaux ou à la reprise de récits existants en association avec une lecture faite en classe pour aboutir à quelque chose de nouveau. Le site scratchfr donne accès à des exemples de récits interactifs.

Centre d’impression en 3D : La fabrication numérique a progressé à pas de géant en très peu de temps. Les élèves peuvent très bien participer à un processus de fabrication en 3D sans imprimer leur produit fini. Tinkercad est un logiciel de conception très simple qui permet aux élèves de concevoir tout ce qui leur passe par la tête. Son site Web propose des tutoriels en ligne et une foule d’exemples de modèles adaptables. Le site Web thingiverse (en anglais seulement) donne aussi accès à quantité de modèles dont les élèves peuvent se servir pour créer des symboles, accessoires et décors basés sur une œuvre littéraire quelconque. Imaginez vos élèves en train de reproduire le théâtre du Globe alors que vous les initiez à Shakespeare!

En résumé

Savoir où mettre en place un espace de fabrication collectif dans une école et comment l’équiper des outils et technologies de pointe n’est pas toujours facile. Les avantages d’un tel espace méritent toutefois les efforts et les fonds qui lui sont consacrés, d’autant plus qu’il peut servir à renforcer la notion de durabilité par la participation des élèves à des activités de recyclage et de surcyclage.

Un espace de fabrication collectif – qu’il soit aménagé dans une bibliothèque ou une aire commune d’une école ou simplement dans un coin d’une salle de classe, avec une thématique sans cesse renouvelée – permet aux élèves de profiter de tout ce que peuvent leur apporter le jeu, le bricolage, la découverte, la conception et même l’échec.

Bibliographie

  1. HALVERSON, E. et K. SHERIDAN (2014). “The maker movement in education”, Harvard Educational Review, vol. 84, p. 495–504.
  2. BUECHLEY, L., K. PEPPLER, M. EISENBERG, et Y. KAFAI (2013). Textile messages: Dispatches from the world of e-textiles and education, New York, NY: Peter Lang.
  3. MARTINEZ, S. L. et G. S. STAGER (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom, Torrance, CA: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.
  4. KAFAI, Y. B., D. A. FIELDS et K. A. SERALE (2014). “Electronic textiles as disruptive designs: Supporting and challenging maker activities in schools”, Harvard Educational Review, vol. 84, p. 532–556.
  5. KURTI, R., D. KURTI et L. FLEMING (2014). “The philosophy of educational makerspaces”, Teacher Librarian, vol. 41, n° 5, p. 8–11.
  6. MARTINEZ, S.  et G. STAGER (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom, Torrance, CA: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.
  7. COHEN, J., W. M. JONES, S. SMITH et B. CALANDRA (2016). “Makification: Towards a framework for leveraging the maker movement in formal education”, dans Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2016, p. 129–135, Chesapeake, VA: Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE).
  8. PAPERT, S. (1980). Mindstorms, New York, NY: Basic Books.
  9. HUGHES, J. et L. MORRISON (2014). “At the intersection of critical digital literacies, YAL and literature circles”, ALAN Review, vol. 42, n° 1, p. 35–43.
  10. RATTO, M. (2011). “Critical making: Conceptual and material studies”, The Information Society: An International Journal, vol. 27, p. 252–260.
  11. BLIKSTEIN, P. (2013). “Digital fabrication and “making” in education: The democratization of invention“, dans J. WALTER-HERRMANN et C. BÜCHING (éditeurs), FabLabs: Of machines, makers, and inventors, Bielefeld, Germany: Transcript Publishers, p. 203–222.
  12. FLEMING, L. (2015). Worlds of making: Best practices for establishing a makerspace for your school, Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin.

La série de monographies Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique est produite en collaboration par l’Ontario Association of Deans of Education et la Division du rendement des élèves du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de rédiger une monographie, visitez : Mobiliser les résultats de la recherche pour les appliquer de façon significative, par Michelann Parr, Ph. D., et Terry Campbell, Ph. D., co-rédactrices.

La série Faire la différence est mise à jour et publiée ici.

Les opinions et les conclusions exprimées dans ces monographies sont celles des auteurs; elles ne reflètent pas nécessairement les politiques, les opinions et les orientations du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario ou de la Division du rendement des élèves.

ISSN 1913-1097 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (imprimé)
ISSN 1913-1100 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (en ligne)