What Works? Research into Practice

Financial Literacy Education: Navigating a Paradox

By Dr. Laura Elizabeth Pinto, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Research monograph # 70
April 2017

This document is also available as a PDF format. (413 KB)

While financial knowledge is indisputably useful, financial literacy education is far from a recipe for individual or collective prosperity. What can educators do to cultivate financially literate students?

Tips to Cultivate Financially Literacy

  • Draw students in with financial activities that are immediately relevant to them.
  • For young learners, make financial learning active and concrete; for adolescent learners, focus on immediate relevance and applicability.
  • When selecting examples and activities, be sensitive to the cultural values and financial circumstances of students and their families.

A caveat: Ontario’s approach to financial literacy education is broad and cross-curricular in contrast to the many U.S. stand-alone courses and pre-packed units described here. Learn more.

At a basic level, financial literacy education focuses on the ability to conduct routine, day-to-day transactions, and manage money – for example, how to make change, open a bank account, create a budget, save and invest, and take on debt in a responsible manner. While seemingly uncontroversial, all forms of literacy, including financial literacy, are socially constructed and political. Definitions contribute to the reality in which they operate, while simultaneously being influenced by that reality.

Most definitions of financial literacy include a financial knowledge component, which centres on a person’s ability to get, understand, and evaluate information needed to make financial decisions, and an awareness of the likely consequences. The goal of financial literacy is to be able to apply this knowledge in everyday life in the form of decisions and transactions. This is a fairly linear and rational definition: A person gets information that results in a general understanding of financial systems and uses it to carry out routine transactions and make informed decisions. Financial literacy, in this sense, attempts to define minimum criteria for a “literate” individual and results in the sorting of people as financially literate or illiterate. Financial literacy education attempts to provide learning experiences that result in learners achieving these minimum criteria of financial literacy.

The Financial Education Paradox

While financial knowledge is indisputably useful, financial literacy is far from a recipe for individual or collective prosperity. The reality is much less tidy. Paradoxical effects1 of financial knowledge abound. Predatory lending and fraud victims and bankruptcy applicants all tend to be more financially literate; and large-scale, long-term studies suggest little retention and change in behaviour among those who complete financial-education programs. While there appears to be no clear direction for how to “get it right,” we nonetheless need to ensure we don’t repeat the mistakes of others. Moreover, we must acknowledge the paradox that teaching financial skills and knowledge does not necessarily result in retention or application. The research offers clues on where financial literacy education has gone wrong and suggests potential ways to overcome problems.

Despite much recent media and policy emphasis on the need for K–12 financial literacy education, surprisingly little research has been conducted. So far, most large-scale research has been conducted in the United States, with mixed results. Most recent research concludes that it has little effect on adolescent students’ immediate comprehension2,3 or subsequent adult behaviour.2,3,4,5 The largest study to date, involving tens of thousands of U.S. students who completed a semester-long course, found these students made no gains in financial knowledge or behavior.2 Some researchers, however, report success in immediate retention,6,7 and others report mixed results depending on contextual factors, such as comprehension and immediate usefulness of the curriculum.8,9 Like their high-school counterparts, elementary learners struggle with retention of concepts when they are beyond their developmental reach.7,10,11

The ineffectiveness of financial literacy education has been attributed to several factors, regardless of learners’ ages. Non-cognitive factors, many of which cannot be controlled by teachers (including self-confidence, maturity, socio-economic characteristics, and parents), have the greatest impact on outcomes.10,11 Research also points to the need for financial education to be age appropriate,11 inclusive,8,13 and immediately relevant to students’ lives.10,14

[We] must acknowledge the paradox that teaching financial skills and knowledge does not necessarily result in retention or application.

Relevant Financial Literacy Education

Most researchers emphasize that financial literacy education must be immediately relevant to be effective (e.g., learning about stocks is retained and applied when that learning occurs at the time a person invests, not before).10,11 Similarly, provided such activities are consistent with experiences in their home lives, young children can engage in simulated stores to practise performing basic transactions linked to math curriculum, while mid-elementary students might benefit from field trips to banks to open accounts.

Consider the following strategies when selecting or designing lessons and learning activities:

  • Poll students about what financial activities they conduct right now, and use that as a basis for instruction in the classroom. Without asking students directly, it may be impossible to know what is immediately relevant.
  • Ask parents for input into what aspects would be immediately relevant to their children or families.
  • Critically analyze pre-packaged material to determine when students may need this information for real-life (not simulated) contexts. If the material is not immediately relevant, consider adapting it, or seeking different resources or topics.

Age-Appropriate Financial Literacy Education

A main concern about contemporary programs is whether much of the material available to teachers is developmentally and age appropriate for K–12 students. This mismatch may be a main cause of failings, especially in elementary schools.11 Children progress through cognitive development in stages and learning experiences should be carefully aligned to these stages. Early elementary school learners excel in concrete operational tasks, making abstract financial concepts and dispositions, such as self-restraint and emotional regulation, in pre-packaged units developmentally inappropriate.10 For example, young elementary students have surprisingly naïve understandings about piggy banks used in school (e.g., a belief that piggy banks have magical tubes connecting them to a bank or an inability to differentiate a piggy bank from a bank account).7 Students do not develop more sophisticated understandings of such concepts until at least Grade 4.

When planning, teachers should think about what is developmentally appropriate for students. Consider the following approaches:

  • Make financial learning active and concrete (e.g., create a “store” for practising cash transactions or open a real bank account).7,14
  • Build in repetition of concepts and tasks to address children’s physiological brain development, such as repeating the practice of making change in a store simulation.7,11
  • Focus on immediate consequences over the longer term for secondary school students, keeping in mind that the longer term for this age group is one to two years at best.2,10 Popular activities like stock market simulations, budgeting for independent living, and applying for loans would not be appropriate to their age and life stage. Instead, incorporate school-based activities, such as tying financial literacy to the costs of attending a school sporting event, or budgeting for an upcoming dance or field trip, while remaining sensitive to students’ individual financial circumstances.

People experience their financial lives differently depending upon factors like gender, culture, social position, and socio-economic status.

Inclusive Financial Literacy Education

People experience their financial lives differently depending upon factors like gender, culture, social position, and socio-economic status.15 For example, women experience unique financial challenges ranging from the implications of pay inequity, to gender pricing that disadvantages them (e.g., the same hair cut often costs more for a woman than a man).16 Cultural norms may also impact financial activity, for example, traditional bank financing for Aboriginal peoples living on-reserve is rarely possible because land titles are collectively owned by Band members and cannot be mortgaged or pledged.13

Inclusive education – not limited to financial literacy education – has the advantage of drawing students into learning. When a lesson contradicts students’ identities and lived experiences, those students are more likely to be disengaged.17 These strategies will help achieve inclusive programming and delivery:

  • Research financial customs, norms, and restrictions based on the ethno-cultural composition in your school and adapt curriculum and learning strategies accordingly.
  • Ask students to share insights about unique financial perspectives in the school community, either through autobiographical or anthropological projects. This may involve structured interviewing techniques (so younger children can interview parents using teacher- or class-generated questions), or more sophisticated research for older learners (such as researching and reporting on gender wage gaps or poverty in the community).
  • Be aware of and sensitive to the financial circumstances of students and parents when selecting examples and activities. While creating a budget based on a weekly allowance may be appropriate for some students, the family financial circumstances of other students may preclude an allowance.
  • Integrate parents into the process of financial education where possible10 to ensure that it is sensitive to familial and cultural realities.

In Sum

Given its paradoxical nature, delivering effective financial literacy education poses educational challenges. History has shown that despite great enthusiasm for complex concepts such as banking and long-term savings for young learners and stock market simulations and mortgage information for adolescent learners – are often ineffective. Instead, financial literacy education must be scaled back to reflect age-appropriate, immediately relevant, and inclusive topics and activities. Without this scaled-back approach, financial literacy education cannot overcome decades-long failings in order to cultivate financially literate students.

References

  1. Willis, L. E. (2008). Against financial literacy education. University of Pennsylvania Public Law and Legal Theory Research Paper Series (Research Paper No. 08–10).
  2. Mandell, L., & Hanson, K. O. (2009, January). The impact of financial education in high school and college on financial literacy and subsequent financial decision making. Paper presented at the American Economic Association Annual Meeting, San Francisco, CA.
  3. Peng, T. C. M., Bartholomae, S., Fox, J.J., & Cravener, G. (2007). The impact of personal finance education delivered in high school and college courses. Journal of Family and Economic Issues, 28, 265–284.
  4. Cole, S., & Shastry, G. K. (2009). Smart money: The effect of education, cognitive ability, and financial literacy on financial market participation (Working Paper 09-071). Cambridge, MA: Harvard Business School
  5. McCormick, M. H. (2009). The effectiveness of youth financial education: A review of the literature. Journal of Financial Counseling and Planning, 20, 70–83.
  6. Pang, M. F. (2010). Boosting financial literacy: Benefits from learning study. Instructional Science, 38, 659–677.
  7. Sherraden, M. S., Johnson, L, Guo, B., & Elliott, W. (2010). Financial capability in children: Effects of participation in a school-based financial education and savings program. Journal of Family and Economic Issues, 32, 385–399.
  8. Danes, S. M., & Haberman, H. R. (2007). Teen financial knowledge, self-efficacy, and behavior: A gendered view. Financial Counseling and Planning, 18(2), 48–60.
  9. Walstead, W. B., Rebeck, K., & MacDonald, R. A. (2010). The effects of financial education on the financial knowledge of high school students. Journal of Consumer Affairs, 44(2), 336–357.
  10. Drever, A. I., Odders-White, E., Kalish, C. W., Else-Quest, N. M., Hoagland, E. M., & Nelms, E. N. (2015). Foundations of financial well-being: Insights into the role of executive function, financial socialization, and experience-based learning in childhood and youth. Journal of Consumer Affairs, 49, 13–38.
  11. Holden, K., Kalish, C., Scheinholtz, L., Dietrich, D., & Novak, B. (2009). Financial literacy programs targeted on pre-school children: Development and evaluation. University of Wisconsin at Madison and Credit Union National Association.
  12. Arellano, A., Camara, N., & Tuesta, D. (2014). The effect of self-confidence on financial literacy (Working Paper No. 1428). BBVA Bank.
  13. Pinto, L.E. & Blue, L. (2015). Visions of Aboriginal entrepreneurship financing in Canada’s CAPE Fund: Walking the fine line between self-determination and colonization. 8th Annual Conference of the Academy of Innovation and Entrepreneurship (AIE), August 20-21, 2015, Ryerson University (in conjunction with Oxford and Tsinghua universities), Toronto, Ontario
  14. Loke, V., Choi, L., & Libby, M. (2015). Increasing youth financial capability: An evaluation of the MyPath savings initiative. Journal of Consumer Affairs, 49, 97–126.
  15. Arthur, C. (2012). Financial literacy education: Neoliberalism, the consumer and the citizen. Rotterdam, NLD: Sense.
  16. Pinto, L. E., & Coulson, E. (2012). Social justice and the gender politics of financial literacy education. Canadian Journal of the Association for Curriculum Studies, 9(2), 54-85.
  17. Pinto, L. E. (2013). From discipline to culturally responsive engagement: 45 classroom management strategies. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin.
  18. What Works? Research into Practice is produced by a partnership between the Ontario Association of Deans of Education and the Student Achievement Division.

    To learn more about how to write a monograph see Mobilizing Research into Practice in Meaningful Ways
    By Dr. Michelann Parr and Dr. Terry Campbell Co-editors

    What Works? is updated and posted here.

    The opinions and conclusions contained in these monographs are, those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the policies, views, or directions of the Ontario Ministry of Education or the Student Achievement Division.

    ISSN 1913-1097 What Works? Research Into Practice (Print)
    ISSN 1913-1100 What Works? Research Into Practice (Online)

Faire la différence... De la recherche à la pratique

L'éducation à la littératie financière : l'exploration d'un paradoxe

par Laura Elizabeth Pinto, Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario

Monographie de recherche n° 70
Mai 2017

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (476 ko).

Personne ne conteste l'utilité des connaissances et des habiletés financières, mais l'éducation à la littératie financière est loin d'être garante de notre prospérité individuelle ou collective. Que pouvons-nous faire pour développer les habiletés de nos élèves en matière de littératie financière?

Conseils pour cultiver la littératie financière

  • Suscitez l’intérêt des élèves pour le sujet en leur proposant des activités qui sont pertinentes pour eux.
  • Avec les plus petits, misez sur un apprentissage actif et concret; avec les adolescents, misez sur les conséquences à plus long terme de toute décision financière.
  • Au moment de choisir des exemples ou des activités, tenez compte des valeurs culturelles et de la situation financière de vos élèves et de leurs familles.

Attention : En Ontario, l’éducation à la littératie financière est générale et transdisciplinaire, alors qu’aux États-Unis, elle fait l’objet de nombreux cours distincts ou combinés, tels que décrits ci-après. Pour en savoir davantage.

À la base, l'éducation à la littératie financière porte sur la capacité d'exécuter des transactions courantes au jour le jour et de gérer son argent – et donc, par exemple, sur la façon de rendre la monnaie, d'ouvrir un compte en banque, d'établir un budget, d'économiser, d'investir ou encore d'emprunter de manière responsable. Toutes les formes de littératie, y compris la littératie financière, sont socialement construites et politiques. La définition d'un concept, comme celui de la littératie financière, contribue à sa réalité, alors même que cette réalité joue sur sa définition.

La plupart des définitions de la littératie financière incluent un élément relatif aux connaissances financières liées, d'une part, à la capacité d'obtenir, de comprendre et d'évaluer l'information requise pour prendre des décisions financières et, d'autre part, à la conscience des conséquences vraisemblables de ces décisions. La littératie financière sert à pouvoir appliquer ces connaissances aux décisions et transactions de la vie quotidienne. Il s'agit là d'une définition plutôt linéaire et rationnelle : l'obtention de certaines connaissances mène à une compréhension générale des systèmes financiers, laquelle permet d'effectuer des transactions courantes et de prendre des décisions réfléchies. En ce sens, la littératie financière présente les critères de base à posséder avec un minimum de connaissances dans le domaine et fait la distinction entre les personnes, selon qu'elles détiennent ces habiletés ou non. La littératie financière tente de fournir aux élèves des expériences d'apprentissage susceptibles de les équiper de ces connaissances de base.

Le paradoxe de l'éducation à la littératie financière

Personne ne conteste l'utilité des connaissances et des habiletés financières, mais l'éducation à la littératie financière est loin d'être garante de notre prospérité individuelle ou collective – bien au contraire. Les effets paradoxaux1 du savoir financier sont nombreux. Les victimes de pratiques de prêts abusives ou de fraude, de même que les personnes qui déclarent faillite, ont souvent de meilleures connaissances en matière de finances que d'autres; par contre, différentes études d'envergure menées à long terme laissent entendre que les personnes qui participent à des programmes d'éducation à la littératie financière n'en retiennent pas grand-chose et ne changent guère leurs comportements. Aussi incertaine que puisse être la réponse à la question de savoir comment faire mieux, il est clair que nous devons prendre garde à ne pas répéter les erreurs passées. Par ailleurs, nous devons reconnaître le paradoxe selon lequel l'éducation à la littératie financière ne se traduit pas nécessairement par l'assimilation ni l'application des connaissances et compétences voulues. La recherche fournit des indications quant aux défaillances de l'éducation à la littératie financière et aux éventuels moyens d'y remédier.

Malgrétoute l'attention que les médias et les responsables des politiques ont prêtée ces derniers temps à la nécessité d'aborder la littératie financière tout au long de la maternelle jusqu'à la 12e année, bien peu de recherches ont été faites sur le sujet. Jusqu'à présent, la plupart des études à grande échelle ont été menées aux États-Unis, et n'ont produit que des résultats mitigés. Les dernières études en date concluent pour la plupart que cette éducation n'a que peu d'effet sur la compréhension des élèves à court terme2,3 et sur leur comportement d'adulte ultérieur2,3,4,5. La plus vaste des études existantes, portant sur des dizaines de milliers d'étudiants américains qui ont suivi un tel cours durant tout un semestre, a constaté que ni les connaissances ni les comportements en matière financière de ces jeunes ne s'étaient améliorés2. Certains chercheurs rapportent toutefois du succès sur le plan de la mémorisation immédiate6,7 et d'autres font état de résultats mixtes selon divers facteurs contextuels, tels que la compréhension du programme d'études ou son application concrète à la vie courante des apprenants8,9. À l'instar de leurs camarades du secondaire, les élèves de l'élémentaire ont de la difficulté à retenir des concepts qui excèdent leur zone proximale de développement7,10,11.

L'inefficacité de l'éducation à la littératie financière pourrait être imputable à plusieurs facteurs, et ce, quel que soit l'âge des apprenants. Ceux qui pèsent le plus lourd dans la balance sont les facteurs non cognitifs, dont plusieurs sur lesquels nous n'avons pas de contrôle (notamment la confiance en soi, la maturité, les caractéristiques socio-économiques et l'ascendance parentale)10,12. La recherche a par ailleurs mis en évidence l'importance de veiller à ce que l'éducation à la littératie financière soit inclusive8,13 adaptée à l'âge des élèves visés11, et instantanément pertinente pour ces derniers10,14

.

La pertinence de l’éducation à la littératie financière

La plupart des chercheurs insistent sur le fait que l’éducation à la littératie financière doit être immédiatement pertinente pour être efficace (p. ex., une personne retiendra et appliquera mieux ce qu’elle a appris au sujet des actions si cet apprentissage a lieu à un moment de sa vie où elle investit, et non avant)10,14. Pareillement, pourvu que les activités qui leur sont proposées cadrent bien avec ce qu’ils vivent à la maison, les jeunes enfants peuvent bénéficier d’une simulation de magasin en classe qui leur permet d’exécuter de simples transactions liées au programme d’études en mathématiques, tandis que les élèves au milieu du palier élémentaire, eux, peuvent bénéficier d’une excursion scolaire vers une banque pour y ouvrir un compte.

Envisagez d’adopter les stratégies suivantes au moment de choisir ou de concevoir des plans de leçons ou des activités d’apprentissage :

  • interrogez les élèves sur leurs activités financières courantes et servez-vous de leurs réponses comme point de départ pour l’enseignement en classe – faute de quoi, vous risquez de passer à côté de choses de la plus haute pertinence;
  • consultez les parents sur quels aspects de l’éducation à la littératie financière seraient d’une pertinence évidente pour leurs enfants ou leur famille;
  • portez un regard critique sur les plans de leçons préconçus et leurs documents d’accompagnement mis à votre disposition pour déterminer à quel moment vos élèves pourraient avoir besoin de l’information qu’ils transmettent dans la vie réelle (et non dans des contextes simulés). Si un document est sans pertinence évidente, songez à l’adapter ou à en utiliser un autre.

L’adaptation de l’éducation à la littératie financière selon l’âge des élèves

L’une des principales préoccupations des enseignants à l’heure actuelle est celle de savoir dans quelle mesure les sujets abordés par les programmes de la maternelle à la 12e année sont adaptés à l’âge et au niveau de développement de leurs élèves. En effet, toute erreur à cet égard risque d’être une cause majeure d’échec, surtout au palier élémentaire11. Les enfants ont un développement cognitif qui progresse par étapes et les expériences d’apprentissage qui leur sont proposées devraient être minutieusement adaptées au stade qu’ils ont atteint. À l’école élémentaire, ce sont surtout les tâches concrètes qui favorisent l’apprentissage des élèves : les notions financières abstraites que véhiculent les plans de leçons préconçus, de même que les attitudes qu’ils préconisent, telles que la maîtrise de soi et la régulation des émotions, ne cadrent guère avec leur niveau de développement10. À l’entrée au palier élémentaire, les élèves ont une conception étonnamment naïve de ce qu’est une tirelire (s’imaginant notamment que celle-ci est reliée comme par magie à une banque ou n’étant pas capable de faire la différence entre une tirelire et un compte bancaire)7. Ce n’est qu’en 4e année, et encore, que les élèves acquièrent une compréhension plus réaliste de ce type de notion.

Au moment de planifier des leçons, il s’agit de les adapter au stade de développement des élèves. Vous pourriez pour cela adopter les approches suivantes :

  • faites en sorte que l’apprentissage des notions financières soit actif et concret (créez par exemple un « magasin » permettant aux élèves de s’exercer à rendre la monnaie ou aidez-les à ouvrir un vrai compte en banque)7,14;
  • prévoyez d’aborder les nouvelles notions à répétition et de reprendre à multiples reprises une même tâche, comme celle de rendre la monnaie dans un magasin fictif, afin de tenir compte du développement cérébral physiologique des enfants7,11;
  • concentrez-vous sur les retombées pratiques des leçons à plus long terme pour les élèves du secondaire, étant entendu que « plus long terme » à cet âge signifie sur une année ou deux maximum2,10. D’autres activités populaires, telles qu’une simulation de transactions boursières, l’établissement d’un budget pour une vie autonome ou encore la préparation d’une demande de prêt, ne seraient pas adaptées à l’âge des élèves ni au stade où ils en sont dans la vie. Pensez plutôt à faire un rapprochement entre l’éducation à la littératie financière et des activités scolaires, par exemple en ce qui concerne les frais de participation à un événement sportif organisé par l’école ou encore l’établissement d’un budget pour une soirée dansante ou une excursion, tout en restant sensible à la situation financière individuelle des élèves.

L’inclusivité de l’éducation à la littératie financière

Nous avons toutes et tous une perception particulière de notre vie financière en fonction de notre sexe, culture, position sociale ou situation socio-économique15. Les femmes se heurtent par exemple à des difficultés qui leur sont propres, notamment liées à l’inégalité de leurs salaires par rapport à ceux des hommes ou aux prix accrus qu’elles doivent payer pour certains services par comparaison à ces derniers (une même coupe de cheveux leur sera souvent facturée plus cher qu’à un homme)16. Les normes culturelles peuvent aussi jouer sur les activités financières : les Autochtones vivant dans des réserves ne peuvent que rarement obtenir un prêt bancaire pour acheter un logement, parce que les biens immobiliers situés dans une réserve sont la propriété collective des membres de la bande et ne peuvent donc être ni hypothéqués, ni donnés en gage13.

L’éducation à la littératie financière intéressera les élèves davantage si elle est inclusive – autrement dit, si elle ne se limite pas à la transmission neutre de notions financières. Une leçon incompatible avec l’identité et le vécu des élèves laissera ceux-ci indifférents17. Voici quelques suggestions pour rendre la planification et l’exécution de vos leçons plus inclusives :

  • faites des recherches sur les normes, coutumes et restrictions financières de vos élèves selon la composition ethnoculturelle de votre communauté scolaire et adaptez vos stratégies d’enseignement en conséquence;
  • demandez à vos élèves de vous parler des différentes perspectives financières que cette communauté représente, soit en puisant dans leur propre expérience, soit en procédant à des études anthropologiques. Ceci les amènera soit à mener des entretiens structurés, dans le cas des plus jeunes (qui poseront à leurs parents des questions que vous leur aurez fournies ou que vous aurez préparées en classe, ensemble), soit des études plus poussées, dans les cas des aînés (qui feront par exemple des recherches sur la disparité salariale entre les sexes ou la pauvreté au sein de la collectivité locale et produiront un rapport sur le sujet retenu);
  • montrez-vous sensible à la situation financière des élèves et de leurs parents au moment de choisir des activités ou des exemples pour vos leçons. L’établissement d’un budget à partir d’un certain montant hebdomadaire d’argent de poche pourrait être approprié pour certains élèves, mais il se peut que d’autres se trouvent dans une situation où leurs parents ne peuvent pas leur verser quoi que ce soit;
  • encouragez les parents à s’impliquer dans l’éducation à la littératie financière, dans la mesure du possible10, afin de vous assurer que celle-ci soit sensible à leur réalité familiale et culturelle.

Résumé

Étant donné sa nature paradoxale, offrir une éducation à la littératie financière efficace est loin d’être facile. Nous savons désormais que malgré l’enthousiasme qu’elle peut susciter, la transmission de notions avancées liées aux transactions bancaires ou à l’épargne durable aux élèves les plus jeunes, ou encore les simulations de transactions boursières et les explications liées au financement hypothécaire proposées aux adolescents, s’avèrent peu efficaces. L’éducation à la littératie financière doit être à la fois adaptée à l’âge des apprenants et d’une pertinence évidente pour ces derniers, tout en passant par l’acquisition de notions et l’exécution d’activités inclusives. Faute d’une telle approche volontairement adaptée, l’éducation à la littératie financière contemporaine ne saurait surmonter les erreurs commises dans ce domaine pendant des décennies, ni former des élèves compétents et avertis en matière de finances.

Bibliographie

  1. WILLIS, L. E. (2008). "Against financial literacy education", University of Pennsylvania Public Law and Legal Theory Research Paper Series, [rapport de recherche], n° #08-10, Universitéde Pennsylvanie, Philadelphie.
  2. MANDELLl, L., et K. O. HANSON (janvier 2009). The impact of financial education in high school and college on financial literacy and subsequent financial decision making, document présenté lors de la réunion annuelle de l'American Economic Association Annual Meeting, San Francisco, CA.
  3. PENG, T. C. M., S. BARTHOLOMAE, J. J. FOX, et G. CRAVENER (2007). "The impact of personal finance education delivered in high school and college courses", Journal of Family and Economic Issues, vol. 28, p. 265–284.
  4. COLE, S. et G. K. SHASTRY (2009). Smart money: The effect of education, cognitive ability, and financial literacy on financial market participation, [document de travail], n° 09-071, Cambridge, MA: Harvard Business School.
  5. MCCORMICK, M. H. (2009). "The effectiveness of youth financial education: A review of the literature", Journal of Financial Counseling and Planning, vol. 20, p. 70–83.
  6. PANG, M. F. (2010). "Boosting financial literacy: Benefits from learning study", Instructional Science, vol. 38, p. 659–677.
  7. SHERRADEN, M. S., L. JOHNSON, B. GUO, et W. ELLIOT (2010). "Financial capability in children: Effects of participation in a school-based financial education and savings program", Journal of Family and Economic Issues, vol. 32, p. 385–399.
  8. DANES, S. M., et H. R. HABERMAN (2007). "Teen financial knowledge, self-efficacy, and behavior: A gendered view", Financial Counseling and Planning, vol. 18, n° 2, p. 48–60.
  9. WALSTEAD, W. B., K. REBECK, et R. A. MACDONALD (2010). "The effects of financial education on the financial knowledge of high school students", Journal of Consumer Affairs, vol. 44, n° 2, p. 336–357.
  10. DREVER, A. I., E. ODDERS-WHITE, C. W. KALISH, N. M. ELSE-QUEST, E. M. HOAGLAND, et E. N. NELMS (2015). "Foundations of financial well-being: Insights into the role of executive function, financial socialization, and experience-based learning in childhood and youth", Journal of Consumer Affairs, vol. 49, p. 13–38.
  11. HOLDEN, K., C. KALISH, L. SCHEINHOLTZ, D. DIETRICH, et B. NOVAK (2009). Financial literacy programs targeted on pre-school children: Development and evaluation, Université du Wisconsin à Madison et la Credit Union National Association.
  12. ARELLANO, A., N. CAMARA, et D. TUESTA (2014). The effect of self-confidence on financial literacy, [document de travail], n° 1428, BBVA Bank.
  13. PINTO, L.E. et L. BLUE (2015). Visions of Aboriginal entrepreneurship financing in Canada's CAPE Fund: Walking the fine line between self-determination and colonization, document présenté lors du 8e congrès de l'Academy of Innovation and Entrepreneurship (AIE), du 20 au 21 août, 2015, Université Ryerson (en collaboration avec l'Université d'Oxford et l'Université de Tsinghua), Toronto, Ontario.
  14. LOKE, V., L. CHOI, et M. LIBBY (2015). "Increasing youth financial capability: An evaluation of the MyPath savings initiative", Journal of Consumer Affairs, vol. 49, p. 97–126.
  15. ARTHUR, C. (2012). "Financial literacy education: Neoliberalism, the consumer and the citizen", Rotterdam, NLD: Sense.
  16. PINTO, L. E., et E. COULSON (2012). "Social justice and the gender politics of financial literacy education", Canadian Journal of the Association for Curriculum Studies, vol. 9, n° 2, p. 54-85.
  17. PINTO, L. E. (2013). From discipline to culturally responsive engagement: 45 classroom management strategies, Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin.

La série de monographies Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique est produite en collaboration par l’Ontario Association of Deans of Education et la Division du rendement des élèves du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de rédiger une monographie, visitez : Mobiliser les résultats de la recherche pour les appliquer de façon significative, par Michelann Parr, Ph. D., et Terry Campbell, Ph. D., co-rédactrices.

La série Faire la différence est mise à jour et publiée ici.

Les opinions et les conclusions exprimées dans ces monographies sont celles des auteurs; elles ne reflètent pas nécessairement les politiques, les opinions et les orientations du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario ou de la Division du rendement des élèves.

ISSN 1913-1097 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (imprimé)
ISSN 1913-1100 Faire la différence… De la recherche à la pratique (en ligne)