Healthy Schools: Links

The following websites provide a wide range of information to help make Ontario's schools healthier places for students to learn and grow.

Healthy Eating

  • School Food and Beverage Policy (Policy/Program Memorandum 150)
    This Policy includes nutrition standards for food and beverages sold in schools. The policy applies to food and beverages sold in all venues on school property through all programs, and at all events on school property, including bake sales and sport events. Teacher guides, online training workshops, and additional resources are provided. Ministry of Education.
  • Fresh from the Farm
    Fresh from the Farm, Healthy Fundraising for Ontario Schools is a pilot project offering a new approach to fundraising for schools, selling fresh Ontario fruit and vegetables to the community, while supporting healthy eating and Ontario's farmers.
  • Eat Right Ontario
    EatRight Ontario is a service funded by the Government of Ontario that provides easy-to-use nutrition information to help people make healthier food choices. Registered Dietitians provide EatRight Ontario visitors with feature articles on food and nutrition, meal planning advice, healthy eating tips and recipes.
  • Foodland
    Foodland Ontario is a consumer promotion program. It was established in 1977 and since then, has partnered with producers to champion, promote and support the consumption of fresh Ontario produce and processed agricultural foods. Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food.
  • Healthy Kids Strategy
    Ontario has an ambitious goal to reduce childhood obesity by 20 per cent over five years. That is why Ontario has created a panel of experts to recommend how we can keep more kids at healthy weights. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Northern Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Program
    The Northern Fruit and Vegetable Program (NFVP) increases awareness and consumption of fruit and vegetables for elementary school-aged children by providing no cost fruit and vegetable snacks in combination with healthy eating and physical activity education and awareness. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Ontario Agri-Food Education Inc. (OAFE)
    OAFE works to increase awareness of the agri-food industry by providing educational programs and tools. Tools include educational resources for elementary and secondary school students and workshops for teachers. Ministry of Agriculture and Food.
  • Student Nutrition Program
    Funding program that provides food in elementary and secondary schools through breakfast, lunch and snack programs. It offers nutrition guidelines to support selection of appropriate foods. Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Back to Top

Physical Activity

  • Daily Physical Activity (Policy/Program Memorandum 138)
    This policy directs school boards to ensure that all elementary students have a minimum of twenty minutes of physical activity each school day during instructional time. Resource guides are available for teachers, principals and school boards. Ministry of Education.
  • Pan Am/Parapan Am Kids
    The Government of Ontario and TO2015 have created a program to help every kid be a Pan Am/Parapan Am Kid. This means children and youth can learn about and participate in different sport, recreational and cultural activities before, during and after the TORONTO 2015 Games. Resources and activities for elementary and secondary educators, after-school leaders and recreational staff. Ministry of Education, Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.
  • Raise the Bar
    "Raise the Bar is an exciting new program designed to improve the quality of intramural/houseleague programs across Ontario. Raise the Bar will provide schools with resources and assistance in the development of these programs."
  • Try Day
    The Try Day grant program is funded by the Ministry of Education, and administered by the Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA). Publicly-funded schools may receive up to $700 to engage students and introduce a new sport or physical activity to their current program. Ministry of Education.

Back to Top

Safe and Accepting Schools

  • Safe and Accepting Schools
    The Safe and Accepting Schools webpage offers a variety of resources about safe, inclusive and accepting schools to support student achievement and well-being.  This webpage includes information on bullying prevention, Ontario's code of conduct, progressive discipline, the Comprehensive Action Plan for Accepting Schools, the Safe Schools Strategy and related policy/program memoranda and other resources for all members of the school community. Ministry of Education.
  • Registry of Resources for Safe and Inclusive Schools
    The registry assists school boards and schools in identifying and selecting resources that may be appropriate for purchase or use to help prevent bullying and promote safe and inclusive schools. Ministry of Education.
  • Kids Help Phone
    Kids Help Phone provides 24/7 online and phone counselling for elementary and secondary students on issues including bullying and cyber-bullying. Ministry of Education.

Back to Top

Personal Safety and Injury Prevention

  • Concussions Portal
    This new web portal has evidence-informed concussion resources for educators, coaches, parents, sports officials, athletes and health care providers. The portal provides the most up-to-date information about preventing, identifying, and managing concussions. Ministry of Education, Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport and the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Concussions Poly/Program Memorandum No.158
    Released on March 19, 2014 this memorandum outlines the expectations for Ontario school boards to develop and maintain a policy on concussion. The strategy includes components for awareness, prevention, identification, and management of concussions. Ministry of Education.

  • Asthma Plan of Action
    The Creating Asthma Friendly Schools: A Resource Kit provides recommendations and resources for seven essential goals for creating asthma-friendly elementary schools. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Council of Ontario Directors of Education – Health and Safety in Schools Project
    The Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE) has been engaged by the Ministry to assist with coordination of a Student Injury Prevention Initiative for Ontario schools. This site introduces resources, communications, e-learning modules, memoranda, and updates on initiatives introduced by CODE's Health and Safety Team. Ministry of Education.
  • Live Safe! Work Smart!
    Free classroom-ready resources for Kindergarten to Grade 12 to meet safety-related expectations in the curriculum and provide lots of appropriate learning opportunities. Ministry of Labour.
  • Young Workers Awareness Program
    The Young Workers Awareness Program website provides students with the information they need to protect their health and safety on the job.

Back to Top

Substance Use, Addictions and Related Behaviours

  • Open Minds, Healthy Minds
    The Open Minds, Healthy Minds report outlines Ontario's Comprehensive Mental Health and Addictions Strategy to transform the mental health system through a clear mission, forward-thinking vision and long-term strategies for change.
  • Smoke-Free Ontario
    Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care initiatives for youth include:
    • Capacity building in youth prevention (Youth Advocacy Training Institute): Training youth and adults who work with youth to develop and implement initiatives that improve the health of their communities.
    • Community-based youth tobacco use prevention: Local and regional youth-led tobacco prevention initiatives delivered by public health units using a youth engagement approach. Youths are engaged in tobacco control activities in both educational and community settings.
    • School-based tobacco use prevention pilot program: Implementation of a new youth prevention pilot program in 24 elementary and secondary schools across Ontario during the 2013-14 and 2014-15 school years. The program utilizes a healthy schools approach with a focus on youth engagement to address tobacco use prevention in schools and the greater community.

Back to Top

Healthy Growth and Development

  • Healthy Kids Strategy
    Ontario has an ambitious goal to reduce childhood obesity by 20 per cent over five years. That is why Ontario has created a panel of experts to recommend how we can keep more kids at healthy weights. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Ontario Public Health Standards
    The Ontario Public Health Standards establish requirements for fundamental public health programs and services, which include assessment and surveillance, health promotion and policy development, disease and injury prevention, and health protection. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Stepping Stones: A Resource on Youth Development
    Resource created by the Ontario Government in broad consultation with researchers, youth, community leaders and service providers. Designed to support those who work with youth aged 12 to 25 by providing an overview of youth development, developmental maps, and tips for implementation. Ministry of Children and Youth Services.

Back to Top

Mental Health

  • Child and Youth Mental Health Services
    Mental health services are delivered to children and youth by numerous community agencies located throughout the province. Ministry of Children and Youth Services.
  • Ontario's Policy Framework for Child and Youth Mental Health
    As the champion of children and youth, the Ministry of Children and Youth Services has developed a policy framework to provide strategic direction for ongoing improvements over the next decade. The framework applies to all Ontario children and youth up to age 18. Ministry of Children and Youth Services.
  • Open Minds, Healthy Minds
    The Open Minds, Healthy Minds report outlines Ontario's Comprehensive Mental Health and Addictions Strategy to transform the mental health system through a clear mission, forward-thinking vision and long-term strategies for change.
  • Supporting Minds
    Supporting Minds: An Educator's Guide to Promoting Students' Mental Health and Well-Being is a K-12 resource guide developed by the Ministry of Education. The guide provides educators with information on the early signs of mental health and addiction problems, along with strategies that can be used in the classroom to support students.

Back to Top

General Information

  • Aboriginal Education Strategy
    Ontario's Aboriginal Education Strategy includes initiatives that support learning and achievement for Aboriginal students. It also helps raise awareness about First Nation, Métis and Inuit cultures, histories and perspectives in all Ontario classrooms. Ministry of Education.
  • Community Use of Schools
    This program encourages increased use of schools by not-for-profit groups at reduced rates. Ministry of Education.
  • Health Behaviour in School-Aged Children (HBSC) Study
    The Health Behaviour in School-aged Children study (HBSC) is a school-based survey administered every 4 years. It captures health-related information by asking questions of youth 11 to 15 years of age. Canada has participated since 1989/90 with the most recent HBSC administered in 2009/10.
  • Healthy Communities Fund (HCF)
    Healthy Communities Fund (HCF) Grant Program provides non-capital seed funding to non-profit organizations for the delivery of health promotion projects in communities across the province. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Healthy Kids Strategy
    Ontario has an ambitious goal to reduce childhood obesity by 20 per cent over five years. That is why Ontario has created a panel of experts to recommend how we can keep more kids at healthy weights. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Joint Consortium on School Health (JCSH)
    The Province of Ontario, through the Ministries of Education and Health and Long-Term Care, is a member of the pan-Canadian Joint Consortium on School Health (JCSH). As part of the agreement between the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care to jointly participate on the JCSH, a School Health Coordinator position has been established and is currently located at the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Ontario's Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy
    The Ontario Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy was launched in April 2009. All members of the school community are to be treated with respect and dignity. The strategy is helping educators across the province better identify and remove discriminatory biases and systemic barriers to student achievement. Ministry of Education.
  • Ontario Public Health Standards
    The Ontario Public Health Standards establish requirements for fundamental public health programs and services, which include assessment and surveillance, health promotion and policy development, disease and injury prevention, and health protection. Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Public Health Units
    There are 36 public health units in Ontario. Health Units administer health promotion and disease prevention programs to inform the public about healthy life-styles, communicable disease control including education in STDs/Aids, immunization, food premises inspection, and healthy growth and development which includes parenting education, health education for all age groups and selected screening services.

Back to Top

Écoles saines : Liens

Les sites web suivants fournissent un large éventail de renseignements pour vous aider à rendre les écoles de l'Ontario plus saines et plus propices à l'apprentissage et à l'épanouissement des élèves.

Alimentation saine

  • Politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles (Note Politique/programmes n° 150)
    Cette politique inclut des normes d'alimentation visant les aliments et les boissons vendus dans les écoles. Elle s'applique aux aliments et aux boissons offerts à n'importe quel point de vente sur les lieux de l'école dans le cadre de tous les programmes et lors de toutes les activités sur les lieux de l'école, y compris les ventes de pâtisseries maison et les événements sportifs. Des guides pour enseignants, des ateliers de formation en ligne et d'autres ressources sont disponibles. Ministère de l'Éducation.
  • Fraîcheur de la ferme
    Fraîcheur de la ferme : Collecte de fonds santé pour les écoles de l'Ontario est un projet pilote qui offre une nouvelle approche de la collecte de fonds pour les écoles. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on vend des fruits et légumes frais de l'Ontario à la communauté tout en appuyant des habitudes d'alimentation saine ainsi que les agriculteurs de l'Ontario.
    • Ontario, terre nourricière
      Ontario, terre nourricière est un programme de promotion grand public. Depuis sa création en 1977, en partenariat avec des producteurs, il fait connaître les aliments de l'Ontario et fait la promotion des produits agricoles frais et transformés de l'Ontario. Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales.
    • Stratégie pour la santé des enfants
      L'Ontario a l'objectif ambitieux de réduire l'obésité chez les enfants de 20 % au cours des cinq prochaines années. C'est pourquoi il a créé un comité d'experts afin de faire des recommandations sur la manière de nous assurer que davantage d'enfants aient un poids santé. Ministère de la Santé.
    • Éducation agro-alimentaire de l'Ontario [Site Web en anglais, qui propose des ressources en français et en anglais]
      Cet organisme travaille à sensibiliser les gens à l'industrie agro-alimentaire en fournissant des ressources et des programmes pédagogiques, dont du matériel pour les élèves de l'élémentaire et du secondaire et des ateliers pour le personnel enseignant. Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales.
    • Programme de bonne nutrition des élèves
      Programme de financement qui permet de fournir une alimentation saine aux écoles élémentaires et secondaires dans le cadre de programmes de petits-déjeuners, de déjeuners et de collations. Il propose aussi des lignes directrices sur l'alimentation pour faire un meilleur choix d'aliments. Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse.

    Haut de la page

    Activité physique

    • Activité physique quotidienne (Note Politique/programmes n° 138)
      Cette politique exige que les conseils scolaires veillent à ce que tous les élèves de l'élémentaire fassent un minimum de 20 minutes d'activité physique quotidienne durant les journées scolaires. Des guides sont disponibles pour le personnel enseignant, la direction et le conseil scolaire. Ministère de l'Éducation.
    • Programme de subventions pour la promotion de l'activité physique dans les écoles secondaires
      Ce programme vise à encourager les élèves du secondaire à pratiquer des activités physiques, en portant une attention particulière aux élèves les moins actifs. Il est également destiné à financer des projets visant à accroître le nombre d'élèves qui participent à des activités physiques en dehors des heures de cours. Environ 31 projets pourront bénéficier d'un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 10 000 $ par projet, afin de répondre à un besoin déterminé et d'inciter les élèves à participer à des activités physiques. Les subventions seront versées aux candidates et candidats retenus au cours de l'hiver 2019.
    • RécréAgir
      RécréAgir est une ressource d'apprentissage en ligne dont l'objectif est d'aider les enfants et les jeunes à développer leurs compétences physiques et à acquérir les connaissances et les habiletés qui leur permettront de mener un mode de vie sain et actif.
    • Visez plus haut (en anglais seulement)
      « Visez plus haut » est un tout nouveau programme conçu pour améliorer la qualité des programmes de sport et les ligues sportives internes dans tout l'Ontario. Il permettra de fournir aux écoles des ressources et de l'aide pour élaborer de tels programmes.
    • Try Day
      Le programme « Try Day » est financé par le ministère de l'Éducation et administré par la fédération ontarienne d'associations d'athlétisme scolaire, la Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA). Les écoles financées par les fonds publics peuvent toucher jusqu'à 700 $ pour financer l'ajout d'un nouveau sport ou d'une nouvelle activité physique à leur programme, ainsi que la participation de leurs élèves à pareil sport ou activité. Ministère de l'Éducation.

    Haut de la page

    Écoles sécuritaires et tolérantes

    • Écoles sécuritaires et tolérantes
      La page Web consacrée aux écoles sécuritaires et tolérantes donne accès à une variété de ressources relatives à un milieu scolaire sécuritaire, inclusif et tolérant qui appuie la réussite et le bien-être des élèves. Ces ressources, destinées à tous les membres de la communauté scolaire, incluent, entre autres, des renseignements sur la prévention de l'intimidation, le Code de conduite de l'Ontario, la discipline progressive, le Plan complet d'action pour des écoles tolérantes, la Stratégie pour la sécurité dans les écoles, de même que les différentes notes politiques/programmes traitant de ces sujets.
    • Jeunesse, j'écoute
      Jeunesse, j'écoute est un service  accessible jour et nuit, 7 jours sur 7, par téléphone et par Internet, qui offre des conseils aux élèves de l'élémentaire et du secondaire sur des sujets qui les préoccupant, y compris  l'intimidation en personne ou sur le Web. Ministère de l'Éducation.

    Haut de la page

    Sécurité personnelle et prévention des blessures

    • Site Web du gouvernement de l'Ontario sur les commotions cérébrales
      Ce site Web offre des ressources sur les commotions cérébrales, fondées sur des données probantes, aux éducatrices et éducateurs, entraineuses et entraineurs, parents, responsables sportifs, athlètes et fournisseurs de soins de santé. Il offre des renseignements à jour sur la prévention, la reconnaissance et la prise en charge des commotions cérébrales. Ministère de l'éducation, ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture et ministère de la Santé.
    • Créer des milieux attentifs à l'asthme
      Conseils pour la mise en œuvre pour les conseils scolaires fournit des recommandations et des ressources relatives aux sept objectifs essentiels pour créer dans les écoles élémentaires un milieu plus accueillant pour les personnes asthmatiques. Ministère de la Santé.
    • Council of Ontario Directors of EducationHealth and Safety in Schools Project (en anglais seulement)
      Le Ministère a fait appel au Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE) pour faciliter la coordination d'une Initiative visant la prévention des blessures chez les élèves dans les écoles de l'Ontario. Ce site propose des ressources, des communications, des modules d'apprentissage électronique, des notes de service et des mises à jour sur des initiatives introduites par l'équipe de santé et de sécurité du CODE. Ministère de l'Éducation.
    • Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!
      Des ressources gratuites prêtes à l'utilisation en salle de classe, qui répondent aux attentes du curriculum en matière de sécurité et qui fournissent beaucoup de possibilités d'apprentissage appropriées pour les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année. Ministère du Travail, de la Formation et du Développement des compétences.

    Haut de la page

    Consommation d'alcool et de drogues, dépendances et comportements connexes

    • Esprit ouvert, esprit sain
      Le rapport Esprit ouvert, esprit sain expose la Stratégie ontarienne globale de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances visant à transformer le système de santé mentale grâce à l'adoption d'une mission claire, d'une vision avant-gardiste et de stratégies de changement à long terme.
    • Ontario sans fumée
      Ministère de la Santé dont les initiatives comprennent :
      • Renforcement des capacités en matière de prévention chez les jeunes (Institut de formation de jeunes porte-parole : Former des jeunes et des adultes qui travailleront avec des jeunes afin d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des initiatives améliorant la santé de leurs communautés.
      • Prévention du tabagisme chez les jeunes axée sur la communauté : Initiatives locales et régionales de prévention du tabagisme dirigées par des jeunes et offertes par des bureaux de santé publique. Ces initiatives font appel à la participation des jeunes. Ces derniers organisent des activités de contrôle du tabagisme à la fois dans des cadres éducatifs et communautaires.
      • Programme pilote de prévention du tabagisme dans les écoles : Mise en œuvre d'un nouveau programme pilote de prévention du tabagisme chez les jeunes dans 24 écoles élémentaires et secondaires de l'Ontario, au cours des années scolaires 2013-2014 et 2014-2015. Le programme fait appel à une approche globale de la santé en milieu scolaire (écoles saines) axée sur l'engagement des jeunes pour faire la prévention du tabagisme dans les écoles et la communauté dans son ensemble.
      • Les ressources sur le vapotage
        Le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale a élaboré des fiches d'information afin de fournir des renseignements généraux sur le vapotage et de présenter les faits importants, les risques de santé et les ressources supplémentaires pour aider les jeunes et le personnel enseignant des écoles primaires et secondaires à avoir des conversations informées.

    Haut de la page

    Croissance et développement sains

    • Stratégie pour la santé des enfants
      L'Ontario s'est donné l'objectif ambitieux de réduire l'obésité chez les enfants de 20 pour 100 sur une période de cinq ans. C'est la raison pour laquelle l'Ontario a établi un comité d'experts chargés de recommander des moyens d'aider plus d'enfants à conserver un poids santé. Ministère de la Santé.
    • Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario
      Les Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario établissent les exigences minimales des programmes et services de santé publique fondamentaux, qui comprennent l'évaluation et la surveillance, la promotion de la santé et l'élaboration des politiques afférentes, la prévention des maladies et des blessures, ainsi que la protection de la santé. Ministère de la Santé.
    • D'un stade à l'autre : une ressource sur le développement des jeunes
      Ressource créée par le gouvernement de l'Ontario au terme d'un vaste processus de consultation des chercheurs, jeunes, dirigeants communautaires et fournisseurs de services. Cette initiative a été conçue pour aider les personnes qui travaillent avec les jeunes de 12 à 25 ans au moyen d'un aperçu du développement des jeunes, de feuilles de route et de conseils de mise en œuvre. Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse.

    Haut de la page

    Santé mentale

      • Santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes
        Des services de santé mentale sont fournis aux enfants et aux jeunes par de nombreux organismes communautaires un peu partout dans la province. Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse.
      • Esprit ouvert, esprit sain
        Le rapport Esprit ouvert, esprit sain expose la Stratégie ontarienne globale de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances visant à transformer le système de santé mentale grâce à l'adoption d'une mission claire, d'une vision avant-gardiste et de stratégies de changement à long terme.

      Haut de la page

      Renseignements généraux

      • Stratégie d'éducation autochtone
        La Stratégie d'éducation autochtone comprend des initiatives qui appuient l'apprentissage et la scolarité des élèves autochtones. Elle contribue également à faire connaître les cultures, histoires et perspectives des Premières Nations, Métis et Inuits dans toutes les écoles de l'Ontario. Ministère de l'Éducation.
      • Étude sur la santé et les comportements liés à la santé chez les jeunes
        L'étude sur les comportements liés à la santé chez les jeunes d'âge scolaire (HBSC) est une enquête menée dans les écoles tous les 4 ans. Elle saisit des renseignements liés à la santé en posant des questions aux jeunes âgés de 11 à 15 ans. Le Canada y participe depuis 1989-1990; la dernière enquête HBSC a eu lieu en 2009-2010.
      • Stratégie pour la santé des enfants
        L'Ontario s'est fixé l'objectif ambitieux de réduire l'obésité chez les enfants de 20 pour 100 sur une période de cinq ans. C'est la raison pour laquelle la province a établi un comité d'experts chargés de recommander des moyens d'aider plus d'enfants à conserver un poids santé. Ministère de la Santé.
      • Consortium conjoint pancanadien pour les écoles en santé
        La province de l'Ontario, par l'entremise des ministères de l'Éducation et de la Santé est membre du Consortium conjoint pancanadien pour les écoles en santé (CCPES). Un poste de coordonnateur, santé en milieu scolaire, a été créé aux termes de l'entente de participation au CCPES conclue entre le ministère de l'Éducation et Ministère de la Santé ce poste relève actuellement du ministère de la Santé.
      • Stratégie ontarienne d'équité et d'éducation inclusive
        La Stratégie ontarienne d'équité et d'éducation inclusive a été lancée en avril 2009. Tous les membres de la communauté scolaire doivent être traités avec respect et dignité. La stratégie aide les éducatrices et les éducateurs de la province à mieux identifier et éliminer les préjugés et les obstacles systémiques qui entravent le rendement des élèves. Ministère de l'Éducation.
      • Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario
        Les Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario établissent les exigences minimales des programmes et services de santé publique fondamentaux, qui comprennent l'évaluation et la surveillance, la promotion de la santé et l'élaboration des politiques afférentes, la prévention des maladies et des blessures, ainsi que la protection de la santé. Ministère de la Santé.
      • Bureaux de santé publique
        Il y a 36 bureaux de santé publique en Ontario. Ces bureaux administrent les programmes de promotion de la santé et de prévention des maladies afin de renseigner la population sur les modes de vie sains, les mesures de contrôle des maladies transmissibles, et les MST/SIDA, les programmes d'immunisation, l'inspection des services d'alimentation, et la croissance et le développement de l'enfant; ces programmes et services comprennent l'éducation des parents, l'information sur la santé pour tous les groupes d'âge et certains services de dépistage.

      Haut de la page